We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge, wonderful balconies”
Review of Mekong Sunrise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mekong Sunrise
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Huge, wonderful balconies”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We only spent one night in Kampong Cham, but we had read about the Sunrise being a good choice so we stayed there. We don't regret it! The rooms were HUUUUUUGE, and we got our own private balcony facing the Mekong on the sunrise side. If you want a room with a view, this is the place!

We paid $8 for a ginormous room with two beds, but if you're traveling solo you can get a room for $5 or $6. We had a little trouble with the bicycles they rented us, they were in bad condition, but we returned them within 10 minutes without a problem.

Also, yeah, the bathroom was big but hadn't been cleaned in awhile... there were spider webs in the corners... ick.

The location is perfect, which is the most important thing to me! It's really close to the bamboo bridge (a must see!) and right on the river!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the balcony room ($8) if you want an incredible Mekong view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staceface83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
1
22
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Szazhalombatta, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We spent 1 night at this place, which was OK, considering the price of the room. It seemed that our room was the cleanest place in the guesthouse. We found the whole place quite neglected: dripping taps and pipes, crumbling plaster. The social areas are not the tidiest ones.
The fan on the ceiling was very dirty, and worked very noisy. We didn't have any mosquito nets and we couldn't chase out the mosquito from the room.
The host guy was nice, gave us a lot of recommendations and useful information. They have motos to rent for USD 5 a day.
The noodle soup we ate was made of instant soup with few vegetable, but the beer is cheap and cold.
Overall, we were satisfied, but could not imagine spending here a week or more.

Room Tip: The rooms inside (with window to the corridor) are quite hot and could not be cooled down during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Budapest81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

5$ room without bathroom but with natural light, a mosquito net, and a big desk - great! On the other hand, the dirtiest fan I've seen that wasn't very effective (probably not least because it's full of dust). The host knows the town and area well and gave me some suggestions even though I didn't ask for them, which I really appreciated.
Sleeping quality can be affected by the staff sleeping in the hall right next to the room, sometimes listening to music to fall asleep or talking on the phone at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Honestly, I did not stay in this guesthouse, but I was there every single day that I was in Kampong Cham.

I took a look at a friend's room and it was simple and basic. Pretty clean as well. I mean for USD 5 a night, what more can you ask for right? I did use the common toilet though, and I must say it is much cleaner than expected. However, please do take note that this is a guesthouse, and DO NOT expect hotel's furnishing.

The atmosphere of the place was really friendly and perfect place to meet other travellers. There is a pool table, playstation, and guidebooks in the common area. Of course, you are also able to get beer from the guesthouse's restaurant.

Location wise, it is close to most of the restaurants and right by the river front. Walking distance to wherever you will probably need (eg. minimart, bank, bus terminal...etc).

Hosts were very friendly and helpful. They helped us to plan for our route when we wanted to go biking around the area, and also helped us check out the bus tickets although they do not sell it in the guesthouse. On the last night that we were there, they even made us a special dip with eggplant and avocado and pasta which was not on the menu. We just paid whatever we feel it is worth.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed here for just 1 night to break up the journey from Kratie to Kep.

The owners are so friendly and smiley and we took the cheapest room, which didn't have a view, but if you pay just $2 more you get a ridiculously huge balcony with views of the sunrise. They were really helpful in arranging transport to the bus stop and gave us a free tuk tuk ride there and didn't add on any commission whatsoever for booking it for us, which was really kind. They also give great advice on where to eat and any walks you want to do whilst there.

The room itself we stayed in is very basic, and the double bed inside is surprisingly comfortable although it doesn't look it, but we slept perfectly so what more can you want.

I think this is a new place as some of the rooms and balcony are still being finished, but the ones available are fine and clean.

Oh yeah, the coffee they serve is also both cheap and delicious as they have imported it straight from Vietnam! And there is high-speed free Wi-Fi.

Great place, we looked around loads as well, and couldn’t find anywhere cheaper or friendlier.

A must when in Kampong Cham...

Room Tip: The slightly more expensive rooms have amazing views on the sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freespirits182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We stayed several nights at Mekong Surine and we found the staff was really friendly. Location is perfect as it is just in front of the mekong and you can have beautiful sunrises if you wake up early.

We had a very big room with a huge balcony but there were some spider webs in the bathroom. I think they did not clean the room for a while before we arrived. Moreover, room and balcony seemed under construction.

We felt like at friend's place knowing that if we asked for something they could ask for something as well. The only difference here is that we paid for the room so normally they could not ask more.

Payment at the end is a total amount as they do not write the details and give you a total amount at the end. So we were not able to check if there were mistakes or not

Restaurant was good and clean, so maybe it is a good place to eat but not to sleep. Check if rooms are clean before entering.

Hopefully, staff is very friendly so this is saving the place.

Room Tip: check of spider webs in the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimimundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampong Cham hotels
0.1 mi away
LBN Asian Hotel
LBN Asian Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kampong Cham
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Reasmey Cheanich Hotel
Reasmey Cheanich Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kampong Cham
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moon River Guest House
Moon River Guest House
#3 of 14 in Kampong Cham
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mariya Hotel
Mariya Hotel
#8 of 14 in Kampong Cham
20 reviews
2.6 mi away
OBT Chiro Village Homestay
OBT Chiro Village Homestay
#1 of 14 in Kampong Cham
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Daly Hotel
Daly Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kampong Cham
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Sunrise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Sunrise

Property: Mekong Sunrise
Address: Preah Sihanouk, Kampong Cham, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampong Cham Province > Kampong Cham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Kampong Cham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Cambodian family and own this bussiness in Kampong Cham.We have 10 rooms, a restaurant and pool table with a view on the Mekong river.We also organise different tours and a sunset boat trip down the Mekong river and can help with boat and bus transportation to other cities in Cambodia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mekong Sunrise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing