We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Playa d'en Bossa
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here for a fortnight in September, loved the place as it was perfect for my wife and I's needs.

First off the location couldn't be better, bang in the centre of Bossa, five mins walk from Space, Ushaia, Sankeys, Bora-Bora the shops and cafes etc, five minutes on a bus to Evissa and the airport - it's dead centre. But, it's also one of the 'quiet' hotels even though it's bang in town - there's no pounding dance music, no gangs of lads singing Born Slippy lyrics in the pool all day, it's peaceful but if you want the party you simply walk down the beach/road to Jet or similar and you're right there. Everyone here just wants to chill by the pool and sunbathe during the day. Sometimes at around 3pm a DJ would come out to the poolside and play really chilled music which was cool.

The pool area itself and pretty much the entire ground floor of the hotel is a really nice space. The pool is chilled as mentioned, two big bars next to them and the chance to get food if you want. There are double poster bed type sunbeds if you want, but these are €30pd. Some table service by the pool too. There was usually more people than sunbeds but you just have to get your towells on early enough to 'book' them. On the towell situation, just use your own towells (not the room ones) and therefore avoid the deposit problems other guests have had. The shop over the road sells two towells for €18, so job done.

The food here is excellent. Buffet at breakfast was as you'd imagine, everything you can want plus free coffee and juices etc. Hot food, cold food, fruit, pastries, you know the score. The buffet at dinner was also excellent, I ate fresh fish and meat every night for two weeks! The food always tasted fresh and was hot, and you can pair it with veg, pasta or whatever you want. There's also a starter section with different foods every night, sometimes paella, other times it was fancier stuff. No free drinks at dinner though, beer and water both €3 a bottle. Good waiter service at dinner for clearing away and bringing drinks. Seemed to be a one drink limit at dinner though as you'd get a bill to pay along with your drink - it would have been nice to get a second beer with dinner. Really good dessert section too.

Plenty of people commenting on the customer service and the staff here. Yes, the service isn't the best, but it's more clinical than cold. For example when checking in, I spoke Spanish to get things going and the lady on the desk simply held out her hand waiting for the print out of the reservation without saying a word or smiling etc even tho there was no queue - fair enough, less chit chat, more work!

However, and this is an important point, it's the same in most places in Ibiza - the staff in the Spar over the road, the cafes, the bus drivers, the cleaners etc all had the same mannerisms and way with dealing with you. But having spent two weeks here it's evident most people simply shout english or german at them and expect these people to bend over backwards for them - get a grip, speak a little spanish with them, be polite and they'll open up more. Try their job over a busy summer on their pay and then see how much customer service you can extend to someone speaking to you in your second or third language! It's just not one of those five star hotels where you are treated like royalty - however, if you want or need something, it gets done - what more do you want? Special mention goes to Thomas who looked after the food hall who was a really nice bloke (I made the effort with him on the first night and he was a friend thereafter).

The rooms are nice but the beds are very hard and the pillows are very dense/thick - for someone like me who sleeps on their front this was uncomfortable to say the least. anyway, I slept well so can't complain as the rooms are quiet and well soundproofed as you can't hear anything outside. Decent sized balcony with a table and chairs, TV, loads of cupboard space so you've no worries. Cleaned everyday with fresh towells, good power shower and all that usual stuff.

I'm a regular gym goer and avoided the gym here - everything was in dire need of a service. The Jet apartments have a good gym just five minutes walk away. Didn't use the Spa so can't comment, but it would have been nice to at least have had a Spa 'menu' to hand to look it over - didn't see one at all, would have made sense to leave one in the room or downstairs, so couldn't be bothered walking over there with no info to hand.

Anyway, top hotel, would definitely come back!

Room Tip: There are some rooms that overlook both the pool and sea, try and get one of these!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    413
    99
    35
    30
See reviews for
100
543
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

This was the 2nd trip in a row back to the Garbi. Still a fantastic hotel with an updated pool area. The food is great & a lot to choose from..... The staff are very welcoming & our room was superb! We were spoilt with a room overlooking the beach & pool :) Plenty of wardrobe & draw space too. can't fault this hotel at all.... Everything is so close too, from taxi's to restaurants to shops & most importantly the world renowned clubs! Highly recommend a stay at the Garbi. You won't be disappointed!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SexyAngel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLOCK1
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Garbi for 3 nights in September, I am in my 30's and my husband in his 40's.

The public areas are clean and the pool area has been updated and is a good space. For us our hotel room ( a standard overlooking the road) was at 200 GBP overpriced,no mini bar, additional charge for safe, we also felt that the additionally 100 GBP per night we were told it would cost to upgrade to a superior room thus making our charge 300GBP per night was excessive.

Having travelled the world extensively for both business and pleasure, for us the prices being charged were not met by the standard of the rooms or indeed the service.

Although we would not return , for individuals looking for a hotel close to the main clubs and in the heart of the resort in Playa D'en Bossa, then this may be for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLOCK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife and I (both 28 years old) stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and were very happy with the facilities here. We were warmly welcomed, and the hotel had great facilities like the pool and spa. Exceptionally clean hotel. The breakfast and dinner buffets were both of great value too - some of the best that we have experienced.

On the less significant side, the hotel gym isn't great and is not well maintained.

This hotel certainly has the potential to be a 5/5 rating on Tripadvisor, but there was one major downfall with the hotel - their customer service. It's good, but it simply does not compare with many of the hotels we have stayed at in the past. And their below-average customer service is a result of their service culture of having strict rules their employees must follow. While I understand that rules are important for a professional outfit, you've practically got to kick and scream if you have a morally justified case to bend their rules.

For instance, at the breakfast buffet I wanted to take an apple back to the room to wash it so I could eat it. Upon leaving, the older man at the door confronted me and quite loudly (and embarrassingly) told me that he had a "problem" with me taking the apple out and I must put it back. I began to explain to him, but he didn't want to hear any of it. So I just put it back and left. It was an unpleasant experience and to be honest I felt like I was back in school being repremanded.

Another situation by this same man at the buffet I observed was when two couples came into the dining room and they forgot to bring their special breakfast card. While they had their room keys, the man specifically needed their breakfast card and they were extremely unhappy. After they left to go back to their room, this man said to another couple of guests "the rules are the rules".

I also recall reading another review on here where a couple lost their towel receipt and only after a major fuss were they able to reclaim their towel deposit back (even though they had their towels to return!). Their experience is completely consistent with the "rule-orientated culture" I also observed.

While I understand why they have these rules in place (don't take food from the buffet, bring your cards, keep your receipts etc), what I don't think they understand is the value of exceptional customer service in a hospitality environment.

My wife actually explained to me that in a hotel she stayed at in China, she wanted to take some food for morning tea from the buffet and put some fruit in her pocket. The waitress approached her and offered to provide her with a plastic container to take with her! Now that's what I would rave about and tell all my friends and colleagues about. That's what I don't think management and staff at Hotel Garbi don't quite understand and appreciate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. We will talk with the responsible manager about it to ensure that it does not happen again.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We picked the hotel online as we thought it looked modern and quirky and it was just like the photos when we got there so first impressions were good! The hotel pool and sunbathing area was stunning and really clean, we got beds every day no problem, and on an evening it looked gorgeous with all the lighting. The room was nothing special but clean and everything worked! Big bathroom, fridge, balcony over looking the sea- cant complain.
The hotels in a good location, close to restaurants, shops and clubs. On a night it was lovely and quiet even though clubs and bora bora was a 10 minute walk.
The food was nice, never had a bad breakfast or meal. The drinks were fairly expensive but that's just ibiza. There was a dj that came on in the afternoon that was a bit naff, each to there own tho. I was glad he playing more chilled out music compared to the other hotels on the beach which I suppose was a plus!
The spa was clean, modern, well equipped and never busy so we went there lots.
The staff were average but in ibiza that seems to be the standard to we didn't expect anything more.
In conclusion- we had a fab holiday, loved spending time at the hotel and would definitely return if staying in playa den bossa again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becky c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here during weekend of 6-9 Sept
Hotel is beautifully decorated but suffers from a noise issue that they seem unprepared to address. Basically for anyone that is staying in a room with a lateral beach view and on the right hand side of hotel, partic rooms 356 and 357 and i assume the same on the other floors, you are right opposite a bank of communal bins that are emptied anytiem between 3-4.00 am. This includes a lorry picking up all of the bottles and is really noisy.

This alone would not be so bad, as it only alst 5-10 mins but on Sunday night we then had the displeasure of having a street cleaning tanker lorry parked again outside our room for 1.5 HOURs whilst they hosed down the streets. This arrived at 4.00 am and was still there at 5.30am. We complained at the time to the hotel and they said there was nothing they could do, and were not prepared to offer any sort of refund.

So if you want to stay at this hotel, refuse any room on the right hand block that looks out on the bins below and the street opposite.

Room Tip: Avoid any room in the right hand block which is near the communal bins or the street below
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyree A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for having taken the time to communicate us your experience.
Please accept our sincerest apologies if we were not able to satisfy your needs. Your opinion is very important for us because it helps us to keep on improving. Unfortunately we don't have influence on the work of public services like street cleaning.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Garbi is right on the beach with a fab restaurant there too. The reception staff are very friendly and the hotel is spotless. Cleaners come every day. There is a great pool where they play a mix of music and a bar that does lovely cocktails. It's the perfect place to stay if you want to be close to bars, space etc but want a more relaxed vibe during the day. Buffet breakfast is worth getting, great selection and fills you up for the day. Lots of nice restaurants nearby and a taxi rank across the road as well as a super market. My only complaint was no iron in the rooms.
The crowd staying at the hotel was nice and there was no problems with gangs being stupid drunk and other things! Jet apartments and bora bora are just down the beach so you have the best of both worlds if chilling out by the hotel pool gets boring. The garbi spa is Really nice if you have some free time or to use on a cloudy day. I would def recommend this hotel to anyone thats looking for a relaxed vibe in ibiza but easy access to the clubs.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mar068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa d'en Bossa
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#1 of 35 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Torre del Mar
Hotel Torre del Mar
#7 of 35 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
#4 of 35 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Santos Ibiza Coast Suites
Santos Ibiza Coast Suites
#12 of 35 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
11.1 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#5 of 55 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
7.9 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
#2 of 106 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa

Property: Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
Address: Calle Murtra 5, 07817 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Playa d'en Bossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#6 Family Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Garbi Ibiza And Spa
Hotel Garbi Ibiza Playa d`En Bossa
Aparthotel Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa Playa D'en Bossa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing