We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and clean Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Playa d'en Bossa
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location and clean Hotel”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Super clean hotel. Room cleaned daily - towels and linen replaced. Comfy beds - we even got a proper double! Friendly staff. Great location for Bora Bora beach, Ushuaia, Space, Sankeys etc.
Only negatives are thin walls and lack of electrical sockets. Overall great value and would stay again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank icklemissspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    643
    429
    173
    186
See reviews for
151
545
83
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel was clean and all OK, pool area was clean and staff were helpful when we used them.
Room was cleaned daily.
Drinks for all inclusive were local brands and they did cocktails but these were from a pre-mix solution.
All in all you get what you pay for and it was a nice pleasant clean environment very close to Bora Bora, Space and shops, bars and beach. I would visit again.

Room Tip: we looked over the back so I'd ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin the King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel was great nice and clean etc you get what you pay for.. Night staff/security were very rude and not helpful when a group of girls decided to have a fight outside our room after 2 phone calls and an hour later I went and asked them to be quiet myself.. Thank fully they did.. If you want sleep you won't get it here walls are thin..?! Other then that it's a great base to have as it's close to the town and beaches.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetofly30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed in this hotel last week, group of 8 people.
We were impressed that hotel staff was so friendly. All inclusive is a great option, we got breakfast,lunch, dinner and drinks between them you can get simple sandwitch or hot dog so you can't be hungry during the day.
Hotel is lacated about 50m from beach and 10 minutes walk from playa den bossa which was its own pluses and minuses, its great because you can't hear parties every day and night but walking there every day one or twice is a bit uncomfortable.
Rooms were simple and clean, there is no hairdryer and fridge. AC worked with no problems but the noice from it was oppressive.
Anyway hotel was good for a really good price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECCION_MN, Director General at Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear 0Paula01 , thank you very much for writting your opinión about the hotel. We are glad that you really enjoyed your stay. To get the satisfaction of the clients its our first motivation to keep improving. Thanks again and we hope you will choose us again in your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Me, my husband and group of friends (30’s) spent in this hotel 5 nights. We had All Inclusive option. Hotel is located just 50 m from the beach. However, it is about 10min. walk to Playa den Bossa beach (between Playa den Bossa and Figuretas). If you want just to swim and chill out on the beach, it will suit perfectly. From this place start ferries to Formentera so very convenient if you plan a day trip to this beautiful island.
Room is very nice. Basic but clean. Towels are replaced every day. There is no hairdryer or fridge. Safe can be rented. I think it is 2 or 3 euro per day plus 10euro deposit for a key. Air condition works perfectly – you can have freezer in your room. The only problem is sound. Well, you can easily hear what people say in the other room. But honestly, who cares? Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. They offer baggage room and if you have late flight you can use shower facilities free of charge.
All Inclusive option is very handful. All drinks included in a price like: beer, some popular drinks: gin & tonic, tequila sunrise, etc., wine and of course water, tea and coffee. Also between meals they offer sandwiches and hotdogs. You can’t be hungry over the day. Swimming pool is very nice. Just drop you towel on sunbed on your way to breakfast as you will not have it later.
Variety of food – well, I have never been hungry but male friends complained a little bit about the meat. Every day there was meat, simply the quality was not good. However, there were plenty of other things like: fishes, pastas, vegetables, etc. It was not top level but for the price paid I was surprised that it was so good plus free drinks. Also an additional plus that your All Inclusive wrist works in the hotel Agir closer to Playa den Bossa. Agir and Mare Nostrum belong to the same chain of hotels.
Lifts - they work but management should really look into maintenance company as the sound made by lifts is not nice and it sounds like to be broken shortly.
Mare Nostrum is a budget hotel which offers really a lot for the money. We were positively surprised. It is a walking distance from Playa den Bossa or Figuretas. If you do not like to walk at all, it is not a good option. But in my opinion 10 minutes, it is not the end of the world. Hotel itself is quite. Only one night we had a party on the corridor. But well, it is Ibiza. You should not sleep there at all.
There are small restaurant across the street if you are looking for something different for breakfast. Also Spar is on the corner.
If you are looking for a good accommodation, your budget it tight, you have enough of Jet Apartments, this is perfect choice. I totally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agusia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECCION_MN, Director General at Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Agusia01 group, thank you very much for your review on our hotel. We are happy that you really enjoyed our hotel. That is our first aim to offer the basic thinks for a nice stay:
Nice rooms equipped with air conditioning, televisión, rental safety boxes, bathroom, rental wi-fi connection. Private terrace. A magnificient swimming pool in a landscaped área with wide space to relax under the sun with hammocks and parasols available. Many activities organized by animation during the day. A variety packages including All Inclusive, that covers all three meals, appetizers and drinks and many other services like rent a car, excursions, tickets for discos… The rest must be added by the guests: the mood to spend a really good time and discover all the posibilities of this magic island.
Thank you for your comments. And we hope to receive you soon back in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Let me begin by saying that Ibiza is an incredible place and that I had an amazing 4 days there. From the clubs with the worlds best Dj's and the beaches, it is a very fun party place.

As for hotel Mare Nostrum, it was the worst idea to stay here. To make this easy to read, I will list out all the things that were terrible about this place.

Free Wi-Fi does not work. They of course offer working Wi-Fi at a price.

The walls are really thin. Its so bad that you can hear your neighbours cell phone ring and alarms go off.

They charge 4 Euros a day to use the safe.

The room does not have a blow drier. I have never stayed in a hotel before that didn't have a blow dryer.

The all inclusive drinks are only good for until 11pm while the bar stays open until 1:30am. They will not even give you ice for free after 11 pm.

No ice machines anywhere in the hotel.

Our bed was two singles put together. It was incredibly uncomfortable. The beds are really light so they kept separating from one another. I cant explain how awful the mattresses are and the bed sheets felt like cardboard.

The towels were like sandpaper.

The "snacks" (microwaveable hot dogs and sandwiches) are served in wrappers. Do i need to say more?

The staff suddenly forgot to speak english when I inquired about a possible late check out.

The cleaning lady came in to our room at 10:45 am to kick us out and make sure we were out of the room by 11am. It was extremely unprofessional and uncalled for. She literally walked in while we were still undressed laying in bed.

The food is in a league of its own and not in a good way. My girlfriend refused to eat any of the meat cause she did not feel safe putting this garbage in her stomach. I've stayed at a 3 star hotel in Cuba which had better food. We essentially ate watermelon and pasta with tomato sauce during our stay. The watermelon was actually really good.

I know this was a budget hotel in Ibiza and my expectations were not high to begin with, but there was so many things wrong with this place that made it the worst hotel I have every stayed in.

I will be going to Ibiza again next year but will not cheap out on the accommodations and get something more expensive. I recommend this to everyone travelling there. Stay away from Mare Nostrum.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbag23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECCION_MN, Director General at Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Dbag23,we are sorry you didn’t like the hotel. We are two star hotel and even that we try to offer the máximum we can to our guests. We offer internet through and external company that charges per hour. Only in the área around reception is posible to connect for free. The safe box is also from a external company, the price of 4 euros a days includes the insurance. The drinks of the All Inclusive are served from 10:00 till 23:00, the snacks are served from 11:00 till 18:00, they include assorted sándwiches, ice-cream tubs, assorted sweet pastries, hotdogs, salads, nuts. We will hear your opinión to try to improve and getting better. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa d'en Bossa hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Twin budget room was good, air conditioning was fantastic.

Lunches/Dinners were fine for the first few days but its basically the same every day so we got fed up and ate out the last half of the week. Didn't make a breakfast but the consensus from my friends was that the meats (bacon/sausages) were not very nice.

All inclusive bar was fine but you get a tiny cup of beer which means many, many trips to the bar (and they wont let you just ask for four at a time). Liquor felt quite watered down as some days I drank all day and did not feel drunk.

Pool was good, and location of the hotel was awesome. less than 5 minutes from a lovely stretch of beach.

I would recommend to budget travellers but would suggest not to bother with the all inclusive, just buy some booze from the spar opposite and drink it by the pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
Thank tribaljunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECCION_MN, Director General at Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Tribaljunkie, thanks for taking your time in writting your review about Hotel MareNostrum. We like to know the opinión of our clients. We hope to see you again in your next visit to the island. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa d'en Bossa
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Playasol Jabeque Soul
1.0 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#1 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Playasol My Tivoli
Apartamentos Playasol My Tivoli
#10 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
#8 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Noria
Hotel La Noria
#22 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torre del Mar
Hotel Torre del Mar
#7 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum

Property: Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum
Address: Pere Matutes Noguera, 53, 07817 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Playa d'en Bossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Playa d'en Bossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum 3*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: The hotel is located in the world-renowned area of Playa d’en Bossa, 20 minutes walking from Ushuaia and the Hard Rock, 8 minutes to the airport, and 2.6 km from the centre of Ibiza. For guests looking to explore the island, there is a bus stop located conveniently 100 m from the hotel. Rooms: The establishment has single and double rooms (two single beds) as well as double queen rooms, fully equipped with air conditioning, full bathroom with hair dryer, free safe, satellite TV, and balcony. Facilities: The hotel has one pool for adults and one pool for children with a large lounge area for chairs and Balinese beds available for a fee. To keep the youngest members of the family entertained, there are kids and teenager clubs with the latest games. It has a gym, conference room, and a sports centre with a basketball and volleyball court, a football field with artificial turf, a pool table, and a ping pong table. Limited parking spaces are available. Breakfast buffet (8:00 am to 11:00 am), lunch (1:30 pm to 3:00 pm), and dinner service (7:30 pm to 9:30 pm) are carried out with a Cooking Show. The bar in the lobby serves drinks from 10:00 am to 11:00 pm and a variety of snacks from 11:00 am to 6:00 pm. There are two bars in the pool area (10:30 am to 7:00 pm) that offer the above as well as warm snacks at some from 11:00 am to 6:00 pm. Services: The hotel has an entertainment team and shows scheduled so that fun is synonymous with our club. There are kids menus as well as babysitting services available at guest request with an additional fee. Free Wi-Fi, both in the rooms and in the common areas of the hotel. Check-in begins at 2:00 pm and check-out is at 11:00 am. The All-Inclusive service allows guests to enjoy the restaurant, lobby bar, and pool services during the above-mentioned hours. It includes warm and cold dishes from the restaurant and a variety of snacks as well as non-bottled soft drinks, juice, water, draught beer, hot drinks, house wine and domestic spirits (well), and ice cream served at both bars. The All-Inclusive Plus service includes all of the above as well as a greater variety of wines and spirits from top brands, of course. It also includes different warm snacks such as sandwiches, hamburgers, pasta, rice dishes, and other international dishes prepared to order; all of this is provided with personalised service in both the lobby bar and at the pool. CHECK-IN 14:00 CHECK-OUT 11:00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mare Nostrum Hotel
Mare Nostrum Ibiza
Hotel Mare Nostrum
Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum Ibiza/Playa D'en Bossa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing