We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Quality and Excellent Service. Great facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Playa d'en Bossa
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We were 5 people. And we stayed in very good rooms, clean, quiet.
The food was delicious, plentiful and varied.
In the pool the animation. The best one. It was very well located in an area full of shops and close to all areas of night life.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelindaPine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECCION_MN, Director General at Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Belinda, thank you very much for your review on our hotel. We are happy that you really enjoyed our hotel. We always try to offer the basic thinks for a nice stay:
Nice rooms equipped with air conditioning, television, rental safety boxes, bathroom, rental Wi-fi connection. Private terrace. A magnificient swimming pool in a lanscaped area with wide space to relax under the Sun with Hammocks and parasols available, a variety including de All Inclusive, that covers all three meals , appetizers and drinks and many other services like rent a car, excursions... The second part depends on the client choosing between all the variety of options this island offers to really enjoy a good time! thank you again and hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

530 - 536 of 2,100 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

After reading bad reviews i was worried about the hotel being awful but the reviews are so wrong!
It is a very clean hotel, good value for money. We booked through lowcostholidays.com.
We stayed here a wk in June, there was 8 of us, all Scottish, couples and friends. Met up with other Scottish and Irish at the pool :D
I have no complaints, the staff are lovely at reception and the canteen staff are lovely especially the pasta serving guys and the blonde lady who helps clear tables :) :)
Food wasn't all that great but I ate pasta most days and toast and egg in the morning. They had nice tuna too- fine to refuel we weren't in Ibiza to fine dine :D
The two young girls who worked in the hotel bar were also lovely girls thanks :)
The older male bar staff were a little grumpy and only gave us one drink at a time which was annoying as we couldn't take turns at going to the bar and it seemed if you were Spanish you could take 3-4 drinks at a time.
Other than that all was fine, the maids were in every day and cleaned rooms, gave us towels etc.
Pool area is very pleasantly landscaped and poolside toilets were clean.
The hotel is just a wee walk from the beach, walk along the beach to bora bora, lovely beats woohoo :D small walk to Ushuaia and space.
For the great price I would definitely stay here again :) :) even took time out my fun Ibiza days to take 2 pics of the room :P

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moby_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECCION_MN, Director General at Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Moby13. Thank you. As you say the Hotel MareNostrum is the preferred by the lovers of the sun. In the center of Playa den Bossa, 100meters away from the beach; accompanied by great palms, to 1.5km from the city of Ibiza, next to Bora Bora (open during the day in the beach) and the famous disco Space, and the new beach club Ushuaïa. We take note on your comment. We are happy that in general your stay with us has been pleasant. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

The bed was hard, no bins in the room ( not even in the bathroom), very noisy I mean very noisy, under 20's hotel for sure, not enough sun beds around the pool, would stay on the other side in San Antonio if I ever went back, dinner was ok. 

Were a couple in our mid 20's and only stayed there for three nights and that was too long in this hotel! There are so many more places to go and stay. 

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsChappell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECCION_MN, Gerente at Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear MsChappel, we are sorry you didn't enjoyed your stay with us. I guess your visit was coincident with some groups of young people celebrating here their end of school trip. We appreciate your time in writting and leting us know your opinion. We take note of your complain to try to improve. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Cest parfait! We stayed here last year and we returned this year as we thought it was great! The staff were quick and efficient anticipating any needs such as renting a car, meal times, air conditioning needs, and giving information about the island and where and how to get to each place. The location is fantastic in playa embossa with cheap supermarkets near, pubs, clubs, or chillout beach áreas, we had it all here! Also the pool is huge and there is plenty of entertainment (loved the dancing) and I truly recommend "all inclusive" because the snacks like toasties, sándwiches are nice and handy whilst at the pool, although there could be more variety along midday and evening...? We loved the buffet, very organised and there was always plenty to chose from.....definitely return again this year!
merci beacoup!

Room Tip: We reccommend "all inclusive" and also, we found it much cheaper this year to rent the car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonCherieAmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECCION_MN, Gerente at Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear MocherieAmour(que bel nom!(:-)). Thank you very much for your review on our hotel. We are happy that you really enjoyed our hotel. That is what. we try to offer:
Nice rooms equipped with air conditioning, television, rental safety boxes, bathroom, rental Wi-fi connection, private terrace. A magnificient swimming pool in a landscaped area with wide space to relax under the sun with hammocks and parasols available. A variety packages including All Inclusive, that covers all three meals, appetizers and drinks and many other services like rent a car, excursions...
All the basic thinks so our guests can enjoy a good holiday in this magnificent island.
To hear the satisfaction of our clients push us to continue improving and try to do it allways better. Thank you and we are looking forward to receive you in your next visit!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for a week on 10th June. We're both 20 and wanted the "Ibiza" experience. It's safe to say that if you're young and want an extremely lively holiday then it's best to stay in San Antonio, where the best parts of the nightlife are.

This hotel was great for the money we paid though. It's a 2 minute walk from the beach which isn't too bad, but if you walk about 5 minutes further up the beach then you get to the really nice part where the sand is golden and the sea is clear, with no dirt. All the people we met in San Antonio said that their beach wasn't that great and that they wanted to come to Playa d'en Bossa for the beach. So if you're looking for a relaxing holiday with a bit of evening entertainment then this hotel is the place to go. Bars and restaurants are only a few minutes walk away, and there are regular buses which can take you into Ibiza Town, which is nice. We definitely thought San Antonio was the place to be at night though. Next time I book a holiday to Ibiza then I'm going to stay there, where the wild nightlife is. It takes about 40 minutes and 2 buses to get there though, or a 15 minute and 30euro taxi drive.

The hotel was clean and although the walls were thin, we didn't have anyone staying in the room next to us so we can't really complain about noise. The pool area was nice. If you go to the pool straight after breakfast then you're guaranteed to get a sun lounger. Not many people went in the pool actually, when we were there, but there were a lot of sun bathers around it.

The food is satisfactory. Some nights we liked it and some nights we didn't; there wasn't much choice at all. When you walk into the restaurant you'll think there is loads of choice by the huge buffet tables but most of the pots have the same things in them, not a variety of different foods.

The staff were quite nice, although not a lot of them spoke good English. Reception helped as much as they could when we asked questions about buses and taxis but they weren't overly helpful.

Overall, it was a nice holiday. The days were very relaxing and the hotel was nice to come back to and sleep. The nightlife in Playa D'en Bossa was good but not as good as expected. A lot of late 20s and 30 year olds in the bars, and definitely not a lot of English people. San Antonio, however, was full of people our age and who were English so that was a lot more fun, the nights we were there.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel to couples and families, however if you're young and can afford to travel to and from the main places in Ibiza then this could be the hotel for you too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have stayed in afew hotels all inclusive, This being easily the worst.
Bar and security staff rude and unhelpful, You will be treated ok if your Spanish thou.
The hotel was fine for what we paid, room, bed, location etc but the food was terrible and i mean terrible. 32 of us there on stag from Ireland and we are not fussy or hard to please but
This food was rotten. Drinks served in 1 FUN size pint glass per person, (again unless your Spanish where you could have got 3 or 4) on our last day we got stalked around pool area by a bar man with scissors trying to cut our A/I wrist bands off so we had to pay???? The lowest of the low lol. A/I we all still spent 500 euro + in 3 nights (no clubs visited) Dont usually write reviews but felt the staff deserved their dues here. The worst ive met.
Met alot of nice people round the pool everyday tho from Ireland, England and Scotland who were good craic and we had a laugh.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chuckb1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECCION_MN, Gerente at Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear chuckb1978. Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are sorry you find these inconveniences during your stay. Thanks for giving us feedback , this way we can look for solutions and try to do it better next time. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a two week holiday at this hotel and I would advise anyone over the age of 18 yrs not to choose this!. The hotel was infested with mosquitoes everywhere. The walls in our room were paper thin. A giant cockroach made its way in to our room also through a damaged air vent in the bathroom. The hot food at dinner was barely even warm. The sitting area around the pool was old shabby and burnt plastic tables and chairs. There wasn't way enough sun loungers to go around for the amount of people staying there. There was no evening entertainment apart from an arrogant youth banging out crap music on a mixer. We spent most of our holiday next door in the resort figures as we didn't like playa d'en bossa. Ibiza town was spectacular but pricey. Won't be going back to Ibiza ever again, we prefer Mallorca so much better. If you are young and want to party and don't care about your accomodation then stay in the mare nostrum!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECCION_MN, Gerente at Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Caroline035, thank you for taking your time in giving your opinion about our hotel. We are really sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and you didn't like the island in general. We take good note of your complains to try to improve and give solution. Sorry again and thanks for writting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa d'en Bossa
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Playasol Jabeque Soul
1.0 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#1 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Playasol My Tivoli
Apartamentos Playasol My Tivoli
#10 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
#9 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,423 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel Playasol Cala Tarida
Hotel Playasol Cala Tarida
#2 of 4 in Cala Tarida
1,280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torre del Mar
Hotel Torre del Mar
#7 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum

Address: Pere Matutes Noguera, 53, 07817 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Playa d'en Bossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
Price Range: $59 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum 3*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: The hotel is located in the world-renowned area of Playa d’en Bossa, 20 minutes walking from Ushuaia and the Hard Rock, 8 minutes to the airport, and 2.6 km from the centre of Ibiza. For guests looking to explore the island, there is a bus stop located conveniently 100 m from the hotel. Rooms: The establishment has single and double rooms (two single beds) as well as double queen rooms, fully equipped with air conditioning, full bathroom with hair dryer, free safe, satellite TV, and balcony. Facilities: The hotel has one pool for adults and one pool for children with a large lounge area for chairs and Balinese beds available for a fee. To keep the youngest members of the family entertained, there are kids and teenager clubs with the latest games. It has a gym, conference room, and a sports centre with a basketball and volleyball court, a football field with artificial turf, a pool table, and a ping pong table. Limited parking spaces are available. Breakfast buffet (8:00 am to 11:00 am), lunch (1:30 pm to 3:00 pm), and dinner service (7:30 pm to 9:30 pm) are carried out with a Cooking Show. The bar in the lobby serves drinks from 10:00 am to 11:00 pm and a variety of snacks from 11:00 am to 6:00 pm. There are two bars in the pool area (10:30 am to 7:00 pm) that offer the above as well as warm snacks at some from 11:00 am to 6:00 pm. Services: The hotel has an entertainment team and shows scheduled so that fun is synonymous with our club. There are kids menus as well as babysitting services available at guest request with an additional fee. Free Wi-Fi, both in the rooms and in the common areas of the hotel. Check-in begins at 2:00 pm and check-out is at 11:00 am. The All-Inclusive service allows guests to enjoy the restaurant, lobby bar, and pool services during the above-mentioned hours. It includes warm and cold dishes from the restaurant and a variety of snacks as well as non-bottled soft drinks, juice, water, draught beer, hot drinks, house wine and domestic spirits (well), and ice cream served at both bars. The All-Inclusive Plus service includes all of the above as well as a greater variety of wines and spirits from top brands, of course. It also includes different warm snacks such as sandwiches, hamburgers, pasta, rice dishes, and other international dishes prepared to order; all of this is provided with personalised service in both the lobby bar and at the pool. CHECK-IN 14:00 CHECK-OUT 11:00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mare Nostrum Hotel
Mare Nostrum Ibiza
Hotel Mare Nostrum
Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum Ibiza/Playa D'en Bossa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing