We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't worry about the poor reviews - it's excellent value”
Review of Hotel Mare Nostrum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mare Nostrum
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Playa d'en Bossa
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't worry about the poor reviews - it's excellent value”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I never fail to be amazed at what standards some reviewers seem to have when booking cheap holidays. I have travelled for work for 15 years, and stayed in 5 star hotels all over the world - which cost a fortune. I booked this for a cheap and cheerful girls weekend away - I'm in my late 30s. We enjoy good food and sightseeing; we booked on an all inclusive basis via Jet2. Having read some of the negative reviews I was unduly worried. The hotel is very clean, with rooms cleaned/bedding/towel changes every day, and free air conditioning and a few UK TV channels. The reception staff bend over backwards to be friendly and welcoming (it helps if you at least try a few words of spanish), and the bar staff are friendly and good natured.

The food is far better than I expected having read reveiws on here. I honestly don't know what some people are looking for. At dinner & lunch there is a 'show cooking' section where the chef prepares fresh squid/seafood/meat kebabs/lamb cutlets, paella and a selection of pastas. There are a wide selection of salads, a few cooked meat options, chips, various potatoes and rices, pizza etc - lots and lots to choose from. At breakfast there is an english breakfast available, with daily variations, as well as full continental, lots of hams, meats, cheeses, breads etc, and there is always lots of fresh fruit and different cakes and deserts. Overall, if you can't find something you enjoy you are one fussy bugger! We paid approx £10 ea per day for the all inclusive upgrade, so for 3 meals and unlimited beverages for that I can't see how anyone could moan.

The only thing that I would have changed was the clientele, there were a few rowdy elements which we steered clear of - I wouldn't want to come back with my child, but its not marketed as a family hotel.

Its perfectly located for the water taxi to formentera and ibiza town, and you can walk to Space, bora bora etc in 5-10 mins. There are sun beds and parasols, and nice bars on the beach immediately accross from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slaithwaitetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECCION_MN, Manager at Hotel Mare Nostrum, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your thoughts and opinions regarding our service.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    594
    399
    162
    181
See reviews for
136
497
75
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I am in my 50s and knew it was a 2 star and late and lively, so I wasn't expecting much but hey when in Rome!. The rooms are clean and comfortable and we were B&B, if you can't find anything you like then you must be the fussiest person alive, honestly I have been in worst 3 stars. I agree it is noisy but we were luckly and had a room at the end of a corridor and neighbours who didn't continue to party once then came home. Make sure you take good earplugs ( Howard Leight Laser lite) and the A/C on, which is free then noise shouldn't be a problem, if it is then you haven't drank enough!
I can't comment on the pool but it looked okay to me.
The beach is right across the road , but was full of seaweed so we walked up past Bora Bora, and found the sand and sea lovely and clean. Loungers at 8 euros a pop was a luxury, and most were empty.
We also found a lovely beach at ses figueous, which is about 15 mins stroll away. We walked into Ibiza Town , once by the coast which took you to the castle and was a bit of a hike, and used the main traffic road which took you down to the port. Great Tapas bars and really lively with everyone getting ready to go to Pacha.
I loved my stay and I wasn't the oldest by miles, your never to old for Ibiza!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BonniePurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECCION_MN, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mare Nostrum, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Bonpurple,

thanks for your comments. One can see that you are very young at heart and you really got the best vibrations of this magic island.

We are looking forward to get your visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed 1-6 June 2013. The rooms are as expected, very basic but comfortable enough. The food is quite predictable: it isn't good but it isn't bad either. Breakfast I found to be much better than dinner. The best thing about the restaurant is the cartoon lookalike manager who wears a fake moustache, nose and glasses every night.

The worst thing about the hotel was Tourettes Tim the animator. Possibly the most annoying man on the planet. He walks around the pool blowing his whistle constantly.

The nightlife in d'en Bossa is interesting. If you are up for the megaclubs then there's a few that are fairly close. There is a strip in d'en Bossa we went to most nights. The only places to end up at are Murphys or Top21. We went thinking it would be the classier side of the island and that is pretty accurate. Much less chavy than San Antonio but there were still some absolute weapons in the bars. Prostitutes will follow you home though trying to sell themselves and dealers are so open with drugs I watched a man riding down the strip on a bike loudly asking people if they wanted Coke...

We did find one enormous landmark in Bossa though. It was very large and round but certainly not beautiful; however, there are plenty of other landmarks to look at on the island.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same but make sure you get air conditioning from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEJS-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECCION_MN, Manager at Hotel Mare Nostrum, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear MEJS-London, thanks for your comments on our hotel. We are glad that in general you were happy with your stay in our hotel, and in Playa den Bossa. Yes, with the opening of Ushuaïa 2 years ago, the zone is getting very renovated and more focused to the famous nightlife of the island. Thanks again and we hope you will stay with us again in your next visit. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the mare nostrum hotel. To be honest 4 days would have been more than enough.
We were there purely for the weather!
The hotel itself is a little tired and run down, it is full of loud, thoughtless yobs who have no consideration for others, so what else do you expect. Last resort of choice.
The rooms are basic but clean, walls paper thin and beds like boxes. VERY NOISY... take earplugs if you want to sleep through the night.There is no hair dryer!!

The food itself was O.K. Breakfast and lunch were better but evening meals were a joke. Luke warm and not much choice! After night 2 we went out in the evenings to eat. Bar staff were very ignorant and rude without due cause.Drinks are ok, from what we had.

The best part of the whole hotel and our holiday was the lovely pool area. Very spacious, clean and believe it or not quite quiet around there during the day! Very pleasant surroundings.

I would certainly not recommend this hotel and will not be returning again.

Room Tip: Choose this hotel only if its your last resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myclio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECCION_MN, Manager at Hotel Mare Nostrum, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Myclio, thank you for taking your time in writing your comments about the hotel. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay in our hotel. We will take into account your remarks. We do great efforts to keep getting better and clients suggestions are very important to us. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa d'en Bossa hotels

Co Dublin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed here for three nights from 28th-31st May just about missed the first of summer nightclubbers. It was by no means empty but the last two nights they had 18-20s in the rooms blaring music till from early morning to 3am. I did have to ring reception 3 times in one night and eventually they sent security to the room next door. I checked out one night early to get a better nights sleep. The food is good I have to say so if you stay do book all inclusive but they only include drinks at breakfast so lunch and dinner you have to pay for drinks bit of a farce. Get an all inclusive package through Alpharooms especially.. Pool area is lovely with lifeguard and suitable for babies etc but can get very busy very fast no music blared all day. The location Of the MN is about 8min walk from the main strip and it now has no more sea views due to building expansions and it could be a red light district but hard to know with some outfits, The beach is within 2min walk but its not nice so again 8mins away is the lovely PdB beach. There is a little Spar directly across the road for English papers etc and cold drinks as the Mare Nostrum charges a fortune for Water and drinks. Also two little restaurants good prices and varied menus. The rooms could not be more basic here, there is nothing in them. The beds are hard as rocks, you are charged for a remote for the tv and for the air con which didnt work. There is a tv with Sky News. No fridge and no minibar or tea making facilities when hotter in June/July/Aug this would be a serious problem. No soundproofing very thin walls. Wifi is free in reception and lounge and the wifi ticket machine prices are €1 for 30mins or €2 for 60mins and a week is €20 the tickets have codes on them so in room wifi is available with the code and reliable. Travelling solo a taxi to the hotel from the airport was 10 on arrival or 15 on return..

Room Tip: Room 3045 third floor can be quiet only if noone else on the floor. The cleaners do not knock they j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shezsharks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECCION_MN, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mare Nostrum, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Shezsharks,

thanks for your review and your long description on our hotel. Yes, we have many people that comes looking for the nightlife of Ibiza, nevertheless we try hard that silence is respected for all the guests. Having fun is not incompatible with relax and being able to rest to be fresh for next day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just got back from a 4 night stay,all inclusive,and cant believe the amount of negative reviews on here. The hotel itself is spotless,all day there were numerous cleaning staff keeping the hotel in A1 condition. The food is what you would find anywhere on the island on an all inclusive option. Breakfast was a hot selection which changed daily,cereals,fruit,yoghurts,continental breads,pastries and cakes. Lunch consisted of various salads,hot dishes,fruits,desserts and ice creams. At the dinner buffet there was always 2 hot meat dishes,a hot fish dish,vegetables,potato options,salads,desserts and ice creams...and another hot buffet station that had various pastas and sauces,and a hotplate where the chef was cooking items freshly,one night we had pork chops,and another night we had fish fillets which were absolutely lovely.....in addition to all the 'meaty' items there was one area of the buffet that was purely vegetarian and consisted of pizza,rice dishes,quiche......all in all everybody had an option of what they wanted to eat,we didnt go hungry either.
Rooms were lovely and clean,no one bed is going to suit everybody but we found them comfortable,towels were changed and beds were made daily by the team of staff.
Bar facilities were excellent,the Estrella on draught was superb,as with the majority of hotels,the bar staff dont know what typical alcohol measures are,but we certainly weren't upset with the triple measures we had in our drinks,no queues at the bar either as there were always enough staff working.
The pool area was clean,pool cleaned daily and plenty of sunbeds. Nice size pool with cascading water to one side and a childrens pool so everyone was catered for.
There wasnt much evening entertainment,but we were told that we could use the facilities at the sister hotel,The Algarb,about a 5 minute walk away,we could also use our "bands" to gain our drinks there too. We did this one evening and we were very impressed.
All in all for the "2 star" hotel (i think it should be a 3 star to be honest) and the price you pay,we were very impressed and would most certainly return,in fact we are looking into booking for next year and going with a group of friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouW259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECCION_MN, Gerente at Hotel Mare Nostrum, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Lou... Thank you very much for you review on our hotel. You make a good description of all our offers and services:
- nice rooms equipped with air conditioning, television, rental safety boxes, bathroom, rental Wi-Fi connection all of them with private terrace,
- a magnificent swimming pool in a landscaped area with wide space to relax under the Sun with Hammocks and parasols available,
- a variety packages including the All Inclusive, that covers all three meals, appetizers and drinks and many other services like rent a car, excursions...
We put the basic elements for a nice stay, So you can just relax and can convert it in a memorable experience with the posibilities this magic island offers. Thanks again for you feedback and we are looking forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

What a fantastic hotel. Great location an absolute bargain. Food wasn't great but don't expect 5* food at a 1* price. Picnics could be ordered if you were going off site the next day...great. Service and friendliness of staff in the restaurant was fantastic, animation team and reception also great. Attitude from the bar staff totally rude! I no they work long hours and it must be hard but we are always friendly enough and just expect the same back....obviously not.
Rooms clean and decent sized with a television. New towels and friendly maids, no trouble with safety cameras everywhere. Loud hotel do not stay here if you are wanting a family peaceful holiday! Go elsewhere, not Bossa!
All in all great and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Go for a none pool view it's quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terencesn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIRECCION_MN, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Mare Nostrum, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Terenscen,

thank you for you comments. We are glad to hear you really enjoyed your stay with us. Also we take into account the fails to gradually improve.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa d'en Bossa hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
#3 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#2 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torre del Mar
Hotel Torre del Mar
#6 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Santos Ibiza Coast Suites
Santos Ibiza Coast Suites
#12 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bora Bora Apartments
Bora Bora Apartments
#24 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
#5 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mare Nostrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mare Nostrum

Property: Hotel Mare Nostrum
Address: Pere Matutes Noguera, 53, 07817 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Playa d'en Bossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mare Nostrum 3*
Number of rooms: 516
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mare Nostrum hotel is one of the most outstanding hotels in Ibiza due to its location right on Playa d'en Bossa and its sheer size. It has a unique location because it is so near to famous beaches and also Ibiza's must-see sights, such as the port. The best Ibiza has to offer within a stone's throw. Every single one of our facilities and services, such as the "all-inclusive" package, are designed to cover each and every one of your needs. The Mare Nostrum hotel is particularly appealing to younger visitors because it is so close to fashionable leisure spots in Playa d'en Bossa, and also because of our pool parties, with their special décor and good music. Our dynamic team will go all out to ensure that you have a great stay and make the most of your time in Ibiza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Grupo Playa Sol, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Mare Nostrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mare Nostrum Hotel
Mare Nostrum Ibiza
Hotel Mare Nostrum Ibiza/Playa D'en Bossa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing