We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Value and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Playa d'en Bossa
Buffalo, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Outstanding Value and Location”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed here for 4 days on August 26. Could not ask for a better hotel. Everything was close by, excellent and lively pool area. Hotel was clean and staff was very helpful and friendly. Will definitly stay here on my next trip to Ibiza. Hotel is centrally located close to everything, beach, clubs, shopping and dining areas. This hotel could not be beat in as far as value for the price.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    644
    431
    175
    187
See reviews for
151
546
83
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Just returned today from a week at the mare nostrum and after some of the reviews was a little bit apprehensive about the hotel.

The hotel was so clean, maid cleaned our room every day, and changed the towels everyday as well as being so polite and happy all the time! the reception staff were helpful and polite too.

The swimming pool was clean and bar staff/restaurant staff were also polite. If you are polite and kind to their staff they return this - I seen a few times people being rude to staff which did result in staff biting back but what do you expect when you treat someone like that.

The food was basic and repetitive but enough choice to ensure you don't starve, the hotel was cheap and cheerful - what more do you expect from a 2 star hotel?

I suspect the bad reviews are from people who expect 5 star service for 2 star price. Your in Ibiza who spends much time in the hotel anyway? Air con was also free!

Perfect location - would definitely return to this hotel for a cheap holiday to Ibiza! You get what you pay for and your holiday is what you make it!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lwat191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2012

the hotel was clean especially communial areas, bar staff were not rude to us but people did complain but not sure this was justified, always got served quickly and with a smile. The hotel is not for young families.
The police were called a few times during our stay and people were removed from the hotel.
We were woken a number of times with people playing knock door run and partying in hall ways.
The food was hardly edible and repetative we were with a party of 6 and 5 were ill at some point during the week, we were all inclusive but we gave up on the food and ate out.
Day time activites that were listed with the exception of waterpolo were non existant. got the impression that the English were not that welcome there.
Pool area was very nice, no fighting for sunbeds and the pool itself was very clean.
My holiday highlight was the loud Austrialian guy who made life guard and security staff's life a misery by the poolside with his drunken antics at 10 am onwards fell from the waterfall and cracked his head open.

Room Tip: Dont bother asking for room at ground level or pool view this requests go unanswered. Would not r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen_brind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel was the best priced we found so we decided to give it a try. It's in a great location, the reception staff were very helpful and there were always at least a couple of them there. Rooms were clean and quite nice, with a balcony, tv and aircon. Breakfast wasn't anything special...but it did the job. All in all great value for money and a decent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydV3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Hotel is in a good location, right in the center of Partying. Hotel facilities are basic, but they do they job. rooms were clean, and our aircon worked. highlight of the room was a cupholder ontop of the toilet roll holder. hahaha!

some of the staff very rude and unhelpful, some where great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGunnink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We wanted a good value hotel for a couple of nights in Playa d'en Bossa last week. Mare Nostrum came up as the cheapest on a number of searches and after reading a couple of reviews decided it looked OK.

People who complained about rude reception staff obviously had some issues but we were checked in speedily and in a friendly way. All areas of the hotel were clean, the rooms were basic but fine - you don't go to Ibiza to spend your time in the room! The air con was brilliant! Bathroom was clean and the shower was fine.

The pool area was fine but is quite small for the size of the hotel and although fine when we were there I could see that it could get a bit crowded.

It's only about a 10 minute walk to the main area of town and a 2 minute walk to the amazing beach.

If you want a good value hotel as a base for a stay in Playa d'en Bossa this will do you fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philb33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This hotel is good for the money we paid, its within walking distance of the main attractions but far enought away to be a bit quieter at night and proves a good base in the resort. The pool area is also very good and the hotel very clean. We did have two main issues though, the staff in the hotel were very rude and not at all helpful on occasions we visited the reception and the bar. We also had some issues being kept awake by very loud groups, there are a number of rowdy groups in the hotel mainly Italians. All in all if you are just looking for a central, clean place to sleep the hotel is fine but dont expect 5 star service it runs more like a hostel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa d'en Bossa
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Playasol Jabeque Soul
1.0 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#1 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Playasol My Tivoli
Apartamentos Playasol My Tivoli
#10 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
#8 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Noria
Hotel La Noria
#22 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
276 reviews
1.1 mi away
Panoramic Apartments
Panoramic Apartments
#26 of 52 in Ibiza Town
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum

Property: Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum
Address: Pere Matutes Noguera, 53, 07817 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Playa d'en Bossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Playa d'en Bossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum 3*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: The hotel is located in the world-renowned area of Playa d’en Bossa, 20 minutes walking from Ushuaia and the Hard Rock, 8 minutes to the airport, and 2.6 km from the centre of Ibiza. For guests looking to explore the island, there is a bus stop located conveniently 100 m from the hotel. Rooms: The establishment has single and double rooms (two single beds) as well as double queen rooms, fully equipped with air conditioning, full bathroom with hair dryer, free safe, satellite TV, and balcony. Facilities: The hotel has one pool for adults and one pool for children with a large lounge area for chairs and Balinese beds available for a fee. To keep the youngest members of the family entertained, there are kids and teenager clubs with the latest games. It has a gym, conference room, and a sports centre with a basketball and volleyball court, a football field with artificial turf, a pool table, and a ping pong table. Limited parking spaces are available. Breakfast buffet (8:00 am to 11:00 am), lunch (1:30 pm to 3:00 pm), and dinner service (7:30 pm to 9:30 pm) are carried out with a Cooking Show. The bar in the lobby serves drinks from 10:00 am to 11:00 pm and a variety of snacks from 11:00 am to 6:00 pm. There are two bars in the pool area (10:30 am to 7:00 pm) that offer the above as well as warm snacks at some from 11:00 am to 6:00 pm. Services: The hotel has an entertainment team and shows scheduled so that fun is synonymous with our club. There are kids menus as well as babysitting services available at guest request with an additional fee. Free Wi-Fi, both in the rooms and in the common areas of the hotel. Check-in begins at 2:00 pm and check-out is at 11:00 am. The All-Inclusive service allows guests to enjoy the restaurant, lobby bar, and pool services during the above-mentioned hours. It includes warm and cold dishes from the restaurant and a variety of snacks as well as non-bottled soft drinks, juice, water, draught beer, hot drinks, house wine and domestic spirits (well), and ice cream served at both bars. The All-Inclusive Plus service includes all of the above as well as a greater variety of wines and spirits from top brands, of course. It also includes different warm snacks such as sandwiches, hamburgers, pasta, rice dishes, and other international dishes prepared to order; all of this is provided with personalised service in both the lobby bar and at the pool. CHECK-IN 14:00 CHECK-OUT 11:00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mare Nostrum Hotel
Mare Nostrum Ibiza
Hotel Mare Nostrum
Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum Ibiza/Playa D'en Bossa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing