We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for holidays in Ibiza”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Playa d'en Bossa
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for holidays in Ibiza”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

"Perfect" is a very relative word but, for me, Mare Nostrum Hotel in Ibiza was a perfect one. I stayed 7 nights in All Inclusive and i will definitively go there every time I'll be in Ibiza. The food was very good (Italian style for most of days); the staff very polite and they were smiling all the time. The Romanian guy on the reception (mos of time by night) is very helpful.
Hotel location is perfect if you want to combine night life with beaches and swimming. I had rent a car there and i didn't need any taxi or bus but i saw that in front of the hotel stops many buses that goes to mos of the discotheques.
By night, the hotel was very quite and you can sleep well in their beds. Rooms where cleaned every day and showers where changed every day too.
I realized that hotel was frequented too much from Italians, and it is not a family hotel (who will go with his family in Ibiza!? :P ).

Room Tip: Rooms are all the same. If you have trouble sleeping, avoid rooms with view to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferjolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    611
    409
    166
    182
See reviews for
141
511
79
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Well where do we start? having read recent reviews I fail to understand how anyone in their right mind would give this "Hotel" anything more than just a terrible review. The place is set for 18s to 25s holiday makers in need of relieving themselves!the food is awful repetition after repetition every single night! the pool is always overcrowded with teenagers and no enough sun beds. In the whole period we were there for we didnt see a single family and definately not suitable for kids. I would agree that the most welcoming staff were the cleaners, always jolly and respectful. The reception staff were rude and unhelfpul most of the time. The shower was broken, as was the aircon unit. no entertaintment and the drinks awful. Because of the clientele there we were given plastic cups for all drinks, regardless whether it was day time or night time and the choice of drinks was very poor. I would strongly recommend you stay away from this dreadful excuse. This is a youth club, faulty towers would look like the Ritz compare to this place. Save your money go elsewhere...! Forgot to say the "gym" was out of order most of our stay there with some serious dodgy equipment which we think was last serviced in the 70s...

Room Tip: ask for one with air con that works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank silvia_sSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALFREDO D, Gerente at Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear client:
We regret very much you did not enjoy the time you were with us during your holidays.
First of all, I would like to point out the Hotel Mare Nostrum is a 2 stars hotel in the core of Playa den bossa, Ibiza.
The food is quite good ranked at internal reports and internet websites. We offer everyday a wide range of salads, vegetables, fishes, meat fruit and desserts.
We appreciate very much your good comments about the cleaners staff, I will personally let them know, as they working so hard.
We have “breakdowns report papers” at disposal of our clients in Reception in order to sort them out. Should these problems in rooms not be repaired, we offer our clients changing the room.
All inclusive drinks at the bar are served in plastic glasses in order to avoid broken glasses at the floor.
The gym has a small range of machines to keep the shape of our clients during their holildays, open from 9 until 21 hours.
Nevertheless, I take note of your comments as we are trying to improve everyday in order to satisfy all of our clients during their stay with us.
Kind regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa d'en Bossa hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The night staff were very rude to us we had a friend that can speak fluent Spanish and they were slagging us off about our sexuality in Spanish. I have been going to Ibiza for the last 14 years and never experienced anyone as rude as them.
The rooms are fine and a good selection off food and good sized pool area. But don't go on holiday to be verbally abused by staff in the accommodation I am staying in.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibizalee15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in July. We had no issues with this hotel and were definitely satisfied with our stay here. I don't agree with the more negative reviews posted below as we found the staff very helpful & friendly and all hotel facilities fine. As this hotel is quite large with hundreds of rooms, patrons obviously don't receive 'boutique hotel' service but once again, we have no issues to report. The room was clean and serviced daily. The room had air conditioning & a balcony. The hotel also had wifi which could be purchased and used at the concierge & all club tickets can be purchased from the hotel. It is a nice 5-10 minute walk from Jets / Bora Bora and the clubs in Playa D'en Bossa. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Ibiza on a budget!

Room Tip: Select a room in the back of the hotel - away from the main entrance & taxi rank as this ensures...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JessyGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALFREDO D, Manager at Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments JessyGee, we hope to see you again in our hotel and enjoying our fantastic island.

See you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My sister & I arrived at 11:30 but had to hang around for 30 mins before we were allowed an all inc drink from the bar - this set the tone for our stay. No hair dryer, no pool towels, no info in the room about meal times so we arrived for dinner at 21:10 to find the food being taken away. Meals were boring & repetative - there's only so much salad a vegetarian can eat. There was soup occasionally but we never got to find out what variety it was. We had to cue for a drink at lunch times - when I took our empty glasses back for a re-fill they were snatched from my hands, the restaurant staff rarely smiled except for one blond girl who worked twice as hard as the rest & smiled constantly.

The bar staff appeared not to see me each time I went to the bar & I found myself raising my voice a few times to get served which is not like me at all. We had to drink from plastic cups all of the time, not just during the day around the pool area. There was entertainment on our 1st night - a very poor Michael Jackson mimer with backing dancers, we saw no more entertainment.

The pool area was crowded with nowhere near enough sunbeds, there was a 2nd pool we could see from our room but this was not used even though it was mid July. The doors out to the pool area weren't open until 9:00 so if you were an early riser & wanted to sit in the sun - tough!

The room was basic but clean and the housekeeper worked constantly & said hello each day. The reception staff were less than helpfull most of the time with their favourite word being "no". Until our last morning when the young man on reception was lovely - shame he wasn't there the whole week. We saw a few cockroaches by the gym & the loos by reception were smelly with light bulbs out for the whole week.

The area outside the hotel is not cleaned or looked after at all & frankly I named it piddle corner. On the plus side we were walking distance to the beach, shops, bars & restaurants. The bus into town stops right outside.

So no, I would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mycharoniloveyouxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Don't stay at the Hotel Club Mare Nostrum in Playa Den Bossa, Ibiza. The service was atrocious and the staff were rude and uncommunicative.

On our second night the hotel staff called the police on us for bringing two guests into our room and then fined us 75€ per person (total 150€). We were not making any noise or causing trouble but they told us that if we didn't pay then they would kick us out there and then at 4am in the morning. They showed the police a contract that we hadn't even seen as we had booked online and were not interested in a word we had to say even though we were being civil. I was told to come back tomorrow and speak to the manager but every day I came down to speak to him he supposedly wasn't there.....

Rubbish hotel that steals off the tourists.... I will not be staying at this hotel group ever again...

Room Tip: Don't stay here, pay the extra to get a decent hotel as it will be worth it in the long run.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edd T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

we came here as a family hoiliday and it wernt what we expected it was for all young people and not a good place for young children , the food wasnt really nice the meat was always under cooked the rooms were ok but there was always parties next door to us that kept us up all night i wouldnt recommand it to people looking for a family hoiliday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TiaGlenday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa d'en Bossa
1.0 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#2 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,067 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Playasol Jabeque Soul
0.9 mi away
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
#7 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torre del Mar
Hotel Torre del Mar
#8 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Playasol My Tivoli
Apartamentos Playasol My Tivoli
#10 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
#3 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum

Property: Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum
Address: Pere Matutes Noguera, 53, 07817 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Playa d'en Bossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum 3*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: The hotel is located in the world-renowned area of Playa d’en Bossa, 20 minutes walking from Ushuaia and the Hard Rock, 8 minutes to the airport, and 2.6 km from the centre of Ibiza. For guests looking to explore the island, there is a bus stop located conveniently 100 m from the hotel. Rooms: The establishment has single and double rooms (two single beds) as well as double queen rooms, fully equipped with air conditioning, full bathroom with hair dryer, free safe, satellite TV, and balcony. Facilities: The hotel has one pool for adults and one pool for children with a large lounge area for chairs and Balinese beds available for a fee. To keep the youngest members of the family entertained, there are kids and teenager clubs with the latest games. It has a gym, conference room, and a sports centre with a basketball and volleyball court, a football field with artificial turf, a pool table, and a ping pong table. Limited parking spaces are available. Breakfast buffet (8:00 am to 11:00 am), lunch (1:30 pm to 3:00 pm), and dinner service (7:30 pm to 9:30 pm) are carried out with a Cooking Show. The bar in the lobby serves drinks from 10:00 am to 11:00 pm and a variety of snacks from 11:00 am to 6:00 pm. There are two bars in the pool area (10:30 am to 7:00 pm) that offer the above as well as warm snacks at some from 11:00 am to 6:00 pm. Services: The hotel has an entertainment team and shows scheduled so that fun is synonymous with our club. There are kids menus as well as babysitting services available at guest request with an additional fee. Free Wi-Fi, both in the rooms and in the common areas of the hotel. Check-in begins at 2:00 pm and check-out is at 11:00 am. The All-Inclusive service allows guests to enjoy the restaurant, lobby bar, and pool services during the above-mentioned hours. It includes warm and cold dishes from the restaurant and a variety of snacks as well as non-bottled soft drinks, juice, water, draught beer, hot drinks, house wine and domestic spirits (well), and ice cream served at both bars. The All-Inclusive Plus service includes all of the above as well as a greater variety of wines and spirits from top brands, of course. It also includes different warm snacks such as sandwiches, hamburgers, pasta, rice dishes, and other international dishes prepared to order; all of this is provided with personalised service in both the lobby bar and at the pool. CHECK-IN 14:00 CHECK-OUT 11:00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mare Nostrum Hotel
Mare Nostrum Ibiza
Hotel Mare Nostrum
Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum Ibiza/Playa D'en Bossa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing