We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Playasol The New Algarb
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Playa d'en Bossa
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 days! Definitely recommend for a cheap get away! Rooms were nice with lateral sea views. Food was very nice each day always with a different selection definitely one of the best all inclusive I have ate in. Hotel is right on the beach and everything is easily accessible eg all the clubs are easy to get to. Will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golden12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni V, Gerente at Hotel Playasol The New Algarb, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear guest,

First of all let me to thank you for your nice words, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed not just the island but also our establishment, facilities and food.

Likewise we will pass your congratulations to our staff which is definitely motivation for us to keep working hard and an important reward for the management.

Thank you in advance for your possible recommendations and, hopefully, you will choose again our establishment for your next holidays.

Best regards,

Toni Valentín
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,009)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

470 - 476 of 2,014 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

A very good hotel with an excellent staff perfectly directed by Maria Jose and Toni always supervising that everything is ok for the guests. I spent two great weeks. Nights very funny and animated by Mimmo and Alessandro, the show´s conductors.

Room Tip: I only know the room number 250 and it´s ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JesusfromGalicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni V, Gerente at Hotel Playasol The New Algarb, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel, it´s a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We shall inform your staff about your positive comments for the continuous improvement of our services.

We hope to see you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Toni Valentín
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Pros:
1. Excellent location on the beach and fantastic views of the sea
2. Cleanliness was a good standard
3. Contains basic toiletries and a hairdryer

Cons:
1. Very uncomfortable beds - I couldn't sleep. The worst beds I've slept in in a hotel.
2. Terrible food (breakfast, lunch and dinner) and dirty glass cups/cutlery. Some of the food tasted as if it came out of a tin. However, the omelette that's cooked in front of you is tasty.
3. Irons and ironing boards are not available. For a hotel this is poor.
4. There's no fridge
5. The best views are from twin rooms whereas double rooms don't get as good a view. Not good for a lone traveller or couple.
6. Wifi is a joke. Never pay for this because you won't be able to get your money back, it won't work properly. Wifi is offered free at reception but then again the connection keeps cutting out or it would take ages to load a page.
7. Telephone in room wasn't working (i.e. no dial tone whatsoever)
8. Shower pressure keeps dropping. If you shower during peak periods the temperature will fluctuate from lukewarm to very hot and the pressure will rise and fall so watch out for this.
9. The meal times are not conducive especially breakfast (08:00 to 10:30) and dinner (19:30 to 21:30). Considering that most visitors in Ibiza are there to party, one would expect more reasonable meal times, for example breakfast could be 07:00 to 11:30.
10. Staff generally aren't as accommodating or smiley (especially staff in the restaurant).

Summary:
As already mentioned it's perfectly located. The hotel is on the same beach strip as the more expensive hotels like Ushuaia and Hard Rock hotel and perfectly located for Bora Bora beach. If you're looking for a "hotel" with good views and conveniently located then Algarb will suffice. There's a decent restaurant opposite the hotel.

If you're looking to have a good night's sleep and eat decent food then it's best to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: I guess the higher you go the better but then again it depends on your neighbours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FromBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni V, Gerente at Hotel Playasol The New Algarb, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear guest,

On the behalf of all staff we really thank you for choosing our hotel as your holiday destination in Ibiza.

We appreciate your time taken to write your comments that help us to keep working hard.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed the location and the cleaning service.

However we deeply regret the inconvenience caused to you during your stay and we really would like to apologize for that.

Food is according to a three star establishment and has variety of courses, our restaurant have the show cooking during each service, for example, at breakfast time we are offering; crêpes, omelettes to taste and sandwiches to taste. The lunch services are adequate for the hotel category. Finally we have three themed dinners, Monday Mexican dinner, Wednesday Asian dinner and Friday Spanish dinner; each special night ends with a professional show.

On the other hand, I deeply regret you were not satisfied with the room problems; our maintenance service could change your mattress if it was not comfortable for you and repairing your telephone if you had informed to our front desk 24 hours reception.

About the wi-fi service, there is a free wi-fi available in reception

We would like to let you know that we will take your opinions into account and we try to do our best to avoid that kind of situations.

Once again let us to apologize and hopefully we could see you soon at any of our establishments.

Best regards,

Toni Valentín
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Normally stay at the jabeque but on a flying visit so choose the Algarb as we did not need S C.
Rooms nice and the general hotel layout is clean and well presented.
However, when you book in your given an advise sheet that noise from the room not permitted midnight to 7am.On our first night the room from next door was very loud and you heard security knocking on the door.#
next morning we notified reception who said we must ring security not them if a similar problem. At 12.30am we came up by chance with one of the security guys and you could hear the noise from the rooms from the lift, although we were half way down the corridor.
The guy rang for collegue before he would take action, they knocked on the door and all quiet for 15 minutes.
By 4am the guys are sitting in our room listening to the noise but powerless to do anything, they would just knock on the door talk to them and then return to our room waiting for it to happen again.
At 8am we went down to reception who advised nothing they could do, throw them out seemed a good idea or just move those around them.
Next door to us was a young family, the parents tearing their hair out at the lack of support management giving them.
What is the point putting in writing no noise action will be taken if your not prepared to take action, when we have had similar at the jabeque they have been thrown out.
This was in the middle of May, what its going to be like in the peak months.
Certainly would have been a very serious issue for us if we had stayed there longer.
Lack of customer service such a shame and then as we left asked to be sure to put up a report on T A, we certainly were going too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni V, Gerente at Hotel Playasol The New Algarb, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Ian,

First of all, we want to apologize for the inconvenience about the noise.

We will pass your comment to our security staff and we are working hard to ensure that these situations do not recur in the future.

We are working hard to ensure that these situations do not recur in the future and we have a security staff from 04:00 pm until 08:00 am to prevent noise.

Although it is very hard to keep quiet people coming only for the parties but if the guests are complaining at the reception we take action after warning several times and ask the client to leave the hotel.

All staff hotel are very sorry for your complaint and we hope to regain your confidence.

Once again we want to apologize for the inconveniences suffered.

Best regards,

Toni Valentín
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The hotel is large and located some distance away from the main drag, next to a reasonably nice beach. To get into town is a 10min bicycle ride or a 10E cab ride.

The lobby is pretty enormous, with plenty of sofas to sink into after your hangover and it's pretty much a 24hr operation. It's quite reasonably priced if you want to be near enough the action, but still staying on a beach.

Although the hotel location is very quiet, with no bars/nightclubs/busy roads around, you need a room well away from the stairs/lifts area if you plan to do any sleeping. In particular if you're staying in a single room, you need to be sufficiently inebriated or wearing earplugs, as these are clustered around the stairs and lifts.

Room Tip: As far away from stairs/lifts as possible - do not stay in a single room as these are all in the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamcooler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni V, Gerente at Hotel Playasol The New Algarb, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, we want to apologize for the inconvenience about the noise.

We will pass your comment to our security staff and we are working hard to ensure that these situations do not recur in the future.

We are working hard to ensure that these situations do not recur in the future and we have a security staff from 04:00 pm until 08:00 am to prevent noise.

Although it is very hard to keep quiet people coming only for the parties but if the guests are complaining at the reception we take action after warning several times and ask the client to leave the hotel.

Once again we want to apologize for the inconveniences suffered.

Best regards,

Toni Valentín
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Came here before the season started in early May.

The hotel was ok. Room was clean but the beds were awful (basically a camp bed). Went all inclusive but this finished at 11pm. Drinks were so tiny you had to go to the bar every 5 minutes. Bar staff disinterested and unhelpful. Food was ok.

Pool area was nice, plenty of beds to sit on and easy access onto the beach.

I think this hotel is totally geared up for the party season for big groups of young people so being out of the season here was a bit weird.

It's cheap, its average, its right near bora bora so if you're out here to party and only pass out, throw up, shower and change in your room then probably ok.

I wouldn't go back with my boyfriend, I think we'd probably prefer to splash some cash on somewhere nicer next time but if I was with a group of mates then I might consider it.

One final pointer - the walls are paper thin!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rae87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni V, Gerente at Hotel Playasol The New Algarb, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear guest,

First of all let me to thank you for your nice words, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed not just the island but also our establishment and our facilities.

We will pass your congratulations to our cleaning staff which is definitely motivation for us to keep working hard and an important reward for the management, too.

We'd like to see you again very soon.

Best regards,

Toni Valentín
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I came to this hotel with my partner between 29th -7th June. The hotel itself is lovely, great views of the beach and lots to do! The maids were all really nice and always said hello!

The only issue I had with this hotel was two of the receptionists (one older brunette lady called Cristina and one younger blonde lady).
I stood at the reception one day (to try and get help purchasing wifi for my computer). After standing for 5 minutes, and being the only person looking for help... I said "excuse me" to which Cristina grunted and walked over. When I explained what I was looking for she said she would come back. Cristina and this other blonde receptionist then started serving other customers who we're looking to phone taxi's etc without making eye contact with me. 10 minutes later and when there was no one left to serve, they both started doing random things like tidying up and looking at their phones! I was stood there in disbelief at the fact that they were completely ignoring me! I walked over to them and the blonde receptionist grudgingly told me how to pay for wifi while Cristina completely ignored me still.
I have absolutely no idea where they learned they're manners but they completely bring the hotel down and are a terrible addition to such a wonderful team! The male receptionist is an absolute gentleman so maybe they should take some tips from him!

However, like I said, the rest of the team and hotel was great and it was a pleasure staying there! :)

Room Tip: Room 505 great pool and sea view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jade A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni V, Gerente at Hotel Playasol The New Algarb, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Jade,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. Your opinion is very important and valuable for us.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel and the location.

We want to apologize for the inconveniences suffered during your trip, we convey your complaint to our head-reception and we will speak with all of our reception staff in order to the problem does not recur again.

We will be glad to welcome you soon.

Kind regards,

Toni Valentín
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa d'en Bossa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum
Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum
#17 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,099 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#1 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,395 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aparthotel Playasol Jabeque Soul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Playasol My Tivoli
Apartamentos Playasol My Tivoli
#11 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
#9 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,417 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Torre del Mar
Hotel Torre del Mar
#8 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playasol The New Algarb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playasol The New Algarb

Address: Avenida Pere Matutes Noguera 107, 07817 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Playa d'en Bossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#3 Business Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#14 Luxury Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
Price Range: $79 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Playasol The New Algarb 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: The hotel is located at the centre of the Playa d’en Bossa, at the seafront in one of the most visited and popular areas of Ibiza. It is very close to the city centre (only 3 km away), and has a bus stop in front of the hotel; it is also close to fashionable clubs and only 13 minutes from the airport. Rooms: The rooms have been completely renovated and are fully equipped with all the furniture guests may need (desk, luggage rack, bedside table, and chair/armchair), a full bathroom with a bathtub and partition and a hair dryer. All rooms have air conditioning, a plasma TV with satellite service, free safe, telephone, mini-fridge, and balcony with patio furniture and side views of the sea. Facilities: Hotel facilities have been updated to provide them with a touch of modernity and to enlarge them. The complex has one pool for adults and one pool for children with lounge chairs and umbrellas for guests to use as well as direct beach access. Qiub, the pool’s beach bar, located in front of the sea, offers a wide variety of gastronomic delights and cocktails from 11:00 am to 7:30 pm. It also has an exclusive Balinese bed and lounge chair service for a fee. The pool bar serves drinks from 10:30 am to 7:00 pm and a variety of snacks from 11:00 am to 6:00 pm. We also have a bar in the lobby offering drinks from 7:00 pm to midnight. Next to it, the new TOKYO IBIZA restaurant offers a variety of both Mediterranean and Asian cuisine in a buffet with a cooking show for breakfast (8:00 am to 11:00 am), lunch (1:30 pm to 3:00 pm), and dinner (7:30 pm to 9:30 pm). Services: The hotel offers newspapers in three different areas, a large lobby with a video game section (PlayStation), 85” TV, 24 hour vending machines, shops, and a pool table. Massage area in the pool garden. Check-in begins at 2:00 pm and check-out is at 11:00 am. Free Wi-Fi, both in the rooms and in the common areas of the hotel. The All-Inclusive Plus service allows guests to enjoy the restaurant, lobby bar, and pool services during the above-mentioned hours. It includes warm and cold dishes from the restaurant. A variety of sandwiches, hamburgers, pasta, rice dishes, and other international dishes prepared to order. Ice cream, non-bottled soft drinks, juice, water, draught beer, hot drinks, a variety of wines and spirits (from top brands, naturally); all of this is provided with personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Playasol The New Algarb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algarb Hotel Ibiza Town
Resort All Inclusive Algarb
Hotel Algarb Ibiza
Hotel Playasol The New Algarb Ibiza/Playa D'en Bossa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing