We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Playasol The New Algarb
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Playa d'en Bossa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel mid Oct 2012 with a friend. Excellent value for money. Right on the beach, short distance from the airport and within easy walking distance of all facilities. Room was very clean and we had a sea and pool view from our balcony which was brilliant. Slept very well every night as the hotel was not noisy at all.
Staff were always very helpful and friendly and work very hard.
All inclusive was great, great food, large choice always fresh and plenty for everyone. Very large measures of local spirits.
Free Wifi in the lobby was a real bonus.
In comparison to other 3 star hotels I have stayed in abroad this one really is very good and would definately recommend it and stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    676
    402
    166
    114
See reviews for
190
644
95
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

If you are looking for a good budget hotel then this is great, If you are looking for 3 star this is not.
We arrived at 21:00 just in time for evening meal staff were friendly enough, Food was better than I expected for budget, drinks are basic and come in small plastic cups but what can you expect. We paid £320 for a twin room all inclusive in October.

The pool area was nice and clean everywhere was infact clean but slightly ran down.( it has been a Fiesta hotel at some point )

Only thing that was poor was the entertainment could have been the time of year though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaz7600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I went for my second holiday this year to Balearic Islands and this time to Ibiza Playa de ‘n Bossa. As October the weather gets chilly and you see more rain I was prepared for everything. I researched this hotel before I booked it and I can agree it is a good hotel. We been party of five on half-board basis (I’m more breakfast person, but was looking for cheaper option), arrived on Monday morning, to check in. At 10.30am we managed to get one room (check in time 14.00) so we left our stuff and went for a walk around area. The weather was very good 26+C (all week similar temperature only one day of rain).As this was off peak season, there were less people, and some of the bars were about to shut down for winter break, as well as night clubs had their last evenings. But still majority bars were open, so you can get good lunch option or evening meal and off course lots of Sangria.
Back to hotel, we got all our rooms by noon, which was clean and good size. The hotel itself is huge but requires modernisation. Talking about dinner time, which off course was brilliant, variety of food to choose from for every taste. All week, the food at the hotel was great, and I really loved it. The rooms were clean regularly; staff was helpful if you needed something. I really enjoined my stay at Algarb hotel, I would definitely recommend this hotel as a good value for money, but as I said it would do better with modernisation. Therefore, one night we had a noisy neighbour’s which were parting till late, but that was sorted in no time, the security came up twice, and told they going to call police, because they not respecting other guests. I would suggest that this hotel has strict noise policy, and if you are a party person is better to find a different one, or party outside hotel. Therefore, the local area is very nice, but it's worth going and visiting all Ibiza, the old town and city centre, as well as other villages and towns. We rent a car (40 euros/day) so have been travelling all across Ibiza, there are a lot to see and the Island itself is very nice. As an option, day trip to Formentera would be ideal, water taxis are just 500m from hotel, and price depends on how fast you want to reach the island (12-20 euros). Another place to visit is ‘hippy Market’ which is in Es Canar, about 20km from Bossaa and other places. The prices from airport to hotel are about 10-13 euros by taxi, and if you need a safe in your room this will be an extra 4 euros a day. I really enjoined my stay in Ibiza and waiting to come back in summer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed at this hotel a few times about 20 years ago. It was a family hotel, back then, and very well kept.
Stayed again a couple of years ago and now just recently....it does really need updating. The seating (same chairs & material) is the same as when we first visited years ago. Rooms were as other reviews state, but we had a very good sea view. They are very noisey, you can hear everything people say in the next door rooms...even if they are talking normally. Corrider noise is very loud.
We found the 'all inclusive' a bit of a pain. There was quite often a large queue at the bar.....maybe they had reduced the number of staff as the Season is coming to the end, but if this was not the case - I wouldn't fancy the queue in the height of the Season. If you opted to pay for your drinks rather than have the 'all inclusive' option, you did get preferencial treatment as you could walk to the front of the queue and get served straight away!
We have stayed in October before, but found that this year alot of shops and bars had already closed for the Season..which was a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank preecebeverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

you get what you pay for and the algarb provided value for money. room was basic but had a good view of the beach and pool area. all inc food was ok all inc drink was great cant beat small plastic glasses of the old estrella damm probably my favourite spannish larger , the music round the pool area was top notch chilled out house music all day long combined with table tennis everyones a winner.Oscar the entertainer was also good for a laugh, so was vicki pollard the barmaid , patrick the perv with the frilly blue pants on and dog the bounty hunter and his wife. This was my 6th time in playa den bossa and it wont be my last as it has loads to do both night and day when you get fed up slumming it at the algarb you can pop into the 4 star Garbi next door for some top quality ten dollar cocktails , strawberry daquiris and banana margarita were my favourite. Bella napoli across the road from Space does the best pizzas ever and the ice cream shop next to sankeys is the dogs dangilies. Its also walking distance to Ibiza town where you can sample a different way of life , great sights and smells guaranteed, all in all me and the wife had a great time left the kids at their grans for 4 days really hope we can do it again next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Having done many trips to Ibiza over the years (primary purpose: clubbing) and trying various locations and accommodations, I now stick to Playa d'en Bossa and choose to return to this hotel. You need to take it for what it is - 3* Spanish rating and the same set up as many of the other hotels in Ibiza; so it has twin beds, a bathroom with stand up shower and hot water, a water view and is within walking distance to a couple of the great clubs, along with now more upmarket beach bars and cafes/retaurants. It offers full board, so whilst the food is not Michelin star quality, there's always the basics at breakfast, lunch and dinner to satisfy even picky eaters (and it's not a lot more additionally to the room price so would recommend getting it for when you're too tired to make it out of the hotel between sleeping, pool/beach and clubbing). Have now stayed here 6 times and will be returning. Great for clubbers but if you're after luxury or romance then I wouldn't recommend.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the end of the corridor as it means less people walking past / less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExploringSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Ok we are sitting in the hotel algarb waiting for our transfer and I'm not sure where to start!
I wanna be fair to this hotel as it does what it says on the tin, if you want ***** 5 star then pay for it.

Hotel in its self is a little dated I bet it was fab in the 90's and prob has not seen much investment since, the walk ways and communal areas although clean are dated and a bit gloomy - doesn't give best impression.

Our room was a basic hotel room well appointed bathroom with shower and bath and a twin beds on 5 th floor, bedding was clean but beds flimsy along with the walls, now if your looking for a quiet nights sleep then don't stay here. You can here all the young people myself included come in at 2 or three in the morning, and yes we are on holiday and people like a fumble when they get in, but believe me you can here everything! The place sounds like a knocking shop at 2am, I'm no prude but I could guess I must of been awkward for some of the people with children in the hotel. Also this hotel and playa d bossa are on airport approach so there are many planes coming and going. Top tip if you fancy a bunk up take ya mattress off the bed!

The food in the hotel was very 3 star, meat dishes tasted grey and all the same, but there was lots of different things, fresh bread and fruit daily with ice creams and yoghurt .

Staff all very helpfully.
All in all would I return NO! This hotel is bit rough and I don't just mean the clientele, a couple of drunken fights and police called - not my thing!

Room Tip: Get ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa d'en Bossa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum
Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum
#17 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
1,936 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#3 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Torre del Mar
Hotel Torre del Mar
#7 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aparthotel Playasol Jabeque Soul
0.5 mi away
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
#8 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
#5 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playasol The New Algarb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playasol The New Algarb

Property: Hotel Playasol The New Algarb
Address: Avenida Pere Matutes Noguera 107, 07817 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Playa d'en Bossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#14 Luxury Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Playasol The New Algarb 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: The hotel is located at the centre of the Playa d’en Bossa, at the seafront in one of the most visited and popular areas of Ibiza. It is very close to the city centre (only 3 km away), and has a bus stop in front of the hotel; it is also close to fashionable clubs and only 13 minutes from the airport. Rooms: The rooms have been completely renovated and are fully equipped with all the furniture guests may need (desk, luggage rack, bedside table, and chair/armchair), a full bathroom with a bathtub and partition and a hair dryer. All rooms have air conditioning, a plasma TV with satellite service, free safe, telephone, mini-fridge, and balcony with patio furniture and side views of the sea. Facilities: Hotel facilities have been updated to provide them with a touch of modernity and to enlarge them. The complex has one pool for adults and one pool for children with lounge chairs and umbrellas for guests to use as well as direct beach access. Qiub, the pool’s beach bar, located in front of the sea, offers a wide variety of gastronomic delights and cocktails from 11:00 am to 7:30 pm. It also has an exclusive Balinese bed and lounge chair service for a fee. The pool bar serves drinks from 10:30 am to 7:00 pm and a variety of snacks from 11:00 am to 6:00 pm. We also have a bar in the lobby offering drinks from 7:00 pm to midnight. Next to it, the new TOKYO IBIZA restaurant offers a variety of both Mediterranean and Asian cuisine in a buffet with a cooking show for breakfast (8:00 am to 11:00 am), lunch (1:30 pm to 3:00 pm), and dinner (7:30 pm to 9:30 pm). Services: The hotel offers newspapers in three different areas, a large lobby with a video game section (PlayStation), 85” TV, 24 hour vending machines, shops, and a pool table. Massage area in the pool garden. Check-in begins at 2:00 pm and check-out is at 11:00 am. Free Wi-Fi, both in the rooms and in the common areas of the hotel. The All-Inclusive Plus service allows guests to enjoy the restaurant, lobby bar, and pool services during the above-mentioned hours. It includes warm and cold dishes from the restaurant. A variety of sandwiches, hamburgers, pasta, rice dishes, and other international dishes prepared to order. Ice cream, non-bottled soft drinks, juice, water, draught beer, hot drinks, a variety of wines and spirits (from top brands, naturally); all of this is provided with personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, HRS, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Playasol The New Algarb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algarb Hotel Ibiza Town
Resort All Inclusive Algarb
Hotel Algarb Ibiza
Hotel Playasol The New Algarb Ibiza/Playa D'en Bossa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing