We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Torre del Mar
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Playa d'en Bossa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Hotel staff are friendly and approachable. The soft drinks in the mini bar are free and will be refilled everyday. We liked that the hotel was near enough to the clubs (15min walk down bossa beach)but can still enjoy a siesta without loud music blasting through the rooms in the Afternoon. It was really nice chilling out at the pool as well. Only slight hiccup was that the breakfast buffet was really busy and the tables weren't cleaned fast enough.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atoylet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

445 - 451 of 909 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

A 3 day visit to Ibiza for a wedding party, and the Torre del Mar proved to be a very good hotel which exceeded my expectations on an island I would not normally visit.
Reception was speedy and efficient and my sea-view room was modern and very well laid-out following a complete hotel room refurbishment programme.
Beds were comfortable, bathroom excellent, air-con worked well and free soft drinks in the mini-bar is a great idea.
Loved the pool area where there were lots of sunbeds, and a refreshing ocean breeze, with the pool deck sitting right on the ocean edge, interestingly overlooking the odd nude sun-worshipper.
Breakfast was excellent with great choice of hot and cold food.
We had lunch each day at the beach bar, and more than a few drinks, and the friendly staff provided us with really good food of great variety and quality.
Wi-fi was disappointing for band width and speed but over three days this did not spoil a very good experience.

Room Tip: Sea view room was very nice and looked at the penthouse suites which are excellent but a little expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveManchester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Had a great four night stay at Hotel Torre del Mar at the start of June 2013.

The service was good, the breakfast was great apart from the Saturday where the restaurant got a tad busy. Aside from that the rooms were clean and modern with good size balcony overlooking the ocean with views of the old town as well. The bathroom was also very modern, including a huge shower. The beds were also huge and very comfortable! The pool area was also very good and good sunbed and drinks service. If you like to party (which we do) you have Bora Bora just a ten minute walk down the road, with all the big clubs just a short taxi ride away. Staff were very friendly and I would recommend anyone to stay there. My girlfriend and I were sad to leave and wish we had booked a couple more nights!

Taxi’s to Space, Pacha, Sankeys, Privilege and Ushuaia were all only about 8-15 euros each from the hotel.

Evissa was about a 30 minute walk, but very pleasant when the sun was shining.

Bora Bora

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Torre del mar hotel is located at the northern part of Playa d’en Bossa, right between the city of Ibiza (reachable in some 30min fast walk near the sea or in some 10min for around 8 Euros by taxi) and the madness of the touristic area with it’s restaurants/bars centred around Space/Ushuaia (some 20min walk via the road or on the sandy beach). The airport is not far from here too and you should be charged 13-15 Euros to the hotel.

The hotel is positioned in a cul de sac and despite the dusty road I was impressed with the friendly attitude of the receptionists, always smiling and chatty but who unfortunately did not care about my usual requests for a quiet room away from the people with babies or loud couples saying ‘you do not know who these people could be’. True, but since I made the effort to send my requests in advance they should easily realise I am a quiet person and I treat my neighbours with consideration, hence the reception should make the effort to place me away from such ’liabilities’ as there were several empty rooms, despite them saying otherwise.

Positive things:
1. As I said smiling receptionist despite a stuck in the 80’s reception area; also very friendly house keeping with limited English though, although some of the security porters are simply useless as they speak only Spanish, no wonder they cannot communicate with the un-ruly customers.
2. Step in the hallways and room upstairs and you are transported in a modern age as everything has been renovated in a white-green combo, airy and clean cut with very strong air conditioning
3. Great and very varied breakfast with lots of choices
4. The fridge in the room is filled in every day with a FREE selection of water/coke/fanta in small glass bottles
5. Huge modern bathroom with hair drier/toiletries and amazing (wall and above head) power shower but NO bath
6. A great location near a mini marina on the right of the hotel with boats taking you regularly to Formentera for around 20 euros return (I found three different companies that set tables at 9am with slightly different prices) and far enough from a ‘brand new hotel’ which blasts it’s music from the top floors all the night and even at 8am as I discovered when I was running on the sandy beach. People who were staying at nearby hotels kept looking shocked at this hotel, as just like me probably they have never seen anything like that - plus all airplanes pass just above this hotel early in the morning till late at night!!!!!!!! Thank God Torre del Mar was far enough from this area in what could be described as heaven if you were not to have bad neighbours.
7. The hotel has a good exchange rate, way better than in London

Negative things:
1. The worst insulation ever I have ever ‘seen’ in a big hotel. You can hear people walking on the hallway and talking as if your door is open and they do it up to 3am with a vengeance. You can hear people on the floor above but several rooms away if they walk for 90min in their heels before going clubbing at midnight. I had the worst neighbours ever who travelled from East to Europe to holiday but did not want to listen to the night porter (I called the reception some 5-6 times to tell them about this) and kept me awake up to 3.30am with their walking in heels/eating/getting messy in the room and in the balcony - trust me, you can hear everything/dragging the armchairs in the room and chairs in the balcony. Doors only close with a huge noise and even the house keeping does not care about the noise they are making. I had to beg the reception at 3.30am to allow me to sleep in a different room, so despite paying EXTRA for a sea view room I went to the back of the building to sleep as after so much sleep deprivation I could not do my usual routine of running on the beach in the morning or taking their spa offers. I further tried to sleep near the swimming pool but the locals do not seem to care (despite not staying in the hotel) when they arrive late and start smoking near you or ‘chase’ you near the swimming pool or bring their shouting kids!!!!!!!!! I was so sick in the plane after so much deprivation, I simply collapsed in a long sleep when I arrived in London.
2. No iron/kettle/sleepers in the room

Tips:
1. Almost everything closes between 12-5pm and Banks are only open in the morning
2. There are some nearby restaurants/beach shops or a very well stocked supermarket as you turn right on the main road from the hotel
3. If you want to visit D’alt Villa with amazing views over the island, the best would be to take a taxi and ask for the most southern entrance as is much easier walking down on your own THAT steep and slippery hill. Several museums/gorgeous little houses etc - so much to ‘transport’ you to a different era
4. The best area in Ibiza town is located towards the Marina, so walk down from d’Alt Villa and check their variety of restaurants where you can eat from as little as 10 euros per person, visit their amazing shops (the best I have seen in the Balearics and south Spain) to cover all tastes and watch the stunningly designed boats in the marina or join the queue and visit other parts of the island too.

Ibiza is too unique not to return to but I will have to chose a different location for my next visit. Which is a pity as the day receptionists I met are brilliant and have a 5 star hotel attitude!!!!

Room Tip: You might very well ask for a quiet room with sea view (for which you have to pay extra) but they mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TERRAvelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The only negative thing I can say about this hotel is poor internet connection. If you do need to work or check your emails, this will be very disappointing. They claim to provide a free wifi, but as soon as you leave lobby and enter a room, you will loose a connection. You also need to log in again every time you loose a signal. Hotel is nice and clean, Pool is very relaxing, restaurant good, staff by the pool could be more attentive, we had to go to the bar everytime we wanted a drink, lady who gave us towels every morning was not very helpful. Breakfast is decent, every day the same but a large selection. We had to pay for safe in the room which is unheard off, and for borrowing a converter plug so be sure to bring your own. Overall we were happy though.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaela618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here in May 2013, half board. Rooms were nice, clean and bright. The staff were nice and polite, except for in the dining room who were a bit grumpy. I would have to say the food was not very nice some days I did not know what I was eating as there was no name on it and you certainly could not tell by taste. Breakfast was just as bad I am sad to say. In the evening the only bar open was the poolside bar which was freezing cold and there was no way you could sit and have a drink. There was a big lounge but the bar was closed all the time. There was no entertainment and nowhere to go. It struck me that they were on an economy drive as everything was on the cheap. If you want the quietest holiday in the world then this is for you but too quite for me,

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tourist186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel three times, a testament in itself, the experience just keeps getting better and better. Amazing sea views, spacious and clean bedrooms and an excellent buffet breakfast, make this hotel an ideal choice. Upon my most recent stay I was pleasantly surprised to discover that the bedrooms had been refurbished to a high standard. There is a convenience store 1 minute walk away, and the taxi fare to Ibiza town should be less than 10 euros.

Room Tip: Specify sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa d'en Bossa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
#4 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
1,392 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#1 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,509 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel
#7 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Sol House Ibiza by Melia
Sol House Ibiza by Melia
#1 of 7 in Port d'es Torrent
606 reviews
9.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#11 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,884 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sirenis Hotel Tres Carabelas & Spa
Sirenis Hotel Tres Carabelas & S...
#10 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torre del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre del Mar

Address: C/ Carlos Roman Ferrer s/n, 07800 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Playa d'en Bossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#4 Business Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
Price Range: $201 - $735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torre del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fabulous island of Ibiza, Playa d'en Bossa, the Hotel Torre del Mar is a heavenly spot offering a dedicated professional staff team devoted to your relaxation, including unbeatable gastronomy and top quality facilities; all of the foregoing in the natural and cultural setting of an island that has been named a World Heritage site. All rooms have been refurbished in 2013.Area servedOut of the hotel you can find all kind of services like restaurants, bars, supermarkets, gift shops, pharmacy, and Health Center. General Hospital is 2 km away. Bus stop is located only 150 meters from the hotel.Area descriptionLocated on the seafront in a privileged location, only 100 meters from the beginning of the tourist resort of Playa d'en Bossa, just 2 km from the city of Ibiza and 7 km from the airport.Rooms:All rooms have been renovated in 2013.Sea view or mountain view. Free minibar with on alcoholic drinks, free WIFI connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Torre del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Del Mar Hotel
Hotel Torre Del Mar Ibiza/Playa D'en Bossa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing