We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would go back!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartmentos Morasol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apartmentos Morasol
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Costa Calma
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Would go back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

Stayed at Morasol Apartments in September 2011, booked a self catering apartment for 1 week. Staff totally friendly upon arrival, not much English though so it helps to speak slow or know Spanish, German, Italian. We had a great room with sea view above the bar area. The hotel is super quiet so despite being near/overlooking the more public area of the hotel it was surprisingly quiet.

The room we had was spacious and the balcony was huge and sheltered. It had lounge chairs and a table with chairs and umbrella. The bathroom was huge. I think we were quite lucky and we thought our room must have been one of the better ones on offer. The hotel has the benefit of 2 pools, and we preferred the one which was not near the reception, it felt more private. We got a 2 for 1 voucher for the restaurant upon arrival and had diner that night because it was a Canarian themed night. It was OK and we were happy that we didn't spend the money on half board because we had access to 2 SPAR stores with a great selection of food. A few decent restaurants in town, but we mostly ate home.

We did have breakfast at the hotel one morning and it was much better than supper, the selection was excellent and we totally pigged out. The kitchen facilities int he room were pretty basic. we had most pots and pans and cutlery we wanted, however what was lacking were the basics such as a sponge to wash dishes, dish soap, salt/pepper. These things could be provided to folk staying 1 week. We ended up leaving so much food and gave it to the cleaner who was friendly as well. They came about 5/7 days to clean the flat and changed towels 4 times. Bedsheets we not changed, but they would make our beds.

The beach is a minute down the road, clean sands and gorgeous clear waters. The water was warm (although I prefer Caribbean!) and you can walk all the way past Sotavento beach. There were some rocky bits but nothing too major if you have some sturdy sandals. The waves were great.

We hired a car one day, and booked it via the hotel. I would suggest getting to the desk early on the day you hire because it took ages for one representative to process the queue of us who had booked on that day. We did the entire Island in a day. The tell you not to go to Cofete with the hire because the insurance doesn't cover it on those secondary roads, but if you drive carefully you should be fine!

All in all this is a great place to stay for folk on a budget, or happy doing things on their own. Costa Calma is a quiet resort and it was just what we needed to unwind from stressful jobs. The weather was great and the beaches were clean and sprawling. The rest of the island is diverse and scenic, highly recommend getting a car for 1-2 days to check it out. We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Higher floors seems to have the best views. The main hotel has the best balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank righteousbabeinedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    38
    23
    3
    7
See reviews for
16
51
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed in the Morasol Appartments in September 2011 and were very pleased when we arrived, we were greeted at reception with a glass of champagne! We were in room 308, we had requested a high room with a sea view and got exactly that. It wasnt one with the larger balcony but was perfect for sitting on, eating dinner overlooking the pool and sea.
Both pools were so quiet the week we were there, quite often we were the only people at the pool. We knew the resort would be quiet after reading the reviews on here, and it was quiet but very relaxing/peaceful which is just what we wanted. The beach is so close to the appartments, and it is a beautiful beach. The sunbeds on the beach cost 6euros each for a day which is worth paying for the shade and shelter from the wind when it is a little windy.
It is definitely worth hiring a car from the aiport and driving down to Costa Calma so you have a car to explore the island as well. There is plenty of parking on the streets. (Taxi from the airport to Costa Calma is 75euros each way so better value to hire a car).
There werent a huge amount of restaurants in Costa Calma but it was quality not quantity, the food was lovely everywhere we ate and there are plenty of supermarkets to get food if you are self catering. The staff at the Morasol were very helpful and friendly - especially the hotels Golden Retriever who always came out to greet us! It is a mainly German resort with most restaurant menus being written in German but they always had English menus so it wasnt a problem.
There is a bus close to the appartments which takes you to Morro Jable/Jandia - a bigger resort which is a nice day out and only costs 2.50euro each way.
Costa Calma is a lovely, peaceful place for a relaxing getaway - if we come back to Fuerteventura we would definitely stay at the Morasol again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NatB81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

as others have said: very quiet, great location, excellent staff. we would go back again.
it is well worth paying a little more for the rooms with the bigger balconies and to be high up (we recommend rm 403 for instance). you will have a wonderful view of the beach and sea from your sun bed on your balcony while under a parasol. It does not get any better!

The reception staff were very kind and sorted out the two little problems we had with extreme speed.

just watch out for those mosquitos at night (keep windows closed when the lights are on) and midges on the beach.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ZenJen3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

We had booking in Morasol Atlantico, eventually we've changed to Morasol (on our request), where rooms are liitle bit smaller, but it has really great view overlooking whole Costa Calma Beach. The view was the best, also rooms were large. It was close to the beach (huuge one) and shops. Once we had really nasty smell in the bedroom (like from sewage), I went to sleep to living room, but from that side was a pool being cleaned outside and I was attacked by chlorine smell... Bad luck that day ;). anyway, hotel itself is ok (except that you have to pay for TV and internet), but we will never go to Costa Calma again - it is not the place for us, imho mostly for older people or tose who are looking for quiet and calm holidays (at 9:00 p.m. whole city is going to sleep...).This hotel is nice for calm, beach holidays. So we've rented the car and drove around island.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank olliemat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

We had a wonderful holidays in Costa Calma. Beautiful and quiet location not for party animals, but if you are looking for place to relax this is a perfect place. Apartments very clean, great service, Stuff friendly and very helpful, Great restaurant which doesn't brake your walet. Overall good value for money. We will definitely come back. Good advise for travellers: to hire a car at a airport will help you get around and explore this beautiful island.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aggy2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2008

WE stayed at the Morasol apartments 6 nights and were very satisfied with the apartment. It was very clean, and all we needed for self catering was there. The beach was really close and very good and well placed in the resort. The staff were friendly. The resort itself was very german and the restaurants were poor but expensive. When we go again we will cook for ourselves in the apartment. There is not much tourist info around but with a map it's easy to travel around. We visited La Pared (5 km away) and found a lovely Spanish restaurant there and also lovely walks. We would definitely stay at the Morasol again.

  • Liked — near a lovely beach
  • Disliked — single beds
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LanzaroteSunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2008

I tend to look for accomodation for location and price. Arrived at Fuerteventura airport and picked up hire car from Auto Reison - excellent value and vehicle - and an hour later was in the Apartment Morasol. To find the Morasol turn left at the first roundabout in Costa Calma on the FV2 signed Canada del Rio and then right at the T junction (if you miss this roundabout take the next one that has a shopping centre and gas station on the right and turn left and right again) travel south with hotels on left and green area on right. At the next mini roundabout (Botanica Shopping Centre) turn left, take next left, next right and you are there. Plenty of street parking next to Morasol. The Morasol is in a cul de sac so very little traffic in area. Reception was quick and we hoisted our luggage up two flights of stairs to the top floor. Excellent view of sea and beach. The apartment slept 2, small separate bedroom, plenty of storage space, adequte facility to self cater and a small balcony to eat on. The TV is a waste of time as it is set up for German and Spanish with 2 English news channels. My only constant good natured complaint was that the radio did not work but to be fair instead of saying it was broken they constantly kept trying to repair it and on the penultimate day it was cured. The excellent beach is only 200 metres away and down a quiet street. We ate at the Morasol on 3 occassions and their food was comparable with other restaurants in the area.
As other contributors have said the resort is quiet and caters for Germans - we only heard 2 other English voices - There are 3 shopping centres within 10 minutes walk and a small Spa shop is attached to the Morosal Hotel. We visited the beach everyday at Risco Del Paso only 10 minutes drive away and it has a bar etc. The beach was teriffic a cross between Mablethorpe in Lincolnshire and Naxos in Greece. Advisable to take a beach tent or buy one whilst there to shade from the wind.
We booked the hotel through Travel City and had an excellent deal. This is not a luxury apartment but very functional and we will go back next year probably for a month.

  • Liked — Location and quietness
  • Disliked — No lift
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lincolnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
0.0 mi away
Morasol Atlantico
Morasol Atlantico
#18 of 26 in Costa Calma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
1.5 mi away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Esmeralda Maris
Esmeralda Maris
#11 of 26 in Costa Calma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.3 mi away
VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
0.4 mi away
Hotel R2 Pajara Beach
Hotel R2 Pajara Beach
#7 of 26 in Costa Calma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartmentos Morasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartmentos Morasol

Property: Apartmentos Morasol
Address: Calle Baja de los Erizos s/n, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Costa Calma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Apartmentos Morasol 1*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These apartments are located in the beautiful beach of Costa Calma in Fuerteventura Island a few steps from the beach, with spectacular sea views Morasol stands out for its friendly, family atmosphere. During your stay we offer you the opportunity to enjoy nature in an idyllic location, where you can swim in the clear waters of Costa Calma, soak up the sun and enjoying Fuerteventura while practicing all kinds of sports. Our qualified staff is looking forward to meeting to assist you with all the care and professionalism you deserve, so you feel at all times at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Apartmentos Morasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartmentos Morasol Costa Calma
Apartmentos Morasol Hotel Costa Calma
Apartmentos Morasol Fuerteventura/Costa Calma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing