We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all round experience”
Review of H10 Tindaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
H10 Tindaya
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Costa Calma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Spent the first week of June 2013 here. The check in experience was excellent and the receptionist went to great lengths to explain the hotel facilities and explain where everything was. A particularly nice touch was that shortly after we arrived, she noticed that the restaurant was going to be closing for lunch soon and suggested that we went to eat and then finish off checking in after we had eaten.

We were given room 403 which is a family room on the same level as reception over the top of the spa. The room had a sea view but no view of the pool. It was of a good size with a large sofa, table and chairs, fridge, 2 TVs (although I've no idea what channels were available as we don't ever watch whilst on holiday). There was also a safe for which we paid 18 Euros to use for the week.

As other reviewers have remarked, it was possible to hear noise from other rooms and people walking past in the corridor but we did not think it any worse than many other places we'd stayed at previously and certainly once past 11 pm, there was not much to disturb us.

We were on an all inclusive package which gave us access to the main restaurant, pool bar and reception bar. For each meal in the restaurant, there was always a wide range of things on offer and I would think that you would have to have a very restricted diet not to be able to find something that you wanted. For example, at dinner there was always a good variety of hot and cold dishes available in addition to things such as steaks, roast meat, pizzas and pastas freshly prepared by real cooks at one end of the room. It was always possible to find a cleared prepared table regardless of the time that we went in. There were self service soft drinks together with beer and wine and it was possible to pay for better wine if you felt so inclined.

However, as the meals were all inclusive, it meant that there are were a number of downsides to the experience that the H10 fell victim too just like most other hotels offering the same. Firstly, the name of the game is to feed a large number of guests efficiently, and so there has to be a focus on getting people through the system. Whilst there were no sittings or allocated tables and the staff were very friendly and efficient, it did feel like eating in a canteen and there was no inclination to linger to savour the experience. Secondly, the temperature of the food was a bit of a lottery depending on when the dishes had last been topped up. Thirdly, despite the variety, it did start to feel samey after a few days and we went out to dinner at local restaurants on two occasions. These were the Terraza del Gato and the Galeria where we had some great food.

The public areas inside the hotel were spacious, clean and never felt crowded and it was always possible to find a table and a comfy chair to sit at. Free WiFi was available in the bar and reception areas and although a bit sluggish at times was adequate for non demanding tasks such as email and a bit of web browsing. One hotel facility that we made no use of was the evening entertainment and have no idea what was on offer or what it was like. The main bar served drinks based on the local brands as well as self service soft drinks and coffee. It also offered the same cocktails as the pool bar.

Moving on to the outside areas, there were three pools and a couple of children's pools with a good number of sunbeds and umbrellas. We saw no evidence of beds being reserved but that may have been a consequence of reduced demand caused by the wind being unseasonably cold and very few poolside areas providing much shelter from it. At the pool bar it was possible to get the standard range of cheapo brand alcoholic drinks, beer, sangria and soft drinks together with a choice from either two or four “cocktails of the day”. Overall it looked like there were about six different cocktails in all made available in various combinations throughout the week. From lunchtime until around mid afternoon each day, they made a hot buffet available offering things such as pizza, burgers, hot dogs and DIY ham and cheese toasties. Later on, most of the hot offerings would be replaced with a repetitious selection of pastries.

From the pool area, there was access to the beach through a tunnel and a steep set of steps. The beach itself was nice and sandy and relatively sheltered compared to the pool area. On the beach (which is not owned by the hotel) it was possible to rent two beds and an umbrella for 12 Euros which was the going rate in all the resorts.

So, overall how was it for us? Firstly, I have to say that staying in a hotel is not generally our first choice for holiday accommodation and that we only went to the H10 because we had left it too late to find a frontline house or apartment in the area and were only needing a base from which we could go to our favourite beaches. That having been said, it was perfectly fine for us albeit subject to the inherent all inclusive limitations I mentioned earlier and the fact that we did not make much use of the hotel facilities. It’s worth noting that if you’re a Brit and feel the need to “pal up” with other Brits on holiday, this is not the place for you - we only encountered two other British couples during our week there and the majority of the people seemed to be from Italy or Germany. Talking of the Italian contingent mentioned by other reviewers, our view is that they brought a lot of life and style to the place and we wished that we spoke Italian on occasion to join in some of the fun they were having!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10_Tindaya, Subdireccion at H10 Tindaya, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Ian W,

Thank you very much for your review about H10 Tindaya in tripadvisor.

We celebrate that you had a good experience in our hotel although not 100% perfect, your opinion help us to improve and we will do our very best for your next visit.

we are looking forward to see you in Fuerteventura again!

Kind Regards,

Marc Balañá
Subdirector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,923)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

515 - 521 of 3,923 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

Have just returned from a weeks holiday at the H10 Tindaya. We had a lovely time, we found that being English we were in the minority, but it was really good to meet other nationalities. The pool areas are all very clean, though the pool water was much too cold to venture into for myself and my husband ! Our 14 and 8 year olds however did brave the freezing water, we loved the ground squirrels that roam freely around the rocky areas of the hotel and beach. Our 5th floor room was perfect, it was just right for the 4 of us, ample storage space and 2 separate bedrooms. We found all of the staff very polite and friendly. The restaurant food was good, plenty of choice and all nice and fresh. We hired a car and ventured out for 2 days. Costa Calma is very quiet, the entertainment is centred around the hotel but it was just perfect for a relaxing week.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10_Tindaya, Subdireccion at H10 Tindaya, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Jackie F,

Thank you very much for your great review about H10 Tindaya in Tripadvisor.

It´s a pleasure for us to read that our clients had good memories about our hotel services and facilities .

We hope see you soon with us at H10 Tindaya!

Best regards,

Marc Balañá
Subdirector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Spent a week here from 22nd to 29th May 2013. Weather for the first two days was windy, But then it seemed to die down. Temperatures were around 26 every day. Room spacious for a family and clean with great ocean views we were on level 5, one above reception and it was quiet enough. Hotel itself is lovely with bar and main restuarant on level 3. Tested out the gym, But a few things were not working. Didn't use Spa centre. Breakfast times were busy, But we always found a table, good selection of food at all meal times but some of the dishes were not hot enough. Live cooking was the best with fresh fish/meat cooked to perfection. Salads and fruit displays were also a hit. Pools were cold apart from the baby pools, But we still got in as they cooled us off from the sun. Water polo was fun which was arranged by the animation team plus they arranged other activities which we didn't do. Snack bar was ok, But not a huge selection, But we still enjoyed it. Plenty of sunbeds, But we found the germans would pre-place their towels in the best places!! found this very frustrating as it clearly stated on pool signs that you could not do this! Pool towels were provided which can be exchanged twice through the week. The only thing I could honestly say that was poor, was the evening entertainment, for a whole 7 days we sat through a parrot show, eagle show, 3 Argentinians, An awful quiz and Bingo which dragged on for too long. For the younger children there was a mini disco but that was it. No disco for the adults. I hope you find this review helpful, I would re-visit this hotel if they up the standard of entertainment.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 560 with ocean view (Family Room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10_Tindaya, Subdireccion at H10 Tindaya, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Jo F

First of all, thank you so much for review about H10 Tindaya in Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that your holidays was good, however we are very sorry that you didn´t enjoyed our animation activities .
Your opinion help us to improve, and we will do our very best for your next visit!

Looking forward to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Marc Balañá
Subdirector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had a one week holiday at the Tindaya in April and had a lovely relaxing holiday. We booked a Superior room with a sea view which was huge and so clean and comfortable. There was a small fridge for keeping the water cool, 2 double beds pushed together, plenty of clean towels/sheets. Everywhere around the whole hotel was completely tiled, no carpets anywhere., The food was excellent always plenty of choice. The Staff were all very courteous and helpful and the Animation Team were great fun, we especially enjoyed their "Mama Mia" show. They didn't pester you too much to join in the games etc,. they would take no for an answer. I did join in with the Aqua aerobics most mornings which was fun.
Apart from the "nudists" the beach was beautiful, totally unspoiled and the sea was amazing to swim in we also enjoyed lots of walks along the shore. We loved the pool area too and had no problem getting beds with a parasol to help shade the hot sun. All in all it was a really memorable holiday and we will be back :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hynish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10_Tindaya, Subdireccion at H10 Tindaya, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear hynish,

Thank you so much for your nice review about H10 Tindaya in Tripadvisor.

I´ts great to know that you enjoyed your holidays in our hotel and also we celebrate that you are thinking in spend a new holidays with us in Fuerteventura.

We are looking forward to see you soon again!

Kind regards,

Marc Balañá
Subdirector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Spent a week at the H10 Tindaya in mid April this year on the all inclusive basis. The hotel itself is very clean, from the reception area to the pool area grounds, it is spotless throughout.

The rooms were stylish and very spacious. We had a sea view superior room which was excellent value and had a fantastic view overlooking the grounds and the sea from our balcony.

Both restaurants had a good varied selection and the food was descent. The main restaurant is a bit hectic at busy times but there is a seating area outside away from the hustle and bustle inside. The second restaurant is also a little quieter with a more relaxing atmosphere.

The drinks selection is good on the all inclusive and there are two bars indoors and a pool bar serving the whole selection. The bar area could be improved with more outside seating areas for the evening though as the indoor section does feel a little like a busy train station in the evenings.

The hotel is located right next to the beach with a walkway straight from the pool area to the beach which was excellent. The area surrounding the hotel is very quiet, maybe too quiet for some peoples liking which is worth considering

The majority of the hotel guests are Italian and German as mentioned in other reviews and if you are the type of person that likes to meet other English couples or Families whilst on holiday then this may not be the place for you. However we never had any complaints about this and found everybody in the hotel polite and friendly.

All in all we had a lovely, relaxing week and would return to the H10 Tindaya in the future for a relaxing holiday that is great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pearce96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10_Tindaya, Subdireccion at H10 Tindaya, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear pearce96,

Thank you very much for your review about H10 Tindaya in Tripadvisor.

It´s a pleasure for us to read that our clients enjoyed their holidays with us and had good memories about H10 Tindaya.

We hope see you soon in our hotel.

Best regards,

Marc Balañá
Subdirector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1915
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had a wonderful time here at H10 Tindaya.....a most relaxing time was needed and this is what we had. The food was tasty and plentiful with enough variety to satisfy everyone.
The grounds were impeccable and the staff extremely polite and friendly.
My only negative comments would be that the corridors seem to magnify the sound of people coming and going especially at night, so a little sound proofing wouldn't go amiss plus an extra pillow would have made for a comfier sleep. One other thing was that the water fountains were empty one night when I needed a drink in the early hours which was very frustrating....even more so that the receptionist on duty didnt seem too bothered to help this guest as she said the reception had no water......I think she probably had keys to somewhere that she could have obtained a bottle of water from! Other than these points, we still enjoyed our holiday. If you want crowds of brits this isnt for you mainly german and italian guests which was just fine for us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10_Tindaya, Subdirección at H10 Tindaya, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear JanCookie63,

Thank you so much for your review!

It's a big pleasure for us to read that our clients had a good time with us!


We hope to see you soon in Fuerteventura!!


Best Regards,


Marc Balañá
Subdirector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have just returned from our second visit to this hotel. We had a superior deluxe room which had a separate bedroom and lounge and lots of wardrobe space. It was very clean and the bed itself was huge and extremely comfortable.
There was a good variety of food each day from the main dining area as well as the poolside bar.
The outside area is very well kept with lots of different areas to sit. The pools were checked regularly and were very clean with a lifeguard on hand.
There were very few British people staying at the hotel with mainly Italian and German guests with the Italian guests having their own Reception and entertainment staff.
The staff on reception were very organised and all the staff in the hotel were friendly and hard working. The animation team worked extremely hard. A special thanks to Dariusz. He brought different nationalities together to play the organised sports/games explaining the rules in 4 different languages! He made time to speak to guests, very enthusiastic and pleasant to be around - a great asset to the hotel and help to make our holiday even more enjoyable as we met other guests through him.
Hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shell0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10_Tindaya, Subdirección at H10 Tindaya, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear Shell0111,

Thank you very much for your nice review about the H10 Tindaya.

It's great to read that our guests have a nice memories about our Hotel & facilities.


Looking forward to see you soon ,


Marc Balañá
Subdirector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
1.4 mi away
Melia Fuerteventura
Melia Fuerteventura
#22 of 73 in Pajara
3,342 reviews
1.6 mi away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
0.6 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#3 of 27 in Costa Calma
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.3 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
45.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
0.4 mi away
H10 Sentido Playa Esmeralda
H10 Sentido Playa Esmeralda
#4 of 27 in Costa Calma
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Tindaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Tindaya

Address: C/ Punta del Roquito s/n, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Costa Calma
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Calma
#1 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range: $122 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Tindaya 4*
Number of rooms: 354
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your H10 Tindaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Tindaya Resort
Hotel h10 Tindaya
H10 Tindaya Fuerteventura/Costa Calma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing