We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Costa Calma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Spent Feb half term here and had a lovely relaxing time. The weather was unusual due to the same storms as England. We had some rain and a lot of wind but still managed to do some sunbathing. Evenings cool but still much warmer than home.

The hotel is spotless and in our room we had a flat screen tv with 3 English channels so not a lot of choice, a hairdryer but I didn't find the iron as advertised. We had a balcony and sea view and there was a safe (16 erous for the week) and a mini bar. Also a free bottle of champagne and 2 mugs with sweets and 2 beach bags. Towels changed daily if required. There was also a kettle with tea, coffee and powdered milk.

The food was very plentiful and a vast choice. Buffet style and you just chose your own table. We found it best to arrive early as somedays there was a queue for tables. I think this was partly due to it being a little too cold to sit outside to eat but there were lots of patio heaters outside around the tables. My only critisism of the food was that some of the hot food choices weren't too hot so we opted for the 'live' cooking most nights.

This hotel is huge and really a self contained resort with a large pool, childrens pool, it's own lagoon (sunbeds there 3 euros unless with Thomas Cook, lovely botanical garden area inside, lots of landscaped gardens with benches, a pool bar, tennis court, kids club, shops, car hire, evening entertainment ( can't comment on this as didn't go), towel hire, no reserving of sunbeds around the pool area allowed, activities such as zumba, archery and petanque. There is also crazy golf for 3 euros per game each just outside the hotel. It is isolated wqith a 15 min walk to Costa Calma which is nice enough but not alot there. Nearest supermarket about 15 mins away.

We did the free half day trip and it was good. You only spend about an hour at the PAL presentation and there is no hard sell. We also did the jeep safari and contrary to another review it was warm enough. I would highly recomend this trip, we loved it and we had paella for lunch (included in the price which I think was about 90 euros for both). It is all day and you get to see some fantastic scenery in the national park, a great way to see some of the spectacular scenary and our guide Antonio was great.

Guests receive 4 passes each for the spa but when we looked in there it was crowded so we didn't use it.

We did the package holiday with Thomas Cook and couldn't fault the service from them.

All in all a good holiday and we would go back.

Great for relaxing and getting away from it all, not good if you like a lively nightlife

Room Tip: 7th floor was good, lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank plantsmanZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I along with another couple holidayed here 8 Feb '14 for 1 week. Weather was nice, a bit cloudy sometimes but there was plenty of sunshine. The room was comfortable, there is a fridge, iron, ironing board hair dryer, kettle with tea and coffee, TV. The restaurant - breakfast excellent, fresh omlettes and eggs, bacon, sausage, beans, chips, also continental breakfast. On 3 occasions we had champagne, very nice. evening meal - everything you can think of, lots of variation. My only complaint would be the food wasn't hot, it was buffet style. There was a microwave available for people to use. The Spa, I only used it a few times, it was ok but the water wasn't very warm. It is closed Mondays. The pools were lovely, be prepared to join the rest and reserve your bed with putting a towel on it!!!!! The beach has sun beds which are free if you are half board. There is a small beach bar. The pool bar does nice pizzas. I found their sandwiches had more mayonese and a little chicken or tuna etc; and at 6 Uuro aren't cheap. The hotel is about a 10/15 min walk from the start of the other hotels in Costa Calma and a bit of a hill but a walk on the beach is nice. Their is a market a couple of times a week near where you get the bus to other resorts. Reception staff or tour operator will direct you. Beware of nudists which seem to be at all the resorts, we went to Jandia and Morro Jable and they just sunbath alongside everyone else. the bus ride cost 10 Euro return for 4 people and takes about 40 mins. The blanket trip is free and you get to see typical villages and there is no pressure to buy. The reception staff are very helpful. Most of the staff in the restaurant are nice with a few exceptions. The entertainment leaves a lot to be desired, not very good at all. I would go again but only for a week. Internet available in reception area. All in all nice quiet holiday.

Room Tip: Request room with a sea view. Floor 6 or higher and away from disco which can be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pat b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Hotel is immaculate, our room had a balcony view over the sea. We went in February half term and it was cloudy every day, managed to sunbathe for about 2 hours in a week! The Thomas Cook rep said it was windy than normal, cool in the day and cold at night. This hotel is pretty much in the middle of nowhere. There is a supermarket a ten minute walk and 1 bar/1 italian 15/20 minute walk. There is a market on sundays and wednesdays i think it was but when we walked there it was closed due to wind! The rep says get the local bus No1 or 5 down to Morro Jable/Jandia and get off at the Lighthouse. We actually waited for bus for 45 mins and gave up. The 1 came but he said he wasn't going there. The 45 minute bus ride (we were told) that goes to morro jable has about a mile of shops. We know as we rented a car for 1 day for 30 euros (that is the lowest band car) which was a chevrolet. Lots of cigarette and perfume shops, lots of souveniour shops and bars.

There was a hairdryer in our room and iron/ironing board. The TV had 3 english channels - CBS Drama, True Movies 2 and BBC news. Fresh towels every day and bed change. There is free wifi in reception only, but it is very slow. There are a range of english, german, dutch and french guests. The night entertainment whilst we were there was a duo singer act a few times, a parrot show and bingo. This hotel has a lot of older couples.

The thomas cook rep told us of the excursions, we went to the zoo which was a good day out, you can get real close to the animals and feed the giraffes/elephants. The jeep safari and water park looked good but it was too cold to do either of those. They also offer you a free excursions which is a tour of a third of the island. You stop of in three towns, one of which is a 45 minute bed sales talk. Although the hotel overlooks the beach, it is to rocky to go down to you have to walk way to get to the sandy beach.

The food was nice, and 3 days a week they do free champagne with breakfast.
Full english, croissants, mini muffins, fruits, juices coffees etc. The let downs are the desserts but good if you like ice-cream!

Overall if you want to go away and do nothing and are happy to stay in your hotel most of the time relaxing this is good, but its not for those that like a dance or party atmosphere!

We also got 4 free passes to the spa each for the week we were there, think this is standard for most. Heated beds, sauna, steam, jacuzzi not warm enough though! Option to pay for massages etc. Bathrobes can be hired for £20 refundable for the week.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank loobielou2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We have just spent fortnight at this hotel.very good facilitys ie squash court ,crazy golf , spa, swimming pool ,gym, etc. The food was good ,but needs to cater for continentals has well as Brits be careful of the block paving at the rear of the hotel.can be uneven, has I found out, cutting my right knee. We were in room 7117 on level 7, very quiet. Entertainment every evening . Costa calma is a good 20 mins walk, but only about six shops there. Better to get a bus to morro janba for shops 9 km away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lancelot3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Me and my wife booked this hotel for two weeks over Christmas based on the reviews and location. We knew from reading on here that it was slightly isolated so we hired a car for ten days so to the people that complained of it's isolation do your homework before booking in future.

We found the hotel to be modern and clean with lovely gardens and pools, no beach close by but the man made one was lovely until they put a stage in it. It then got over crowded nearer to Christmas so expect the same in summer and you may be charged for the pleasure, sardines come to mind.

Booking full board plus was a good move as we had three decent meals a day and all we could drink included which was mainly premium soft drinks for us but we did like sangrea with our evening meal.The buffet was good and got better towards Christmas but not excellent as in top hotels in Egypt of all places, on a negative the deserts were pathetic with the same cake and a different coloured topping every day, then there was a custard type YUK consisting mainly of different coloured stuff what we called GLOOP. The staff were very good but sometimes forgetful and it was hit or miss if they spoke English but that was no problem. Reception spoke good English.

Our room was clean and modern with a good size flat TV with mainly foreign channels, fortunately I'd taken my USB memory stick so we were able to watch an episode of Game of Thrones most nights.

What we didn't like was that some days the hotel was over run by company guests that came by the coach load and spoiled the holiday atmosphere turning it into a business convention.
Also when walking out along the prom into town there was dog mess in abundance.

Overall a good decent hotel but we won't be going back, during our ride outs around the island we thought the north was better. Some good beaches can be reached by car, local shopping is not great with many shops being duplicated.

Don't bother to take traveller's checks, they are impossible to change.

Highlight of the holiday........ Feeding the wild chipmunks.

So overall great winter sun but we prefer Lanzarote.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S_Wales_Honest_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

we stayed at the Rio Calma for the first week in February 2014. First impressions were of a beautiful and high class hotel. We arrived at 20.30 and although we had quite a wait to check in the reception staff were very helpful and gave each person the time they needed. The room we were allocated was lovely and clean and had a wonderful view of the hotel grounds and the sea. How ever the dining experience was a great disappointment as I am a vegetarian. I did get a little exited when I saw the vegetarian corner but found this was where the vegetables were.There was a good selection of meat dishes but my husband said they were not warm and cooked badly. The waiting on staff had no understanding of basic English and the female staff in particular were rude ie we always have a bottle of wine with our meal which is kept for the following night but we couldn't make them understand this on the second day they just kept shouting at us and eventually brought us a new bottle of wine! The weather had a cool start and end but the daytime temp was usually about 23deg which is usual so take something warmer for the evening. The dress code appeared very casual in the restaurant and the hotel attracted mainly Europeans mainly from Germany, very few English. The hotel is a little isolated but the bus service is reliable and easily accessible. We did however have a lovely relaxing week away from the terrible English weather.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just returned from a week away in the Rio Calma, Costa Calma. I cannot fault the weather,hotel, buffet food and beautifully kept gardens and pool areas, with 2 infinity pools! My only comment would be the restaurant where you can choose to go, for a cover charge and eat the 'menu of the day' or 'al a Carte' The waiter service was a nice change, but the food was not to our taste.
We walked into Costa Calma a couple of times, and caught a local bus Nos1 or 5 down to Morro Jable, we got off at the Lighthouse, and walked along the amazing beach to the small town. We also went up to Corralejo passing through some magnificent dunes that went into the sea. We would probably go back next year to the Rio Calma or a hotel in MorroJable.

Room Tip: I think all have sea views. We had a balcony and were 2 levels above the nightclub/disco, but were n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grace m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
3.1 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
1.2 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#3 of 27 in Costa Calma
585 reviews
10.5 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.6 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
44.6 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
1.6 mi away
H10 Tindaya
H10 Tindaya
#1 of 27 in Costa Calma
3,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference

Address: C/ Artistas Canarios 8, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
#6 Romantic Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range: $133 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
r2 Rio Calma Hotel And Spa & Conference
r2 Rio Calma Hotel Costa Calma
Hotel Rio Calma
Rio Calma Costa
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference Fuerteventura/Costa Calma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing