We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but slightly oversold by Thomas Cook”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Costa Calma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Myself and my partner needed a week relaxing break in the sun and decided on the R2 Rio Calma as it was in the Thomas Cook My Style brochure and looked very nice and also received good reviews on here.
There essentially is nothing terribly wrong with the hotel, but we were slightly disappointed because we feel it is oversold in the Thomas Cook brochure and expected it to be fantastic.
I have worked in the travel industry for 30 years and have travelled to some amazing hotels in my time and although they can vary massively from place to place I feel that the 5 stars that Cooks give it in their brochure is a bit exaggerated.
On arrival, check-in was efficient if not friendly.
Room:
When we arrived in our room there was a smell which can only be described as musty and smokey - either we just got used to it or it actually disappeared, as by the end of the holiday it was almost gone. We also thought that the rooms were very chintzy with flowery curtains, flowery bedding and the furniture was very low grade.
There was only one pillow each, no spare, and the mattresses are rock hard.
The cleaning in the room during the week was a bit inconsistent, the cleaner would swill coffee cups under the tap and they would still smell of coffee afterwards, I picked up the drinking glasses for the first time and they had lip marks around the rims and she would fail to put things like coffee wrappers/sugar wrappers in the bin. When we ran out of coffee whitener she would take away the box and not replace it with more. The grouting around the marble tiles in the bathroom looked like it had been done blindfolded, it was atrociously bad.
Minor things but you expect more from a 4 star superior (Hotel description), 5 star(Thomas Cook description) hotel.
Food:
The first night we arrived late at the hotel, about half an hour before buffet was due to finish, nobody paid us any attention and we had to go hunting for cutlery as the waitress was banging around in a bit of a strop. We were not offered a drink.
After that the service was ok, but frequently the tables were not laid properly and I had to go hunting for cutlery or pinch it from another table. The waiting on staff were generally quite surly.
The food was edible but nothing special and not once did I feel like I'd had a delicious meal, it was all very average. The theme nights were odd, as the food just seemed to be a re-hash of every other night ie Oriental night had a handful of new oriental(ish) dishes added to the buffet, everything else was the same.
Desserts were a total letdown, the usual cold rice pudding (which I love) and then multiple colours of instant whip, some ice cream and a few tasteless cakes - 4 star superior?
On the fifth night I was told off by the waitress for not having my card present to prove I was entitled to an evening meal, although I had carried it for the previous 4 nights and nobody had asked for it. She was almost insinuating that I was trying to scam a free meal - believe me I'd have gone elsewhere to scam a meal, not there!
The next two nights we were totally buffeted out and went out to eat instead - we couldn't face the repetitious and bland fayre.
Location:
We wanted a quiet holiday and this was just that. It's a 20ish minute walk up quite steep hills into the beginning of the resort centre or about 40 to the other side of the town.
We found the location not a problem at all.
Grounds:
We loved the gardens, pools and especially the man-made beach and saltwater pool down by the sea.........well worth the 3 euros you have to pay per day to hire the sunbed as it's peaceful and the water is lovely and cool. This was our highlight and we were there every day....there is also a very handy snack bar there where you can buy ice cream, drinks, crisps etc if you're peckish or thirsty.
Overall:
The hotel charges for using the room safe and also for having wifi in the room which I feel should be complimentary in a hotel of this category - especially as a number of other areas are below par for the grade.
We would definitely return to this hotel as we liked the grounds, location etc.
There is a lot to be said in favour of the property, but I personally would not stay half board again, just bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

A lovely hotel, very quiet and relaxing experience, the only thing I would say negative is the entertainment in the evening was not really very good, the piano bar was always busy, I think the management should learn from this,!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkb63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I went to this hotel a few months ago with my boyfriend, we wanted the sun, and warmth in the fall, and decided to go to the Caranias Islands, that we had never visited.
When we arrived we were not disappointed at all, the lobby was so big, the staff was very kind, big and clean room wih cute balcony.
The restaurant was good, especially for dinner.
Only negative point, one of the pools (not heated) was a little too cold to enjoy it as we would have liked to.
As we rented a car to visit the island, we visited almost all the hotels and I think this one was the best !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Can't fault the hotel or the staff at all. Was looking for a relaxing week to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and that's exactly what I got. The only criticism is that the bed was a bit too hard and they only gave you a 1 very thin pillow to sleep on. I would definitely come back and have ready recommended it toy friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LiniReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, plenty of places to sit and admire the view. Extensive gardens all on different levels, the infinity pool was very cold but the adjacent swallower pool was warmer, there is also a children's pool which was well used. Our room (7103) was on floor level 7 sea view perfect, t balcony was rather small not comfortable for sitting, Bathroom was well equipped but the bath appeared to built in the wall which made it dark and claustrophobic, housekeeping very good, the bed was large and comfortable but the pillows left a lot to be desired, hard and lumpy.
TV station choice was very inadequate BBC World, no Sky or CNN. Restaurant very well appointed, the food excellent, quality food at both breakfast and dinner, wine limited to Spanish only.
Reception very helpful, spoke all languages fluently and cheerfully.
This is a very large hotel, mainly used by Europeans, Costa Calma resort very quiet, the walk from the hotel down to the beach is well worth doing, chipmunks and even saw pilot whales one morning. A good walk from the hotel along the length of the beach and back via the road is about 5miles. Also took the local bus to Jandia, very commercialized and large, good way to see the island 5.3euros for two each way.
This is a quiet resort and would not suit everybody and the hotel when we stayed was not full, would not like to stop there when it was full. The weather was very hot and made the trip for us
we wanted was a break from the long winter.

Room Tip: See the room before unpacking and try to get a decent balcony, one that is more open and pleasant to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Goldenwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just returned after 7 nights at the Rio Calma hotel. One of the largest hotels we have stayed in and very well run.
On arrival a welcome drink as we waited at reception. Taken to our room. Good room but average bed and fittings, bathroom clean, towels changed every day. From the very first night difficult to sleep because of the hard solid bed and lumpy pillows. Take your own pillow.
The resort. Very quiet and relaxing, lots of levels and aspects, all lovely to see. Clean pools, well maintained gardens and great views
Room security safe has to be paid for but it gives peace of mind.
The food at breakfast and dinner always excellent, lots to choose from and tasty.
We took a taxi ride into town for less than 3 euros but only a few shops
Take a walk along the hotel's frontage and see the chipmunks.
Also, took a ride on the Subcat, great to go underwater and sea the fish. Visited the main town on the island, approx. a 1.5 hr coach trip.
You will have to make your own fun in the evenings. Hotel entertainment very poor. One evening, parrots!!!!!
Given the quality of the hotel why is there such a rubbish tv selection. Surely as little as Sky news could be provided.
During our visit a photo shoot for swimwear was underway, great view but the company took over the pool in a superior way.
Our holiday was organised by Thomas Cook. If you use them for this resort, don't rely on their hotel rep, let down very badly.
All in all a lovely holiday except for the aforementioned rep. We would certainly return.

Room Tip: Avoid booking a room on the 3rd floor unless you like the disco noise. Go for the 6th floor with a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bepatient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed for one week from 27th March 2013. The hotel is very impressive but is remote. The village of Costa Calma is residential with 2-3 all inclusive hotels so there is very little to see and do outside the hotel complex. Given all that the entertainment was very poor, with the evening show starting at 8-45 and finished between 9-30 to 10.00. The only other option was the pianist in reception.
The food was your typical buffet with show cooking for meat and fish, and i would describe that as ok, you will not starve.
I would return if the entertainment was better.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
3.1 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
1.2 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#3 of 27 in Costa Calma
585 reviews
10.5 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.6 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
44.6 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
1.6 mi away
H10 Tindaya
H10 Tindaya
#1 of 27 in Costa Calma
3,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference

Address: C/ Artistas Canarios 8, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
#6 Romantic Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range: $133 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
r2 Rio Calma Hotel And Spa & Conference
r2 Rio Calma Hotel Costa Calma
Hotel Rio Calma
Rio Calma Costa
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference Fuerteventura/Costa Calma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing