We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, great sea views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Costa Calma
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great service, great sea views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

All in all a lovely hotel. The staff is always ready to help and serve with everything you need. Breakfast buffet and evening buffet is very versatile and delicious served.
A small minus is lack of free internet in the room / balcony, an outdated and boring gym and too many screaming kids who would rather be anywhere else, and the bed in the room is hard as stone. Not what you normally expect from a 4 star hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bbunke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    529
    170
    62
    43
See reviews for
306
694
61
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We chose this hotel as due to ill-health we are unable to be very active at present and it completely met our expectations. We had asked for a quiet room on the ground floor and this had been noted by the hotel. The grounds are landscaped beautifully but there are slopes. There is an infinity pool and another one but as the breeze was cool we found the water too cold for swimming. We had no problems finding loungers in various areas and towels are provided for a small returnable deposit. The food is served as a buffet and we were impressed by the variety, quality and quantity. Meals can be taken inside or on a shaded terrace which we preferred. We found it was a good idea to leave jacket on the back of a chair if we both left the table to fetch another course so people knew we were returning. Our package included all meals, wine, beer and soft drinks with meals and 8 visits to the spa. The staff were very friendly and efficient and our room was cleaned daily with clean towels if used ones were left in the bath. Our room had a balcony and sea view, a fridge, large TV, plenty of storage and a very comfortable bed.

The hotel was discreetly decorated for Christmas with poinsettas and a large Christmas tree and a special meal was served on Christmas Day with candles and table decorations. We appreciated that there was no compulsion to join in activities.

The village Costa Calma is a very pleasant 15 minute walk with no traffic and there are small supermarkets and a few restaurants and cafes. Is possible to book excursions from the hotel or from Costa Calma but unfortunately we were unable to take advantage of these.

Room Tip: There is a disco on the 3rd floor but the rooms are on floors 6 and 7 and our request for a quiet ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

After reading such mixed reports about the Hotel, we were some what unsure as to what to expect.

We need not have worried, although not every aspect was perfect overall we were pleasantly surprised.

The hotel and grounds are extensive, but everything was well maintained and clean, it is however some what isolated.

The rooms are on the small side, but are well equipped and kept to a good standard, the big draw back is that like most Spanish hotels the walls are paper thin. We asked for and got a top floor room (seventh floor) so thankfully had no one above us, although we could hear a child in the room adjoining and snoring from the other, goodness knows what they thought of my persistent cough.
During our stay we moved to a sunnier room (again 7th floor) with absolutely no trouble.

The staff were all most friendly and absolutely nothing was too much trouble, (yes even the reception staff) The only poor staff we encountered were the Restaurant Head Waiter who never wore a name badge and only appeared once every so often, and only spoke when spoken to. The same must be said of what we assumed to be Management who only appeared every so often.
The restaurant, had plenty of space both indoors and out with an extensive and varied range of food of a reasonable quality, but often not hot enough.

The hotel was only half full so ample space everywhere, but if full the sun bed situation could become a problem as others have mentioned.

Not particularly impressed with Thomas Cook and the Rep also the uniforms look very down market.

Beware of a car hire rip off you get a full tank of petrol which costs you 70 Euros, but return it empty, which is difficult on such a small island.

Room Tip: top floor is reccomended
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmandJudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cully, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We've tried various hotels here including the famous Melia Gorriones and find this one to offer better value. View is wonderful but location of Melia is better. Some poor policies like the charges for sunbeds but food was wonderful. Service can be hectic but we were always well taken care of by our waitress. This hotel is modern and clean and compared to much of the rubbish on the Costa Calma the R2 stands out.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissWineTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We booked this hotel as it looked our sort of place, we like it quiet but we also like it comfortable and clean with good food and service. The trip down from the airport was a bit of a put off, most of the views looked like a moon scape. Once we got booked in and went to our room, asked for a sunny balcony and ours was, with a great view, the room was good, enormous bed, everything we could want, kettle, tea, coffee, etc.,iron and board, yes you do have to pay for the use of the safe but I have no problem with that, it's not unusual. If was to have a gripe about the room it was that there was only one wall socket and we needed to move a peice of furniture so we could rest whatever we plugged in on it. All the public areas are comfortable and welcoming we especially liked the botanical garden in the evening sitting quiet with a book listerning to the water tricking. Pool area was great don't think they could of got anymore loungers out there, and lets be honest if you want one you need to put a bit of effort in and come down before lunchtime, we found no problems. We didn't use the facilities but spoke to people who enjoyed them. The entertainments team were great especially Silvana, they were polite and not too pushy. The quality of the food was good and we were offered a good choice, some of the meat was tough, but not all of itby anymeans, if I was to mention a negative for me it would be that the desserts were very repetative. The dining room does get quite busy but we always found a table and the waiting staff worked very hard to keep the tables in use. Well done to all the staff not forgetting the ones we don't see behind the scenes. We did hear some people complaining about the food being 'foreign' and there not being any mashed potato, come on stop giving the English a bad name. Georgie the Thomas Cook rep was great very helpful but not in your face. All in all a good holiday which did all we wanted it too, which for us was to have a relaxing break in the run up to Christmas. If you're looking for an action packed holiday this hotel and area is not for you, but if like us you want to relax and be looked after well go for it.

Room Tip: I asked for a sunny balcony and ours had a forward facing sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We booked to go to R2 Pajara beach hotel, on arrival we were asked if we wanted a sea view, having not booked one we thought why not The Receptionist told us if we wanted sea view we needed to go to sister hotel, very nice , he showed us some pictures and off we went although somewhat apprehensively. Within seconds a taxi picked us up and we shot off to Rio Calma.
Although not AI we did get this at no cost.
Hotel and Grounds exceptional, designed as a moorish village, with what appears to be one large fountain running water down through the hotel pools and out into the sea, via a walk under waterfall, through a infinity pool, over a huge 3 cascade waterfall through a saltwater lagoon and into the sea. The three pools were all first class, and the gardens were totally tropical.
Food the food to my taste was a little bland. A vast selection at Breakfast, fresh smoothies, sparkling wine, can't fault it. Lunch was same as for main evening meals.
Evening meals mostly Pork, well alot of pork, and sometimes pork every which way but loose,Veal which was usually tough, a fish dish of the day, often served in some sauce but the labelling was poor so you often did not know what it actually was . That said in all honesty one could not complain about the food , but at the same time you wouldn't rave about it either.
Bars , beer came in near pint glasses, cocktails were mixed and a good selection of international brands were all in our AI package. AT 7 in the evening there was but one barman for the whole hotel 800 people so waits were common and as the staff would often do everything else but serve drinks in most bars 20 mins to get a near pint was not unusual. Tipping the bar staff made no difference to their lethargy. One Barmaid Suzanna, was brilliant, friendly, efficient, and reduced waits within minutes of arriving on scene, she deserves a medal, I felt a bit for her as she really worked hard and the others just ran amock like headless chickens.
Outside resturant was good but got busy around 8/8-45, and queues formed for tables as they were not cleared, The manager would appear, look daggers at the staff, who worked hard but were trying to clear tables, re lay tables, and serve drinks all at the same time . I suggested more staff to the manager who said it was not his fault everyone wanted to eat at the same time.
Check in for us was quick as we arrived after everybody else, but was slow, very slow. The reception staff were helpful and polite.
Rooms were very nice with sea view chocs and sparkling wine on arrival, cleaning and such to a high standard,
Pools were all excellent, usual sunbeds at dawn stuff. Most guests our european cousins but there was no rudeness and they kept their children occupied happy and very well behaved around the pools and in resturants. A few intolerable English kids yelling and hollaring around the pool on one day, but I think the price kept away less desireables.
There is a small beach sandy at the end nearest the hotel 5 mins walk through the chipmonk colony. A larger beach about 20 mins away by foot.
Excellent hotel, pools,and relaxing atmosphere, but the hotel is let down by the staff management and ineffective working practices.
Finally if you have got this far- Does being a nudist make you old and wrinkly, or is it only old wrinklies are nudists?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Radiostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Myself and my wife stayed here last week (w/c 9/11/12) and our first impressions were that the main hotel was very nice and was clean and well presented. We got drinks brought to us when checking in. It took a while to check in but it was not completely the fault of the hotel. We went full board plus so all of our meals were catered for in the price and all drinks at meal times. Our first stumbling block was that they gave us a card that you need for all meals to show what rate you are on that said we were half board. I pointed it out and got it changed quickly and with no fuss. Rosa sorted us out and was polite so maybe the other reviewers just got her on a bad day.

The room was nice and space was ok to hang clothes and shower etc. the shower was very good in terms of power which can be a let down on holiday. Again everything nice and clean. Balcony was a bit odd as the wall was so high you couldn't sit and see anything other than the sky!

The pools were a real strong point as they were lovely and having walked past the majority of other hotels I can see that ours was by far the nicest.

The food was ok, plenty of choice for the different meals. Not the best I've had but nowhere near the worst. I'm not really that picky to be honest but I like a good choice of meat and some healthy options which were there present.

The spa was a bit on the small side but we got 4 visits in our card so didn't pay anything to go. It was a bit busy too just after opening at four so go later to have it more quiet.

Most of the guests were older (60 +) so it suited us as we like it quiet. If you want to have a loud busy holiday this isn't the place for you.

The grounds were expansive and well maintained.

The place was in the middle of nowhere. Suited me but its nice to have a bit of a resort for odd mission out to see a bit of something different.

So we did have a decent time on the whole.

Negative points, little gripes really.

1: you have to pay for the safe in your room, sun loungers at the beach which is part of the hotel, towels (deposit then 1euro a change), drinks are expensive, mini bar is expensive, some sports like tennis cost you. It can mount up if you're not careful. At the end the bill was 70 euros too much as they changed us for quite a lot of drinks we had with our meals. They sorted it when I pointed it out but it was something I half expected.

2: the service wasn't at all quick and quite a lot of meal times we were sat for up to 15 minutes waiting for cutlery and drinks. In a lot of all inclusive resorts you can sort yourself a drink out immediately and place this on your table whilst you go and get food. Here you end up waiting a while.

3: the hotel wasn't full but there was a bit of a mission to get a lounger. They really need to sort some more out.

4: the gym was almost pointless. I normally train whilst abroad and have had some really poorly equipped gyms. This was the worst even including some cheaper hotels. A few free weights and old machines. Nobody there to tend to it. I'd get rid of it or invest in it.

5: I've alluded to the confusion with the half/full board. You have to carry a little card about with you. There were some people on all inclusive, some full board plus, some full some half etc etc. I think the staff got confused which leads to possibly being charged for things you shouldn't be resulting in some uncomfortable moments at reception. They either need to train the staff better so they don't make so many mistakes, sort out an easier way to tell who is what level or make the whole place all inclusive so there will not be any confusion. An example was at the evening meal I asked for a bottle of red wine as our drinks are included and its nice to have a bottle between you. Most days I get given the house red which I expect as its included free. One night the chap brought me a wine list with all different wines and prices. I said the house and he pointed to the list so I just picked one out. Some are very expensive (Dom perignon 135 euro) so I don't expect they are included but nobody ever explains which are and which aren't. So this bottle appeared on the bill at the end at 24 euro. It got removed like all the others but it sort of makes you wonder why some appear and others don't.

Anyway overall I enjoyed it and never went to the length of complaining about anything as there were no issues that required addressing immediately. Most things are long term establishment problems and not specific individual issues. Even those aren't exactly ground breakers so I think I would go again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RPThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
3.1 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
1.8 mi away
VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
1.9 mi away
Hotel R2 Pajara Beach
Hotel R2 Pajara Beach
#7 of 26 in Costa Calma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.7 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
1.2 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#5 of 26 in Costa Calma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
44.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference

Property: R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
Address: C/ Artistas Canarios 8, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
#6 Romantic Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference 4*
Number of rooms: 389
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
r2 Rio Calma Hotel Costa Calma
r2 Rio Calma Hotel And Spa & Conference
Hotel Rio Calma
Rio Calma Costa
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference Fuerteventura/Costa Calma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing