We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star????”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Costa Calma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here in Nov 2012,
Very grand building, sun bathing area around pool is innadequate, you have to be up before 7am to secure a good location.
The gym is completely useless as a gym, very limited weights (one barbell) and some loose weights, the bikes are spinning bikes so are not suited for comfortable rides and a small range of fixed machines.
The air conditioning in the does not work!!!! and the water machine was empty.
The airconn in the bedrooms was innadequate, the food was mediocre and it's a scrum when you use the buffet.

BEWARE IF YOU ARE INFIRM, THE HOTEL IS ON 6 LEVELS AND THE BEACH AREA IS MUCH LOWER SO THIS WILL AFFECT YOUR BEING ABLE TO GET AROUND.
You are charge every time you change your beach towel, after the deposit of 10 euro, also you have to pay a daily rate for you beach sunbeds.
Location for Costa Calma is poor if are looking to stroll into town for a change of scenery

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wearywendy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,395)
There are newer reviews for R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 1,395 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

Myself and my husband visited this hotel early October.
Having never travelled with Thomas Cook before, we booked through them as they were the only operator featuring this hotel. I would definately recommend them. We felt we were looked after 100% and could not fault them.
Well what can i say, this is the best hotel we have ever stayed in. I have stayed in a 5 Star before and that came nowhere near to this hotel.
Flights and transfers very good, checking in was fine, greeted with a glass of Orange juice. I had read some reviews about check in being slow, but we did not find this to be the case.
When we got to our room we were greeted by a bottle of wine (for our Wedding Anniversary) and 2 mugs with chocolates in which i thought was a lovely touch. Rooms lovely, clean & big with great views of the pool and sea. Beds firm but very comfortable. Rooms were cleaned spotlessly everyday, which again i had read some reviews that the bathroom was not cleaned. I did take my own travel kettle, iron, coffee and teabags, but there was no need as they had all this in the room, which i will now know for next time.
Gardens and pools were stunning and kept immaculate at all times with 3 attendents keeping an eye on things throughout the day.
Food was great, never had a bad meal throughout the duration of the holiday. Plenty of choice for all taste buds. Chefs cooking food to order as well as the buffet.
All staff very polite, helpful and friendly
The only downfall of this hotel and i say ONLY!! was there was not enough sunbeds. Although there were signs to say no reserving sunbeds people did put their towels on the sunbeds but then there would be nobody on them for a good part of the day. If i had of really wanted a sunbed i would of just taken the towel off anyway. We ended up laying on the grass most of the time, but that didn't really bother us, as the gardens were that stunning to chill & sunbathe in.
The Lagoon beach was lovely to which we did vist some of the time, although you were charged 3 Euros for a Sunbed.
To be quite honest the hotel was that big with so many areas you could always find a nice area to chill and rewind . Plenty of seating all around the hotel especially near the big Fountain.
We had 4 passes to the Spa which was lovely. Again in previous reviews some said it was cold and not clean. This is not true. It was very clean & everything in and around the hotel was immaculate!!
Costa Calma is a relatively small and quiet resort, but that did not bother us as we have been to Fueterventura many times before and mostly stayed in the Correlejjo, but wanting a change and somewhere quiter we will always to come back to Costa Calma. The hotel sits on a hill a bit out of Costa Calma, but we loved the leisurely stroll to the beach. (20 Minute walk)
We loved this hotel and after seeing it a few years ago and saying to my husband i would like to stay at the Rio Calma, i am so glad we did. We have now just booked again to return Oct 2013 for 2 weeks and we both cannot wait. So if you want to chill and relax then this is the hotel & resort for you, but if not go to Corralejjo or Calete De Fuste.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

After reading other reviews about this hotel I would say they are very accurate having been there in October 2012. All of the comments we found to be accurate! Air conditioning non existant - charging for sunbeds in the lagoon @ 3 euros per bed per day! Charging of pool towel at a charge of 1 euro per day. Thomas Cook rep never there when he was supposed to be! We wanted to book a trip and if it hadn't been for a german speaking rep who helped us out we would have missed out, we tried to book it for 6 nights - no rep there. Another negative - we booked over a year ago and as our teenage daughter has Autism we requested connecting rooms. I e-mailed the hotel in May of this year and explained why and was assured all would be done to help. Needless to say no connceting room was available - I told reception on arrival and the Thomas Cook rep at the Welcome Meeting and no one got back to us. I really did not want to make a fuss after all it was a HOLIDAY! But we were very disappointed - lack of customer service. Stayed in My Style hotels before and this is NOT one of them. We don't normally bother getting up early to grab a sunbed - but you have to here because no one abides by the POOL RULES and they are mostly all gone by 8.30am. All in all not good value for money and we would not return here.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank bonniescot_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel was great, a little out of the way of the main resort of costa calma but only takes about 15 to 20 mins to walk, food was great massive selection and chefs cooking food to order as well as buffet, i have seen comments about not enough sunbeds, but there's lots of grass to lie on which we did as my son spent the 10 days we where there in the pool, if you had a sunbed you would not be able to watch the kids, rooms are lovely and big, also clean, staff all polite and helpful,the beach bar did lovely lunches, pizza's around 6 euro they where massive, enough for 2 people.
We would go back to this hotel, there's not many I could say this about. Lots of activities to do if you wanted to do them.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a good view as the hotel is built in a U shape so it looks like all have a de...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We visited this hotel at the beginning of October 2012, the transfer at the airport took an hour to actually load the coach (although we were only the 2nd drop off) and then an hour and 10 minutes journey, so was a long trip, the check in was very slow too and the Thomas Cook rep has a strop on and was quite rude to some of the guests.

We were on the 7th floor (one above reception) and was the highest (which we requested). Very nice views. Had lovely sea views and garden views. Tip... do not request a pool view. There is a separate annex which is on ground and first floor level which overlooks the pool but is also above the bar and games area and is very noisy so wouldn't recommend it.

The rooms were really lovely, beds firm but comfortable, kettle, cups, teabags, coffee, sugar, creamer, even a free bottle of water. There is a mini fridge which had adequate space to keep drinks/food in. We had a free mug with chocolates in the room, not sure if this was Thomas cook or from the hotel, but nice touch.There is an iron and full sized ironing board in the room, coathangers, safe (chargable WEEKLY), We had a flat screen tv, although some rooms just had normal tv, no radio. The air con didn't work that well in our rooms, was just piped cool air which shut off at night which was really warm. Extra pillows and blankets are available from reception. Hairdryer, soap, showercap/gel in bathroom

The restaurant food was nice, good choice, not always hot depends on when you go to in, but great variety and quite fresh. Breakfast choices was cereal, fruits, tea (various inc earl grey etc) coffee, freshly made fruit juices ie melon, (nice), various breads and rolls, toaster, scrambled egg, streaky bacon, saute potatoes, beans, mini sausages, tomatoes, (usual stuff) plus continental cheese, ham etc, boiled eggs, fried eggs and omelettes made fresh, croissants and various pastries. Pancakes and stewed fruits. Nice salads for dinner and different roasts, lamb, pork, chicken. turkey, veal plus other dishes like rabbit, goat, spare ribs, steak and local dishes and various fish dishes. Chips were nice too (so were the desserts)

The hotel supermarket was very basic, didn't sell bread or even cracker biscuits, so I think unless you are full board, take this into consideration. There are supermarkets in the town but the hotel is right on the edge of barron land and is a very long walk especially if you are not very mobile.

The staff were always very friendly, the reception spoke good English as did the restaurant staff although we did not hear another English voice the first week we stayed there, everyone was German. The second week we heard a couple more English and French but again mainly German.

Negatives:

Sunbeds. Certain residents (they know who they are) reserve the sunbeds even though all the paperwork says this is against hotel rules. By 9am, we walked around and there were only 4 sundbeds in the whole complex with no towels on them. Ridiculous. People complained continuously and the staff did bring more out of storage, but still weren't enough to go around.

Air Conditioning. Rooms were very warm, especially at night

Maids came in daily to make beds/empty bins, but didn't clean bathrooms or the rooms

Check in was slow at Reception, however there was more staff on when we left and check in for new arrivals was a lot more quicker

All in all it was a very nice hotel, great pool, gardens, good rooms, very relaxing. Although nothing to do, and not really anywhere to walk to unless you are pretty fit! We didn't go to the spa as the weather was so nice, 27 degrees every day so would recommend for relaxation, but not for the adventurous type. Oh and there is wheelchair access but the ramps are pretty steep!

Room Tip: Floor 7 is the highest floor with sea view. Do not ask for pool view as this will be over the poo...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kat8606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

A very high quality hotel, 4* superior. Buffet food is great, better than I have read in other reviews. This is a large high end luxury german hotel. Dont expect staff to speak english as a second language but all were very very nice. Free champagne on arrival.

I can't begin to tell you how much we liked this hotel! The gardens are huge, the pools are fantastic. The rooms are great. The views are amazing. The hotel staff always say hello. The chefs and catering staff are very efficient.

its not for those looking for action but if your a young familly or a coupl elooking for a quiet high quality holiday you cant get better than this in my view. I got a quote online from Thomas Cook and then when inot my local store for a discount...so haggle.

Top Hotel tips....

Go to lunch EARLY or VERY late, then do it on the outside dining area....heaven
Buy some nuts from the local shops to feed the squirrels that live on the rocks.
Wear walking shoes. The hotel is not in the resort but a short walk away.

Top Costa calma tips...

The cheapest food store is the Spar in the middle of the main road.
Get the blue/yellow bus form outside the hotel to the end of the resort and walk back. its a nice stoll.

Walk way way past the main beach, through the nudist beach and you will come out onto a bloomin MASSIVE beach were the kite surf guys go...very nice.

The small market is on Sundays and its mainly for leather stuff and watches. Of course its not all real but who will notice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at the Rio Calma in October of 2012. When we arrived it took forever to get up the line to the check in and it wasn´t that busy. It was noon and our room wasn´t done, which is acceptable. But it wasn´t acceptable that we waited for over 3 hours after being told that they were cleaning it and they would call us over when ready. There were other people in the same situation and things only started moving when a man went over and asked about it. They talked a lot over walkie talkies (loudly) with the maids which everyone thought was very unprofessional. Our room was on the bottom floor (3) which didn´t feel very secure. The overall grounds/landscaping and such were very nice. Our room was always clean.
The spa was crappy. It is very cold (water and air). We had 2 free days in the spa and there were used tissues in the sauna that weren´t taken away. The steam room smelled lightly of mold. Johanna was a lovely girl though and I was impressed that she spoke at least 3 languages.
The entertainment was really really crappy! ! ! (Except "The Beatles") The last night we went to the Laguna for a "LIVE" concert. They played really well, but...they should stick with spanish songs as they butchered every english text. They were really nice chaps though!
The hotel is really far out of town. We rented a car for one day, but would recommend 3 or 4 days. We rented ours from the little shop at the hotel by the little store/gift shop, they were nice and cheaper than the cars offered by the hotel and where we booked our trip from. The little gift shop was good for buying water for the room to save you on the drinks or you can walk 2 kilometers to the SPAR in town.
The views from the upper level areas are beautiful The pool bar has nice places to sit, but the food is just way to expensive, and we had the feeling that the food was leftovers from the buffett the night before.
Speaking of food, it was ok. They have to feel a lot of people. We had the feeling here again that they used the leftovers for "new" creations the next day. Word of warning...check the dishes, they were always dirty!! You can sit outside, which is very nice. There was just one thing we didn´t understand...you could only go outside in the morning at 8 oclock. Breakfast starts at 7:30. We made the mistake of going outside and was promptly yelled at. There are no signs telling you this anywhere!!
Internet was 3rd world and expensive. It was free in the lobby, but the signal weak!
You had to pay for using the safe (2,50 a day)! If I pay that much for my vacation, a safe should be for free! You also have to pay 10 Euros for a beach/pool towel (deposit) but have to go through a long process to get it, and if you want a new one you have to pay 1 Euro each towel. Again, if I pay this much for a vacation....
All in all we loved our trip here. The things I mentioned are just small things that bothered us, but it was not bad enough that we had to complain to the manager or anything.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room on level/floor 3. This is ground level and we felt very uncomfortable and was...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jellybean72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
3.1 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
1.2 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#2 of 27 in Costa Calma
561 reviews
10.5 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.6 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
44.6 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
1.7 mi away
VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference

Address: C/ Artistas Canarios 8, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
#6 Romantic Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range: $145 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference 4*
Number of rooms: 389
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
r2 Rio Calma Hotel And Spa & Conference
r2 Rio Calma Hotel Costa Calma
Hotel Rio Calma
Rio Calma Costa
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference Fuerteventura/Costa Calma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing