We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you need to chill out this is the place”
Review of Althay Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Althay Apartments
Reviewed June 24, 2013

its like a family run hotel from the hotel guard to the manager everyone friendly and helpfull.
we stayed for 7 days in june on a cheapy , value for money 10/10
this is a place you can forget the world and relax so if your wanting night life or entertainment dont go.
we met couples who were returning for the second and third time so you can see what a lovely place it is to chill out.
12 miles of sandy beach ,beach bars that serve fresh fish cooked and smoked on a BBQ relax and watch the sun go down with a jug of sangria priceless.
will go back

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the pool 67/68
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KEVILUVHOLLS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 235 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have just returned from the althay apartments,having stayed from 31st may till 7th June,we stayed In room 65 over looking the pool,it was even better stay than before,the food was great, Antonio works 2 hard,don't believe the negative reviews, there's always something for someone 2 moan about,I have 2 say there was a miserable looking few people, but hey u can't please everyone,all I can say is that we enjoyed our stay very much and would most certainly return, the beach is great but can get a bit windy,the area as a whole is really quiet but that's what we wanted,u r best 2 hire a car so u can drive around the other parts of the island, we drove about 600 klm on a tank of petrol in a fiat panda, thank you again Antonio, we will b back, Gordon

Room Tip: Over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fargo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

we went to Althay for a short break 13th may to 17th may we got a really good deal with travel republic and didnt really expect much to be honest but as this was our 5th vist to fuerteventura but first to costa calma we were really going for a rest and enjoy the scenery.
we arrived about 7pm monday night we were the only ones to check-in so was very quick we went to our apartment and were pleased with a very clean large apartment with a lovely view of the pool and mountains.
food was surprising good basic yes but tasty and hot if your fussy it may be a problem but we always found something nice to eat lovely salads the only real concern was the wine !! i do like my white wine cold but im afraid all the wine was in jugs on the bar where you help yourself id suggest a small fridge on the bar for the sangria and white wine .
the hotel staff from manager to bar staff and cleaners to cooks were all very friendly polite and always made time for a chat Antonio the manager was very friendly the hotel offers free wifi in reception which i didnt get at a 4 star hotel earlier this year!! on the last day our transfer was picking us up at 4.20pm Antonio let us have the room till we left for free we were very impressed with the customer service they gave us here.
its about a 15 min walk to the beach and WOW what a lovely beach very clean beautitful we loved it the resort is very spread out and wasnt a great deal of shops and bars but we took a local bus to morro jable the next tourist town which was a really lovely day out tons of shops and the prices were very good too.
if your going to Althay i hope you like cats cause theres a local charity that feeds them at the back of the hotel they are all very friendly and fat they just want some love.
we had a great holiday and im sure we will be back one day

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janice w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed at the Althay 18th-23rd May for 4 nights. Booked a short break as we had lousy weather in uk. Booked all inclusive for me & other half, flew Ryanair which we were dreading.. In all fairness they were great!
1 hour transfer from airport. Arrived at 8.15 pm sat night, evening meal had finished but Andrea in dining room was a little star.. She even went & cooked a quickie for us nice & fresh ( much appreciated)
E'mailed manager Antonio before we arrived requesting pool facing room...Wow.. Couldn't have picked better if we would've seen it first. Well done Antonio. Room 63 fabulous.
Hotel/apartments were fairly quiet, mix of German & a few English. Room was perfect, balcony massive. Fridge, tv 1 (1 euro for 3 hours) towels provided. Room basic but clean. We didn't intend to spend our few days in the room anyhow.
Beer on tap..help yourself, ice cream & soft drinks available all day. Plenty of choice to eat.. I'm a bit fussy but never starved, breakfast was best.
Made a little friend of a lovely cat, bit rejected & ugly but then again I like the quirky!
10 mins walk to centre & beach. Quite barren but all in all would stay again.
Did exactly what it said on the tin..R & R & just what we needed.

Room Tip: Room 63... Pool view massive balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank boropreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at Drago park a few years ago, and always passed this place en route to the beach...it is a fabulous place! (In my opinion, of course.)
The staff are fantastic...especially Antonio the manager, who organised cake and champagne for my partners birthday and Andrea who made beautiful flower arrangements for the table.
As in all aspects of life...you get what you pay for. ...but I feel this does the place a dis service!
We got so much more than we paid for (sorry about the spelling)

Gerry

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ukgerryox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is now our second visit to the Althay apartments and it was even better then I remembered. Antonio and the rest of the staff obviously remembered us from our previous visit and there was genuine pleasure from them when they saw us once more.
The apartments haven't changed at all and the food was once again excellent. We were fed fantastically well and, looking at my waistline, too well.
The drink was once again good, help yourself to everything except spirits which were poured by the staff at very generous measures.
I would once again recommend a car for use on the island as Costa Calma although very nice doesn't have a vast amount to do. A car means you can explore the whole island and have an escape if the heat and sun gets too much.
The best part of the whole trip though are the staff, every single one obviously enjoys the job there and they all work extremely hard at the job. They seem to work all day on the days they are on shift, except for Antonio who seem to work 24/7. They are a credit to the resort and to Fuerteventura.
Thank you to everyone for the holiday and I'm sure we'll be there again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The apartments are very basic, but good value for money, we found the accomodation adequate for what we wanted, however, the bed was very uncomfortable, and the seating in the lounge area was lacking in comfort, however, putting that to one side, the food was good, served fresh and plenty of it, a little basic but wholesome and filling. and the pool was amazingly clean and refreshing !!!
The Resort of Costa Calma is very new and whilst still been developed has NOT a lot to offer unless you want a quiet relaxing holiday, but there are a lot of excursions avaiable especially on the peak seasons (definately recommend Oasis Park) the area also has some nice restaraunts for a change of food (Italian) and some very authentic locally frequented bars. All the staff were tremendously friendly and helpfull beyond the call of duty, and we must say a special mention for the complex Manager Antonio, his English is very good as are his other languages and he appears to work 24 hours a day and again will ensure a lovely holiday is had all you have to do is ask for him to help you.
There is an on site supermarket which is cheaply priced and covers all the essentials if you go self catering or all inclusive.
definately an adults based holiday centre, not a lot for the kids, but a little exploration reveals some lovely places and things to do !!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travelots69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Calma hotels
1.4 mi away
H10 Tindaya
H10 Tindaya
#1 of 27 in Costa Calma
3,953 reviews
0.9 mi away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
1.8 mi away
H10 Sentido Playa Esmeralda
H10 Sentido Playa Esmeralda
#4 of 27 in Costa Calma
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#3 of 27 in Costa Calma
603 reviews
0.1 mi away
KN Matas Blancas
KN Matas Blancas
#16 of 27 in Costa Calma
720 reviews
1.4 mi away
VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Althay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Althay Apartments

Address: Calle Valle de los Mosquitos 4, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Costa Calma
Hotel Class:2 star — Althay Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Althay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Althay Apartments Costa Calma
Althay Apartments Hotel Costa Calma
Althay Apartments Fuerteventura/Costa Calma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing