We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, clean, friendly, good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Althay Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Althay Apartments
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean, friendly, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Spent a week here with my husband, daughter and her fiancé. Nice and quiet like we expected and hoped for. If you want night life then you can with a short taxi ride. Food and drink plentiful with good choices! Staff friendly, areas kept clean! I think some people just love to moan and don't believe everything you read!
Ok so not much to do at night but we got our drinks and sat on our balconies then went to get more when wanted! Or you can sit around the pool if you want to mix with other people.
We rented a car and found a lovely beach 10 mins drive away the water was warm and clear, sand lovely but be warned there are nudists there too!
All in all a lovely relaxing week in the beautiful sunshine which is just what we wanted!
Thank you it was beyond our expectations after reading earlier reviews

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    67
    46
    23
    28
See reviews for
48
133
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We arrived just before official check in time which was not an issue for them at all. Antonio on reception gave a fantastic welcome, showed us around and gave us all the information we needed.
Antonio is fantasically hard working, he appears to be around 24 hours a day, if he's not on the desk he can be found and will even open up the supermarket in the middle of his dinner if needed (not that I did, but I did see him do it for others) I even saw him spend nearly an hour on the phone for someone acting as a translator, this is certainly not something all managers would do. He always had a smile on his face when you saw him. This goes for all the staff they really could not be freindlier, regardless of their language skills, they go the extra mile to assist everyone.
The food was fantastic - really good choice for breakfast, toast, cereal, continental or full english with juice on tap, soft drinks and every conceivable chice of hot drink.
Lunch was always good, hot food with a choice of two or three dishes. Chips were available everyday which I've seen a few complain about but there was also always a choice of other sides so I really don't know what people expect! Also if you go out for the day book a picnic the day before and you pick it up at breakfast the next day.
The evening meal was again a huge choice of quality food, generally three or four main dishes with a vegetarian option if required. Loads of sides, salad, chips or wedges, and boiled spuds with vegtables. Again don't really see how they could do more. Ice cream on tap whenever you wanted it, 7 flavours per day with at least 10 different choices over the week we were there.
The beer was good and you were free to serve yourself, in fact you are encouraged to do so and thanked for doing so as it saved the servers time. I also enjoyed the whisky and my sevring appeared to get bigger and bigger each time, but I did also make the effort to learn the languages of the staff which may have helped. The Albanian lady was especially happy that myself and my girlfriend were thanking her in her own langauge.
The rooms were fantastic, stunning if basic apartment with comfortable beds (I do like a hard bed though, these things are subjective) Excellent shower, didn't use the TV at all. Fridge usefull, nice terrace area. Cleaned every two days, including the day before we left. As some have said the room could get very hot, but we found that leaving the curtains shut while out, coupled with having all doors open when you were in meant that the heat dissipated before bed allowing a comfortable sleep during the night even without a fan. The pool looked clean and I saw people cleaning regulary, although we didn't use it at all due to prefering the beach and sea. We hired a car as we both like to explore properly whilst away and the car only cost cost £20 more than tranfers by coach. This meant we could explore the Island well, also as a ginger guy with a pale skinned GF meant we could hide in the car when the heat / sun got too much for us. I would recommend a car for here, I wouldn't fancy the walk to the beach then further exploration without the aircon close by! Also recemmend the caves on the way to, and the church in, Paraja. The lighthouse near Los Playitos which is a steep single track road but well worth the nervous drive to see the views and generally seeing this stunning landscape.
All in all a fantastic week was spent here. To give you an idea of how much we loved it, on the drive to the airport we discussed going back, within a week of getting back we have rebooked for April next year. I simply can't wait to get back there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

we have just returned from an 11 night stay at the althay. we have thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. yes its basic but rooms are clean and the staff go out of their way to ensure you have a loverly time. we read the reviews on here before we went and were a little unsure what to expect..but we loved it. yes its quiet but thats what we wanted. Tthe food was good you could always choose something. pork chops, chicken,beef salad and fish..no its not a la carte but neither was the price..a holiday is what you make it and we had a fab time.

Room Tip: ask to hire a fan it gets a little hot at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Althay apartments are situated towards the edge of Costa Calma, which means you will have to walk to either the beach or shops/ restaurants. The apartments were cleaned every other day to a high standard, with the towels changed. the apartments were adequately furnished with all you need for a quiet holiday, except Air Con. (It was very warm at night, so if this botheres you either look elsewhere, or hire a fan from reception, €3). The meals tended to lean towards german tastes, however for breakfast there was a choice of cereals, cheese and ham, boiled, scrambled or fried eggs, bacon, continental sausage, beans, mushroom etc. Lunches and evening meals centred around various meats, i.e. chicken, beef, pork and once, rabbit accompanied by vegetables potatoes, usually chips, but also fresh salad. There was also fresh fruit and some very sticky pastries. I will admit, its not 'A La Carte' but is OK and the choice is large. Did hear a few mumbles of discontent, however, these were from people who appeared to be unwilling to try something outside of a 'ready meal'.
The pool was not of gigantic proportions, however, it was cleaned daily, except Sunday, and was refreshing, i.e. not that cold once you were in! For an evening, you can do what you wish for entertainment, stay in the apartment, (TV = €1 for 3 hours) or have a drink by the pool or in the restaurant. However, it is quiet and kids would go stir crazy, the same could be said for Costa Calma in general. It's a 15 min slow walk to the beach, up hill all the way back! and some people, in the dunes sunbathe 'au naturale' so be aware.
All in all, it was a peaceful time at Althay, with the exception of the last night when the German 'youth' decided to party on their veranda until 02:30 and ridiculed myself for asking them to quieten it down a bit!
Value for money, yes, it's a 2/3 star, so don't expect anything more and then protest about it on these pages. Transfer from airport was around an hour. (Also there are quite a few cats which hang around that are looked after by a charity).

Room Tip: You need to avoid getting a room near the road, can be noisy, if you can get an elevated room, you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tonyguiseley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daresbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Had a lovely quiet week here with my husband, the rooms are clean and the staff are very hard working!! Antonio on reception is extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We arrived late in the early hours and they had sandwiches and drinks waiting for us. The pool area is nice and clean and we always got a sun longer, excellent value for money.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

My wife and I just got back (18th Sept) after 10 days at the Althay Apartments. What to say? From the outset the staff went more than the extra mile to help. Had emailed a month earlier to advise that my wife is disabled. On arrival we were given apartment 28 the closest to the complex. We received a five star service from a two star complex. Food was great, plenty of choice and well cooked. The chicken was to die for. Rolls were always fresh and I never once saw lunchtime leftovers incorporated into evening meals. The ice cream fas fantastic withe Lemon and peach being our favourites. Yes it is a quiet complex with no entertainment-that's why we picked it. Check out reviews before you go. If you want all singing and dancing with lager louts go elsewhere possibly to one of the more British areas. The guests were a mixture of German and British. Everyone got on with each other and children there were well behaved. Also the British as much as the Germans had towels on sunbeds but we could always find space around the pool. Never saw anyone smashed out of their heads on the all inclusive bar. All in all a great holiday and I would go back there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mulhuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just spent one week AI. I wanted to relax and having read 4 books and spent only 8 euros, I would say mission accomplished !! Quiet and clean, with very friendly staff who will help out with any genuine request or problem. The food was hot and plentiful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Calma hotels
0.9 mi away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
0.2 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#4 of 26 in Costa Calma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.1 mi away
KN Matas Blancas
KN Matas Blancas
#13 of 26 in Costa Calma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Suite
Hotel Royal Suite
#1 of 2 in Costa Calma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.5 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Althay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Althay Apartments

Property: Althay Apartments
Address: Calle Valle de los Mosquitos 4, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Costa Calma
Hotel Class:2 star — Althay Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Althay Apartments Costa Calma
Althay Apartments Hotel Costa Calma
Althay Apartments Fuerteventura/Costa Calma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing