We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICE ACCOMODATION, EXCELLENT FOOD!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Costa Calma
asse
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“NICE ACCOMODATION, EXCELLENT FOOD!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I was there with my teenager daughter for a short break of 6 days.
We have booked a last minute and a promo room, so I was astonished to get so much value for the price!
First of all: food is very very good for a hotel:
- breakfast: fresh fruit smoothies, cava, pancakes and a lot of excellent fresh fruit
- dinner: good quality of everything that is served: fresh grilled fish and meat, good soups, gazpacho, ...
Hotel is completely refurnished, gardens well kept.
Nice staff.
The only thing is a bit the lack of animation: it is realy costa calma...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abbabelgique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos M, Director General at SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Mrs. :

We thank you for taking some minutes to let us know your opinion through Tripadvisor and we are pleased to know you were enjoy at the H10 Sentido Playa Esmeralda hoping to be your hotel for the following visit to Fuerteventura.

Many thanks and regards,

Carlos Miguel
Deputy manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    426
    156
    52
    34
See reviews for
350
610
39
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

This is the second review I am attempting to post about this hotel. Apparently more detail was required so I will try to give as much information as I can.
To begin the hotel itself is very very pretty with tasteful interior throughout. The bird cage bar is particularly attractive I felt and the views across the sea are mesmerising. Being the last hotel on the strip means you get to see the sun set behind the sandy hills and the rooms pretty much all offer nice views over the pool. The standard of food was good, and the staff were very generous when pouring cocktails.
Downsides: very rude unwelcoming reception staff. One German lady in particular called Vera who made me feel any requests we made to reception were a burden to her. Also the wifi (only available at the main bar) was abysmal and did not work at the pool as the hotel advertise. This isn't the biggest problem in the world but it is almost 2014 and I have seen bungalow shack resorts in remote places that are able to connect you so I found this odd.
The entertainment is absolutely dire and I mean awful. I understand they don't want people up all night drinking (all bars close at 12) but they really would have been better off with no entertainment at all. It was cringeworthy at best and a disappointment to us on our Christmas visit.
On that note this is not a good Christmas hotel. On Christmas Eve they closed down every bar at 10 pm so could send their staff home. Lovely for the staff, an insult to guests who had saved up for a nice Xmas break. Furthermore there were no notices around the hotel to say that this would happen so you could make alternative plans. Your drink was practically snatched out of your hands at 9.30 by the bar staff who were in a rush to get home.
Disappointing overall really.
No food or drink at all after midnight on any night so don't be diabetic or hungry at this hotel. They even switched off the vending machines so we couldn't get a can of coke at night. Absurd.
Also you couldn't even order paid room service which begs the question are you a hotel or not?
Overall it was lovely to enjoy the sun and clear sea (nudist beach so if it's not your thing then go elsewhere). Pool was cold but I imagine that is a good thing if you visit in summer. Some really nice staff but mainly with poor English. 90% German guests so stronger German skills is to be expected. Nice place for a quiet and I mean very quiet break. Just make sure you are in bed by 11 and get up early for a cabana or sunned because despite their apparent no towel policy this rule was never enforced.
Oh and don't expect friendly service from reception because you are not a welcome guest, you are a paying inconvenience.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank europop1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos M, Director General at SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Mrs.:

We thank you so much your review, it helps us to improve points. We will personally check what you expose on it.

We know that the south island of Fuerteventura is much popular for the German guest, and we understand that many English people can be found out of place, but we think we are an ideal place to relax and rest, and we try to extend this idea to the service, so perhaps you found no adequate too much quiet ambient at the hotel, but it is what claim the majority and we have to try to cover the majority expectations.

Best regards,

Carlos Miguel
Subdirección
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We've just returned from our 4th visit to this hotel and it did not disappoint. Its proximity to the beach in one of the main attractions where many people like to skinny dip and make the most of the rays. (We didn't make use of the very attractive pool area or spa as we were principally on a trekking trip so weren't around much during the day). The hotel itself is spread out over a fairly large area so if proximity to the main restaurant and reception is important it would be advised to make a request to this affect. All staff were pleasant and courteous and principal staff spoke excellent English - although at the time we may have been the only English speaking people aboard - the main clientèle at the time being German. We enjoyed the wide variety of food. At times there was some queueing but that's the case in most popular hotels. We had breakfast each day on the terrace which has amazing sea views. The bedroom and bathroom were fully serviced each day, towels changed every day and bedding every three days. There is a charge to use the safe. Free wi-fi access available in reception area and greatly improved since our last visit a year ago. Altogether a very successful trip and we hope to return again next year. (H10 club members can enjoy extra benefits like robes, daily newspaper , tea/coffee making facilities etc - worth it if you are a habitual H10 visitior).

Room Tip: Room 1438 has a really big balcony - must be the biggest in the block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maggie162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos M, Director General at SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Mrs.:

Many thanks for your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear from a repeater we have improved from the last year, and all our efforts are going to get better for the next year when we expect we can welcome you newly.

Best wishes,

Carlos Miguel
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balloch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

As with previous h10 hotel the room,food,facilities were excellent.before our trip we found our holiday cheaper with another company and contacted H10 to claim their offer of price match plus VIP status for the trip.This was eventually agreed by them but not carried out.We paid in advance for our holiday and have still not received a refund and did not receive VIP treatment as the hotel staff said there was none!! The hotel staff then nearly charged us again on our departure and luckily we had a bank statement to prove we had already paid.Since returning home I have emailed 3 times and received 0 responses.I am still owed euros from the price match and H10 are just ignoring me.Travellers beware!

Room Tip: Do not go to the beach front rooms if you do not like cats,too many and they have their own beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AFG-BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos M, Director General at SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Mrs.

We are sorry but reading your review, we cannot know you name or any detail which helps us to know exactly about your claim.

Could you be so kind to contact with myself to the mail h10.playa.esmeralda@h10hotels.com to my attention (Carlos Miguel)?

I promise you to investigate about what you wrote on the review and answer you.

Waiting for your mail,

Best regards,

Carlos Miguel
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Positive points:
- Nice pool.
- A (really) heated pool.
- Restaurant staff are nice.
- Nice buildings
- Nice views

Negative points:
- I sent several emails priori to my trip and I got .... zero answer.
- At arrival , exhausted by a day trip with kids and a baby full of luggage, the (unique) receptionist didn't help at all for the luggage, I even had to carry them on stairs (elevators broken most of the time).
- Fridge not working
- Frequent electricity failure
- Really bad smell from the toilets
- Air conditioning not functioning properly
- You have to pay (plus a deposit) for the safe, and a deposit for the towels (15e per towel).
- Only one restaurant open and long queues.
- Receptionist not welcoming at all.
- Wi Fi not working
- Really annoyed (specially for the kids) by the difficulty to access the beach and all the nudists
- Really tiny mini club (akthough the staff is really kind with the kids).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos M, Director General at SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Mr.:

We thank you for the time you spent writing your review which surely helps us to improve according at the points you let us know.

Some of them could be not attributable to us, for example, the beach (It doesn´t belong to the hotel, it is public).

About the other points, we are investigating, because mostly are not usual at the hotel, being usually well valuated by other guests as everyone can check on another reviews about our resort.

We would like to receive the information about negative points on site, and it could help us to know, at the same moment, what you mean, or what you think about them, and we also could permit to sort them out.

Best regards,

Carlos Miguel
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just had a fantastic week's holiday at the H10 Esmeralda Hotel in Costa Calma.
We stayed from 16th October to 23rd October all inclusive, from the moment we checked in at the desk we knew we had picked a good hotel, they took us to our sea view room which was superb . It had two large double size beds, air con, safe (extra charge 8 euros) and a mini fridge, unfortunately they charge extra to turn the fridge on!. A good size bathroom with a good powerful shower over the bath.
The food in the restaurant was very varied with plenty of choice of foods, and plenty of drinks on tap. The staff were very polite and cleared away all used dishes quickly and efficiently.
There were plenty of sunbeds to choose from around the pool areas, they had a policy of 'non reserving of the sunbeds' so it stopped the Germans from getting up at the crack of dawn to reserve the best beds.
The sauna area was very nice where you could use the Turkish baths and saunas, word of warning, expect to be surrounded by naked people in the sauna's, they use them as they should be used...naked!
They also have a sandy beach just behind the hotel which is used as a naturist beach, although we didn't use it ourselves as we thought why pay for a sunbed and umbrellas on the beach without any toilet facilities when you can use the hotel pool areas with all inclusive bars?
The lounge bars were a delight to use in the evening, the bar staff/waiters came around the tables all night to take your drink orders saving having to go to the bar yourselves, they were very efficient and polite, couldn't do enough for you.,
Overall this was one of the best 4 star hotels we have stayed in, we would recommend it to anyone thinking of staying in Fuerteventura,
It's mainly a German hotel with a few Spanish and Polish guests, and very few English guests (which suited us)
The first thing I noticed on our first day around the pool area was...how quiet it was! it must be the first hotel we've stayed at that didn't have music blaring out of rubbish speakers all day by the animation team, it was so nice and peaceful!, you could even hear your own music through your own music players and headphones.

If you want a guaranteed excellent holiday stay in Fuerteventura book this hotel you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Duncan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos M, Director General at SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Mr.

We thanks a lot for your positive review about our hotel. We pay attention to the points you explained and we will try to attach some improvements to get better the experience our guest.

We hope to welcome you back in a close future.

Best regards,

Carlos Miguel
Subdirector
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I visited this hotel in July with my family, 4 adults and 2 children. The weather was good, about 28 degrees and sunny. It was cloudy every day until about 11am and then it would remain sunny for the rest of the day.
The hotel is located on a beautiful beach with clear blue seas. We all snorkelled every day, there's plenty of colourful fish to see, the adults and kids loved it. You can walk along the beach for miles.
The food in the hotel was fantastic, there was something for everyone. I love seafood and there was plenty of variety. The mussels were huge! The breakfast were brilliant too. This was probably the best hotel I have visited in terms of quality of food.
There wasn't a lot of entertainment for the children in the day but luckily they loved the big chess board and played that every day. The evening entertainment was very cheesy, but what hotels entertainment isn't.
We seemed to be one of the only few English families at this hotel, there were a lot of Russians, Italians and Spanish there.
I would visit this hotel again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky_reading06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos M, Director General at SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Mrs.

Many thanks for the review you wrote through Tripadvisor. We are pleased to know we could cover your expectations and know that you will be back in a near future, is our best prize.

Of course, mostly of our guests are from Germany and Belgium, but as you could check by yourself we are pleased to welcome everyone whatever the country to introduce them on this paradise island.

Best regards,

Carlos Miguel
Subdirector
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
1.0 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
2.0 mi away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
28.7 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
8.5 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
0.2 mi away
Hotel R2 Pajara Beach
Hotel R2 Pajara Beach
#7 of 26 in Costa Calma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda

Property: SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda
Address: C/ Punta del Roquito, 2, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Costa Calma
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Calma
#3 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a stone's throw away from the sea with excellent views over the fine sandy beaches and azure waters of Costa Calma, the H10 Sentido Playa Esmeralda has recently been refurbished by the renowned interior designer Lázaro Rosa-Violán. Its lobby, presided over by an original birdcage-shaped bar, its walls decorated with brightly coloured birds and its redecorated rooms give the whole hotel a distinguished, modern feel. In addition, it offers guests a new Despacio Spa Centre and the delicious cuisine of the Jandía Buffet Restaurant with show cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, H10 Hotels, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Playa Esmeralda Resort
Hotel h10 Playa Esmeralda
h10 Hotel
SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda Fuerteventura/Costa Calma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing