We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (679)
Filter reviews
679 results
Traveler rating
353
217
76
19
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
353
217
76
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view relaxing holiday litre bottle classy hotel piano bar wear long trousers for dinner hotel grounds predominantly german fourth floor half board fabulous hotel spa area sauna and steam room palm trees english guests plenty of sunbeds reception desk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 679 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2018

Stayed over new year 2017/18.......great for families not so much for couples.
Food average....too large a food area.crowded and a bit stressful actually.
Should have picked the adults only hotel next door.this is where we went to "relax".
Did not cater for Brits either....never mind .you live and learn.

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank Cliff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Costa Calma Palace, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Dear Cliff L,

Thank you for taking the time to send us the review of your stay at our SBH Costa Calma Palace.

We are very proud to count all types of clients among our guests and are very happy to know they come back year after year to enjoy there holidays with us. We offer our guests a much personalised service may they be couples, friends, family with children or singles.

So our clientele is international and we cater for English, German, French, Spanish, Dutch, Italian, etc.. We are very sorry that you didn’t experience it this way.

We appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strives to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies for each service to please all palates.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you, once again in our beautiful hotel to convince you of our services.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018

Room tip: Superior sea view rooms are best.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Costa Calma Palace, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

Just got back from a week at this hotel and needed to write this review!
Firstly the good bits
When you pull up at this place it looks impressive and you will not be disappointed inside either! The place is huge with glass elevators that overlook the palatial levels and right out to the pools.
The rooms are very nice we had a sea view which for me you need but really have to be on the top 3 floors to get the best view.
The food was outstanding with a great choice every night. You can eat at one of the sister hotels one time for free and pay for you drinks, we went to Monica beach hotel for the Asian experience which was oriental food and was very good quality but the hotel itself was a bit agadoo for us!
Gents have to wear long trousers for dinner and in our hotel it is adhered to but I was told the same for Monica beach and men all had shorts on!
The beach outside our hotel is great lovely clean sand and the bottom of the ocean is clean too the sun beds are steep at €13.50 a day though!
Now on the other hand if you are under 60 and English I would not go to this hotel!
We never spoke to one other English couple in our hotel all week as this place is full of Germans!
As English people we felt that the Hotel caters more for them as the staffs main second language is German not English.
We are far too polite as English and we got the ump on more than one occasion with the other guests looking down their noses at us pushing in and being down right miserable!!
I told the hotel it was my wife’s 50th birthday and they did nothing not even a bottle of cheap plonk in the room which was disappointing to say the least!
As for the no reserving of sunneds round the pool forget that the Germans were putting them out the night before!!
All in all we had an amazing relaxing week together at this hotel so if that is what you want it’s perfect but we will not return due to the clientele here.

Date of stay: October 2018
2  Thank K5512HFjaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Costa Calma Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Dear K5512HFjaner,

Thank you for recent stay in our SBH Costa Calma Palace and your feedback. It seems that we have not met either your nor our expectations.

Firstly we apologize for the lack of attention regarding your wife's birthday. Unfortunately, we can not understand how it was possible that this information escaped us, even though you had advised us. Our big intention is to surprise our guests celebrating this important date with a bottle of champagne and to decorate the table in our restaurant.

We are pleased that you liked the variety of our buffet. With a wide selection of national and international dishes we strive every day to satisfy every taste, without exception. We hope as well that you enjoyed the themed restaurant “Asiatico” in our SBH Monica Beach Resort. Concerning our standards in all our restaurants we still request our guests to adhere to the standard dress code for 4 star hotels and we are ensuring and reinforcing this norm on a daily basis. We will pass this information to our maitre.

Our guests are an international mix from England, France, Italy, Spain, Holland, Germany, Poland and much more. We are sorry that you have the impression that we care only about Germans, which is not correct, because every single guest is very important to us. Our main goal is to make their holiday as pleasant as possible.

According to the hotel policy reserving sunbeds is not allowed. We do our best to ensure the following of this standard, especially during high occupancy when this happens more often and we apologize if exceptionally during your stay we weren’t able to have a total control on this matter.

Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Fuerteventura.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

I am just back from a week in this hotel. I don't know why people leaving negative feedback for the place? For a start Fuerteventura is not a place you go for a night life. The place is nice and relaxing. Food is excellent. Now the Germans everybody seems to complain about.....what is wrong with that? Actually this is probably the best feature of this place. Middle and late age German couples are the predominant people around, however this is actually very good. They are very polite and with old fashion values. So no drunk British football t-shirts wearing tugs, no slammed doors in the middle of the night, no running screaming kids. Everything is calm and relaxed, like a holiday should be. Staff at the hotel does speak English and there is no difference in the service offered for German, British, Italian, Polish etc. Yes there are every kind of nationalities and by reading the reviews here only the British seems to moan. After all you are in foreign country, so give a credit where credit is due. If you don't want to feel stupid learn some other languages, don't expect everyone around the world to speak English. Don't be arrogant and embrace the culture of your host.
The hotel is very clean and for a week stay I had my bedsheets changed twice. How many of you moaning faces do the same at home?
Bottom line:
If you want a relaxing holiday, very pleasant staff, stunning location, golden sand beach and fantastic cuisine you can't go wrong here. Highly recommended.

Room tip: Higher floors rooms have a better view.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Costa Calma Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2018

Dear Alex P,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel SBH Costa Calma Palace to spend your holidays and for taking time to write this very positive review. Comments like yours give us the energy to continue to work hard in order to offer our guests the best service.

We thank you for your comments of our team. They work very hard every day to make sure that our guests feel well attended to at all time and definitely are an asset to our hotel. We will certainly relay your praising comments to all of them and we are sure they will be pleased to know their efforts have been appreciated.

We hope you had a nice journey back home and are really looking forward to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Lots of sand, sea, a thousand palm trees and plenty space both inside the hotel and outside. Beautiful ornate gleaming hotel, genuine four star, great staff - kind courteous and polite throughout, rooms practical, clean and spacious, food adequate and plentiful, good facilities. Nothing to do but chill. Some previous reviews had stated that this hotel deliberately discriminate against Brits and other nationals in favour of Germans. There can be, at times and in certain places a morose atmosphere due to the majority clientele's Germanic character and nature. Indeed we spoke to a French/English couple whom complained bitterly about discrimination and more. Another English couple we encountered were extremely upset to the point of shouting and swearing because of the majority clientele's apparently desperately rude behaviour in the serving area of the dinning room. A multi-national, international hotel chain like SBH deliberately discriminating to the point of racism? We thinks not and a little investigation required we thinks. We soon found the problems. On first opening the dinning room doors to both sittings the restaurant manager lines up the staff and greets the customers with a polite good evening. This happens in a lot of hotels and is a nice professional touch. However here the manager makes the greeting in German only to all guests. Those of other nationalities therefore find this offensive and some are upset. The correct procedure is for the manager, if she/he is not certain of the person's nationality, is to address them in the local language/dialect. That is the correct way and the hotel can easily correct and adopt. Also the serving area is a little narrow and can get congested. That combined with the majority clientele's complete lack of the concept of queuing and waiting their turn seems very rude to those that do have consideration. Not much the poor old hoteliers can do there! We easily dealt with the first problem by greeting the managers first. Me in Spanish and then my wife in English. They picked it up really quick and thus no more problemos. We found all the staff perfectly professional and charming. No, there is no discrimination or any such thing going on at this hotel. What in fact there is, is simple ignorance of correct protocol with the dinning room managers ( easily fixed ), and crass ignorance with the majority clientele of basic manners ( impossible to fix ). Had a good laugh and came away relaxed and smiling!

Date of stay: September 2018
4  Thank ross p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Costa Calma Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2018

Dear Ross P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in our SBH Costa Calma Palace.

We regret to know that we have not fulfilled your expectations during your visit.
We would like to point out that our hotel is not only designed only for the German market. We always have a wide range of nationalities in our hotel and we are really proud of it. We make every effort to deal with all our guests and can assure you that we treat everyone equally and do not prefer anyone.

We sincerely hope that, as we continue to work towards enhancing our services, you may decide to give us another opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews