We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week”
Review of SBH Monica Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SBH Monica Beach
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Costa Calma
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great week”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Just returned from a week at the Monica Beach with my husband and 2 children aged 6 and 15. We read reviews prior to going and were a little concerned, many said the hotel was in a poor state, food was bad, staff were poor and there was nothing to do!!! I can only think these guests were talking about a different place!
We had a beautiful spacious, modern room (1 bed apartment) which was cleaned 5 days out of the seven and to a very high standard. We found all the staff to be helpful and friendly. The food was varied and plentiful, lots of choice at all meal times and snacks and ice creams were available throughout the day at the pool bars and beach bar.
Having a 6 year old we tended to favor the kids pool which had water slides, its own snack/drinks bar and a hotel run Kids club which our daughter joined on two occasions.
The beach is stunning and only 2 minutes walk from anywhere on the complex.
Windsurfing, jet skis etc are also available on the beach.
There are tennis courts, football, crazy golf and a gym all on the complex as well as the large main pool, kids pools and fantastic beach so plenty to do!
We booked through jet2 holidays and were upgraded to all-inclusive plus which meant you could use any of the facilities at neighboring SBH hotels, they are all within a short walking distance and all seemed to be of a similar high standard, we did wander to a different hotel for drinks by the pool but we were more than happy at the Monica Beach so didn't check out any of the other facilities.
There are lots of different nationalities and I would say the vast majority are Germans and the evening entertainment was geared more towards them than the English guests which is the only real criticism i have. However the Kids mini disco, 8.30pm each night was fun for all the children whatever nationality.
It certainly isn't a hotel aimed at people wanting lively nightlife into the early hours but for us that was perfect, we wanted a relaxing yet fun week away with our Children in a good hotel with good food, good facilities and a nice room/apartment and that's exactly what we got.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dpin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    403
    179
    91
    57
See reviews for
346
350
54
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Spent a relaxing week here, on arriving the receptionist was very welcoming and sent us straight to the restaurant,much needed after a long day.Room was clean and well appointed with a lovely sea view. I would not go here if you want a bustling energetic stay.O.K. for younger children, but not much for 10 plus.Pools are good,snack bars and gardens well maintained and plenty of choice in the clean,spacious restaurant with very helpful staff. Kick back and relax.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frederick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We are a family with 2 teenagers B15 and G13 and I must say having read the previous reviews I was very close to changing hotels a few weeks before we were due to arrive here, but I am so glad we didn’t.

For a 3 star, hotel standards were fine. We were given a family apartment, which are located in the right hand corner of the complex and a couple of minute’s walk from reception. These have garden view but are new, clean and spacious. They are cleaned 5 days out of 7. We bought the wi-fi for 25 euros for 7 days which will only let one device log on at a time. Although the sbh monica wi-fi reception is limited to the pool and hotel reception areas we found that we could log in to the sbh costa calma palace wi-fi from our apartment with the same code as it close by. We also found we could log on to the sbh taro beach wi-fi with the code when we used the beach close to that hotel. There is free wi-fi from a local bar called the avenida that has already been mentioned in other reviews, turn right from the monica and 100 yards or so across the road.

Breakfast offers cooked or continental style or cereals. The food on offer at lunch and dinner is lots of meat dishes/stews, pizzas, a fish option, a vegetarian option, a large salad bar and always chips/bread. Lots of cakes, jellies and ice cream for desserts. We always found something that we all liked to eat and tended to go early so had no problems with certain dishes being on the cold side as reported in some previous reviews. Beer (amstel), wine, sangria and soft drinks are help yourself and the staff are very helpful and friendly, some speak English.

The animation is usual holiday fare in the daytime with activities at 10:30, 11:30, 15:00 & 16:00 and consisted of Archery, shooting, French bowls, a shuttleboard game, table tennis, beach volleyball, football and water polo. On some days monica plays some of the other hotels at football, bowls and volleyball which gets competitive. The night-time animation again is the usual holiday fare in an underground room beneath reception which reviews have mentioned before can get hot when full. During our 2 week stay after mini discothere were professional acts a couple of nights a week and the other nights bingo, quizzes, and animation team comedy/dance shows which they try hard at but can be entertaining for the wrong reasons! While we were there the world cup was on and was shown in the bar by the pool with the slides. Again we found the bar staff friendly and worked hard,

As for kids the mini club seemed to be popular and busy for families with under 12’s. Our youngest one made a friend after a few days which helped and our eldest was allowed to join in with all the adult animation activities, the younger ones were allowed to join in with bowls, shuttleboard and table tennis. They both enjoyed the pools, the slides and the beach. There is a games room with air hockey, pool tables and table tennis next to the entertainment room. There is also a mini golf course which is free, tennis courts that are free to use but it is e1.50 to hire a racket and a free to use 6 aside footy pitch.

The beach is absolutely stunning although its 12 euros for 2 sunbeds and a parasol per day as they are not owned by the hotels. A number of people we met had bought inflatable lilos for 5 euros and used them. You can wade out for quite a distance as the incline is not steep. There is also a monica all inclusive beach bar for drinks.

Much has been said about Germans and the need to speak the language which is utter tripe. We found that the majority we met were friendly and most spoke reasonable English if you made the effort to speak to them and we have made some friends that we will keep in touch with via facebook. The Costa Calma area is set up to cater for the germans who are in the majority but there were many other nationalities, polish, dutch, french, italian staying at the hotel while we were there. The brits were in a very small minority during our stay with there probably never being more than 20 -30 at any time.

Like many hotels you have to get up early to get a sunbed by the pool during busy periods. We arrived on the 27th June and could get sunbeds still at 10am. By early July the hotel was full and you had to be there by 8 to stand any chance of getting one.The weather was sunny most days between 25 – 30, we did have a few cloudy/partly cloudy days and the wind could be gusty some days but on the hotter days I found it refreshing and missed it on the days without it.

We took a bus to Jandia (e2.70 each way) a couple of times which has a promenade of shops much cheaper than the ones in Costa Calma, a couple of amusement arcades, cafes, bars and an English pub if you want a change of beer. Monica reception has bus timetables. We also went to the African market, which is in a car park a ten minute walk from the hotel on Sundays and Wednesdays and is good for souvenirs and if you enjoy haggling.

Costa Calma in general is small and picturesque resort with hotels dotted around, a few small shopping centres and bars/restaurants. It has been said on here before there is no nightlife but I think that it fits in with the type of resort it is trying to be. If you do want nightlife this is definitely not the place to come, but if you want a chillaxing holiday in picturesque location I would definitely recommend this hotel and resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TimStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have just returned from a week in the 3 Star SBH Monica Beach. We arrived at the hotel shortly before 10pm, we were met by the staff on reception and given "free" upgrades (which we alter found to be because we'd booked early) we were then given the details of our room and how to get to them, we were also told that we would be able to get something to eat in the restaurant at 10pm. When we did go over all we were served was salad that was left from the main meal service. Following this we were left to wander around the hotel grounds to find our rooms in the dark with very few lights instead of someone taking us to our rooms

The following morning we went down to the main pool to find that were were no sunbeds available as if someone wasn't on them then there was a towel on them, a lot of the beds stayed like that every day. There are signs up asking you not to do that but obviously the German holidaymakers ignored them.

You aren't allowed balls or inflatables in the pool yet everything stops for water polo!!!

The rooms are comfortable but would benefit from air-conditioning units instead of the ceiling fans. If you want a safe then that will cost around 25 euros for the week plus a 10 euro returnable deposit. There is Wi-Fi available but that is an extra charge too and can only be used in and around reception and the pool if your lucky.

The food was ok but the same sorts of things daily. There were a few themed nights towards the end of the week and that gave a few different things.

There isn't much to do in an evening, there is entertainment but it is in a small room with no air-conditioning which makes it unbearably hot. There are no nightclubs but there are a couple of bars that are worthy of a visit (the Avenida has free Wi-Fi and is just over the road and is nice and friendly)

In short, there were few English there but the hotel caters more for German tourists.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart681982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Costa Calma hotels

Largs, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Just back for sbh Monica beach hotel. Will start off and say the hotel and the views are faultless!!! Clean rooms, beautiful gardens and staff are very friendly and helpful.
BUT...... There is nothing here!! I mean nothing outside the hotels! We aren't big night club fans but would of enjoyed a few drinks in the pubs after 11pm or even a nice place to eat. The few places we found to eat out had the same menus as the hotel and were basically cafés.
Big put off was the Germans that have taken over the hotel. And very rude Germans at that.
The beach is so close to the hotel and is stunning. Although the sun beds cost money there is plenty of room to just lie on the beach.
We had a fantastic holiday and met some lovely people who helped make our holiday memorable
but we wouldn't come back to this resort. Just too quiet!!
If u like complete relaxation by the pool and beach only I'd highly recommend this hotel but if u have kids or like more than the hotel I'd avoid it!!

Room Tip: We asked for a sea view and got room 12 which had stunning views and I'd pick that view again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill_Lou2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Hi just back from a week at this hotel, went with grandkids 2x 6 year olds, nothing for the kids to do, kids club very poor, kids could not take little lilos, beach balls etc into pools.
Food not good, can't fault the staff they were very helpful, apart from the lifeguard he couldn't even smile once.
We had an upgraded apartment it was nice but far away from everything.
Beach lovely but mind the prices of the sun beds 4 euros each & 4 euros for parasol so 12 euros a day is very expensive.
We were All inclusive but still had to buy things to eat as food poor.
Took kids to zoo that was the best part of weeks holiday they loved it they could feed the giraffes & elephants.
I would not return to this resort there is absolutely nothing to do here for kids or adults & to many rude Germans, who the staff pampered to.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottishcouples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Good hotel, just on the beach. Rooms are basic nothing special but clean. One swimming area. Tips for young people....no fun is there...very quiet place just chillaxin... didnt eat at hotel...for go to different restaurants had to work for abt 10 min...one nice disco bar there. stayin in may 2010

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pati P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
0.2 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#3 of 27 in Costa Calma
541 reviews
1.0 mi away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
27.6 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SBH Crystal Beach Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
9.6 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SBH Monica Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SBH Monica Beach

Property: SBH Monica Beach
Address: Avenida Jahn Reisen s/n, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Calma
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SBH Monica Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A complex consisting of several buildings in a palm garden of more than 77.000 m2, our SBH Mónica Beach ofers spectacular entertainment, with sports and activities for everybody, live music, professional shows etc. And for our star guests, the children, we've thought of everthing: miniclub, children's playground , games and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your SBH Monica Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Monica Beach Hotel Costa Calma
Sunrise Monica Beach Costa Calma
Monica Beach Fuerteventura
SBH Monica Beach Fuerteventura/Costa Calma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing