We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First (and lovely) time”
Review of SBH Monica Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SBH Monica Beach
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Costa Calma
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was travelling alone. For me everything was just more than excellent! Staff speaks perfect English, German, Spanish .. Food is tasty and there is something for everybody. Rooms are fantastic; very clean! I stayed in room 126 and loved the view!
Will be back in September :)

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are renovated and some are not. Sea view is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,045)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

First time we visited this hotel in 2005 and in February this year it was our 4th time! Although we have visited many other hotels in Crete, Rhodos, Turkey, Gran Canaria, Bulgary or Mallorca we always come back to Monica and we plan also for next year.
The hotel area is very large but every room - no matter where - is situated close to beach, swimming pool (there are 2 of them) or to the restaurant.
All inclusive program works well, restaurant is clean and food is excellent - especially for dinners. Staff was very helpfull starting with maidens, receptionist or bar and restaurant staff. Our most favorite person was definitely Caroline - waitress in the restaurant, always very kind and smiling.
I´d definitely recommend this hotel to those who look for relax.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kveta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

It's a lovely beach front hotel. Good location, surrounded by other hotels. In Costa Calma there is not much to do, shops not too far away from resort.
We stayed for 10 days, we went all inclusive. We got the newly renovated room with the side sea view and next to the hotel garden. From our room we were next to the beach, which is 2 min walk from hotel, immediately in front of Monica.
There are steep hills around the complex. To get to the beach you have to go down a steep hill, for us it was fine, it is good to have a walk.
Staff were really polite and helpful.
Food had plenty of selection, was of a high standard, lots of fresh fish to choose from. Restaurant had a different themes in a different evenings (Italian, Spanish) . The ice cream was free of charge all day (for AI) and alcohol cocktails are great (from local beverages).
Internet 7 Eur/ 24 h.
Tennis courts was from gravel, but good enough to play, the hotel have rackets and balls, it's 1 Eur for rent.
There is mini golf and the gym, well equipped.

Hotel is great value for money, I would give 4 stars. Really recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spyglyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Overall holiday was relaxed and enjoyable. Not many English people at resort but to be fair there were many in costa calma at all. Didn't bother me and my partner as we kept ourselves to ourselves and Germans were friendly enough. Hotel is 2 min steep walk from beach which was really nice and 2 pools were nice aswell. Staff were very friendly and always happy to help. Food had plenty of selection and was ok,always found something to eat but it seems they did cater more for Germans. The only thing bad about hotel was night entertainment. Was really downbeat although staff tried to lighten mood. Didn't venture out of hotel at night so couldn't honestly say if any good .Also near toilets in bar stank of fish from the food restaurant but can't be helped.Alll in all if you are looking for a good,cheap,relaxed,friendly holiday then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jakeo1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

It sometimes happens that, at the reception, you'll run into someone that is helpless or doesn't know anything , or someone that is helpful . To our misfortune we ran into Claudio upon our arrival. But luckilly there was Sally (or Sully) there the next day. Sally without delay, gave us the room we requested.
The hotel is in 99.9% occupied by retired Germans (must be well advertised and attractively priced over there).. If it wasn't for the palms and the ocean you would feel like at Wanzee near Berlin in the middle of August. There is really nothing wrong with it, providing they stay away from to much beer. Then it gets loud. Good thing they have signs around the pool area that the "reservations" of pool lounges is not allowed..
The hotel belongs to a group of SBH Hotels, Four of them nearby..We went to see all, but Monica seems to be one of the nicest . There are four cathegories of rooms at Monica. Sea view not renovated, sea view renovated, not sea view renovated, not sea view not renovated. Each cathegory has different price... It's easy to get confused, so most tourists just get a key and walk to a place marked for them on the hotel map (the complex is huge so it may be quite a walk). The 400 to 800 numbered rooms are at the far end. So if you like long walks or are in need of extra exercise this location will provide both.. There are no 300 numbered rooms.in the hotel..
We were AI and the food there was very good. The waiters at the main restaurant were all very polite and professional but one of them deserves a special mention. I was watching Javier Rodriguez there for a while and, if I was a restaurant owner, I would dream to have a guy like this working in my restaurant.
All in all a very good hotel and if the rip-off 7 €/day wi-fi charge was liquidated and the water in the pool AND jacuzzi , yes jacuzzi, wasn't ice cold, I would give it a 4 stars with my eyes closed. . .. .

Room Tip: Avoid the 400 to 800 numbered rooms unles you're a fan of long walks or are in dire need of extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank richardg6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We spent only four days at this hotel, but wish we had booked for longer. We were upgraded to a sea view room, although all rooms had good views. From our room, we were next to the beach and the beautiful, warm sea - 23 degrees. The room was new, clean, and well furnished for a three star hotel. Where the food is concerned, it is three star food, but perfectly acceptable and good value for the price of the hotel. The standard of the drinks and especially the coffee was good and as well as the three main meals, there were snacks morning and afternoon, plus a fridge of ice-cream cartons - my favourite. Most of the guests were German and were very pleasant and friendly. The staff are pleasant and helpful. WiFi is available at a low price, but was weak in our room, which was one of the farthest from the reception area. The highlight of our holiday was walking from our room onto the beach before sunrise and watching the sun rising while swimming in the sea.

Room Tip: It is worth paying for a sea view and ask to be in one of the rooms overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MicheleandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed at the Monica from the 4th-11th Oct and had a lovely stay. We paid for a renovated sea view room and thats what we got, it was very nice and spacious and big balcony with a lovely view of the sea. The room was totally adequate, only had a fan in the room no AC but that was fine. The swimming pools were both nice, larger one in the centre then the smaller one which has the slide tucked away abit and where we spent more time. My husband is a windsurfer and we was sorry to hear that 2 days previous the windsurfing centre on the beach directly infront of the hotel had closed down. The Rene Egli Centre is not far up Sortovento beach and they will collect from your hotel so hubby used them which all turned out good. The bars and restaurant are fine, what is expected from an all inclusive resort. I think its a really good idea that the pool bar allows you to help yourself to soft drinks and beer. The evening entertainment was pretty rubbish and the main room is underground and awful and dark and dingy, cant understand people wanting to sit inside (unless you have children) when its so beautiful in the evenings outside. I run and was up early most mornings for a run along the beach, it really was stunningly beautiful and lots of people are up running or power walking. The further up the beach you go the more nudists you see but that didnt bother us. We really had a great holiday at the Monica and will probably return for a week next year :-)

Room Tip: We had a renovated sea view room which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Booey49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
0.2 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#3 of 27 in Costa Calma
571 reviews
1.0 mi away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
2.2 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.6 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
9.6 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
0.5 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SBH Monica Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SBH Monica Beach

Address: Avenida Jahn Reisen s/n, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Calma
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range: $160 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SBH Monica Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A complex consisting of several buildings in a palm garden of more than 77.000 m2, our SBH Mónica Beach ofers spectacular entertainment, with sports and activities for everybody, live music, professional shows etc. And for our star guests, the children, we've thought of everthing: miniclub, children's playground , games and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your SBH Monica Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Monica Beach Hotel Costa Calma
Sunrise Monica Beach Costa Calma
Monica Beach Fuerteventura
SBH Monica Beach Fuerteventura/Costa Calma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing