We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Costa Calma
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just been for a weeks all inclusive and cannot fault it. Reading reviews of some people on here and i must have been at a different place. Food was excellent loads of choice, fresh fruit and vegetables plentyfull. Yes the rooms were a bit dated but very clean and i dont go on holiday to sit in a hotel room. We arrived late to the hotel and they opened restraunt to feed us. The staff were all very friendly and always greeted you with a smile and a "hola". Will deffinately be back next year. Special thanks to Marco and his team who were brilliant with our 7 year old son.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    539
    266
    140
    76
See reviews for
438
571
45
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We took the all-in formula and were very pleased with this hotel. Above all the serving staff are very kind and helpful. The kind of people you're sad to leave when going home which is rare for an hotel. Child friendly. Rooms are good and clean. A lot of variety in the food. Standard buffet with a few daily specials for lunch/dinner. Especially liked the beach bar which also serves snacks. As the beach does not continue on one end, you get the impression to be on some kind of private beach. One downside is the laundry service which was too expensive in our opinion. Except for that, absolutely recommanded for a nice sunny break with the family or friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRU23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

First of all a big thank you to Francisco and Patricia on reception.

We stayed from 4th to 18th August 2012.

On Arrival...

We had booked self catering over 1 year ago because our son is a choosey eater. When we arrived our apartment had been given to an all inclusive guest. As an apology Francisco upgraded us to all inclusive for the 2 weeks, which we initially declined because we felt we needed an apartment. The next day we were offered an apartment but after viewing it decided we would stay put.

The Room/Bathroom...

Our hotel room 2029-S was large and also had the benefit of a separate lounge area with TV and fridge. It was on the ground floor with side pool view and sea view.

There were ample clothes hangers in our room, in excess of 25.

The air con wasn’t the best but the outside temperature does cool down quite a bit in the evening so it wasn’t a problem

There is a safe in the room but you have to pay EUR 50.00 for 2 weeks. It is large enough to easily accommodate a lap top.

Extra pillows are available at reception, first come first served.

We took a portable TV and DVD’s as we had read there were not a lot of English channels. This is true but my son thought the Simpsons in German was funny. The only English channels we found were Sky News, BBC News and a music channel.

You can book a late check out for EUR 30.00. However, this was not possible in August as hotel was full.

There were shower caps, shower gel, soap and tissues all provided in the room and replenished when they had been used.

The Pools/Sun Beds...

The pools in general were very cool. One of the swimming pools was heated every now and again.

Lilos, snorkels, inflatables, water squirters, goggles are not allowed in any of the pools. There are lifeguards on duty and you will be told.

We found that you do have to get up and out at 7.30 am to reserve your sun beds. Towels are put on sun beds very, very early and then they go out for the day!!! Towels still there unused at 5 pm. No joke.

In August it was very windy. There are rocks next to all sun beds which you need otherwise your towel/mattress would blow away.

Areas around the pools are very slippy.

The Entertainment...

The evening entertainment wasn’t the best but one of the nights a show was put on by the hotel staff which was actually quite funny, another night was a magician who was acceptable.
The children’s entertainment was very repetitive, same songs every evening but all in all it was okay.

Believe it or not, even the chairs in the show bar get reserved. We witnessed chairs tied together with toilet paper! Honest.

One of the songs played every day was called Ai Se Eu Te Pego by Michel Telo if you want to learn the words before you go!

The Shops...

Come out of the main hotel entrance and turn left. At the bottom of the road on the right hand side there is a minimarket called Canada. It sells enough things to get you by. We bought 1 litre of wine for EUR 1.95. There is a large Spar supermarket about 2 miles away but you will need to get a taxi back if you have cold or frozen items. The taxi costs approx. EUR 4.00. It is walkable but on a hot day it’s a long walk.

The Food/Drinks...

Sparkling wine is available at breakfast for you to help yourself.

There were microwave ovens in the dining room so you could warm up baby food etc.

The all inclusive choice of food was vast; unfortunately there wasn’t much we really liked. My son is very particular about food he doesn’t recognise and there was plenty of that (but then we were in the Canaries not England). For instance one evening I thought one item of food was asparagus quiche but when I read the menu board located outside the restaurant I found it wasn’t asparagus but baby eels. Glad I read the board as I am vegetarian. There was chicken on the menu once in the two weeks but it was cooked in sherry. Everything seems to have something added to it. Nothing is plain. For instance there are some lovely rice dishes but then they add prawn or tuna etc.

There are beer pumps/wine and sangria on tap dotted around and you just help yourself. The only time you need to go to the bar is for cocktails and spirits. The beer is called Tropical.

You could upgrade to all inclusive for EUR 34.00 per person per day.

If you wanted ice cream (which is only available once per day at a set time) you had to join the queue (and a long queue it was, but well worth it).

Out and About...

We got the bus to Jandia, no. 5. The bus stop is 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Come out of the main entrance and turn left and the end of the road turn right (you will pass the minimarket Canada). The bus stop is just a bit further along this road. We paid EUR 2.60 each one way for 2 adults and 1 child. It is well worth making the effort. The beach is beautiful and there are loads of places to eat. Just remember to get off the bus when you see the lighthouse. We stayed on the bus too long but had a very enjoyable 1 hour walk back to where we should have got off! You get the bus back to Costa Calma just outside the lighthouse. Opposite the lighthouse is an English pub called the Boot & Ball. You get a great view of the lighthouse from here. Also, there are public toilets next to the Boot & Ball.

Oasis Park is well worth a visit. My husband and son did the camel safari, which is well worth the money. I think it was EUR 10.00 for an adult and EUR 5.00 for a child. They take you on a 45 minute safari up La Lajita mountain (remember hats and suncream).

Cats...

There are lots of cats around the hotel. Didn’t see any faeces anywhere, although it looks like they have a designated place to “go”. You will often find the odd cat or two under your sun bed trying to take shelter from the sun. They appeared very friendly... letting children stroke them and pick them up etc.

Misc...

Take pegs for the maiden otherwise your costumes/towels might blow away!

Internet access is located in hotel foyer, I noticed 4 points. I think the charge was EUR 1.00 for 10 minutes.

There is a vending machine in the hotel selling water and holiday items such as sun cream, shampoo, toothpaste, condoms etc. Great for an emergency if you’ve forgotten anything.

The hotel has 3 shops all selling different things; there is a jewellery shop, a gift shop and a clothes shop. If you want an English newspaper you have to pre-order it in the gift shop.

If you can’t book a late checkout, there is a shower room (one shower only though) right by the gym. Get there early though.

There is a sun advisor who visits occasionally and sells sun lotion which contains aloe which apparently gives you a better tan. Because the Canaries is 1100 kilometres nearer the equator than the southern tip of Spain – on the same latitude as the Sahara - you can burn within 10-20 minutes even on an overcast day. We chose to use the lotion we had brought from home but it did seem to need reapplying every half hour.

Have'nt added many photo's to this review as they are pretty much the same as all the other reviewers snaps.

The Beach...

The hotel is on the beach. It is a little rocky in places but okay. There are taps for you to wash your feet before heading back to the pool. The beach at Jandia is absolutely stunning with a great sandhill for the kids to run up!

All in all, a great holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chatham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Just spent two weeks there and glad to be hone for some good food. I can honestly say that this hotel served the worst food I have ever had while on holiday. The choice was so limited and repetitive.

The soup was mostly the same bland watery luke warm liquid. It was called vegetable soup, vegetable broth, cream of vegetable soup, vegetable soup with spinach etc. All the same thing really. I;d call it dishwater.

Most days there was pork and fish on the menu with some other slop that looked disgusting.
It was pork stew, pork casserole, pork stir fry, and then just for a ‘change’, one day, they called it PIG stew. The salad was often shreddid cabbage, rock hard tomatoes, no lettuce and dishes of stuff that looked so bad i didn't dare aske what is was supposed to be. On four nights they had calamari, which not too many people like. Of course, the alternative was PORK, not just pork but fatty chewy pork. Sometime there was chicken drumsticks, I've seen more meat on a toothpick.
The desserts were always the same limited choice, different coloured 3 layer sponge with cream on top, plus a few other things that even after tasting we were not sure what they were supposed to be. Thay have an Itallian theme night once a week, the best advice is, if you want Itallian go elsewhere.
The snack bar during the day was just as bad with the choice for lunch being pizza, chips or leftovers from the night before. Same every day, except the last day when there wasn’t even pizza. Afternoon ‘coffee and cakes’, just the same old sponge cake every day, no choice.

The hotel decor is very tired and dated, with many defects.
In our room: No hot water in sink for most of the days.
No air conditioning, just a noisy fan with no cooling affect.
An in-room safe that could only be used if we paid an extra £24 per week.

Around the Hotel:
No air conditioning in the restaurant or the ground floor bar area. I asked the reception staff if it could be turned on and was told no as they did not think it was very warm. The only place the air conditioning was working was in the reception area.
Broken floor tiles in the restaurant.
Peeling paint
Toilet doors in public areas did not shut or lock properly
No soap dispensers in public toilets
No working hand dryers, just a toilet roll on the side.
No working internet access
The hotel staff were unconcerned with the above problems.

There was also a charge of £ 7 per week for each clean beach towel.

After our flight and transfer, we finally arrived at the hotel at 23:30 and checked in. We asked if we could get a coffee before going to our room but were told that all inclusive had stopped at 23:00, so we would have to pay extra just for a drink. There was also no food available. This is an unacceptable situation after travelling for almost 6 hours.
This hotel needs a refurbishment and some staff who actually give a stuff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank muts999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Costa Calma hotels

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Went in March for a week away, was lovely! The food was nice although a little bit repetitive, The drinks were really good aswel. The only thing I would say is that the resort is a little bit quiet. Especially if your under 25. Would go again as it was perfect to relax.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesSteele1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is the first hotel/resort I have ever returned to. I went for two weeks last year and have just come back from a week long stay. Decided to go back as only had a week off work and did not want to spend half of the holiday finding my way around! Turns out we could not have chosen better....
Working in the catering industry I really appreciate the hard work it takes the catering staff at this hotel to provide 3 services every day, always making sure the food is fresh, looks good and tastes great. There is always a great selection of salads and vegetables along with fresh fruit. The bar staff are always really friendly, and like reception staff all seem to be able to speak whatever language the guest they are dealing with is speaking.
Dont bother taking any towels as there are towels in the room for showers etc.. and you can get beach towels for a 10 euro deposit, which you can change for 1 euro.
The resort is split into the Nautilus Beach hotel and the Costa Calma Beach hotel. The Nautilus is the older part of the hotel and this is where our room was last year. Whilst it is true that this bit of the resort could do with a refurb, it is very clean and the room on this side had a huge balcony (which i always love). This year we stayed on the Costa Calma beach side, and yes the rooms are much newer and nicer.
This is a quiet hotel (evening entertainment is very minimal), but that is just what we wanted. If you looking for lots if nightlife then I think Fuerteventura is the wrong island anyway!!
AI deal is really good-there just seems to be non-stop food pretty much all day-breakfast, lunch, hot snacks, cake & ice cream, dinner-you will not go hungry at all!!
We had a late flight on the way back, and did not get picked up until 6pm. No late check ou available, but we were able to book a courtesy room and keep a bag with all our important stuff behind reception. They do cut off your bracelet as you check out but you can pay 5 euros to have AI deal until you go. We did this and got lunch, snack and cakes and drinks all day-well worth it.

Room Tip: ask for a side sea view-these are quiet and get great afternoon/evening sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophiedakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just a quick note to people going here in the future , had a great holiday here , although quiet resort and the food in my opinion was up with the best AI I have attended , the croissants in the morning were amazing

The best tip i can give people is if you have a later check-out , check out your room about 10am in the morning as the reception staff cant remove your wristbands , and then you will be able to have dinner without paying extra

my overall opinion of this hotel was very nice , and would def return in the future ( maybe without the kids :D for a relaxing break )

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sooper11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
0.7 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#5 of 26 in Costa Calma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.5 mi away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fuerteventura Playa
Hotel Fuerteventura Playa
#21 of 26 in Costa Calma
3.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel R2 Pajara Beach
Hotel R2 Pajara Beach
#7 of 26 in Costa Calma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
2.7 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
0.5 mi away
SBH Monica Beach
SBH Monica Beach
#6 of 26 in Costa Calma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort

Property: SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort
Address: Avda. Augustin Millares, 2, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Sunrise Costa Calma Beach Resort)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Calma
#4 Spa Hotel in Costa Calma
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort is a 4-star rated modern complex, active and with a lot of space. If you do not want to care about food an drinks, sorts and entertainment: selct our "all inclusive" program. Beach, sunshine and our excellent service brings you your well-deserved recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Costa Calma Beach Hotel Costa Calma
Sunrise Costa Calma Beach Resort
Hotel Costa Calma
Costa Calma Beach Resort
SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing