We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,102)
Filter reviews
1,102 results
Traveler rating
134
359
313
149
147
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
134
359
313
149
147
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tapas bar feeding station grilled fish communal areas are great week salt water pool lunch and dinner palm trees nightly entertainment other hotels beautiful sandy beach animation team on tap different languages direct access cleaned every morning salad
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,102 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2019

We liked the resort, the location is absolutely stunning, but I need to make people and the hotel aware of some things.
Rooms are clean but I haven't seen the maid daily cleaning our room. We had to insist at the reception and call her to come, as we were quite disorganized this year and it was a mess everywhere.
Ocean was cool for April, but we can't blame the hotel for this.
Pool looks stunning, but I haven't seen someone to clean it daily and this made me feel a bit concerned.
Food was Ok. There are some choices, to summarize it, value for money, so its fine. Mind you, me and my daughter had gastroenteritis in the 3rd day and it was awful. Now, that's the thing I am not sure what caused our illness, but be sure I got an ongoing claim because its been a month now and I still have stomach problems.
We liked the food, however, my friend said that several times she saw the cups a bit dirty and not very clean. I would like to inform the hotel to make sure all is clean properly. We cannot know for sure what caused our illness yet, but mind you, might have been from bacteria.
Except the fact that, after 8 years travelling in the world, this was the 1st time when we've been ill on a holiday, everything was fine.
Entertainment is weak, not much to do, we've done aqua gym and yoga a few times and that's it.
We had a nice break,Fuerteventura is a fantastic island but I wouldn't return to this hotel. Class: 3 star
Mind you, where you make your booking that this is not a 4 star hotel at all.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alexynha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHDireccion, Director General at Hotel SBH Fuerteventura Playa, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2019

Dear Alexynha,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your comments about your experience at our SBH Fuerteventura Playa.

We are sorry to read that you didn’t enjoy your holidays with us as we had expected and that you and your family felt ill during your stay. However we can assure you that it was not our food because also other hotels were affected from this virus. An independent company takes food samples on a regular basis and they did not inform us about any contamination of the food. Cleanliness and hygiene are very important to us and we clean the hotel complex as well as all our rooms on a daily basis. Our Bars, kitchen and Restaurant are cleaned after each service thoroughly.

We regret for the impression which you have received of our hotel. We can ensure you that each member of our staff may it be housekeeping, reception or the management take their job seriously and for example the pool area is controlled and cleaned daily by the person in charge of the sun beds and the pool area. Also our housekeeping and maintenance are making sure to keep our hotel to a 4* Standard. The rooms and entire complex are cleaned daily and little faults are mended immediately. We will inform you that we have planed to renovate our hotel.

We would like to mention that our plates, cutlery etc. will be cleaned by a machine cleaning and disinfection. As these are inspected before covering and in case if are necessary we will clean it again. We are very surprised about your statement and apologize it and we will forward it to the right department.

We would not want that you had a wrong opinion about us and so we would be glad if you give us a second chance to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2019 via mobile

Arrived to be greeted by a lovely lady advising me room was not ready,but can put my bags in room and have lunch,when room was ready was pleasantly surprised as been upgraded to a sea view, room was clean with a fridge,safe,tv,and hair dryer, also shower gel and shampoo which they replenished when ran out,no tea making facilities but coffee machine 24 hours down near restaurant,
Talking off restaurant it would be impossible to go hungry,there was full English for breakfast must admit foreign sausages are not as good as English ones,also cereal,pastries,ham,cheese,French stick bread rolls every think you could think off was there,lunch and dinner was just as amazing with pork beef chicken done in various ways,fish, pizza,chips,always a fresh salad,and plenty off cakes and desserts.pool bar snacks was a little disappointing with hot dog,burger,sandwiches on different days.
Drinks around pool was in plastic cups which is sensible but not as good as a glass,and why can’t foreign bar staff pull a beer with out a massive froth so thankfully they had a self serve beer pump by the pool wahooooo,the pool is salt water,and not deep,beech is at end off complex which don’t look inviting but turn to the right and walk a little on the beech and it improves immensely.
Entertainment was disappointing.bingo,karaoke,magic show,which all was poor,but I don’t go on hols for evening entertainment so was ok with it.
All in all a great hol,I went in April weather was ok for sunbathing but breezy first couple off days but still t shirt weather

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank 481frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHDireccion, Director General at Hotel SBH Fuerteventura Playa, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2019

Dear 481frank,

Thank you very much for your detailed description of your stay here at our SBH Fuerteventura Playa.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us. We always try our best to create our guests a unique and unforgettable stay. Especially your words about our food make us very happy. Our staff is working hard to meet our guest’s satisfaction and it always delights us to hear when we are successful.

Due to the safety of our guests, we only permit plastic cup in the pool area. We are aware that this is just the opposite of our environment philosophy. We are already looking for alternatives and our goal is to stop offering plastic cups in this year.

We sincerely regret reading your disappointment with our entertainment program mostly because our team strives to provide our guests with a varied assortment of activities throughout the day and live shows in the evening, nevertheless we will make sure to discuss your comments with the head of entertainment for information and improvement.

We would appreciate it to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019 via mobile

Ignore bad reviews, some people think money goes a lot further than in does.

The hotel and grounds are a little tired, it is due refurbishment in the near future.

That being said its a beautiful lovely place set right on the beach!

Food and drinks were brilliant and there was always something for everybody depending on what kind of food/drink you like.

My room was great and I found the beds to be comfortable but you can’t please everybody.

Hairdryer in room, plenty of toiletries in case you needed any spare, free wifi, shops on site, early breakfast if you have an early flight, plenty of shops etc surrounding the hotel also.

Lots of people there solo which was nice.

The entertainment staff are fabulous, Jenny and Jon Luca do a great job (they call bingo numbers in about 7 different languages!) and whilst I didn’t participate in many day activities I was always offered to join. Good entertainment of an evening also.

Reception and staff very helpful and informative and all other staff were very friendly.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank gemma6288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHDireccion, Director General at Hotel SBH Fuerteventura Playa, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2019

Dear gemma6288,

Thank you very much for taking your time and writing us this great review of our SBH Fuerteventura Playa.

We are really glad to read that you had a good time here with us and that you liked our location near of the wonderful beach and our services. Thank you for your praise on our team and animation team. You can be sure that everybody will be very happy about it.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2019 via mobile

Stayed here 16th April to 23rd April 2019, we got a good deal so we didn’t have great expectations.

Although the hotel is dated and generally a bit tired, it was very clean the pool and outside area were immaculate.

All the staff were helpful happy and pleasant, in spite of not coming across any of the management.

There was plenty of choice at meal times and food was of a good standard.

On the downside, the beds were very uncomfortable, the toilet in our room needed flushing several times to fully clear it.

Good value for money, I can definitely recommend a stay here

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank northern-monkey67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHDireccion, Director General at Hotel SBH Fuerteventura Playa, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2019

Dear northern-monkey67,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel SBH Fuerteventura Playa.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our guest’s satisfaction is our biggest aim and it is a big proud for us receive review as yours! It is a pleasure to know that you had a great time with us and that we have been able to meet all your expectations.

Our maintenance team is on duty everyday to repair minor faults and if needed assist the guests with anything they might need. We would like to inform you that a renovation is planned but unfortunately we do not have the exact date of the beginning. Thank your for your comment we will check your room again.

We also regret that you felt that the mattresses of our beds were uncomfortable. We try to take into account the different preferences of our guests, with a choice of the option of soft toppers, as we know about the importance of a good night’s rest. Again, we are sorry that we couldn’t meet your expectations in this regard.

Thank you for your recommendation and it would be lovely to host you again soon.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2019 via mobile

A great hotel to stay in. Good location in Costa Calma. Staff were brilliant. All complaints were sorted rather speedily. Entertainment was good fun. Would be good to have more information on scuba diving readily available for lazy chaps like me who don't wanna go looking.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank garrethw72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHDireccion, Director General at Hotel SBH Fuerteventura Playa, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2019

Dear garrethw72,

Thank you very much for staying at our SBH Fuerteventura Playa and sharing your feedback with us and other travellers here on Tripadvisor.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a great motivation to continue to improve ourselves. All of your kind words will be delivered to our staff.

We hope that you decide us again for your next trip to Fuerteventura to offer you another excellent stay!

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews