We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to coming back in 2015”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Costa Calma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The Hotel is lovely. We booked a Junior Suite room and we were really impressed with how comfortable it was to live in for a week. The private courtyard was without doubt the highlight of the holiday, and if anyone enjoys to sunbathe/read in peaceful environments then this hotel is the place for you.
The staff are very polite and nice, the food was good (especially the BBQ they have every Friday which is accompanied by a live singer/band), and the location couldn't be more perfect. Your a 10 minute walk to a nice coved beach in one direction, and about a 5 minute walk to a small (but adequate shopping centre with supermarket/perfume shop/arcade/clothes shop). The free shuttle bus to the Oasis Safari Park is from the hotel opposite so you don't have to walk far for that either.
The only minor fault I can give the hotel is the pool table needs re-doing, it's looks very worn and doesn't play to great. I won't be marking them down for this though as the hotel was perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jamie1834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your very kind remarks.

It makes us happy to know that you had a great time in our hotel, our main goal is the full satisfaction of your guests.

We would be happy to see you again on holidays in our hotel, we wish you all the best.

Kind regards,

José González
Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 529 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

The accommodation was brilliant and beautifully cleaned by Fatima. The location is superb and we enjoyed sea views from our pod. We enjoyed exploring the coastline.

Food was good but I thought sometimes the sauces drowned the taste rather than improved it. Paco, in particular, looked after us very well.

One small gripe was hot water. This was plentiful for the first half of the week but after it rained and turned colder it was cold showers in the evening and certainly no point in using the jacuzzi bath.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for writing something of your holidays.
We are happy to know that you had a good time.
Regarding the water we doing our best to solve the problem,we constantly improving our services.

Would be happy to see you again in our hotel

Best regards

José González
Hotelmanger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The accommodation pods are extremely comfortable with private courtyard and also private garden. The restaurant was limited in choice with a fixed 4 course meal with 1 fish 1 meat & 1 vegetarian choice. The alternate salad bar had a good selection. The buffet style breakfast was cooked outside on a grill, with a large choice of dishes cooked to order, and a large selection from the cold buffet. An excellent unique hotel.

Room Tip: The upper pods to the town side of the complex seem more private and less overlooked by passers by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barriegrayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Mr.G,
Thank you so much for your rating on trip advisor. We greatly appreciate your impression from our hotel.
We are really happy to know you had a pleasant stay in the Risco del Gato and hope to see you soon again between us.

Kind regards,

Jose Gonzalez Allende
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Firstly thank you Risco del Gato for a fantastic holiday. On arrival we received a very warm welcome from Sabrina, who quickly checked us in and directed us to our pod (201). Our pod did not disappoint, with wonderful views a private courtyard and spacious rooms it has been very easy to relax.
The food has been excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed breakfast and the special evening meals (BBQ/Gala evening). We would like to personally thank Paco and Vesco for giving excellent service throughout our stay, they have been very welcoming and professional.
I am currently writing this sat by the lovely hotel pool and wishing we didn't have to leave today, but thank you again we will definitely return and would recommend this hotel to friends and family.
Grace and James

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elizabeth402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Guests,

First of all, thank you so much for your really good rating on Trip Advisor.
We are really happy to know you had a pleasant stay in the Risco del Gato and enjoyed the tranquility and the privacy of the hotel
We`ll pass your Rating to our staff, that will make them really happy.
Thank you again for this wonderful review.

Hope to see you soon again between us.
Jose Gonzalez
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

The cocoon rooms make this hotel a bit different from the usual big hotels in Fuerteventura.
The rooms (#113) are quiet and large plus a nice sttting room en suite and a private court yard.
The thai spa is of excellent quality. The Halfboard is not recommendable , you better book a B&B and go for the little restaurant "La terrazza" adjacent to the hotel. The beaches nearby are sandy beaches mostly less windy and clothing optional.

Room Tip: Rooms from 110 till 115 have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jef2641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your rating on trip advisor. The opinion of our customers is always important for us and to improve our service.
As yourself said it is a different hotel. It`s a place of peace and tranquility and we want to maintain it.

It is a pity that you can not recommend our restaurant because there work the best chefs on the island. We have a, every night changing, Dinner with Vegetarian, Fish or Meat dishes, and a Austrian pastry chef . three times a week we have a special dinners like Canarian or BBQ Night with live Music on our Terrace.

It is our sincerely hope you had a pleasant stay in the Risco del Gato and hope to see you soon again between us.

Kind regards
Jose Gonzalez Allende
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This hotel did indeed exceed our expectations. The individual pods are a delight with total privacy & a wonderful hot tub in a spacious bathroom. In fact the whole place is very spacious so unlike the often cramped conditions one is presented with. The breakfasts were the best meal, ( we were half board). There is an amazing choice including Cava, which my husband made ample use of.
I do agree with other reviewers about the coffee machine. there should be no charge & also I think milk could be provided. The fridge is also the mini bar so we had to take things out to get our milk in. Also there is no ice-box so no ice cubes for the drinks they would like you to have but more importantly no where to keep an ice block frozen. My husband needs this facility & room in a fridge for insulin
the staff were very friendly always & eager to help & the location cannot be faulted either.
We would definitely return!

Room Tip: the superior suites have the extra lounge & also I would choose one of the "300 s" as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank campariEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear Campari Essex,

First of all, thank you very much for your good rating on trip advisor. It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay and the privacy of the pods.
Its true that we dont have a ice box in the rooms, but you can always ask our staff , they could help you, and provide you every day a bucket of ice cubes.

We hope to see you soon again in the Vik Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
Best regards

Jose Gonzalez Allende
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our late January half board stay at the Risco del Gato. Here to celebrate our wedding anniversary, we'd be very happy to return. The rooms were very comfortable and well laid out with private courtyards that are excellent for discrete sunbathing out of the ever blowing wind. Thanks to Paco, Miguel, Dora and the chef, breakfasts and dinners were a highlight.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear Mister P,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a comment about our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards
Jose Gonzalez Allende
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
0.6 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#3 of 27 in Costa Calma
591 reviews
1.7 mi away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
45.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
46.2 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
8.9 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato

Address: Calle Sicasumbre 2, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Calma
#2 Spa Hotel in Costa Calma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range: $157 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato is an exclusive hotel with a unique architecture surrounded by 34.643 M² of gardens and heated swimming pools on different levels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
VIK Suite Hotel Risco Del Gato Fuerteventura/Costa Calma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing