We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceedingly Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Costa Calma
Certificate of Excellence
essex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceedingly Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

This hotel did indeed exceed our expectations. The individual pods are a delight with total privacy & a wonderful hot tub in a spacious bathroom. In fact the whole place is very spacious so unlike the often cramped conditions one is presented with. The breakfasts were the best meal, ( we were half board). There is an amazing choice including Cava, which my husband made ample use of.
I do agree with other reviewers about the coffee machine. there should be no charge & also I think milk could be provided. The fridge is also the mini bar so we had to take things out to get our milk in. Also there is no ice-box so no ice cubes for the drinks they would like you to have but more importantly no where to keep an ice block frozen. My husband needs this facility & room in a fridge for insulin
the staff were very friendly always & eager to help & the location cannot be faulted either.
We would definitely return!

Room Tip: the superior suites have the extra lounge & also I would choose one of the "300 s" as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank campariEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Campari Essex,

First of all, thank you very much for your good rating on trip advisor. It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay and the privacy of the pods.
Its true that we dont have a ice box in the rooms, but you can always ask our staff , they could help you, and provide you every day a bucket of ice cubes.

We hope to see you soon again in the Vik Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
Best regards

Jose Gonzalez Allende
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    145
    30
    10
    16
See reviews for
67
329
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our late January half board stay at the Risco del Gato. Here to celebrate our wedding anniversary, we'd be very happy to return. The rooms were very comfortable and well laid out with private courtyards that are excellent for discrete sunbathing out of the ever blowing wind. Thanks to Paco, Miguel, Dora and the chef, breakfasts and dinners were a highlight.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Mister P,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a comment about our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards
Jose Gonzalez Allende
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is a return trip for us and generally we love the place but I have to comment on the poor meal and poorer service we had in the a la carte restaurant in the garden The two people on duty tonight were utterly charmless, inattentive, and we felt they couldn't care less. Perhaps a factor was that both of them seemed to have chest infections. Anyway, that will be the last time we eat there. Someone should tell them to be a little more pleasant to their guests. We are on holiday after all!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank dikmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Dikmen,


First of all we would like to apologize for the bad experience you had in our a la carte restaurante. We always want to give the best service to our clients, if in your case it was not, we are sorry about it.
Be sure that we will do everything to improve our service, becauce our main goal is the full satisfacion of our guests.
We will speak with the responsible in the restaurant, because the restaurant belongs to the hotel, but it is managed by an other person who does not belong to the hotel staff.
We sincerly hope to see you soon again in the Vik Suite Hotel Risco del Gato.

Kind regards

Jose Gonzalez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longfield UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

My wife and I spent a week here and really enjoyed virtually everything about this quiet resort. The staff were attentive and helpful at all times . Breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice and the evening meals were generally of a high standard. The resort has an separate restaurant which serves excellent fresh fish, reasonably priced. Found the beds a little hard .

The only downside, albeit a small but irritating one, was their policy regarding charging for using the tea bags and coffee bag provided in the suite . This was not shown anywhere and not pointed out until check out - although upon complaining some of the charges were refunded - but seriously EURO1.50 for 1 tea bag ! - This really is an uneccessary policy for such an excellent venue.

Room Tip: We were in suite 207 and anything in the 200 block up to say 209 would have a good parial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Peter L,

Many thanks for taking the time to rate our hotel on trip advisor. We greatly appreciate your impression from our hotel, service and tranquility. Thank you also for the good valuation of the staff it is very important for us that the clientes fell well treated.

The opinion of our customers is always important for us and to improve our service.
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had, with the payment of the coffee and tea bags, that was our fault, and we hope that this will not change your impression of the hotel.
all the staff of the Hotel hope to see you soon again between us.

Yours sincerely
José González Allende
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

During our recent, week-long stay, we really enjoyed the quiet, ample space, and privacy offered by the individual suites at this smaller resort style hotel. Though it does not have direct access to the beach, it is within a short walk to some of the most beautiful stretches of beaches we have seen.

Food was great, and every evening meal is a gourmet experience.

There were a few areas for improvement, some of which really surprised us ~

1. Almost non-existent tea and coffee amenities provided, which is unusual, particularly given the 4 star rating of the hotel. Brewed coffees are provided at a charge (which we only learned of, on a mini-bar bill the following day.) No instant coffee was provided, and a total of four tea bags, two on the first day and two on the last day, were provided. In between, nothing was replenished. On most days, we also had to wash our glasses and cups, as they were left unwashed.

2. Along with tea, toiletries were replenished somewhat randomly. Some items were replenished. Some weren’t.

3. Unstable and inadequate hot water for shower/jacuzzi. While each suite is furnished with a nice Jacuzzi tub, on evenings when resort occupancy rate is high, there may not be enough hot water for even a shower. For two nights during our stay there, when room temperature was about 14-15 degrees, I had to shower with cold water. The reception’s explanation was that many guests may have been filling up their Jacuzzi tubs, thus the hot water shortage. Again, for a 4-star resort, this is unexpected.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Globetrotter526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Clients,

Thank you for passing your holidays in our hotel and for writing some lines. We are very happy that you liked our kitchen.

We will consider the mentioned points to improve them.
Our main goal is the full satisfaction of our guests.

Hopefully to see you again, we wish all the best.

Kind regards,

José González
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Being concerned about the double booking complaints on trip advisor I phoned the hotel before the holiday just to make sure we had a room and I requested room 107, which turned out to be a good position but anything between 104 and 112 would be very good, views over the pools and to the sea with only a short walk to breakfast.
We arrived at 3.15 pm but our room wasn't ready so we were asked to come back in an hour which we did and we were told it was ok and ready for us only to find two ladies still washing floors, so room not ready until 4.30pm, apologies were given and bottle of cava provided.
We were very pleased with the size of the accommodation with plenty of storage space, however, then realised no towels, the heating wouldn't work, key didn't operate one of the entrances, TV would not pick up BBC, WiFi no passcodes so no access.
All the above corrected, ie batteries changed in heating controls, towels provided, door sorted, TV sorted, WiFi code provided. All these niggles (only made worse due to the room not being ready) could have been avoided if there was a simple check and tick list given to the room maid, also so irritating not to be given the wifi code on arrival, I was told it is because they don't know if you want it! On the subject of WiFi if you do need access regularly it is worth paying the 4 euros per day for a small modem, available from reception because otherwise you get logged out every 6 minutes which can be quite irritating, the modem worked well.
The hotel grounds are good and well kept, staff, although not an awful lot of them were very helpful and friendly. The food...I was surprised to read so many good reviews about the food, breakfast was ok but hardly special, catering mainly for the German taste buds.. The best thing about the evening meal was the salad buffet, soups very forgettable, meat mainly overcooked and often inedible, desserts were nice.
Costa Calma has absolutely nothing to offer other than the beach, no nice restaurants, bars or shops. It is worth however walking out of the hotel and turning right, the hotel at the top has lovely gardens and a nice walk at the back.

In Summary we did actually enjoy our holiday although you may not think so be reading this review, I wrote it because the hotel could do so much better just by attending to small details. Oh and lastly, the transfer bus does not drive to the hotel entrance so you need to walk up the drive and wait at the top, we waited 25 minutes in rain and heavy winds because there is no shelter, a shelter would be easy to build and a welcome relief from the elements. Again attention to details.

Room Tip: Lower level, number in the lower hundred to get best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElizabethGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for writing something of your holidays with us. Thank you for telling us what we have to improve to provide our guests a special stay.

Sorry that you had to wait so long for the room but this was because the previous clients didn't check out at time and the hotel was fully booked.

Regarding the food we are doing our best effort to suit the taste of our guests and we constantly improving our offer.
Thank you again for your constructive critic we will do your best to get the best of it.

We would be happy to see you again and we wish you all the best.

Kind regards,

José González
Hotelmanger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Hi I've read some reviews and there are quite a few re: double bookings and problems with the travel agencies booking. We're due to be there on 29th Jan 14 and want to make sure that we are booked and will not be told nearer the time it's double booked. Other than that there are some really good reviews and looking forward to staying at your hotel.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 668Kaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
1.8 mi away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
46.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
1.3 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.2 mi away
Bahiazul Villas & Club
Bahiazul Villas & Club
#2 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
0.7 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#5 of 26 in Costa Calma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
46.2 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato

Property: VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
Address: Calle Sicasumbre 2, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Calma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
#2 Spa Hotel in Costa Calma
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Calma
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato is an exclusive hotel with a unique architecture surrounded by 34.643 M² of gardens and heated swimming pools on different levels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
VIK Suite Hotel Risco Del Gato Fuerteventura/Costa Calma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing