We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Peaceful and Relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Costa Calma
Certificate of Excellence
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very Peaceful and Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have just spent a week at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was a total chill out. The "Pods" were lovely and very well equipped and furnished. We had a totally private sunbathing area and a nice garden overlooking a duck pond. The restaurant served lovely meals with an excellent choice. Breakfast was more informal at the terrace restaurant. The breakfast buffet had an amazing choice and there was a chef cooking crepes and omelettes at the grill. Staff were very pleasant and helpful with special mention for Detty who made our stay more special. The only negative we had was the water pressure in the shower and jacuzzi bath in the pod. The spa is great and we enjoyed our outdoor Jacuzzi under the stars. The beach is just across the road and you can walk for miles on the sand out to the watersports lagoon. Sea was lovely for swimming and also the pool at the hotel which was never busy. There is also a heated indoor pool.

Room Tip: We had Suite 203 which was near reception and the restaurant and we had a good view of the sea and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for taking time to write something about your holidays with us.
Its a pleasure to know that you had a great time and you felt well attended.

We are constantly improving our services and we working hard to give our clients a good experience.

Would like to see you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

José González
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    142
    30
    10
    16
See reviews for
66
322
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Booked this for our 30th wedding anniversary - thought it would be different to a normal hotel.
The lady on reception did not want to interrupt her phone call to book us in and then when we checked out a week later she still would not interrupt another phone call to say goodbye or thanks for staying with us (luckily we settled up the night before when the guy on reception was much more helpful. The waiters and cleaning staff were very good although I think their German is better than their English.
We could not use the jaccuzzi as there was only just enough warm water for 2 showers. We could not sit on the terrace outside our pod due to the smell coming from the nearby sewage works. Worst bed in my life like sleeping on hillside.

Room Tip: Rooms on left of pool have better view and are away from sewage certainly no more than 210
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Clients,

Thank you for writing something of your holidays with us. First of all we would like to apologize for the inconvenience that you had.

We always want to give the best service our clients if in your case it was not like it should be we are sorry about it.

Be sure that we will do everything to improve our service, becauce our main goal is the full satisfacion of your guests.

We wish you all the best

Kind regards

José Gonzáles
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were emailed 16 hours before our flight was due to leave London Gatwick to say we were no longer staying in the VIK Suite hotel. We had spent weeks trying to decide on our holiday destination and was very much looking forward to staying here. The hotel must have an extremely poor booking system. I would certainly confirm the booking with the hotel after booking but again that still might not guarantee your stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kathmitchrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José G, Gerente at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for explaining us your concern!. It was good to know you were really looking to stay with us, but disappointed that you think the hotel has a poor booking system. Unfortunately, the situation doesn’t happen exactly as your travel company has informed you. Your agency has sold more allotments as the one we have agreed with them previously, for that reason we have requested them (more than 2 weeks ago when they have sent us the bookings) to reallocate the bookings they have overbooked due to we only have availability for the allotment signed during this period.

Obviously, they cannot inform you exactly what happens and for that reason you have received another information instead. Needles to say, we will be happy to welcome you in a future occasion to experience our friendly and hospitality service as you deserved. Do not hesitate to contact us directly through our e-mail anytime to get a availability, direct prices or further information: reservas@hotelriscodelgato.com

Yours sincerely,

Mr. José González
Director
VIK Suite hotel Risco del Gato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were emailed 16 hours before our flight was due to leave London Gatwick to say we were no longer staying in the VIK Suite hotel. We had spent weeks trying to decide on our holiday destination and was very much looking forward to staying here. The hotel must have an extremely poor booking system. I would certainly confirm the booking with the hotel after booking but again that still might not guarantee your stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kathmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Kathmitch,

Thanks for explaining us your concern!. It was good to know you were really looking to stay with us, but disappointed that you think the hotel has a poor booking system. Unfortunately, the situation doesn’t happen exactly as your travel company has informed you. Your agency has sold more allotments as the one we have agreed with them previously, for that reason we have requested them (more than 2 weeks ago when they have sent us the bookings) to reallocate the bookings they have overbooked due to we only have availability for the allotment signed during this period.

Obviously, they cannot inform you exactly what happens and for that reason you have received another information instead. Needles to say, we will be happy to welcome you in a future occasion to experience our friendly and hospitality service as you deserved. Do not hesitate to contact us directly through our e-mail anytime to get a availability, direct prices or further information: reservas@hotelriscodelgato.com

Yours sincerely,

Mr. José González
Director
VIK Suite hotel Risco del Gato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Was so looking forward to going to this hotel tomorrow (yes, tomorrow) but then I get an email the day before my holiday is due to start from my travel company saying that this hotel has just told them there has been double booking and I have to go elsewhere! Completely annoyed, angry, upset, disappointed and completely deflated about this. I booked weeks and weeks ago! I can't believe 1 day before I am due at this hotel they notice they are fully booked! Complete disappointment and I guess embarrassment to the management team. Organisation must be missing somewhere! Luckily I am going to a 5 star now and will hopefully have a lovely holiday but if not then it is down to someone's poor organisational skills that my holiday was ruined. THANKS!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Colette Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Colette,

Thanks for bring to our attention your concern!. It was pleased to know you were really looking your stay with us, but naturally disappointed that you felt upset with us. Unfortunately, the situation doesn’t happen exactly as your travel company has informed you. Your agency has sold more allotments as the one we have agreed with them previously, for that reason we have requested them (more than 2 weeks ago when the have sent us the bookings) to reallocate the bookings they have overbooked due to we only have availability for the allotment signed during this period.

Obviously, they cannot inform you exactly what happens and for that reason you have received another information instead. Needles to say, we will be more than happy to welcome you in a future occasion to experience our friendly and hospitality service as you deserved. Do not hesitate to contact us through our e-mail anytime to get a availability, direct prices or further information: reservas@hotelriscodelgato.com

Yours sincerely,

Mr. José González
Director
VIK Suite hotel Risco del
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic week at this wonderful hotel. My family and I had a very relaxing time, just what we all needed. What struck us more was how quiet this hotel is, no booming music or masses of screaming kids. If you just like to relax in peaceful surrounding then this hotel is just that. The rooms are very good clean and spacious. The very friendly staff are excellent in every way and could not do more for you. We found the food excellent either at breakfast, or dinner.
The beach is a few minutes walk away but be warned it is also for naturist's.
Also I would recommend the Thai massage, yes they are extra but well worth the cost.
Thanks to all at Risco del Gato
Mr r bishop

Room Tip: Two king size beds in the junior suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Clients,

Thank you so much for your good remarks.

We are very pleased that everything has been to your satisfaction.

We hope to see you soon again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

José González
Manager of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
130 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Wife and I decided to spend some days in Fuerteventura without the two little kids, and relax, so we chose by reccomendation this hotel. Couldn't be better option four our purpose. Quiet hotel, in between those big hotel chain buildings massive, this hotel helps you to relax a bit and enjoy Fuerteventura more than before we did on other hotels. Bungalow style, no big buildings, nice and wide rooms, with a curious look a like "Star Wars" shape (when you go you will see what I mean). We book superior room, very spacious, jacuzzi and nice windows, good beds, private garden inside the room for private suntanning, and open pools are good and very quiet. Not an hotel for young children that like to play and make some noise. Half board dinneris quite good, menu choices only but not impressive, the restaurant with open menu offers excellent options, including delicious local seafood, worth a try! From this hotel you have close access, by foot, to main Costa Calma long beaches, where kite and windsurfing world championships take place, and roads allow you in one day to see all island and have a swim on the whitesand beaches of north fuerteventura. Parking for free as well, next to shopping malls, but quiet, what else we needed? Nothing, was a short and perfect stay. We will retun next year as well, for sure, without kids of course, :-)

Room Tip: Superior room for more space and privacy, you can see the stars on open skies at night, worthed! Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JordiBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Clients,

Thank you so much for your good remarks. We are very happy that you spend relaxing days full of peace and happiness with us. Your coments are very important for us so we know what we have to improve to provide a special experience to our guests.

Hopefully to see you soon again.

Kind regards

José Gonzáles
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
1.7 mi away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
44.2 mi away
Bahiazul Villas & Club
Bahiazul Villas & Club
#2 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
45.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
1.3 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#4 of 26 in Costa Calma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
46.2 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato

Property: VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
Address: Calle Sicasumbre 2, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Calma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
#2 Spa Hotel in Costa Calma
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Calma
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato is an exclusive hotel with a unique architecture surrounded by 34.643 M² of gardens and heated swimming pools on different levels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
VIK Suite Hotel Risco Del Gato Fuerteventura/Costa Calma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing