We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Costa Calma
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“lovely stay”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

just returned from a week at this hotel - weather a bit iffy to start (heavy cloud, rain and very windy) but then sun came out and all was well with the world! Evenings still very chilly though and wind does get up, so take a jacket or wrap as you could well need it.
Positives: Pods are fantastic - what a wonderful concept - no neighbor noise, feels like you own villa. Loved the outside courtyard with sun beds and the outside shower was such a good idea to wash off sand from the beach.. Bedroom was huge and beds firm, big and for me, very comfy. Pillows soft and plentyful. Great wardrobe space with loads of hangers (and I dont often find that in hotels!). Sitting room a good size with sofa and chairs though we didnt spend much time in there.
Bathroom was fabulous. Twin sinks, sensible shower and bath.
We stayed in 210 and no smell of sewers, drains or anything nasty.
Good outside area and even saw two of the hotel cats! .
Pool area usually empty so lots of sun beds. Water in the pool was cold but once you got in it was lovely. But that was the same with the sea.
Breakfast was excellent - I loved the chef -- ace at cooking eggs and bacon and delivering it to your table! Usual other foods available to suit all tastes.
Dinner also good - although meat was a bit overcooked for my liking.
Soup always tasty, salad choice good and puddings yummy.
Waiting staff lovely - especially Detty!
Another trip advisor had commented on the rule about no shorts at dinner. Frankly I disagree, some people have different ideas as to what 'shorts' are - and I dont fancy hairy knees on show whilst I eat.
Negatives (dont worry there arnt many): Bar area a bit dull and lacking in atmosphere (but that could be due to the fact that it was usually empty). Odd fountain in the middle would be better off outside.
Walk to beach a bit of a trek but once you are there wonderful. Turn rightg and walk along to the bit where the windsurfers are (awful cafe there though) or turn right and wonderful stretch of sandy beach.
with two good beach bars serving excellent food.
Stock up of drinks and nibbles from Spar............hope the sun shines and the wind drops and you will have a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Room 210 close to dining area and no smell of sewers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CassieSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeferecepcion, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Clientes,


We are very grateful for your good comments. We love to hear that you had wonderful holidays with us.
In May, the occupancy has been low and therefore the atmosphere was very quiet.
When there is more occupation there is more atmosphere in the bar.

Hope to see you soon again in our Hotel

Kind regards

José Gonzalez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    151
    30
    10
    16
See reviews for
68
338
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crosshaven
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This hotel is very much based on German clientele. The beds were absolutely the most uncomfortable I have EVER slept in! The breakfast buffet was good, the dinner selection was poor. First time we have ever done half-board and we'll never do it again. There were 3 selections for dinner: a meat, a fish, & a vegetarian. One night the meat was rabbit. There was an average salad bar, but no good dressings (yogurt with herbs was one??) There was a problem with the drains in our room, so you were watching every time you flushed the loo, and once the room flooded. Maria, our cleaning lady was great. The girls in the Thai spa were excellent. Our waitress, Detty, was excellent too. Location was good & view from our room was good. The furniture in the living room was not a bit comfortable. There were only 2 English channels on the tv: BBC World & CNN. Wi-Fi wasn't great in the room.

Room Tip: We asked for a room from 111 (we got 112) up; the views are better on this side of the hotel plus yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeferecepcion, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Clientes,

Thank you for taking time to write something off your holidays with us.
We are grateful for your comments. We do our best to offer a good service to our clients so it is very important for us to know what we have to do better.

We have twice a week a special dinner Wednesday a Canarian / Spanish evening and Friday evening barbecue with live music and rich buffet. With many local dishes,rabbit for example is a typical Canarian dish

We are sorry for the problems that you had with the drains but we can assure you that we are already arranging it.

We have already renovated 35 suites possibly they you stayed in a not yet renovated suite .If you decide to come back we invite you to stay in a renovated suite.

We know the problem of the Wi-Fi and we working on it.

Would be nice to see you again on holidays in our hotel.

Kind regards,

José González
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Positives, The hotel was really nice, food top quality and the Staff very friendly.
Negatives, it's in costa calma!!!
Lost its canarian charm, as its way too much focused on the German tourist market.

Room Tip: One with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeferecepcion, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Clients,

Thank you for taking time to write something off your holidays with us.
We are grateful for your good comments. We know that the region is centered on German tourist but slowly it is changing as more and more tourists came from other countries.

We would be happy to see you again on holidays in our hotel.

Kind regards,

José González
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Positives first. The accommodation is fantastic with privacy and comfort and good sized lounge, bedroom and bathroom. Outside there are lovely gardens, a nice pool and a choice of 2 Spa's. We tried both and found that the Thai Spa was relaxing and a pleasant experience and the Spa by the indoor pool was smaller but the treatment was superb and more like physiotherapy which was exactly what we wanted. The restaurants were acceptable especially breakfast as we were much happier eating outside rather than in the "proper" restaurant. All the staff were friendly and helpful and maybe best of the all the local beach was fabulous. Just a few minor niggles. The tennis court has ragged patches that would be dangerous if you wanted to play properly. Also some of the equipment in the gym hadn't been maintained properly which i quickly and unpleasantly discovered when I tried using the running machine. There isn't much in the way of evening entertainment locally and most of the bars are German focused. It was nice to receive a complimentary bottle of wine on arrival but that would have been nicer if the note with it was in English rather than German. But these are minor niggles in an otherwise highly enjoyable stay and I only mention them for the reason that I believe that the hotel let themselves down slightly by not having the same standard throughout as they have with the accommodation. I would highly recommend for couples wanting somewhere nice and hot to get away from it all.

Room Tip: Ask for room to the front and either in the 100's or low 200's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Snaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeferecepcion, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Clients,

Thank you for write something of your holidays with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
We closed the tennis court already to repair it. Our maintenance team is constantly reviewing our gimanasio machines. If there was a machine that does not work properly we apologize.

We offer our most sincere apology for not writing the welcome letter in your language and hope that you enjoyed your welcome present.

We hope to see you again in our resort.

Kind regards,

José Gonzalez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Well you can't please everybody all of the time and some of the negative comments in the reviews here show this is certainly the case.
However!
Take it from us that anything negative written about this place is nit picking. This Hotel is superb from top to bottom. Spotlessly clean, well maintained and the staff are a credit to the management team who themselves clearly know what they are doing.

The food is superb and beautifully presented served by cheerful and accommodating waiters who can't do enough to ensure your enjoyment.

The rooms/pods are brilliantly designed and well maintained. The lady who looked after ours was friendly and very helpful as were the reception staff.

There were only two young and well behaved children at the hotel during our stay which was nice as we enjoy a quiet relaxing time. This is more of an adult hotel.

If you want peace and quiet in well maintained relaxing surroundings with great food and cheerful helpful staff then look no further.

We are actually still here( room 316) and tomorrow will celebrate our wedding anniversary. We can't think of a better place to spend such a special and romantic occasion.

Thank you and hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeferecepcion, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Clients,

Thank you so much for your good remarks. We are pleased that you felt comfortable.
Day after day we are doing our best to offer the best service possible and it is very nice when is valued by our customers.

We wish that your marriage remain still very happy for many years.

You were in a suite unreformed if you decide to return we will book one of the best renovated suite for you. There are already 35 of them.

Would be a pleasure to see you again.Thank you so much.

Kind regards

José Gonzalez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We recently stayed as a family of four in a senior suite. The suite is ideal if you have 2 teenage children as it offers space and privacy for parents and teenagers. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful, the breakfast is amazing, the whole hotel is immaculately clean.
The best thing about the hotel though is the magnifeicent fish restaurant at the bottom of the hotel grounds. For a cheeky beer and then later for dinner the food service and atmosphere was second to none. It must have been we went every night!

Room Tip: If you are not an early riser ask for a suite away from the main hotel as deliveries come early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeferecepcion, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Clientes

Thank you so much for your good remarks. We are very happy that you had a pleasant stay with us.Our staff is very grateful for your good comment.Thank you.

Hopefully to see you again on holidays in our Hotel.

José González
Manger
Vik Suites Hotel Risco del Gato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent a week here in March and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The pods are unique and completely private. They are light and airy and spacious. The food is excellent, especially breakfast, which is superb!
However, some aspects could be improved. The pod furnishing is a bit jaded and our fridge had a big crack inside the door - not the best for hygiene! Our A/C had to be coaxed into life, although it did eventually work. If you want tea, rather than filter coffee, you must contact the hotel and pre-order a kettle. We did this and they also provided a microwave for us on request.
The gardens are stunning and beautifully maintained.
Be warned that the walk to the beach involves walking over rough ground and down a rather steep hill, but the beach is lovely, if populated by naked Germans at times! We were disappointed that they closed the indoor pool for our last four days. This was frustrating because the outdoor pool was far too cold to be pleasant and anyway, NO maintenance was ever carried out over these four days!! Another disappointment (for someone with arthritis especially) was that, despite our request for a pod near Reception, we were in 216 - virtually the furthest away!!
If you want a quiet stay, in pleasant surroundings, and you don't crave any nightlife, this is the place for you.
We had a good discount on the price of our stay , via Voyage Prive, but we might have been really disappointed if we'd paid the full asking price.
The staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: 216 is a good walk from Reception!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeferecepcion, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Clients,

Thank you for write something of your holidays with us. We are happy that you enjoed your stay with us. We are constantly improving our Hotel. Your maintenance service is constantly overseeing the facility for proper operation.We are sorry that you could not use the indoor pool but the paint was falling and it was impossible to use it in this state so we had to close it for maintenance.If you request a room near reception because of health reasons we always do your best to fulfill this wish if we know this in advance.

Hope to see you again in our Hotel

Kind regards

José Gonzalez
Manager
Vik Suites Hotel Risco del Gato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
1.7 mi away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
0.6 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#4 of 26 in Costa Calma
525 reviews
1.4 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
46.2 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
0.1 mi away
H10 Tindaya Hotel
H10 Tindaya Hotel
#1 of 26 in Costa Calma
3,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato

Property: VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
Address: Calle Sicasumbre 2, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Calma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
#2 Spa Hotel in Costa Calma
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Calma
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato is an exclusive hotel with a unique architecture surrounded by 34.643 M² of gardens and heated swimming pools on different levels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
VIK Suite Hotel Risco Del Gato Fuerteventura/Costa Calma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing