We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well designed well maintained clean and friendly place to chill out and relax with great food and friendly helpful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Costa Calma
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Well designed well maintained clean and friendly place to chill out and relax with great food and friendly helpful staff.”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Well you can't please everybody all of the time and some of the negative comments in the reviews here show this is certainly the case.
However!
Take it from us that anything negative written about this place is nit picking. This Hotel is superb from top to bottom. Spotlessly clean, well maintained and the staff are a credit to the management team who themselves clearly know what they are doing.

The food is superb and beautifully presented served by cheerful and accommodating waiters who can't do enough to ensure your enjoyment.

The rooms/pods are brilliantly designed and well maintained. The lady who looked after ours was friendly and very helpful as were the reception staff.

There were only two young and well behaved children at the hotel during our stay which was nice as we enjoy a quiet relaxing time. This is more of an adult hotel.

If you want peace and quiet in well maintained relaxing surroundings with great food and cheerful helpful staff then look no further.

We are actually still here( room 316) and tomorrow will celebrate our wedding anniversary. We can't think of a better place to spend such a special and romantic occasion.

Thank you and hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeferecepcion, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Clients,

Thank you so much for your good remarks. We are pleased that you felt comfortable.
Day after day we are doing our best to offer the best service possible and it is very nice when is valued by our customers.

We wish that your marriage remain still very happy for many years.

You were in a suite unreformed if you decide to return we will book one of the best renovated suite for you. There are already 35 of them.

Would be a pleasure to see you again.Thank you so much.

Kind regards

José Gonzalez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    152
    30
    10
    16
See reviews for
68
339
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We recently stayed as a family of four in a senior suite. The suite is ideal if you have 2 teenage children as it offers space and privacy for parents and teenagers. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful, the breakfast is amazing, the whole hotel is immaculately clean.
The best thing about the hotel though is the magnifeicent fish restaurant at the bottom of the hotel grounds. For a cheeky beer and then later for dinner the food service and atmosphere was second to none. It must have been we went every night!

Room Tip: If you are not an early riser ask for a suite away from the main hotel as deliveries come early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeferecepcion, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Clientes

Thank you so much for your good remarks. We are very happy that you had a pleasant stay with us.Our staff is very grateful for your good comment.Thank you.

Hopefully to see you again on holidays in our Hotel.

José González
Manger
Vik Suites Hotel Risco del Gato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent a week here in March and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The pods are unique and completely private. They are light and airy and spacious. The food is excellent, especially breakfast, which is superb!
However, some aspects could be improved. The pod furnishing is a bit jaded and our fridge had a big crack inside the door - not the best for hygiene! Our A/C had to be coaxed into life, although it did eventually work. If you want tea, rather than filter coffee, you must contact the hotel and pre-order a kettle. We did this and they also provided a microwave for us on request.
The gardens are stunning and beautifully maintained.
Be warned that the walk to the beach involves walking over rough ground and down a rather steep hill, but the beach is lovely, if populated by naked Germans at times! We were disappointed that they closed the indoor pool for our last four days. This was frustrating because the outdoor pool was far too cold to be pleasant and anyway, NO maintenance was ever carried out over these four days!! Another disappointment (for someone with arthritis especially) was that, despite our request for a pod near Reception, we were in 216 - virtually the furthest away!!
If you want a quiet stay, in pleasant surroundings, and you don't crave any nightlife, this is the place for you.
We had a good discount on the price of our stay , via Voyage Prive, but we might have been really disappointed if we'd paid the full asking price.
The staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: 216 is a good walk from Reception!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeferecepcion, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Clients,

Thank you for write something of your holidays with us. We are happy that you enjoed your stay with us. We are constantly improving our Hotel. Your maintenance service is constantly overseeing the facility for proper operation.We are sorry that you could not use the indoor pool but the paint was falling and it was impossible to use it in this state so we had to close it for maintenance.If you request a room near reception because of health reasons we always do your best to fulfill this wish if we know this in advance.

Hope to see you again in our Hotel

Kind regards

José Gonzalez
Manager
Vik Suites Hotel Risco del Gato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just spent 10 days here, the hotel in nice relaxing place, the "pods" are great space and very private. They are looking a little tired and could do with a face lift, but this doesn't spoil the stay.
If they were more modern they would prob be twice the price. The pool area is nice, but pool could be heated, it too cold for this time of year. The breakfast is faultless, lots of choice and all to a good standard. Coffee is terrible!

We hired a car (would recommend to see more of the island) We visited all the resorts. I actually think this is the nicest of all of the area's (but it is lacking night life) It is nice, that it is quitet...but it does need a couple more eateries or bars to keep you entertained. We found 2 good places to eat...the rest are ok if you just want a pizza. Galeria restautant is excellent food (shame about the fact they allow people to smoke in the dining area! but the food is very good. The restaurant down on the front (near the sea) at this hotel is also nice...Galeria is better.

If you want to take a short drive or taxi (approx 10 euro each way) the El Mirador...this is also very nice, food is excellent and setting it lovely up on the mountain top, worth the trip.

I think the hotel could benefit from offering some room service in the evening...as each pod had lovely private terrace and would be nice to dine at it the odd night (room service is only daytime) and I think some bar service around the pool and snacks would also be good...this is supposed to be 4 star. I think expecting men to wear long trousers for dinner in the hotel restaurant is a stretch, this is a casual holiday resort...not "The Dorchester!" We didn't eat in hotel restautant due to this, I think its a bit off putting. I don't think the resort attracts the type of people who need to be told how to dress for dinner. I think casual shorts and a shirt or polo are fine. Pants!! don't think so. The beach is short walk and is lovely with a couple of nice beach bars for the daytime.

The spa is "ok" at best. We used it once. If you want to use the sauna, steam room, turkish bath and jacuzzi (outside next to pool) you need to ask reception and they will switch them on for you.
The Jacuzzi around the pool is nice and warm water when the pool is freezing! The sauna and steam room are average, a little old and tiny. The turkish bath needs a clean! but again, if you don't want to come face to face (in a small area) with naked germans, then avoid.

Top Top if you like food, rent a car and take a trip up the mountian road, lovely scenic drive with places to stop for photo's along the way, head for village of Betancuria. This is lovely little spanish village with a old catherdral and few little craft type shops and some little cafe's. There is a Michelin Restautant here "Santa Maria" that is lovely and worth the trip.

The south resort of Morre Jable is also a nice place to visit...more commerial but nicer than the north.

All in all, this is a nice place for a rest and some chill time, entertaiment could be better but not the end of the world. The place is mainly german and if nakedness offends...then this is not the place for you...as there is lots of it!

We have a nice time and overall think we made the best choice for what we were looking for.

Room Tip: Ideally you want room that are 100-110 or 200-210. These are on the front rows and close to receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CA71Derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeferecepcion, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Clients,

Thank you for write something about your holidays.We are happy that you had a relaxing stay with us.In Fuerteventura most the time the weather is hot so it is not necessary to heat the pool,for those days where we have bad weather we have the heated indoor swimming pool.We have room service until 6 pm,but thank you we will think about your proposal.We have to make some rules this is because we have clients from different countrys and not everyone has the same habits.
We will do our best to improve the spa. We already renovated 35 suites and soon we will do the rest.

We would be happy to see you again in our Hotel.

Kind regards,

José González
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just spent a week here, excellent! Pods are like having a private villa, very clean & spacious, with sun loungers, table & chairs outside with views of the well designed gardens & sea, everything we needed. We were there 20th to 27th March, so no children which made it all the better. The pool areas were very quiet and relaxing, the weather perfect, food very good. The beach was only 5 minutes walk away with white sandy beaches, will go back.
Mary & John Leicestershire

Room Tip: we had room 112
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeferecepcion, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Clients,

Thank you for your good remarks.We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for value our efforts. We place great value on peace and exclusivity.

Hope to see you soon again with us.

Kind regards.

José González
Manager
Vik Suites Risco del Gato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just back ( last Wednesday ) from a delightful week, Half Board, at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato.
I would agree with all the positive points made recently, especially the professionalism of the staff & the genuine interest they showed towards the clients.
Thank you for the bottle of Cava which appeared on my wifes birthday ( we hadn't mentioned it ).
The "Hot Tub, Cava & Strawberries" experience was a delight as was also the Thai hot oil massage.
Do not rely on the Wi-Fi although somedays it worked fine but other days not at all.
We would not have known of the adjacent sewage works had we not read about it, please do not let it put you off.
Shame about H10.
Hot plates for cooked breakfasts would be much appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SouthportFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeferecepcion, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Sir and Madame

Thank you for writting something about you stay with us.We are very greatfull for your good remarks.It is important for us that our guests feel that the are welcome.
>
We are working at the Wi-Fi continuously to get a better connection for our clientes,and es well we will consider your suggestion to offer hot plates for cooked breakfast.
>
We wish you the best and hope to see you again.
>
Kind regards,

José González
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided to stay over half term with our 14 year old son on a B&B basis. I would agree with most of what has been written by others - The apartments were very spacious and well maintained, the staff are very friendly, the Taverna restaurant (different to the restaurant used by Half Board guests) was excellent. However we felt let down in a couple of key areas. Despite being advertised as heated, the pools were definitely not. Although we expected it to be fairly quiet for our son, we were expecting to spend some quality time in the pool as we usually do. Unfortunately this was not possible as the pool was just too cold. As a consequence, the hotel lacked any atmosphere as most guests spent their time elsewhere (I didn't see one person in the pool the whole time we were there!)

Room Tip: I imagine all rooms would have the same excellent facilities. The sea view itself is fairly limited,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank newcastlenil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeferecepcion, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Mrs.newcastlenil

Thank you for taking time to write some lines of your holiydays. We are grateful for you good comments of our Suite Hotel and we are happy that you felt treated with kindness.We have one heated indoor pool this has about 27 degrees.The outdoor pools are not heated this is because en Fuerteventura the weather is most the time hot and the water in the pool gets heated very fast.

Would be happy to see you again on holiydays in our Hotel.

José González
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
1.7 mi away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
0.6 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#3 of 26 in Costa Calma
531 reviews
1.4 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
46.2 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
28.4 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato

Property: VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
Address: Calle Sicasumbre 2, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Calma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
#2 Spa Hotel in Costa Calma
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Calma
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato is an exclusive hotel with a unique architecture surrounded by 34.643 M² of gardens and heated swimming pools on different levels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
VIK Suite Hotel Risco Del Gato Fuerteventura/Costa Calma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing