We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (580)
Filter reviews
580 results
Traveler rating
329
185
36
12
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
185
36
12
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private courtyard jacuzzi bath half board duck pond secret escapes senior suite unique hotel each pod large bedroom freshly cooked eggs two double beds salad buffet short walk to the beach coffee maker thoroughly enjoyed our stay relaxing holiday sun loungers
Filter
Updating list...
239 - 244 of 580 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

After the year we had we wanted a quiet and relaxing holiday to chill and enjoy the peace. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by Bernardino who was fantastic, and his personality made us smile. The hotel grounds, pools, restaurants and bars are all maintained to a high standard. Our accommodation (pod) was spacious and comfortable with a private outside courtyard and sun lounges it was perfect. The rooms were thoroughly cleaned and towels changed daily. The Breakfast was buffet style but there was also a chef cooking. All the staff were very polite and friendly and contributed to our holiday. The sandy beach is just over the road and its fun to feed the chipmunks. Thank you to everyone at the hotel for helping to make our holiday a relaxing one. I usually say I don’t go back to the same place twice, but we will come back to Risco Del Gato, thank you.

Room tip: Room 111, nice view, easy to get to from the beach and the pool was just on the door step.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Manny1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeferecepcion, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Manny1968,
Many thanks for taking the time to rate our hotel on trip advisor. We greatly appreciate your impression from our hotel, service and tranquility.
We are really happy to know you had a pleasant stay in the Risco del Gato and hope that the year 2013 will be better for you.
all the staff of the Hotel hope to see you soon again between us.

Yours sincerely
José González Allende
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The first thing to say about this interesting and slightly quirky (in a good way!) hotel is that the staff are amazing! Each and every one of them acts as if the business was their own, and it is a tribute to the management of the hotel that this atmosphere is conveyed from the moment you arrive untlil the moment you leave.

We had a good opportunity to put this to the test when twe days after we arrived the wind changed direction and we unfortunately fell foul (and that is the operative word in this case!) of the atrocious town planners that made the idiotic decision to locate an inefficiently vented sewage system in the centre of a town.

So let's get the bad news over and out of the way: there is indeed a problem that needs to be addressed, but it is not of the Risco del Gato's making, and if I were their CEO I'd get the local chamber of commerce / hotel associations to club together and play hell with the council until this is resolved. It cannot ust be affecting one hotel or business. I plan to write to the town council myself, and I'd encourage anyone else who is affected, whether from this hotel or any other, to do the same,. and we can maybe get it through to the council that they rely on tourism and need to get their engineers onto this.

However, the hotel staff were amazing and immediately moved us to another room at the other side of the hotel (in fact, we had requested this side in the booking but it was not available when we arrived). Sadly, this room was right at the end and although appearing perfect when we moved to it, the hotel across the road (R2) had a very loud dance area, which we put up with for one night and then decided, with regret, that we would be leaving the next day. BUT.....somehow, we were asked if we would be willing to move to another quiet room just a few "pods" along, but further from the noise, PLUS the management contacted the offending hotel and complained!

Well, this sounds like we are a really grumply old couple but we are neither grumpy nor old, but we did want to enjoy the peace and quiet! I think we were just unfortunate with the groups at the other hotel, as it seems this is unusual.

So, the rest of it...what can I say? The staff I already mentioned; the hotel is notable for its cleanliness (which was so exceptional as to be noticed); the amazing idea of the little (well, actually quite huge!) pods- with the individual jacuzzis, showers inside and outside (a private outside shower is great for after pool or volcanic sany feet!), two kingsize and extremely comfy beds with loads of pillows and linen sheets, soft white towels, and plenty of them,,, a cavernous safe- which easiliy fits a laptop and a full size camera lense, all valuables etc, ), two TVs, music centre, frige and minibar, separate sitting room with views of the beautiful landscapes gardens (and the visiting cat) with the Atantic in the background..

The food is also excellent, although next time we go, and it will be soon I think!- we will not stay half board, as while the food at the a la carte dinner, with a main course choice of fish, meat or vegetarian each night, was fine, it would also be good to try the hotel's "open" restuarant, that is, not included in the half board and open to the public, as it is a fish speciality one.

The wine in the restaurants is not madly cheap, but the choice is of a good quality with Bach wines (Catalonia) at approx 13, 50 - a good price for a restuarant- and Lanzotrote El Griffo at approx 22 - again, you CAN get it in the supermarket for half that or less, but it is a restuarant and so I have no complaints.

Breakfasts also were unbeatable- a vast choice and freshly cooked eggs and so on to choice- as well as my personal Canarian favourite of fried aubergines and courgettes as part of the hot buffet. One weird thing- fresh orange juice was charged extra at 3,50- and the alternative was a strange sort of watery juice from a machine. I accept fesh squeezed may be expensive, but this isn't a cheapie package hotel, and if they wanted to go somewhere in the middle, why not use concentrated package juices? (Chef- take note!)

The only other things I'd like to have seen- and which I hope the management will take as a constructive suggestion and not a critiscim as such, is some way to dim the individual "pod" front security lights, as the sky is truly beautiful at night and the bright lights did not allow the beauty of the calm Canarian night to reach its full potential. Perhaps a movement sensitive system could be considered- and again on lighting, at the brilliant barbeque on Friday nights, the room was candle lit for the only time that week- and it made the whole atmosphere and the room really cosy and soft- so - candles on the table and some tea lights in the pod gardens please (so we don't have to bring our own)- a cheap and effective idea

You notice no mention of spa- well, we were so busy going around the amazng landscapes ot Fuerteventura- avoid Moro Jable like the plague by the way and get out to the hills and the west coast. But that's another report!!

Well done Risco del Gato- you exceeded all expectations. Till next time!

Room tip: avoid anything that doesnt begin 11......
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank OurIs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeferecepcion, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Ourls,

First of all i want to say thank you for taking the time to write a comment on Trip Advisor. The opinion of our customers is always important for us and to improve our service.
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced in our Hotel, with the bad smell of the sewage system and the noise of the other hotel.

It is our sincere hope you had a pleasant stay in the Risco del Gato and all the staff of the Hotel hope to see you again between us.

Yours sincerely,

Jose Gonzalez Allende
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is definitely the place for a quiet and relaxing holiday with no loud music playing in the restaurants or around the pool. The hotel grounds, pools, restaurants and bars are all maintained to a high standard. Our accommodation (pod) was spacious and comfortable with a private outside courtyard and a garden area at the side. The pods were thoroughly cleaned and towels changed daily. A small suggestion would be to have small pots of milk with the coffee making facilities. The food was all excellent. Breakfast was buffet style but there was also a chef cooking a variety of fresh food to order. Bucks fizz was also on offer every morning and we found the coffee to be fine. The gala dinner on Wednesday was superb. The evening meals consisted of five courses with a variety of salad and sweets from the buffet. We were fortunate enough to make friends with two other couples and a single young lady on the first evening and the restaurant manager made arrangements to seat us together for the duration of our stay. All the staff were very polite and friendly and contributed to the success of our holiday.
The nearby sewage plant caused little offence, in fact no more than you often find in other hot countries.
The sandy beach is just over the road and it's fun to feed the chipmunks.

Thank you to everyone at the hotel for helping to make our holiday a memorable one.
When we arrived home we would have liked to return straight away to helprecover from the news that our cat had died while we were away. :(

Room tip: The rooms in the 100,s have sea views but the garden views are lovely too and possibly more secluded
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sachleis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeferecepcion, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Dear Sachleis1,
First I would like to express my regret about the death of your cat. It is always sad when you lose a beloved pet. I`m sorry about that!
Nevertheless, many thanks for taking the time to rate our hotel on trip advisor. We greatly appreciate your impression from our hotel, service and tranquility.
We are really happy to know you had a pleasant stay in the Risco del Gato and hope to see you again between us.

Yours sincerely,

Jose Gonzalez Allende
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

If your looking for a total wind down this is the place to come. My boyfriend and I booked this holiday totally wanting to relax as a young couple and we did that. We booked our holiday from 7th November 2012 for 10 nights which was perfect for us. The weather was good around 25 degrees each day although a little cooler in the evenings around 21 degrees. On arrival you are greeted at reception with either a glass of champagne or orange juice. The staff are very friendly although at times there is that language barrier. We had VIP treatment from the start and throughout the holiday. The rooms are great with 3 seperate areas within each pod. The food was fantastic on a half board basis. At breakfast there is plenty of choice and at dinner on our first day they held a gala dinner, again the service and the food was great. All evening meals are a la carte and so formal dress is requested.
There is a bar near reception but unfortunately it does not open until 18:30 which in my opinion is a shame as it would be nice to sit up on the verander at lunch time with cocktails although there is a restaurant on the hotel premises.
We has room 211 and that has a slight sea view. Rooms that progress from there will be obstructed by the hotel infront known as H10. The down side of the hotel is that it is situated near a sewage plant and once you leave the hotel and make your way towards the shopping centre the smell is very strong indeed.
Costa Calma is exactly that. There is very little to do and so if you just want to relax this is perfect as everything you need is within the hotel complex. We had a free massage each and we also paid for a Thai massage. There is an outdoor pool and an indoor heated pool which we used regularly. The gym is good but basic.
Another down side for us was the lack of British channels on the t.v. The majority are, of course, Spanish followed by German. All in all a lovely hotel and would highly reccommed to those that just want to get away and relax.

Room tip: Request a sea view. We had room 211 which had a slight sea view which suited us. Try and get room number lower than that for the sea view and to stay further away from the sewage plant.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeferecepcion, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Sarah,

First of all i want to say thank you for taking the time to write a comment on Trip Advisor.
As you yourself said it is a place of peace and tranquility and we want to maintain it.
We only have a few british TV channels because we can not revice more channels on the canary island with this kind of TV Antenna.
It is our sincere hope you had a pleasant stay in the Risco del Gato and hope to see you again between us.

Yours sincerely

Jose Gonzalez Allende
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Myself and my daughter went here to "get away from it all" and that is exactly what we did.
We relaxed straight away as we were shown around with a complimentary drink.
It was great having our own "pod" with a private area to sunbathe, separate bathroom, bedroom and sitting room (although we found the sitting room to be quite hot during the day). There was more than enough space. There is a fridge, kettle and coffee machine in the sitting room and on our arrival we had a complimentary bottle of wine and fruit in our room.
The pod was cleaned everyday and we enjoyed seeing which animals we would find made out of the towels!
The food was fantastic and we enjoyed the cocktails and jugs of Sangria overlooking the sea in the evening. There was always a good choice of food both at breakfast and dinner and all the staff were very helpful. For lunch we made use of the local supermarket about 10 mins walk from the hotel.
We booked some massages which were so relaxing. A chocolate massage, which we had in the privacy of our room and an aloe vera massage which was in the therapy room. I enjoyed the aloe vera massage the most.
We didn't travel very far from the hotel as this was a time for sunbathing, reading and relaxing but
we did go on a buggy outing (there is a place almost opposite the hotel on the sea side) - I would recommend this as it enables you to see a bit of the island in a fun way!
All in all this hotel delivered for us as it was uncomplicated pure relaxation.

Room tip: Some rooms overlook a rather ugly looking hotel - these are to the far left when facing the sea. Therefore to get a better view it may be best to request a room to the right of the hotel.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeferecepcion, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Jo,

Thank you so much for your really good rating on Trip Advisor.
We are really happy to know you had a pleasant stay in the Risco del Gato and enjoyed the tranquility with your daughther.
Hope to see you soon again between us.

Best regards

Jose Gonzalez Allende
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews