We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total unwind, relaxing and resting week in unique hotel - Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Costa Calma
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Total unwind, relaxing and resting week in unique hotel - Fantastic”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I spent many hours trawling through All inclusive 4 and 5* hotels looking for somewhere special to spend our very precious 7 days of holiday when I found this hidden little gem. What a wonderfully peaceful, relaxing, quiet, clean and friendly hotel. Beautifully spacious 'pods' with totally private court yards and although the furnishings were a little tired and disappointing on arrival I must say didn't detract from our comfort or enjoyment. The bed was a little hard ( which I like) and the pillows were plump and soft. Oh and we had no problems with internet connection in our 'pod', which we used daily.

There is a sewage plant next door, we were one of the nearest pods to it and never smelt it once (whilst in the hotel grounds) the whole week.

It is across the road (literally) from the most amazing beach, which goes on for miles and offered us many beautiful and breathtaking walks . Although, sadly, the stunning sea views have been obscured by a super large hotel you still get glimpses from the bar, restaurant and breakfast room (and some of the pods although not ours!).

The photo's have recently (since our stay) been updated and are a true representation of the hotel as a whole. The exceptions are the 'modern bedroom' scroll through to pic no:62 for a more realistic representation (unless all rooms have been seriously upgraded) and the puddings - we stayed a week and never had that choice or quantity on offer!!

The food over all was good, breakfast had a HUGE choice and a chef to cook any type of egg (including omelet ) fresh to order, oh and pancakes! Dinner was a little bit repetitive for a 4* and the buffet salad was a bit poor (but maybe I'm being picky). The BBQ was fantastic and cooked to order, shame it was only once a week!

Although many of the staff spoke little English it didn't pose a problem, they were all brilliant - very friendly and couldn't be more helpful. We felt very welcome and looked after, without intrusion.

Overall we had a very enjoyable stay, there are many really lovely little touches, but did feel the hotel was let down by some easily solved issues.

1. Without exception at least one and in general several pieces of the tableware were chipped - including the glass bases - at every meal.

2. Soup was served each evening, and was lovely, but there were no soup spoons (4*?)

3. Our room was immaculately clean - except under the outside shower tray, which hadn't been cleaned for some time.

4. The gym equipment was in poor condition, some unsafe to use, some unpleasant to use and generally maintained poorly if at all. It was also regularly frequented by unsupervised children. Not at all in keeping with the rest of the hotel.

Hope you find this helpful - we loved it :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Aindrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeferecepcion, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Aindrea,

Thank you very much for your very good comments on Trip Advisor.
We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay in the Risco del Gato and had a relaxing holiday.
We will look at the detail of tablespoons and the chipped tableware pieces and we`ll change them.
We will make many reforms in the rooms (outdoor shower etc.) And in the gym.
We always try to improve and therefore it is very important what our customers are saying.
The VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato will be delighted to welcome you again in your future vacations.

Best regards,

José González Allende
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    155
    31
    11
    17
See reviews for
73
348
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Costa Calma is a characterless place with many faceless hotels, but this one is different. Each room is a mini-house in itself, with your own courtyard and front garden, as well as sitting room and lovely bathroom. The courtyard protects you from the worst of the mad winds, and is totally private.

Staff are delightful and the level of facilities is very good in general. The nearby beach is beautiful and visible from some of the rooms. The worst rooms are near a sewage farm and have a view over an ugly, huge faceless hotel that has been dumped between Risco and the sea. We found the bed very hard.

the food in general is very good, although we got a bit stir crazy eating in the same place every night and went out a couple of times. There is a poor choice of local restaurants; I think many people stay in their hotel and never leave.

We did some fabulous walks - it is possible to get totally away from people in a very short time. The walk across the dunes to the opposite coast is lovely and that coast extraordinarily beautiful and empty.

Come prepared to bring lots home as the island is duty free and we had wonderful deals on perfume and spirits. The hotel minibar is very resonably priced but wine in the restaurant is marked up considerably.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rootveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeferecepcion, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your rating on trip advisor. We greatly appreciate your impression from our hotel, service and lovely surrounding. Fuerteventura is a piece of paradise!.
For your next stay we can recommend you on reception a variety of good restaurants near by the hotel, or a few minutes away by car.
As well, we could also change your bed if it is too hard for you. Please, do not hesitate to mention these details during your stay in order to assist you immediately.

We are really happy to know you had a pleasant stay in the Risco del Gato and hope to see you soon again between us.

Kind regards,

Jose Gonzalez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We spent five days here: it was hard to leave. This hotel has nothing to do with all those resort hotels you see in the Canary Islands. Risco del Gato was built 25 years ago, at a time when space and luxury meant something else. You don't hear your neighbours. We had a very relaxing and quiet stay.
But why do the guests have to dine inside - without AC- when there is a lovely terrace-restaurant where breakfast is served? Except on Friday evening: very nice barbecue outside.
Beds are a little hard and the mattress protection was a little hospital like.
All in all one of our best hotel stays with delicious sunbathing: there is even a shower outside!

Room Tip: All suite rooms are the same and give a secluded feeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nosvoyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duisburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

first impression was not the best, receptionist wears shabby uniform, hair in our whirlpool, very cold water in swimming pool.
1st day we were sitting on the breakfast terrace, enjoying the stunning view, thinking: "gosh, this is really peaceful."
2nd day we realized we were almost always alone in gym and pool. no kids, no noisy tourists, no all inclusive, very quiet & discreet housekeeping, super friendly service staff.

plus: total privacy in rooms, little private terrace, coffee & tea station, CD player, huge bathroom with whirlpool, good shower, good beds, beautiful lava & cactus garden, excellent massage, excellent fish restaurant.

minus: not 100% clean, one or the other area would need a bit of refurbishment, lighting in the breakfast room is not very inviting, little flies on food during breakfast, "orange juice" is some yellowish sugarwater that might have never seen a real fruit, spa needs some refurbishment as well (e.g. showers dont work properly)

All in all a very pleasant, relaxing location, especially after we have seen what is available in the area, definitely one of the top spots for people who need some R & R!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vikhotels, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Mrs. Mara,

Thank you very much for your review on trip advisor. The opinion of our customers is always important for us to improve our service.

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may had in our Hotel. We are pleased to inform you that we have already ordered new uniforms for our staff. We recently have changed the juice for a different brand of better quality.

We are glad to inform you that we are implementing more housekeeping control over the rooms and hotel areas too.

In the meantime, we would like to inform you that we have planned reforms in the communal areas of the hotel.

We greatly appreciated your good comments about our hotel. We are glad to know you have found a peaceful and relax place here. We assure that we want to keep the VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato as a peaceful place to pamper our clients.

We hope to welcome you in our hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Jose Gonzalez
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We booked into Risco del Gato for our last holiday as a couple before our baby arrives. We were looking for privacy, good food and sunshine. We really liked the pods- plenty of privacy for sunbathing etc and the jacuzzi was great. We were given 2 double beds in our room which I think they could change to one Super King or something. I didnt find the beds too hard like other reviewers.

We needed WIFI as my husband works for himself so the plan was while I snoozed he was going to work. Risco del Gato advertise that there is free WIFI throughout but if I ever have to log onto Global Hotspot again it'll be too soon! Its not a standard free wifi- you are given a password to Global Hotspot and have to log in everytime to use it- it logs you out when coverage goes which is far too often. The coverage was sparse throughout the hotel and even worse in our room. My husband had to attempt to send his emails from a corner of our bathroom and even then it was a nightmare.

We were under the impression that with the half board we could use both restaurants at the hotel so as not to get bored. This is not the case. The Terraza restaurant is not included- we found the food down at the Terraza better, the fish was fresh and well cooked unlike up at the main restaurant for the half board. Dinner was always too fast. We had the later slot (20:30-21:30) but are expected to have your meal completed by 21:30- one hour to eat 4 courses- mad! Its not relaxing and the waitors just throw the food out at you as they want to be gone home by 21:30. We timed one evening that it was 2 and a half minutes between the pasta course and main course. Thats just crazy! You get the impression that because you have already paid for this in the half board that the quality of the service just slips. I like to sit and savour my food when im on holidays- otherwise whats the point in making an effort getting dressed up for dinner just to be back in your room 1.5 hours later. The food itself was OK, some evenings were better than others. The pasta course and the dessert were usually good but the main course was very average. I had fish most nights and it was nothing like the fish down by the Terraza. Soup again was average in most cases too. The BBQ night was very enjoyable.

The breakfast had a good selection but my God the coffee is just terrible. I dont know how they can serve it. Thankfully I brought my own filter coffee (decaf) and this was only because I read before going that the coffee was shocking!

The decor throughout the hotel definitely does need updating. Costa Calma is a mainly German resort- although that didnt bother us. If I wasnt 7 months pregnant then we would've been looking for more but for this holiday it suited us perfectly. I dont think Id be rushing back to Fuerteventura really- no character and places like that in Canaries/Spain just let the majority tourist take over- in this case the Germans so expect German bars, radio, TV etc. If I wanted that Id have gone to Germany!

All the same we enjoyed our holiday as we wanted time together for walks on the beach, sunbathing and watching sunsets etc. The hotel needs to sort out its half board, coffee, WIFI and update the decor then it will be really can be an outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank joyceel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vikhotels, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear client,


First of all we would like to thank you for your review on Tripadvisor which definitely will help us to improve our service.

We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the WiFi service and we are looking into this right now.

We deeply regret that we didn´t fulfil your expectations in our restaurant and we will give or utmost best to make sure that this doesn´t happen again in the nearby future.

Although our clients were mostly German tourists last years, the last years more and more tourists are coming from other countries. Therefore we are internationalizing our service in order to offer more variety to all of our customers in our restaurants . For example we expanded the television channels to more than 10 English channels.

We are pleased about the fact that you and your husband enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere and privacy of our hotel, as well as the beautiful sunsets and the beaches of Fuerteventura. Please rest assure that your comments have helped us to improve the service in our hotel.

We wish you all the best for you and your future baby.


Sincerely,

Jose Gonzalez Allende
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I have just returned from a holiday at Risco del Gato which was one of the loveliest hotels I have ever stayed in. The design of the hotel is stylish and relaxing. The staff and service could not have been better. I can't recommend it highly enough. Just perfect. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Love the bathroom and the small private courtyard. Sad for the hotel that H10 have blocked part of the view of the sea with their monstrosity of a hotel in front but there are still sea views from the pods over on the pool side. The beach is really nearby - it is naturist beach and full of Germans but fun all the same and very sheltered.
Food was lovely - great gala dinner on a Wednesday and BBQ on a Friday night with a harpist! The perfect holiday for peace and quiet. We were in bed by 9 every night! Cant recommend it enough.

Room Tip: We were in 107 which is the pool side - this is the better side as has views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gussie411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeferecepcion, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your positive comments about your holidays in our hotel. Unfortunately not all of our rooms have frontal sea view, but due to our elevated position and the wide distance of about 100 metres to the H10 hotel it only blocks a part of the sea view, but not the views of our 34.643 m2 lush tropical gardens.

We are doing our best to make our clients feel comfortable and relaxed. We hope to see you again in the nearby future.

Kind regards,

Director VIK Suite hotel Risco del Gato
José González Allende.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

This all suite hotel was built between 1986 and 1988 and there are areas which appear not to have been upgraded since, although it has only recently been taken over by VIK Hotels.

There are 45 junior suites and 6 senior suites. All are the same size internally, the senior suites have a much larger courtyard and second "pod" bedroom. The rooms are really nice, large bathroom, bedroom with two double beds and decent living room area. Bedroom and lving room each having TV.

I would stear clear of rooms 201- 217 and 301 - 317, these are to the left of reception as you face the sea and have a very poor view over the green duck pond and H10 hotel - minimal if any sea views. Also the nearer you go to the higher numbers there is a strong smell of sewage and noise from the water treatment plant.

So opt for a suite numbered 101 - 117, 101 being nearest to the main hotel building and breakfast cafeteria. We stayed in 104 which was great with views over the sea and pool area (after refusing to stay a single night in 315 due to it smelling badly of smoke and wifs of sewage when in the courtyard)

The hotel reception, lounge/bar area BADLY needs a total refurbishment, the central water feature making this area very musty and the furniture is very grubby.

All that said the restaurant used for evening dinner and the cafeteria used for breakfast are super. All food was first class with waiter service during the 5 course evening meal. Good range at the breakfast buffet.

All the staff at the hotel were very friendly, polite and eager to please and the cleanliness of the suites was very good with excellent housekeeping service.

We stayed the first week in March and the pool temperature was freezing - far colder than the sea.

All in all we had a good stay but MUCH preferred Puerto Calero on Lanzarotte than Costa Calma on Fuerteventura.

Room Tip: opt for room 104 to 110
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KeithM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
1.7 mi away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
0.6 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#3 of 27 in Costa Calma
542 reviews
1.4 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
46.2 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
8.8 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato

Property: VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
Address: Calle Sicasumbre 2, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Calma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
#2 Spa Hotel in Costa Calma
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Calma
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato is an exclusive hotel with a unique architecture surrounded by 34.643 M² of gardens and heated swimming pools on different levels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
VIK Suite Hotel Risco Del Gato Fuerteventura/Costa Calma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing