We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Stitch up!”
Review of KN Matas Blancas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
KN Matas Blancas
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Costa Calma
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolute Stitch up!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Booked through the Cordial group in UK who own this hotel. Had been to Mogan Playa the year before and loved it. Were misled by Cordial that there were no flights to Gran Canaria from Bristol so steered to this ghastly place instead. They were lying about the flights! The transfer took 5 hours not 1. The room was 3 star at best. The main swimming pool was a building site for the whole week. There are no bars, restaurants and shops nearby. In fact the resort is very down at heel with a few shopping malls. Beaches bare and windy. Very few beach bars. If you fancy a landscape which is Arizona without the interest -this island is for you. Only hope would be to stay in very upmarket resort hotel. Best Age is not this hotel.

Room Tip: HIgher floor south facing balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordial, Director General at KN Matas Blancas, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for the concern you have shown us through your observations.

We sincerely apologize, if in any way, we did not meet your expectations. We take all our guest comments very seriously as these help us to achieve the standards that we strive to please our treasured guests.

First of all, we are very sorry that the travel agent suggested you the Best Age Fuerteventura instead of the Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa when you were looking for a deluxe property. Best Age Fuerteventura offers a fantastic value for money but, without doubt, does not offer the luxury, with a higher price obviously, of the Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa.

We do not understand what happened with the transfer (it is not a service from the hotel) when usually the journey from the airport to the property takes just an hour.

Regarding the swimming pool, we would like to inform you that suddenly one of the pools had a significant leaking of water and we had to fix it right away. The heated pool was still available for the entire guest. We are sorry for the inconvenience that it has generated you.

We regret that you did not like Fuerteventura as destination (where you can find bare and windy beaches like an Arizona landscape). Fuerteventura has won the Travellers' Choice, Island 2013 award, as the 10th best island in Europe and the best in Spain, according to the travel website Tripadvisor.

We hope that this incident does not diminish your favorable regard of Cordial Canarias Hotels & Resorts, and we are looking forward to serve you again in the luxurious and upmarket Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa.

Any other comments or suggestions you may have will be appreciated. We remain at all times at your service.

Sincerely yours,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    244
    151
    73
    33
See reviews for
26
401
87
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Hotel was clean and nice as was our room, staff on the front desk are helpful, well they appeared to be. Our room was nice, bed was nice n comfy but we were given a twin instead of a double which we paid for. We complained about this everyday and just saw the staff write our room number on a scrap piece of paper and heard nothing.

Breakfast every morning was more catered towards the germans but the rest of it appeared ok, however most of it was only luke warm and we didnt eat for health and safety concerns. Therefore we were stuck with bread, cereal with warm milk or preserves and pastries. We complained about tihs every day too and saw our room number wrote on a scrap piece of paper with no result.

It took 4 days before we were given a hair dryer because they had a shortage.

The spa is dangerousely wet and we saw a few couples either slip or nearly slip. There was no drainage and the floor was soaking wet.

It was nice n quiet as there are no children and its on the back of a complex too. The naked Germans didnt really bother us, its a culture thing and you have to accept that.

But all in all the service and food turned out to be poor. We didnt have any other meals at the hotel, but a fellow guest said it was just as bad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank boyo685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordial, Director General at KN Matas Blancas, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for the concern you have shown us through your observations. We sincerely apologize, if in any way, we did not meet your expectations. We take all our guest comments very seriously as these help us to achieve the standards that we strive to please our treasured guests.

We have received your comments with surprise as we did not hear about them during your stay. It is a pity that we were not advice of what had happened to assure you a great experience with us.

Regarding your comments;

1. - Our F & B department participates in the Food Safety Program from a third party (Biolab), who are responsible for auditing our kitchen areas and our working procedures. All our food exhibitors are provided with a visible thermometer in view of customers where they can observe the actual temperature of the hot and cold food areas. Our temperature is inside of those required legal parameters.

Being a Self Service system, the customer is served food from across the buffet, when the customer comes to the table, depending on the location of the table chosen by the customer, and the time to serve the food, it usually loses some degrees of heat. For this reason, we have exhibited a notice at the buffet telling customers that if they want the food warmer, to kindly advise the staff. Also for those who prefer to do it themselves, we have installed at the buffet area a visible microwave, so that the client can reheat the food to the desired temperature. We are not aware that you were in contact with any staff member to request to have the food warmer.

2. – Our SPA comply with Spanish safety rules & regulations; all water areas in the SPA have water drainages. In the same manner as in any wet area, if you do not pay the careful attention, you can slip. That’s why we call to your notice, not only with security measures (signpost indicating use of the spa, handrails, non-slip tape on the floor, etc.) but in addition of visual reminders that indicate that the floor is wet.

3. – All our rooms are inspected by our Housekeeping Manager to ensure our quality standards. We have checked our housekeeping reports and we cannot see any incidents. Please accept our apology if you have found any detail that hasn’t adhered to our standards.

4. - As described in the catalog and on the website of your TT.OO “ The BEST AGE FUERTEVENTURA Hotel by Cordial features 187 double rooms (twin beds made to make a double)”. Our Junior Suites are equipped with King Size bed, in which if you have requested, we'd render with no objection.

We hope that this incident does not diminish your favorable regard of Best Age Fuerteventura by Cordial, and we ´re looking forward to serve you again in any of our properties.

Any other comments or suggestions you may have will be appreciated. We remain at all times at your service.

Sincerely yours,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Costa Calma hotels

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We first came to the windy Island 12 years ago, and said NEVER AGAIN! how wrong can we be. The main reason was a very bad Hotel in Correllejo. This has been rectified and a very big thank you to Best Age and their great staff. Food has been excellent, hot varied and tasty! Too good in fact, will have to go on a diet when get home. Rooms comfortable and clean, and no children accommodated therefore good if you like a nice relaxing time, peace & quiet. Resort is nice and quiet and a very good bus service if want to explore. Recommend the Zoo, with an amazing Eagle show and so many camels. A good break this time of year to get some sun. One drawback- pool is not heated!

Room Tip: 209 sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noseynodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was our 5th trip to a Cordial hotel. We did not expect the standards of the Mogan Playa, and we certainly didn't get them!
Is this the only hotel in Europe where:- the bar doesn't open until 8pm and so one cannot enjoy a pre-dinner drink, with no refreshments available between 10am and 1pm, and no museli at breakfast? Abys nearnd this an hotel with no bar or shops nearby.
Dinner was a disaster, raw meatballs were served up, overcooked fish (dry and tasteless or dissolving in a "sauce"), tough meat, over salted pork, the Iist could go on.
The staff were charming but on occasons very stressed by what I could see was a lack of resource and poor leadership and training. The hotel in itself is lovely.
We have recommended the other hotels to people- we would advise anyone to AVOID.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room overlooking the pool if you absolutely have to go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1Jeff2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordial, Director General at KN Matas Blancas, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for the concern you have shown us through your observations.

We sincerely apologize, if in any way, we did not meet your expectations. Best Age Fuerteventura offers a fantastic value for money but, without doubt, does not offer the luxury, with a higher price obviously, of the Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa.

At the same time, we are sorry that you were not pleased with the dinner. We are trying to satisfy all different tastes of our customers and we keep working to improve the levels of satisfaction.

We take all our guest comments very seriously as these help us to achieve the standards that we strive to please our treasured guests.

We hope that this incident does not diminish your favorable regard of Cordial Canarias Hotels & Resorts, and we are looking forward to serve you again in any of our properties.

Any other comments or suggestions you may have will be appreciated. We remain at all times at your service.

Sincerely yours,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Staff were lovely but food very disappointing. Rooms can be noisy as walls and floors are paper thin - we were probably unlucky as we had noisy neighbours throughout our 3 week stay don't know why people have to move furniture etc around whilst on holiday! We found the hotel was great as there were not children but it was a bit too far from any other bars/ restaurants the hill is quite steep and as my husband has breathing difficulties it was not ideal. Watch out for dog mess all over the pavements!! I gather this resort is known as Costa Coma.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better as you don't here the toilets flushing as much as the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueDavey616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

If you have mobility problems don't stay in this hotel unless you are happy to get a taxi to the bar, restaurant or beach. The hotel is in a quiet residential area on the top of town about 15-20 minutes walk up the hill. Hotel was very well run, with friendly & very efficient staff. Hotel was spotless & rooms very comfortable. Lovely swimming pools & great spa facilities (sauna, steam room, punge pool & jacuzi) which I often had to myself. There is also a naturist solarium. handy hotel shop, bar, free minibus to the beach & free Wifi (in the lobby area only). Tennis court, gym (indoor & out), mini golf, table tennis & many more facilities including activities which i didn't try. We stayed B&B & enjoyed the variety of breakfast items; which were freshly cooked & well presented. Fruits, cereals, juices (fresh & dispenser), pancakes, hot food, breads & yoghuts. Plenty of tasty food items for veggies so we were set up for the day. We also had an evening meal twice during the week & we both enjoyed this too with a good variety of veggie foods. We received a free bottle of wine & chocolates on our pillows occasionally throughout the week; which was a nice touch. Best of all, no children at all so very quiet & relaxing - which is just what we wanted. We would certainly return to this hotel when a quiet break is required.

Costa Calma resort is quiet but it has enough bars, shops & restaurants (almost all in small shopping centres scattered around town) but not an abundance; which suited us fine. Also as the other reviews state predominately full of Germans either tourists or ex-pats. To us this was a bonus hardly saw any English whilst we were there & no Irish bars or English pubs - bliss. We were always addressed in German; although everyone spoke English too. However, don't go to this part of the island (or this hotel) if you can't cope without English tv channels &/or naked Germans bathing in the sand dunes or walking along the beach. Us would definately return - a very good choice!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dogsspotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I usually go somewhere where we can go on excursion and explore but in April 2012, we needed to go somewhere to just chill and relax where it's quiet, no nightclub and kid zone free inspite that we do love our grown up children.

Athough the hotel itself it at the top of the hill in a residential area, we found the hotel to be very clean and the staff provided very good service. It offered a free bus service (you need to check timetable) and it takes you to Esmeralda Beach where you can walks for miles along the spacious stretch of lovely sandy beach, recommendable. There is a nudist beach area you walk pass. Naturally it's windy as it's a windsurfing island after all but we expected that and you can still go for a swim.

Wednesday/Sunday is market day on what look like a wasteland but worth going for a browse or buy.

It is a good 10/15 mins walk to/fro hotel to/fro little town of few shops/restaurants but not ideal for those with walking difficulties therefore a taxi is advisable but its not expensive.

Hotel has a supermarket on the same floor as spa/jazuuzi/sauna. We were surprised that the dress code was not adhered to compared to with all of the 4 stars hotel we've been to. Low-key entertainment contains bingo/piano-guitar man but we sometime have drinks on the balcony that looks out of the pool. The hotel had nudist area on the top terrace. Foods is varied and catered for all nationalities. I would not say its of a 4 star qualitiy but we enjoyed it.

Our room was very clean and of a good size, you will need to close the door in the bathroom to get into the bath and the shower head is powerful but does make the floor wet. There is a hairdryer. Overall I would recommend this hotel if you wanted to get away from everything providing you dont mind the distance from the beach. We stayed for a week as it was enough for us to wind down as we could soon get bored if we stayed longer.

I would rate this as a 3 and half due to dress code not being adhered to and the design of the bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thecuri0ustraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
10.4 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
44.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4,571 reviews
25.9 mi away
Hotel Elba Palace Golf
Hotel Elba Palace Golf
#1 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
R2 Bahia Playa
R2 Bahia Playa
#1 of 2 in Tarajalejo
861 reviews
44.3 mi away
Hotel Atlantis Dunapark
Hotel Atlantis Dunapark
#25 of 45 in Corralejo
554 reviews
1.6 mi away
VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KN Matas Blancas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KN Matas Blancas

Property: KN Matas Blancas
Address: Calle Punta Pesebre 6, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Best Age Fuerteventura)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Costa Calma
#7 Spa Hotel in Costa Calma
#10 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — KN Matas Blancas 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your KN Matas Blancas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Age Fuerteventura Hotel Costa Calma
KN Matas Blancas Fuerteventura/Costa Calma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing