We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Royal Suite

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Royal Suite
Ranked #1 of 2 Costa Calma B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Came here after walking out of our rather rubbish hotel over the road and got exactly what we had paid for. Good first impressions, huge clean reception with friendly and helpful staff, hotel is set over a large area and was never packed,, two main pools one by the bar and main facilities which was spotlessly clean, pool bar was self service, plenty of shorts, soft drinks and Amstell on tap, ice buckets with bottles of cava to help yourself to as well, small and again clean kids pool , the other pool was behind most of the rooms, again spotless and was classed as a quiet pool, good size pool and aslo with a kids pool next to it.
Food was very good, chef in the corner at all meals cooking fresh meat or fish each day, you will not go hungry in this hotel as the choice and types of food were all of a good quality.
There are a few pool tables, air hockey and table football to keep you busy if need be all costing one euro.
The rooms are set out in nice horse shoe shapes and are more like cul de sacs, large sleeping area, bathroom with shower and hair dryer and a seperate lounge area with two large sofas seperated with double doors, no air con which would have been nice even in september but that is a very small gripe.
The staff here earn every euro, they are forever cleaning up either your table at meals of your table outside, all friendly and smiling, look out for Mohammed who had a thing for my wife and went to pieces everytime she went for a drink, the blonde Animation Rep who whoul randomly call out my name all the time and the rather large German Animation Rep who just shouted "Morgan" or morning all the time even in the afternoon.
Be aware that this is a German Hotel, we were the only English staying up until our last night when we met a nice couple from Oldham i think it was and ended up getting wrecked even though we had early flights, if your reading this this and I know you probably will, it would have been nice to have got to know you better and we hopr you had a good stay.
Would I recommend this hotel, yes , yes and yes.
The resort is very quiet, great beaches and thats about it, nothing to do but bum about, if you stay here you will be more than happy to do this. If you need any more infor then message me via this site.

Room Tip: There are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Goldie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 494 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2011

Royal Suite Hotel is located farther from the sea, but not further than 900m. We were here in early July and the water was cold (about 20 degrees) and air temperature on the 26 degrees. Enough wind blows here. The hotel itself was clean. The reception staff is always helpful. Rooms were regularly cleaned, but there were plenty of ants and other insects, which is mainly through the bathroom. A flock of ants you in sight of the tub not be pleased. This is the main complaint with this hotel. Breakfast buffet was good. Lunch and dinner were not so great.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank fiilaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We wanted a minimum of a 4 Star Hotel and All Inclusive.

On first impression of the Hotel upon arrival we felt that it was dated and most certainly not a 4 Star Hotel, the place looks very drab and in need of some spring cleaning! This was felt throughout our whole stay.

There did not seem to be enough staff in the Hotel. The place was just dirty compared to over 4 Star Hotels we had looked at in the area. The Pool had damage on the sides which could pose a Health and Safety risk to Children especially, and to adults if not seen.

As for the food; the food was very tasteless, almost every day was the same the food was not of very good quality. Regardless of what time you arrived for meal times, it was always lukewarm. Was not very impressed by it at all, I have had better meals in a Travelodge.

The town has nothing particular to offer, if you do go, I highly recommend a Hire Car so you can see a bit of the island and not just stay in the area.
Weather wise was good, however very windy.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeanD24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

stayed here for one week 23rd april till 30th , food and drink were very good ( never went hungry or thirsty, weather changable.. staff were very freindly and good at their job ,entertainment was limited , but our two children found it good ( girl 6 and boy 4 ) . only thing i will say is that never spoke or saw an english person the whole time we were there , not just in resort ,but the whole town , if you found food not to your liking you would struggle to find many places to eat , as quite a long walk and not many places ............ the beach is lovely with clear blue water , we found room small ( family room ) as having two children meant you did not a living area as this became their bedroom . also no air con and also cannot leave windows or curtains open as all on ground floor so viewed on by everyone , .. overall if you get this place cheap you will not be dissapointed by food or drink

Room Tip: you will not find any english here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank neilw8106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We stayed at the Royal Suite for a week. We had a lovely holiday. The weather was lovely; warm, sunny and breezy.

The beach is a 10-15 minute level walk away. The beach is clean and great for walking along. Due to the ideal weather conditions there are plenty of surf schools in the south of the Island. There is a surf school on the beach at Costa Calma.
Royal Suite has 4 pools and a jacuzzi.

Food absolutely fine. The royal suite has a sister hotel next to the beach called the fuerteventura playa. which has a tapas bar. If you wish you can reserve to eat lunch or dinner there the day before, as many times as you like. Its stunning - overlooking the beach - and the food is amazing.

Jandia is worth a visit, along the coast, about 30 minutes by bus. The beach is fabulous.
There is an African market down the road from the Royal Suite Wednesdays & Sundays. Worth a visit - quite a good atmosphere.

We met some lovely people & got on well with the rest of the holidaymakers. Staff at Royal Suite were very efficient and friendly. We had a decent weeks holiday.

Room Tip: Eat at the tapas bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank HarrietAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

For the little we paid for all-inclusive this was incredible value for money.
Clean, spacious apartments (if a bit tired) with plenty of hot water; two great pools; plenty of sunbeds; excellent quality and choice of hot and cold food at breakfast, lunch and dinner - no waiting for a table; pool bar well stocked.
Staff were welcoming and highly efficient. Mainly German clientele.
Yes, it's a 10-minute walk to the beach but we needed that to walk off our meals!
For the money, this place is hard to beat.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HD6Brighouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

I was at The Royal Suite from 4th to 11th Feb. When I was there there were 4 English guests in total and us 2 Scots. Rocky were you the guy with the Union Jack trunks on???

The service was very good from the restaurant staff but the food was normally not very warm. I commented everyday that the hot food wasnt really hot. The heating lights in the food service areas were either not turned up to a decent temp or as in 2 lamps they had normal kitchen lights in them!!!! They would not have been allowed in this country. The bacon at breakfast didnt seem to be cooked underneath as it seems just to have been steamed and not turned over. We could have done with some Chorizo Sausages as Hot Dog sausages dont really get your appetite going, and neither does mixed veg, peas and chips as were offered at Breakfast some days. The Canarian Potates werent very tasty either and were usually lukewarm.

The food was typical All Inclusive food but you do get fed up of Instant Whip & Rice Pudding after 3 days for a sweet!!!!

The Pool Bar was "help yourself" from 930am ish till 6pm. There was certainly a great deal of Sparkling Wine drunk as that was all some groups were drinking. The local Honey Rum aint as good as Tenerifes and the Lager was okay but the wine was terrible.

The entertainment team did well but it was VERY limited and Rocky I didnt see the dancing that you speak of as the Entertainment team finished at 10pm and then all you got was a Boney M tape with some other 70s music on the PA system after that.

The area is certainly a quiet area and when we got off the plane from Scotland we were the only 2 who were in The Royal Suite. There are only 2 major shopping areas but they had some good deals especially in aftershave!!!

I would go back to the area but would probably stay in an hotel nearer the beach. If anyone likes walking there is a GREAT walk up some sandy hills just near the hotel top pool and tennis & volleyball courts. You can also walk across the island as it is at its narrowest point here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RonFenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
1 mi away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
2.7 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
0.8 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#2 of 27 in Costa Calma
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
0.2 mi away
KN Matas Blancas
KN Matas Blancas
#15 of 27 in Costa Calma
721 reviews
1.7 mi away
H10 Sentido Playa Esmeralda
H10 Sentido Playa Esmeralda
#4 of 27 in Costa Calma
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Suite

Address: Calle Valle de los Escobones 1 | Urb Canada del Rio, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Royal Suite Club)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Costa Calma
Price Range: $102 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Suite 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Royal Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Suite Club Hotel Costa Calma
Hotel Royal Suite Fuerteventura/Costa Calma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing