We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views”

Fundacion Cesar Manrique
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.57*
and up
Teguise Market and César Manrique Foundation Tour in Lanzarote
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home of a famous Spanish artist
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Loved the underground house of this artist. He has his own sunken pool in the lava and great views from the panoramic windows over such a vast amount of lava.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank taloolaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,523
    991
    202
    22
    19
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Loved seeing the gardens and everything. The trip there through the countryside is great. This is where Mantique started it all. This house is built in the bubbles of a volcano.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Amazing house in a dramatic landscape.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were the first visitors on a beautiful October morning so were able to appreciate the beauty of the building, the views, the art, architecture and gardens without interruption. We had read reviews but the experience was even better than we expected. Everywhere you turned there was an interesting and exciting thing to see and every vista was so photogenic. The house challenged our concepts of how a house should be lived in. Once we were tuned in to his vision and ideas we appreciated seeing examples of his work all around the island. A definite must see for anyone visiting Lanzarote.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LizzybeeYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
197 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A must in Lanzarote”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Definitely, Manrique's best concept - it is the best when you start your Lanzarote experience with this.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pawel411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

It really is fascinating to see how this architekt managed to build his home in volcano bubbles. It is a massive house. What I found a bit disspointing is that one did not get an impression of how he lived here. We could not see the kitchen, bedroom or bathroom which would really have been interesting to see how someone could live here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank cape-town-best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fundacion Cesar Manrique also viewed

 
Lanzarote, Canary Islands
Lanzarote, Canary Islands
 

Been to Fundacion Cesar Manrique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing