We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Diverhotel Lanzarote
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed at the Playaverde Hotel. It was the first time we went on a holiday abroad together after much of the Mrs nagging. The food and hotel deserved its 3 star rating. We chose the bed and breakfast option as we like to eat out, but mainly because we are stingy. The pool was very cold but refreshing in the hot weather. The jacuzzi was lovely and warm and was very romantic. There were no entertainment during the day. However, we were thrilled when we found out there were a couple of bingo nights at the hotel where the Mrs won a free cocktail and got slightly tipsy afterwards!

The location of the hotel is not ideal for those who don't like a long walk to the beach especially in the heat. The Mr booked the hotel and he never heard the end of it. The hotel is about 20 minutes walk to the nearest beach, bars and very nice restaurants. Unfortunately, the long walk affected the Mr who suffered from a sunburned scalp during the walks which ruined his handsome looks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrandmrsgrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Diverhotel Lanzarote, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you for sharing your holiday experience with us. Thanks to guests comments we are able to improve each day.
Let me inform you that we have an Animation programme with day and evening activities. The planning is always available at the Reception. It includes sports, games, miniclub, and evening entertainment.
Even though the hotel is not located in the centre of Costa Teguise, you can have a nice 15 minutes walk along the promenade to get to the city centre or take a taxi which costs only 4€.
We stay in your entire disposal and we would be pleased to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

Lena Concepcion – Manager Diverhotel Lanzarote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    545
    384
    152
    117
See reviews for
571
600
63
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Me and my Husband have just returned from a well-deserved 7 night break in Lanzarote. Firstly, I would like to comment on how lovely the food was, as me and my hubby are not shy of having big appetites. There was a huge choice to choose from and we were impressed with the help your-self to drinks area. Make sure you try the fresh fish yum yum.

The rooms were cleaned every day and we were provided with fresh bedding and towels on each clean. Our room was spacious and we made the most of the mini-bar. The hotel grounds and the impressive pool area were kept clean to a high standard also.

Overall the facilities are excellent with great friendly staff. I would definitely return to this hotel again and we made some good friends .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Diverhotel Lanzarote, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you for taking a little bit of your time to share your holiday experience with us.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your holidays I will personally congratulate the staff on your behalf. Since last June, we have changed our product and we have started with the All Inclusive Caribbean, where guests have free soft and alcohol drinks during all day and evening, as well as snacks.
We would like to invite you to come back another time.
We stay at your entire disposal and we wish you a Merry Christmas.

Yours sincerely,

Lena Concepción - Manager Diverhotel Lanzarote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 day stay at this hotel and it is definitely not a 4 star. The bar is gloomy and dark and there is absolutely no ambience whatsoever. This is the only bar you can sit in and the alternative is to go outside or sit on concrete steps in the amphitheatre to watch not very good entertainment.
Air con was not working (or was being controlled centrally) and the room was stuffy.
The food was 2 star at best, very little choice and not of good quality. Show cooking was just one item on the griddle (squid twice during a 5 day stay). We have stayed at Playa hotels all over Spain and were expecting the Playaverde to be of a similar standard and we were shocked and disappointed. We would definitely not return,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Diverhotel Lanzarote, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear guest,
I regret that we have not lived up to your expectations during your holidays at Diverhotel Lanzarote. Since June this year we have changed our product to an All Inclusive Caribean, which implies a change of drinks and food compared to a Playa hotel. A Diverhotel has a menu cycle with 7 different verities (one per day) , and we have recently improved our menu with a total of 11 menus.
The hotel animation team settles a weekly programme with different activities during the day and evening entertainment. There is a different show or game per evening and at the end we offer music for dancing and we ask guest’s requests for the type of music they like.
I would be pleased to welcome you again in the future to get to know better our new product “Diverhotel”.

Yours sincerely,

Lena Concepción – Manager Diverhotel Lanzarote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Costa Teguise hotels

Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

just came home from playaverde, and speak as you findthe reception staff were on the ball with our paperwork , we were given a welcome drink whils she sorted our passports.her name alexandria a credit to the company, rooms were quite spaciousand cleaned daily some say dated ,but i happen to like bamboo and cane furniture plenty of cupboard space. two small double beds;
all inclusive was one of the best we,ve had except for 5star. any amount of hot drinks, water,lager .spirits, icecream cocktails etc. just help yourself(except spirits) which the waiters served with good measure. pool very clean and plenty of room.
entertainment not to our liking but each to their own there was something every night.
anyone saying there was no choice of food must be from another planet . because there was absolutely loads of things to choose plus live cooking at back of resteraunt for rice pasta pizza and even fish and pork chops etc cooked while you wait. staff never stopped and seemed to be there every meal time and later.
quiet hotel away from the bustle of tequise town but a couple minutes by bus or about 20 minute walk along the front coastal promenade, really pretty.
i emailed the hotel before i went to say we were celebrating a birthday on the 14th and when we got back after a day trip they had placed an icebucket with sparkling wine and a card in the room that was a lovely gesture.
all in all a very nice hotel with fabulous staff in a quieter area
only downside was the fridge cooled intermittently and the aircon must have been off because rooms were very warm but there was a big ceiling fan.

Room Tip: top floor would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hazel1956_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Diverhotel Lanzarote, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear guest;
Thank you for taking a little bit of your time to comment your experience and for sharing it with us. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your holidays with us and I will personally notify all the staff.
Our main goal is to have guests completely satisfied and I can see that we have fulfilled your expectations.
We stay at your entire disposal and hope to welcoming you soon again in any of our Playa Senator hotels.

Yours sincerely,

Lena Concepción – Manager Diverhotel Lanzarote.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Just got back from 8 nights at this hotel. The hotel needs some work, it is looking quite tired and in need of maintenance. On the first few days of our stay it was raining, both inside and out of the hotel! There were buckets positioned around the reception and stairs areas and towels laid to soak up the rain water running down the inside walls, not exactly what you expect from a 4* hotel!

The showers were a ridiculous experience, the water would vary in pressure, going from super powerful and far, far too hot to then turning off completely, to trickling, to freezing cold. This would go in constant cycles every few seconds and would take a lot of jumping in and out. When the water was hot it was scalding and I fear for any child in this hotel as it would definitely cause burns. We complained at reception on our first day thinking it might be a problem with just our shower but were told it was a problem throughout the hotel. We were told that they were waiting for a part to fix it...it never arrived during our 8 night stay if that was true.

In contrast the pool and jacuzzis are FREEZING. We managed to get in but it was hard work! The pools are starting to look tired also, with tiles missing in many places. One annoying thing we noted was the waterfalls in the pool looked very nice but when the wind blew the water was blown all over you if you were around the pool area. Maybe they should be turned off in winter?

The food at the hotel was ok overall. For an all inclusive we felt there was a good enough choice and felt the catering staff did a very good job with what they had to work with. One complaint we have that seems to have been repeated throughout these reviews is that the hot food was always cold. They appeared to have heat lamps over the paella in the show cooking area but the buffet food had none. There were microwaves provided but it isn't acceptable to have to microwave your food in a restaurant!!! Getting heat lamps would make a huge difference. The show cooking area meant you could always get something freshly cooked so we did this every day to ensure our food was hot.

The entertainment is not good. The poor animation guy tries really hard but the activities are poor, with a game of bingo taking forever as you watch it on a video and after all of that you have the chance of winning a pen! There was a bird show which consisted of being shown 5 birds and watching one fly across a room. The whole show was over in about 10 minutes! The hotel has a lot of potential for entertainment to be fantastic. They have an amphitheatre which is a great space for shows but is not used to it's potential.

There were positive things about this hotel. Although it is looking tired it is very, very clean and the cleaners do a fantastic job, the place is spotless. All of the staff are really friendly, polite, welcoming and hard working, everyone says hello to you when you pass them.
The self service is a nice touch and you can help yourself to beer and soft drinks throughout the day which meant no long queues that you get at other all inclusive hotels.

Overall we were a bit disappointed with the hotel, mainly because it wouldn't take a great deal to make it fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natnatnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Diverhotel Lanzarote, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for the time spent in your wide comments about the Diverhotel Lanzarote.
I would like to comment your points about our installations:
Eventhough we have good weather in winter, we heat the water in the swimming pool, but just a few degrees, so you can still have a refreshing bath. The Jacuzzis temperature is always at 32º and our technical service looks after this to keep it always the same.
Regarding the food temperature, I must apologize, during your stay we had to change one of the resistances as it was not working. Our installations at the restaurant are designed to keep food warm, and, of course, the microwave is not an option for warming the buffet food, but just an option for tea and coffee facilities in the restaurant.
The Animation Team has a weekly programme with a wide offer of activities for adults, kids and teenagers during all day. Evening entertainment consists of one or two external shows as magicians, dance shows, flamenco,…. Or activities offered by our animation team. The evening ends with some music for dancing. In high season, the hotel entertainment takes place in the amphitheatre, but if the hotel occupancy allows it, we do evening entertainment at the bar.
Nevertheless, we will consider your comments about the hotel and will try hard that your next visit will be much better.

Yours sincerely,

Lena Concepción – Manager Diverhotel Lanzarote.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were the first off the coach and we both gave each other that look of OMG! The hotel looks tired and dated and does not derserve the "4* Gran comfort (Grand comfort) on the front signage of the hotel. I would give it a 3 at best. That said the room was clean and modernish with two double beds pushed together. The food is ok too buffet style like most AI hotels. The pool area was adequate but the water so cold you could not swim or even paddle, it has two jacuzzi areas but again containing freezing cold water. The problem is its location it's not in the resort and a out 10mins walk down the coast set amongst half built complexes and closed apartment blocks, you feel like you are in the wrong end of town. Entertainment is also not worth it

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scudder44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Diverhotel Lanzarote, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments and for choosing Diverhotel Playaverde as your holiday residence. This hotel was built in 1.999, and since then, we work yearly on reparations to keep the installations in good conditions.
The swimming pool is heated in winter season (from November until February- March) as the good weather during the rest of the year invites to have colder baths. The Jacuzzis have a temperature of 32º each.
Our animation staff settles a weekly programme with different offer of day and evening activities, among which we have external evening shows such as magicians, dance shows, circus, flamenco...etc.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Yours faithfully,

Lena Concepción Ramírez – Manager Diverhotel Lanzarote.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookstown, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

hotel lovely and clean, staff excellent. hotel was not at full capacity very quiet during the daytime. good choice of food, fresh pizza , pasta, bread, cooked to order pancakes, help your self drinks (apart from spirits) slush puppy machine, fridges full of water for you to help yourself.
pool area clean and tidy, with lovely kids slide and 2 jaquizzis. pool bar hot dogs and burgers available all day.
room spacious, and kept clean by lovely maids. only gripe here is the shower over the bath, worked for a few minutes then went off then came back again for a few minutes. the safe in our room didn't work which meant always having to carry our passports spare money round with us at all time.
the games area at the back of the hotel was nice, crazy golf pitch. also this is where the back gate is.
go out the back of the hotel, take a left and walk til you come to a bit of a desert garden on the opposite side of the road , and walk down the path (watch out for the dog poo it is everywhere) to the promenade. turn left on the promenade and walk into the town centre. lovely promenade and only takes about 15 mins. or a taxi from the hotel 3 euro there 4 euro back.
the entertainment was good. the one man entertainment team was so enthusiastic and worked really hard.
the trip to Timanfaya national park to see the volcano is worth a visit. you really do feel as though you are on a different planet. 6 euro for a 30 min camel ride.
at the time of year we went (halloween) this hotel is lovely for couples wanting a relaxing break and families with small children.
would I return. Yes but not with teenagers again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Diverhotel Lanzarote, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the Diverhotel Lanzarote as your holiday residence.
We have been adapting new updated machinery with a new working system and it took us a few days to end and fix the work. The problem has been completely fixed by now. I apologize for the inconveniences caused during your stay. Regarding the problem with the safe, our technical service would have been pleased to repair it. Sometimes, it is not possible to repair safes, in which case we can move a new one from another room or move guest to another room. Another facility for guests, is to leave your personal belongings in the safe at the reception that you can use until fixing your room safe.
I am glad that you had a pleasant stay and hope to welcoming you soon in Playa Senator.

We stay in your entire disposal.

Yours faithfully,

Lena Concepción- Manager Diverhotel Lanzarote.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
0.5 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#17 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,673 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Beatriz Costa & Spa
Hotel Beatriz Costa & Spa
#22 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,993 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Sea Costa Teguise Gardens
Blue Sea Costa Teguise Gardens
#35 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
20.8 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#30 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Lanzarote Paradise
Aparthotel Lanzarote Paradise
#27 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diverhotel Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diverhotel Lanzarote

Property: Diverhotel Lanzarote
Address: Avda. Las Palmeras, 20, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Playaverde Hotel)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Diverhotel Lanzarote 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The diverhotel Lanzarote is situated just a few kilometres from the island's capital, Arrecife, and along the Teguise Coast, one of the most attractive tourist destinations in Lanzarote thanks to the quality of its services, beaches, green areas and, above all, the sensation of freedom and tranquillity which reigns supreme here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diverhotel Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lti Playaverde Costa Teguise
Lti Playaverde Hotel Costa Teguise
Diverhotel Lanzarote Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing