We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly good ,could be even better with few investments”
Review of Santa Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Rosa
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Fife
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Mostly good ,could be even better with few investments”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

After changing to a bungalow (were given a room in apartment block which on first impressions was nice but a lot of road noise and bedroom windows opened up to a main hallway so not safe at all)we were pleased with our apartment,however not much storage space for 3 people.

Now for the real negative which anyone researching this hotel will know, no AIr CONDITIONING or ceiling fans meant in July we all struggled to sleep. Everyone we spoke to had similar issues, if like us you want to go and feel relaxed and energised on your holiday then go somewhere else. The lack of sleep was affecting everyone not just us, the hard beds do not help. Nor does the thin piece of foam they expect your kids to sleep on.apparently you can ask for a campbed however in July these are limited.

I did not find reception staff friendly, they never said acknowledged us once, nor did they tell us any helpful information other than where our room was.

Positives
Great complex,good kids club, lots to keep kids amused including free mini golf and a cheap bowling,fab pool bar and the hotel is a great size, not too big and has a good community feel to it.

Food
food on half board was average, like most places very bland although mexican night was the highlight.if you enjoy good food then go self catering costa teguise is full of fab restaurants all at great prices.

Entertainment
the evening entertainment was poor, the hotel guests get sidelined for local birthday parties.however there are plenty of places in town and round about to keep you entertained.

The town is a good 10minute walk away which could be a pain with smaller kids.Lanzarote is a lovely island and very cheap for tourists.

We had a great holiday and met some wonderful people, however the sleep quality really lets this place down so would not return on this basis which is a shame as it has lots of positives. Special mention to rosemary who is worth her weight in gold.

Room Tip: Despite emailing twice asking for a bungalow we did not get one, however if unhappy just say ask at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Memo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    941
    812
    233
    45
    24
See reviews for
861
876
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We got back on the 15th July after an 11 night stay at the Santa Rosa. I've stayed in many places offering the half board option, and for the value.. this still comes up one of the best!

Right where to start, even before arriving in Lanzarote. I emailed reception to notify them that both me and my mum were returning for a second year (as we stopped there the same time last year) but we were bringing my grandparents too. One of which is in a wheelchair. So I wasn't even in the same country and I received an excellent level of customer service from the staff at reception. And arrangements were made to cater for my disabled Nan. Would just like to point out here, Silvia, Maxine, Alexandra and Olga were all so helpful at reception.

Upon arriving around mid day there was none of this waiting around for rooms to be cleaned or what ever. Keys were given straight away. My grandparents had been allocated a lovely room next to the pool/bar room 1040. And we were allocated a room on the second floor facing the pool. I was so shocked upon arriving in my room, we had a 30 inch flat screen TV and a fruit hamper with wine left for our arrival. Was amazed by it! We totally loved our room 2007 which we had last year, but our room this year trumped it by miles. The maid came and cleaned it 5 times a week. Which is good, been in hotels where sometimes it's twice or even once a week. As mentioned in other reviews, towels and bedding weren't changed every time but often enough.

During our stay last year, we suffered badly with noise when we were in our room due to the building of the indoor semi-Olympic pool. However that has all be done now, and is a great addition to the hotel. They've also extended the gym too! Not the greatest but for me it was enough. Great range of weighted dumbbells, fitness bench, treadmills, spin bikes, rowing machines etc. But for those lifting heavier weights the gym just down the road opposite the supermarket is a lot better. The gym cost 3 euros if you went between 8am-3pm and then it was 6 euros after until 9pm. Opened at 8am every day, apart from Sat where it opened at 9:30 am and then on the Sunday it was closed.

Last year, we could come down at any time and get a sun lounger. However this year it went a bit crazy, and a lot of the sun loungers were already took when I used to go to the gym at 8am. Nelson the lifeguard was lovely bless him! Never met such a good man, thoroughly enjoyed my daily talks with him and getting to know him. But if you ever didn't have a sun lounger, just go and tell Nelson and he would sort it for you! Yes the pool is cold, which I prefer because the heat gets unbareable sometimes. And yes it is salt water, but every pool in Lanzarote is salt water due to expenses. We discovered this last year.

We love the pool bar, and Jenny a young waitress from Leeds is lovely. We've ate out for lunch before and the pool bar is very competitively priced and we thought the food was lush! Never had any complaints. The only complaint was from my Grandad and he wasn't too keen on the beer served their. But 4-6pm it's happy hour where you can get two drinks for the price of one. They even added a cocktail of the day this year, where you could get two for the price of one during happy hour. Another positive to the pool bar is the free wifi, which is really handy for checking emails etc as the computers at reception were a bit temperamental.

The hotel also has it's own bowling alley, indoor play area, tennis courts, mini golf courts and also lots of pool tables near the bowling alley. So to say it's only a small complex there's more than enough to do. Rosemary was fab and runs all the entertainment on her own. From doing the kids club in the morning, to water polo and rifle shooting in the afternoon to the kids mini disco and sometimes bingo at night. This women is a star!

As for food in the hotel, I've had better but I've had a lot worse too. The breakfasts were fab, never been in a hotel where they serve proper sausages. And grill the bacon in front of you. The nights however could get a bit boring/repetitive. Friday nights are by far the best nights as it's the Mexican theme night, Where there's everything from enchilada's, burrito's, fajita's, nacho's, potato skins. There's all sorts! There's also a Chinese and Mediterranean night too. Although sometimes the meals could get a bit boring, and there wasn't much choice... I do like the fact that they have a separate grill area where there's two chefs cooking some sort of meat. Not many hotels do that! Drinks are reasonable in there, I used to have a bottle of water where you could get around 3 glasses out of it and that would cost 1.20 euros. The two waiters called Alex and Noel are so lovely. Noel never failed to make me laugh.

The complex is around a 15 min walk from the main town bit where all the shops and main restaurants are. You can either walk along the sea front or along the roads outside the hotel and pass little bars and pubs. Some of the pubs we recommend just outside the hotel are the Dickens... this pub has a live singer called Kenny on Sat, Mon and Thurs he's very good. Steptoes is another, fishermann inn is good for food. Casa Luis is so nice for tapas. And a bit further down there's the Welcome bar which is run by some Scottish people. It's a lovely little place, good for kids they had things like dominoes and chess boards. They used to play bingo every night and do a quiz too! Just across the road, there's also the Monkey bar which is attached to the big Thomson's hotel Las Coronas playa. They had a singer in most nights, and if I can remember rightly on a Saturday after 10pm it used to be happy hour.

But no to conclude we had a lovely second visit to the Santa Rosa and it certainly is going from strength to strength. It wasn't as quiet as last year due to the vast amount of families, which was disappointing as we were hoping for a quiet relaxing holiday. But we did enjoy it non the less. And would definitely recommend especially for the price.

Room Tip: Any room on the second floor, ask for a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one week excellent food for 3 star paid £2300for six of us half boad clean rooms all have plasma tv fridge ect kids club every day and eve drinks very reasonable only fault not enough umbrellas round pool and no entertainent for adults but good pubs with live music just out side

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnweafer92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Got back from Santa Rosa yesterday, after a good 10 day break. It is rated number 1 in Costa Teguise, a title which to me is a little surprising. First impressions of Santa Rosa from the outside, and the reception is that it is basic. Check in was quick and simple, with staff that were very friendly. Once into the ground of the apartments, things looked much better.

We walked to our room, possibly one of the farthest away from reception, not that we minded at all. Entering the room we were pleased to see how big it was. A large kitchen with fridge, microwave and hob rings that led into a large living room/dinging area. The bathroom was huge compared to other places we had stayed and the bedroom was a great size too. What we were annoyed about though was the view from the balcony. Our view was of a drive wave with piles of rubbish dotted about, with an abandoned, unfinished building beyond that (not that Santa Rosa can be blamed for that). The view from the bedroom was better, but being in a self catering apartment, we had hoped to spend a little more time on the balcony, having food or relaxing with a drink. We spent hardly any time on the balcony, which led to spending very little time in the room. We ate out for every meal except one, because of the terrible view we had, it was much nicer to just go to a cafe near by.

The room was very clean, had nothing to complain about there. Bath was a little dirty in places but nothing terrible and certainly nothing to complain about. The maids come 5 times a week, they didn't change towels or bedding much but it was enough. All it seemed they did was tidy up, make the beds and sweep the floor. We had to clean our own dishes which we thought was ridiculous, having to buy washing up liquid for the small amount of washing up we had (but this is probably just us being picky). One day, one of our toilet rolls was nicked, rather cheeky.

The pool was huge, plenty of space, with a little kiddies pool by the side. It is salt water though, and I can't stand salt water so spent very little time in it. It's also very cold, but on a hot day it was welcome. There are a great amount of sun beds, they brought more out whilst we were the and not one day could we not find a subbed to use. For all of the sun ends the are 11 umbrellas, not many at all. The pool bar was ok, we only really used it during happy hour where 2 beers cost 2 euros, a great deal. For water/juice we went back to the room, which wasn't far, the pool being very central to all rooms. Cocktails cost 9 euros when you could go the cafe outside and get one for 4.5 euro (obviously defeating the point of being by the pool, but just as a comparison). The staff were friendly enough, but nothing special. We went for beers everyday during happy hour and they never made any attempt to get to know us or even say anything other than how much something cost and thank you.

The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Lots of green about, plenty of trees (which we saw one day was home to some real small lizards). Some cats came out at night and in the morning, but very few. We fed one some ham one day, which it was very grateful for.

Away from the apartments the beach was about a 10 minute walk away. There were some beautiful beaches about and the sea was lovely. There were restaurants all around the town but the main bulk of them were about 20 minutes walk away. We like to have a walk, to get some fresh air, take in the site and burn of some of the food we'd had (most places doing perfect portion sizes, we could finish what was on our plate but no more, only having desert once the whole time we were there) so the location was perfect for us. We would come back and go to the Hollywood bar across the road which has free wifi that actually works. It was a lot more expensive than we were expecting though, a Malibu and coke varying from 4-6.5 euros depending on where you went.

Overall, our stay at Santa Rosa was a pleasant one, but not as good a holiday as we've had in the past. As a young adult couple there wasn't too much to do at Santa Rosa itself (there was a game of water polo at 3 everyday if you're interested in that) but it seemed a great place to take children. Staff were not hugely welcoming and treated you like any other guest, the room was good enough for sleeping and showering but we spent as little time as possible in there. If you are just after a cheap holiday then this place will do, but after 10 days we were certainly ready to come home.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liam1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just returned from a ten day stay at the Santa Rosa apartments. The apartments were lovely and clean as was the grounds but quite basic. Stayed in a one bedroomed bungalow just up from the tennis courts. Nice and quite at night. Only tried the restaurant on the grounds once and found it be good value for money and a relatively good choice. Nice restaurants round about for meals and once we had found relatively quick route into the main part of Costa Teguise more restaurants to choose from there. Our two children (10 and 8) enjoyed the kids club and Rosemary was brilliant with them. A bit disappointed with the size of the pool, pictures made it look bigger, and on the first few days there was a bit of arguing going on over sunbeds. A lot of people were putting out towels and then not appearing until later on in the day and as there wasn't enough sun beds to go round this caused bad feeling. Think there must have been quite a few complaints as lifeguard starting taking towels of beds that had been lying for while and then new sunbeds appeared which helped a lot. However, you still had to go down to put your towels on beds to ensure you got the number you wanted and in the place you wanted them. Wasn't very keen on the salt water pool although got used to it and was never that crowded that you felt everyone on top of one another. All in all we enjoyed our holiday and where the apartments were situated. Would definately go there again.

Room Tip: We were in bungalow 1017 which was just up from the tennis courts. Found this area to be quite at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise_M186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Located within walking distance of lots of bars and restaurants, this complex offers a great mix between chilling by the pool and exploring what else is around.

Turns out there isn't much by the way of culture in Costa Teguise, but Santa Rosa has great pool and sunbathing facilities as well as friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere.

It's location is perfect to ensure you avoid any unwanted volume issues from nearby pubs and restaurants whilst also being close to key amenities like the supermarket and numerous sports bars.

I spent the week relaxing by the pool and it was excellent!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CF1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Louth, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was our 2nd year in Santa Rosa.We travelled in a group of 24. We have 3 children aged 8, 7 and 4. Our check in was quick and easy and we had an apartment not too far from the pool. The apartments are on the level which is very safe especially where kids are involved.The apartments were 2 bedroomed and basic. We had a small tv with a few english channels you could put on if at a loose end. The cleaners called 5/7 days which is sufficient with clean bed clothes and towels. We were self catering as like eating out and trying different restaurants daily. For breakfast....the fishermans beside the santa rosa was lovely..2.50 euro for full english or there is a fab little bakery down the street called Damiens that had the most beautiful croissants, rolls and coffee and very reasonably priced. For dinner all restaurants around the Santa Rosa were lovely. We were there for 12 nights so tried them all. In the centre of Costa Teguise there are some lovely restaurants esp El Patio and Divina Italia. The pool side bar in the complex was very clean, food very fresh and cooked in front of you. It could be very busy so sometimes there was a wait but worth it. Staff very nice also. The pool itself was clean and although a lot of reviews complained of it being cold we didnt find this the case but we were there from 4th July to the 16th July so it was pretty warm. There is an indoor pool and gym which was an added bonus and seemed to be all new equipment. Beside this is the luna bar which served nice coffee also. The main reason we returned to Santa Rosa was Rosemary the childrens entertainer. The kids club is only on from 11-1 six days a week but our kids loved Rosemary. She had good english and was very friendly and seemed to have boundless energy. She did water polo for the kids in the afternoon followed by waterpolo for the adults and then a mini disco at night and some form of entertainment. She wouldnt get finished until 10.30 most nights and did this all alone. This is my only negativity about Santa Rosa that Rosemary needs some help and there could be more entertainment for the kids eg a dvd to watch at night post kids disco. As it turns out Rosemary is leaving in August so this will be a big factor in our decision next year whether we will return.

Room Tip: Pool side aparments would be great but hard to get. Rosemary fantastic in kids club but needs more h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sinead R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.7 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#15 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,247 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,703 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Rosa

Property: Santa Rosa
Address: Avda del Mar 19, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#9 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Rosa 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location and Resort The apartment complex is located in Costa Teguise 350m to the beach of Playa Bastian. The town centre is only 1 km away, the capital in 6 km and to the airport only 12 km. The Santa Rosa is perfect for relaxed family holidays and now it is also your destination for a sport and active accommodation. Always thinking on the families it offers a complete entertainment program for children , 1500m2 leisure center with a Indoor Children Playground, ball pond, soft play area with slides, climbs, bridges, face painting, football, play-station, television room, (free of charge) pool table and as well as an professional Brunswick 10 pin bowing alley with 4 tracks .(Charge) The new Sports Center, opened in May 2013, offers you a wide range of sport facilities, a heated indoor semi Olympic pool of 25 meters and one heated 6x6m pool for children and rehabilitation. It also provides a fully equipped Gym with the newest equipment, Fitness room, spinning-bikes, personal trainer, classes of yoga, TRX and much more. To relax after sportive activities you can enjoy the Sauna, Jacuzzi and Turkish bath and sport massage. (Charge) The Sports Center can be used for a small fee for Clients of the Hotel. Accommodation-Apartments 1 bedroom apartments are distributed in a separate bedroom with two single beds, wardrobe with safe (for rent), bathroom with tub / shower, living room with sofa-bed of an individual place, telephone and satellite TV. A fully equipped kitchen with 2 cooking hobs, fridge, microwave, kettle and toaster. The balcony or terrace has furniture. The family apartments offer the same facilities but with 2-bedrooms and 4 single beds, 2 per room. Santa Rosa has rooms and facilities for disabled guests. (Under request) Please, contact Santa Rosa if you need to rent a scooter, wheelchair, etc. Upon arrival. During the stay the cleaning of the apartments is done 5 times per week, with 3 changes of towels per week and 1 change of linen every 5 days. Facilities and Service The reception remains open 24 hours for your safety and comfort with luggage storage and showers, and 4 Internet terminals (charge). Surrounded by a large garden area and a solarium you find the outdoor saltwater pool (heated in winter by solar panels) with separate children's pool and outdoor playground, sun loungers and parasols. Just beside the pool area you have a Snack bar with free Wi-Fi connection were you can enjoy snacks, light meals and drinks. It also features 2 restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner where you can choose between international themed buffet and a la carte service. (Free Wi-Fi) The complex also offers installations to play Mini-Golf, Volleyball, Football, Basketball and Petanque (free of charge) And 2 Paddle-tennis-courts (charge) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Santa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Rosa Costa Teguise
Santa Rosa Hotel Costa Teguise
Santa Rosa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing