We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!!!! Highly recommend”
Review of Santa Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Santa Rosa
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!!! Highly recommend”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My partner and I and 5 year old daughter stayed here from 29th September to 13th October and had a fantastic time .We were allocated room 1100 which is in the apartment block.The room was spacious and had everything you needed for a self catering holiday. Although it overlooked the road we didn't mind at all, but looking over the balcony we noticed a big digger with a kango attached to it. It wasn't until the Monday at 9.00 am we realized the full force of it. The whole apartment block was shaking due to the force of the vibrations.I went to reception and they couldn't have been more helpful and offered us a 2 bed bungalow. So off we went and moved to number 1073 which was more than adequate for the three off us. Ok you had to unplug the microwave if you wanted to use the kettle but we didn't intend to use the microwave anyway. The grounds are spotless and the pool area is fantastic. The pool is salt water and it may seem a little cold when you first get in, but when it is 30 degrees plus who wants to get into a warm pool. The pool bar is good value 2 euros for a large beer and it's happy hour between 4-6 pm which is buy one get one free. Mario the barman in the hotel Bar La Luna is great fun and certainly knows his job!! Rosemary who does all the entertainment is fantastic and my daughter loved her as she does mini club everyday between 11-1 pm.The evening entertainment is low key mini disco for the kids at 8:30 pm. After that it could be a variety of things like bingo where you can win free cocktails or a quiz, reptile show, parrot show and magic show which is great!! We decided to go half board for our last four days and all i can say is its great value 72 euros for three of us, the breakfast is fantastic ranging from fresh fruit to a full english or a continental breakfast. The evening meals are just as good, all freshly cooked and something for everybody. They also have themed nights like Mexican, Chinese and Italian. There are plenty of bars and restaurants right outside the apartments which offer great value. We ate at The Crown, The Cavern, Steptoes and Sausalito which is fantastic!!.Overall i would recommend the Santa Rosa to anybody.

Room Tip: Email hotel and ask for a bungalow .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pricey34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    789
    227
    44
    24
See reviews for
826
859
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a great weeks stay at the Santa Rosa.

We took a taxi from the airport to the Hotel. This was 18.50 euro’s each way.

The reception staff at the hotel are all friendly.and helpful.

Our room was on the second floor overlooking the pool and gardens. The room we had was split level. The entrance hall, bedroom, bathroom and dining area on one level, then down four steps to the sitting area and kitchen. The bedroom had two single beds, large double wardrobes and a dressing table. Dining area had four chairs and a table. The lounge area had a large sofa bed, a large coffee table. There is a TV. Just English news channels, altho’ we never watched any. The door to the balcony opened from the lounge and had a wooden and metal table and 3 wooden and metal chairs.

The kitchen had all the necessary crockery, plates and pans. There was an electric kettle, electric toaster and a fridge. 2 plate electric hotplate. The kitchen was very clean as were all the items in it.

The bathroom was spacious and had a shower over the bath. There is NO hairdryer. The water pressure in the shower was Ok, the water temperature was quite stable The beds are hard, but that didn’t bother either of us. We slept very well. NO air con in the room, which didn’t bother us during our stay.

The maid service left a lot to be desired. You could only tell the rooms had been done as the towels were changed and the bins emptied! Floors left dirty. Towels and bed linen changed twice a week and maid service 5 times a week.

There was 1 pool to choose from which had a kiddies pool. The pool was always cleaned regularly. No loose or broken tiles anywhere. The reserving of sunbeds with towels was very much in abundance.

Happy hour at the pool bar was between 4pm – 6pm everyday. Two large beers, two sangria’s, two coffee’s etc for 2 euro’s.

We had the half board option. There wasn’t a lot of choice, but what they was was very good. Prices of the drinks in the restaurant were very reasonable. My only niggle with the food was that out of 7 nights, pork was on the menu in various forms 6 times. Very little in the way of choice of food for the kids though.

The safe is 2.20 euros per night.

There were 2 PC’s in the reception area. 1 euro for twenty minutes use. Free WI FI was available at the pool bar and the bar next to the restaurant.

Nearest payphone was right outside the hotel. The nearest cash machine was about 150m from reception. The nearest supermarket is about 50m away. Turn right onto the main round and its on the end of the block. Quite cheap too.

The quickest way to the beach and resort centre is to turn left out of reception. Walk along the main road until you see an overhead sign saying Playa Bastian, walk straight down toward the sea and turn left. About a 10 min walk from there to the main bit.

The only downside of this Hotel at the moment is the building work at the rear of the main block. This effects all the rooms in this block. The work went on from 10am to 5pm and the noise and dust were horrendous! It’s a shame the Hotel didn’t let us know about this when we emailed them and when we checked in. Apparently they are building a large swimming pool to accommodate triathlete’s. When we were there they were only at the digging foundations out stage, so loads of work left to be done.

Make sure you ask for a bungalow!

We would want to give the Hotel 3 ½ stars because of the cleanliness of the rooms. 3 is a bit harsh so 4 it will be.

Email address for the hotel - reservas@apartamentossantarosa.com

Room Tip: Email the Hotel before departure and make sure you ask for a Bungalow, bearing in mind the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank The-Docs-Hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at the Santa Rosa for a week self catering in August. Having read the reviews I was expecting a little bit more from the Santa Rosa, but whilst it wont wow you, it is very hard to find any great fault with.

The rooms are clean, tidy and pretty spacious. Terrace areas adequate and furniture fine. Rather annoying to have several electrical items provided, but only one plug in the entire kitchenette area.

Can understand why people have a moan about sunbeds and parasols around the pool as you would have to be up at the crack of dawn to secure a decent possie, but then those that nab them are rarely sighted. Pool bar is good, especially happy hour, and can provide welcome shade in the afternoon.

Overall, the complex was very clean, the staff very friendly and I wouldn't hesitate in returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jodami84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Just home from a week long visit to Santa Rosa and I thoroughly enjoyed my time there.

We arrived quite late into the evening and were given a room at the back of the complex. The receptionist (who was consistently pleasant and helpful) immediately told us that there was work being done outside the room and if we wanted to change the following morning, there would be no problem. This, we did and got one of the little bungalows which I thought were more than adequate, facility wise but perhaps a bit dated looking. However, it was comfortable and serviced every day so can't fault them there.

The food was good (buffet style), plenty of variety and a different theme for dinner each evening. I wouldn't say it was the best food I've ever eaten but it was all freshly prepared, regularly replenished and nicely done.

We didn't go to the beach, despite saying we would as it is very close, but the pool was great. Always plenty of sun loungers although I do agree that there could be more umbrellas/shades. Yes, the pool is salt water and really takes your breath away when you first go in but it is refreshing, especially in the midday sun. The Pool Bar was good, the staff friendly and pleasant. At 4pm, Naomi shout a resounding "HAAAAAAAPYYYY HOUR!", which was really two hours but who am I to complain, when two pints of the local and rather palatable, beer cost the princely sum of 2 euro for the duration?

There were groups of all ages there and I doubt anyone would have felt outnumbered or uncomfortable. There wasn't much night life or entertainment in the complex but there are plenty of shops, bars, etc nearby.

All in all, a great wee spot and I would definitely return and recommend to anyone. .

Room Tip: The little bungalows are definitely the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weefeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here 18th-28th september. Cannot fault the hotel. The pool and pool area were lovely and clean, always plenty of sunbeds, but the pool was very cold and was salt water. Very refreshing as the weather was so hot!! Pool bar was reasonably priced, with happy hour daily 4-6 when the large beers were 2 euro for 2!! Bargain!! Served a good choice of food, baguettes, pizza, burgers, chips etc. We were self catering so didnt use the restaurant but it looked very nice and the food always smelt lovely. Our room was massive! Big flat screen TV, massive balcony and it had a modern decor. It had 2 single beds which we pushed together. Very clean room which was cleaned and mopped if not everyday then every other. We asked for a room on 2nd floor with pool,upon booking which we got, we had a lovely view of the pool. There is no air con in the rooms but you can hire a fan for 2 euro a day and 5 euro deposit. I would highly recommend you do this as it is very hot and we used it all the time. There are no lifts so please dont request a high room if you are disabled or unable to mobilise up stairs easily, it was a struggle in the heat sometimes. Weather was hot - high 20's everyday. Great choice of restaurants and bars near by. The Hollywood bar and grill right opposite the hotel was great for food and played all the football games if you feel the need to watch them on holiday like my partner!!
The only downside to this hotel was that it is a good 20 minute walk into the town along the seafront. Although it is a nice walk and you will find shortcuts like we did it got a bit annoying by the end of the holiday. If you walk down the side of Playa Bastian it leads to the seafront and you can turn left and it takes you into the town. You cannot come this way after 9pm as it is a locked gate with a code for people who live in those apartments. The main town had lots of shops, bars and restaurants - lots and lots of choice for places to eat! There is a lovely little square which is quite hidden and we didnt find this until 3 days prior to leaving. It has a little bandstand where there is always live music and lots of bars and restaurants around it. Look for the big shop called Fund Grube and go down the side of it to get to the square. Lovely environment! Lovely sandy beach in the main town with sunbeds and umbrellas and if you walk along the seafront you will find a cove with clear water brilliant for snorkelling. Plenty of little beaches dotted around the seafront but some are quite rocky.
Overall, we would definately go back here and would highly recommend it. Beautiful island, lots to see and do, lovely hotel which is brilliant value for money - cant understand some of these negative reviews!!

Room Tip: If you can manage stairs rooms on the top floor pool view are more out of the way and very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauradean23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed at Santa Rosa early September with my husband, we had a great time.
Location was fantastic, lots of restaurants and bars on same street as Santa Rosa. Beach is approx 5min walk away and town centre is a lovely 15 min (approx) walk along beach path.

We stayed half board. Breakfast was good, lovely fresh bread, fruit, cereal, and cooked breakfast.

Dinner was ok, but not really to my taste, but is fine for price we paid. We ate in the restaurant 1st couple of nights but went to other restaurants the rest of the week.

The only down side to Santa Rosa is that there is no air condition, but u can hire a fan from reception.

Staff are very helpful and friendly.

Overall we had a great holiday at the Santa Rosa. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms near reception are very quiet and central. Pool view etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikNac_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just got back after 11 nights, this was our 2nd vist in 3 years, and it was just the same.
after all the reviews over this period, I would have expected that the managment would take
on board all the complaints and update, but sadly not.
still only about 10 sun shades to 200 plus sun beds around a very large, very cold salt water pool.
rooms still feel and look very old, the walk into town is o.k in one direction but not recomended with kids, it's just to much in the heat, so get a cab back 3 euro. safe's are extra cost, no air-con in the rooms & 25 euro to rent a fan, you can buy one for less.
Its over a mile away from the main beach, the local beach is dirty, black sand and is only there at low tide. I have no idear why this hotel gets top ratings ? if you give this a 5 star you need to get out more.

Room Tip: if your at the front in the bungalows you get the noise from the pool and bars. if your at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BUTMUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
1.0 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,130 reviews
0.7 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#16 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
#15 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,700 reviews
0.7 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,428 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#12 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Rosa

Property: Santa Rosa
Address: Avda del Mar 19, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#9 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Rosa 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location and Resort The apartment complex is located in Costa Teguise 350m to the beach of Playa Bastian. The town centre is only 1 km away, the capital in 6 km and to the airport only 12 km. The Santa Rosa is perfect for relaxed family holidays and now it is also your destination for a sport and active accommodation. Always thinking on the families it offers a complete entertainment program for children , 1500m2 leisure center with a Indoor Children Playground, ball pond, soft play area with slides, climbs, bridges, face painting, football, play-station, television room, (free of charge) pool table and as well as an professional Brunswick 10 pin bowing alley with 4 tracks .(Charge) The new Sports Center, opened in May 2013, offers you a wide range of sport facilities, a heated indoor semi Olympic pool of 25 meters and one heated 6x6m pool for children and rehabilitation. It also provides a fully equipped Gym with the newest equipment, Fitness room, spinning-bikes, personal trainer, classes of yoga, TRX and much more. To relax after sportive activities you can enjoy the Sauna, Jacuzzi and Turkish bath and sport massage. (Charge) The Sports Center can be used for a small fee for Clients of the Hotel. Accommodation-Apartments 1 bedroom apartments are distributed in a separate bedroom with two single beds, wardrobe with safe (for rent), bathroom with tub / shower, living room with sofa-bed of an individual place, telephone and satellite TV. A fully equipped kitchen with 2 cooking hobs, fridge, microwave, kettle and toaster. The balcony or terrace has furniture. The family apartments offer the same facilities but with 2-bedrooms and 4 single beds, 2 per room. Santa Rosa has rooms and facilities for disabled guests. (Under request) Please, contact Santa Rosa if you need to rent a scooter, wheelchair, etc. Upon arrival. During the stay the cleaning of the apartments is done 5 times per week, with 3 changes of towels per week and 1 change of linen every 5 days. Facilities and Service The reception remains open 24 hours for your safety and comfort with luggage storage and showers, and 4 Internet terminals (charge). Surrounded by a large garden area and a solarium you find the outdoor saltwater pool (heated in winter by solar panels) with separate children's pool and outdoor playground, sun loungers and parasols. Just beside the pool area you have a Snack bar with free Wi-Fi connection were you can enjoy snacks, light meals and drinks. It also features 2 restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner where you can choose between international themed buffet and a la carte service. (Free Wi-Fi) The complex also offers installations to play Mini-Golf, Volleyball, Football, Basketball and Petanque (free of charge) And 2 Paddle-tennis-courts (charge) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Santa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Rosa Costa Teguise
Santa Rosa Hotel Costa Teguise
Santa Rosa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing