We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Santa Rosa & Costa Teguise Review”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Santa Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Rosa
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Santa Rosa & Costa Teguise Review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Just got back last night after a weeks stay at the Santa Rosa Apts.
Before I start I should point out that I am a younger version of Victor Meldrew so bear that in mind lol.
We chose these apartments based on what I had read here on Tripadvisor about all the complexes available in Costa Teguise and I would definitely say that they were by far the nicest we saw whilst walking about. There weren't many others I would have booked in future if I were to go back having now seen some of them, but thats a generality as I guess I was judging based on what I could only see externally, so dont be put off by any others you look at on the net.
We were allocated a 1 Bed Bungalow (1004) which was only 50 yards from reception, handy for getting in and out, not that anywhere was ridiculously far away assuming your even semi fit or able bodied.The downside being the majority of people walk past you on the way to their own apt, I like my privacy but didn't find it too bad in truth. The apartment was tiled throughout, twin beds,tv & phone,kitchen had 2hobs, microwave,toaster,kettle, fridge, all you would need self catering although we ate out every night. Cleaner comes in 5 times a week which for us was a bit overkill but I guess if you have a family it may be needed more, I can't fault the effort though, better too clean than not at all.
I wont go on about all the other facilities as there's plenty of mention in other posts about the pool, pool bar and restaraunt etc, other than to say they were all perfectly adequate to meet most peoples needs, we didnt eat in the restaraunt but the guy in the next apartment to us raved about it as they were staying half board.
The quality of food in Costa Teguise was in general a bit disappointing I found, Im pretty fussy so like my steak pie, pasta bolognese, chicken and chips etc, all pretty boring stuff, but even I found the blandness and low quality of most things being served to be pretty tasteless. In the immediate vicinity the Fishermans Inn was the best in general terms, the Hollywood sports bar does a fish and chips that looked really good (was only ever in there for a drink though), The Crown seemed pretty good for food as well (only had lunch last day before leaving), we went to The Cavern 1st night immediately after arriving and neither myself or my wife were impressed enough to go back to eat there although others seemed to like it, Steptoes gave me a rubber band spaghetti so we only ate once there. The Chinese across the road I had a Lemon Chicken which had no taste of lemon, then at the end of the meal the standard shot of honey rum came with the bill, the glass they serve it in has a "surprise" when you look into it (of the adult variety) which was ok by me but may not be for some, I heard some teenagers (15 or 16ish) by the pool saying about it as well and it seemed that they were also being served alcohol prior to that so anyone concerned just be aware. La Hacienda in the main centre was pretty good and the bloke outside trying to lure you in is full of patter. Our anniversary was on the last night and we went to the place down on the promenade (The Villa Toledo) and it was VERY good, lovely setting, good food, friendly service, should be way higher than 18 on the list of restaraunts on here, in the summer when its a bit warmer this would be a magnificent romantic restaraunt (the wind shutters were down when we were there ). The house red wine was to die for as well, best ive had in years.
There's plenty of entertainment about, Scotty Barnes at the Cavern on a Sunday was good, as was Drew (the owner) at La Vida (although dont ask him to sing Redemption Song when it's not a Friday !) but if you are going to Costa Teguise I would make a point of definitely trying to see both of those 2 if you're into a bit of live performance.
Just about everwhere the local beer (which is really nice) is 2 euro a pint, if the wife hadn't been drinking wine and gins we would have hardly spent anything, but alas she was. Costa Teguise is definitely more for couples and families than groups of single guys or girls.
Hope this hasn't been too much of a rant and been useful in some form, enjoy your holiday wherever you go.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Russ_Broon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    774
    222
    40
    22
See reviews for
802
845
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Just returned from our fourth visit to the Santa Rosa and once again had a great holiday. Asked for an apartment over looking the cactus garden as these get the sun on the terrace most of the day. The apartment was clean and all furnishings were in good condition as usual. The pool area is quiet and there are always sunbeds avialable. If any advice is needed just ask at reception where the staff are always polite and ready to help. Just outside the complex is a good selection of bars and restaurants, The Fishermans having excellent food and is good value, for a drink and entertainment try The Crown just across the road. The centre of Costa Teguise is about a 15 mins walk away for a greater selection of bars, resaurants and shops. Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
438 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

Lovely surroundings, very clean (and quiet) and wonderfully presented. All amenities excellent, food varied and good, and all staff extremely friendly (couldn’t do enough for us). Will definitely return and thoroughly recommend.

Food in hotel very good but lots of alternative choice close by if not eating in. Crown and Cavern bars good entertainment and nice staff. A short walk further (around 20 minutes) is the ‘square’, where there’s lots more restaurants and bars – loads of choice really.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

This was our second visit to these apartments and we were not dissapointed a second time. The apartments have improved slightly, they are now utilising the bar area next to the resturant and we had many a good night in there meeting friends and chatting with Mario.

The hotel is now putting on entertainment in the bowling alley at night and we enjoyed that also, although it is a bit like sitting in a canteen there. It might be nicer that once the entertainment starts to dim the lights to create a bit mor ambience and prevent bowling from being played as this can be very distracting but these are only minor niggles.

The food was good as last time we went, a good choice and all tasted very good. There was always something there i wanted to eat.

We had a better room last time, we were in an apartment last time, but this time we stayed in a bungalow, which are very nice in general but ours was directly oppposite the padel courts and the noise of the ball hitting the glass is a nuiscance. This noise also goes on till quite late sometimes 23:30. You also have limited privacy on your terrace as people who have come to play their sport are constantly walking infront of your terrace.

We did approach the hotel reception about this but they only had two other rooms available and there were no better due to road noise etc.

I like it here but i am not sure we will return for a third time, if we do we will make sure we request a specific room number ( we have kept the map they give you when you check in)

This is a nice complex situated a little out of the town but only about a 5 to 10 minute stroll into the main town. Lots of bars and some resturants are near this complex if you dont fancy the walk.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment if you like space as they are very big. Ask not to be opposite padel courts as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissMeme33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Santa Rosa and can thoroughly recommend it. The staff were very helpful, in particular when the hire car had a flat battery, our fault I think, and the young lady on reception telephoned the hire company and arranged for a mechanic to come out and start it. Not speaking Spanish there is no way I could have dealt with it like she did. We had a 2 bedroom bungalow (1025) and it had everything we needed and was comfortable. It even had free TV with English channels. The only thing it lacked was air-conditioning, which wasn't a problem in December, but I could imagine it could be in a hot summer. The complex is well situated 10-15 mins from the beach, and only a short walk to shops and restaurants and banks. We didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on that but we did eat at the Pool Bar. The food was very tasty, as was the beer. I would certainly return to the Santa Rosa if I visit Lanzarote again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leicesterspire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

Just returned from 2 weeks at Santa Rosa and had a brilliant time.

LOCATION
The location of the hotel is about 5mins walk to the beach and there's a good selection of bars, restaurants and shop within a few minutes walk. I would recommend the Cavern for lunch time meals, night time drinks and entertainment. About 20minutes walk/ 2-3 euros in a taxi (ask for hotel teguise player which is right in the centre) there is a much larger choice for places to eat which for the best night time meals I would recommend. Restaurants are generally very well priced (minus a bad experience with a fish n chippy), 4.50euros got us a brilliant all you can eat chinese and we would also highly recommend the la Hacienda, slightly more expensive but definitely worth it. If you are wanting to stay out late, I'd recommend Jesters. It doesn't get busy until 11/12pm however continues into early hours of the morning. It is family friendly with booths to sit at but also offers a dancefloor.

HOTEL
I found the hotel rooms very spacious and were always clean. The only real fault for our room was that the beds are a touch on the hard side and not the most comfortable. The pool area offered plenty of sunbeds and the pool was always clean. As it is later in the year the pool was a bit cold (as can be expected) and beware it is very salty but you do get use to it. The poolside bar is fantastic with very friendly staff and food available at good prices all cooked fresh. Would recommend the smoothies (3 euros each) and for a huge portion of chips (filled 2 of us some lunch times) it is less than 2 euros. We were self catering however did try the hotels restaurant for breakfast (5 euros). It was good and included a buffet style fry up, cereal, fruit, pancakes and drinks. At reception the staff were very helpful, they can answer any questions and will phone taxis.

ENTERTAINMENT
The hotel offered entertainment through the day with poolside quizzes, games, darts, pool and sports. Mini golf is also free of charge, worth a few games but nothing special and a little run down. On nights entertainment included a magic show, parrot show, bingo, free bowling, reptile show and dj fiesta. Would definitely recommend the magic show which was amazing however bingo wasnt up to much. The bowling centre attached to the hotel offered discounts for guests making a game of bowling around 4euros each (other than thursday nights when it was free).

Overall very pleased with our visit, great value for money!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holiday2k11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

Stayed for 10 days in November in a 2-bedroom self catering apartment. On first impressions our accommodation did look a little bit basic and tired around the edges, however considering the cost of our break we were not expecting 5 star. It had all the usual for a self catering apartment minus a toaster which we asked for at reception and which was popped around the following day. As for a hairdryer, ask at the front desk and you will be supplied with one for a deposit of 5 euros (refundable upon return).
Here is a brief rundown of our accommodation: the beds were OK for us both, however anyone who does not like a firm/hardish mattress may find them uncomfortable. There is a safe in the bedroom, which costs 2.50 euros a day, so not too bad, but in this day and age this should be provided in all hotels as a free service as a matter of courtesy. The kitchen / dining area is more than adequate for a self catering holiday including light evening meals. The maid service is regular and towels and bedding were changed on numerous occasions during our stay. Overall, the accommodation is good value for money. Elsewhere around the complex the reception, pool area and gardens were kept clean and well maintained.
In Costa Teguise itself we tried a number of restaurants with the Indian restaurants always being at the top of our list. 2 reviews for Taj Mahal and Tandoori Spice posted separately.
Getting around the island is cheap and easy, the bus service is OK, however do not rely on the timetables. If you are prepared to wait long enough, a bus will turn up. We went over to Fuerteventura on the ferry from Playa Blanca, which I would encourage anybody to do, but do go under your own steam and save a few euros and a lot of hassle from an organised trip. All in all, Costa Teguise and Lanzarote in general is a good value for money resort guaranteeing sunshine and a welcome respite from the British weather.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnwhgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
1.0 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.7 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#17 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,974 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
#14 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Rosa

Property: Santa Rosa
Address: Avda del Mar 19, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#9 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Rosa 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location and Resort The apartment complex is located in Costa Teguise 350m to the beach of Playa Bastian. The town centre is only 1 km away, the capital in 6 km and to the airport only 12 km. The Santa Rosa is perfect for relaxed family holidays and now it is also your destination for a sport and active accommodation. Always thinking on the families it offers a complete entertainment program for children , 1500m2 leisure center with a Indoor Children Playground, ball pond, soft play area with slides, climbs, bridges, face painting, football, play-station, television room, (free of charge) pool table and as well as an professional Brunswick 10 pin bowing alley with 4 tracks .(Charge) The new Sports Center, opened in May 2013, offers you a wide range of sport facilities, a heated indoor semi Olympic pool of 25 meters and one heated 6x6m pool for children and rehabilitation. It also provides a fully equipped Gym with the newest equipment, Fitness room, spinning-bikes, personal trainer, classes of yoga, TRX and much more. To relax after sportive activities you can enjoy the Sauna, Jacuzzi and Turkish bath and sport massage. (Charge) The Sports Center can be used for a small fee for Clients of the Hotel. Accommodation-Apartments 1 bedroom apartments are distributed in a separate bedroom with two single beds, wardrobe with safe (for rent), bathroom with tub / shower, living room with sofa-bed of an individual place, telephone and satellite TV. A fully equipped kitchen with 2 cooking hobs, fridge, microwave, kettle and toaster. The balcony or terrace has furniture. The family apartments offer the same facilities but with 2-bedrooms and 4 single beds, 2 per room. Santa Rosa has rooms and facilities for disabled guests. (Under request) Please, contact Santa Rosa if you need to rent a scooter, wheelchair, etc. Upon arrival. During the stay the cleaning of the apartments is done 5 times per week, with 3 changes of towels per week and 1 change of linen every 5 days. Facilities and Service The reception remains open 24 hours for your safety and comfort with luggage storage and showers, and 4 Internet terminals (charge). Surrounded by a large garden area and a solarium you find the outdoor saltwater pool (heated in winter by solar panels) with separate children's pool and outdoor playground, sun loungers and parasols. Just beside the pool area you have a Snack bar with free Wi-Fi connection were you can enjoy snacks, light meals and drinks. It also features 2 restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner where you can choose between international themed buffet and a la carte service. (Free Wi-Fi) The complex also offers installations to play Mini-Golf, Volleyball, Football, Basketball and Petanque (free of charge) And 2 Paddle-tennis-courts (charge) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Santa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Rosa Costa Teguise
Santa Rosa Hotel Costa Teguise
Santa Rosa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing