We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience ” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Masala lounge

Masala lounge
Ranked #44 of 194 Restaurants in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Bad experience ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Meal was ok but the service was poor. Meal served on plates that I think had come out of a freezer. Hence the meal went cold. The place was also freezing and every one had to sit with coats and jumpers on.
Would not go back as there is plenty of choice at Costa Teguise for Indian food.

Helpful?
4 Thank Goadsbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    94
    32
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

I really wanted to love this place. I live next to the highest rated curry house in London and previously lived on Curry Mile in Rusholme for 3 years.

I will say that the food was tasty and a reasonable cost, though "expensive" for Costa Teguise. The problem we had was firstly, the lassi was made with off milk and/or yogurt. It reeked!

Secondly, their dansak was like no other I've had. It wasn't even like their description. No trace of sweetness or heat. It was like a Lancashire lamb stew with a bit of ginger thrown in! My partner thought it was very tasty but as a dansak lover I wasn't too impressed.

Overall, lovely service but their idea of the composition of a curry may be different to that of the UK. I would go back if I craved a curry but it isn't comparable to restaurants such as La Tabla or La Bohemia.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank APMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“At last an excellent Indian restaurant in Costa Teguise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

For the past 14 years we've enjoyed one or two weeks sunshine in Lanzarote, wonderful breaks from English weather.

An added attraction has been the superb restaurants in Costa Teguise, in the following order of excellance - Montmartre, Oscars, Navarra. As all these are always busy & are well known for their cullinary expertise,I've never thought it necessary to post on Tripadvisor.

Last week, after reading the posts about Masala Lounge we gave it a try & can confirm the previous posts. This is the best Indian restaurant we've been to abroad & rivals the notable ones in Bradford & Manchester.

Many thanks to all involved

All we need is a top class Chinese restaurant & Costa Teguise would be the top place for a short holiday

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nickwPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

The staff were very polite and helpful and the restaurant spotless we visited twice each time curries were great and adapted to our choice of heat rices very good and large portions enough for two excellent garlic Nan's and wine was also very good all in all would go back again only reason not given a five is that plates were cold and prefer fresh crisp onions with popadoms

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote, Spain
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We went as a group of 7 and were first in . We had to ask for a drinks order to be taken and the meals took over an hour to emerge . Some dishes were excellent and some were quite poor. The restaurant is completely open with no doors and as such got pretty cold .

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank william h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala lounge also viewed

Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
 
Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
 
Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
 

Been to Masala lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing