We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful!”
Review of smartline Ficus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
smartline Ficus
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Second time this year my mother and I have been to the ficus and I am so glad the second was as amazing as the first. Was slightly worried that all the reps but Alex had changed but in my opinion this time is 10x better than before! In and out of working hours Alex, Kim and Liam will do anything for anyone and push themselves to the limits to ensure everyone is having a good time. They work long hours and still find the time to put on their own well rehearsed shows on an evening. They are an absolute credit to themselves and Thomas cook. Feel more like a little family than colleagues making everyone feel welcome.

Iv seen a lot of reviews about the food and drink and yeah I'll be honest it is pretty naff but for an all inclusive value holiday iv seen a hell of a lot worse. Plus there are plenty of cheap good bars and resteraunts a 3 minute walk away.

On that subject I wanna stress how good cactus jacks bar is and how good fuel stop resteraunt is. Amazing food and drink and even better staff and prices.

This is a hotel if you want to join in on a laugh and enjoy yourself. If your a snob and wanna winge go stay somewhere 5* where you feel more at home. For me the location and hotel is great and the reps make the holiday one never to forget!

To end.. Massive thank you on behalf of me and juney to Alex, Liam and Kim. I'm sure we will see you again soon!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    756
    405
    162
    121
See reviews for
765
764
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swanwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Just got back from our holiday at the ficus, me and my boyfriend had a really good holiday here! It was a lovely place, hot weather for april, the staff were all great and the food wasn't bad. For a 3 star hotel i think it was great value for money!
The hotel is right near all the shops, bars, beaches and restaurants! Lovely zoo and water park just a bus ride away… small but good fun and a lovely place! :)
We went all inclusive but as it was so cheap we ate out a few times… we did enjoy the food at the hotel, but the tea time meals were a little similar sometimes and we fancied a change. But it was cheap enough to eat out!
Overall, a fab holiday but i think next time we would go self catering as Lanzarote is so cheap for drinks and meals, might as well get out and try different places! :)

Room Tip: We had a room right at the top which was great because you got all the sun from the top balconies :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DanniD1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Room was very spacious and clean, food was good. Entertainment team(Kimberly,Liam and Alex) worked very hard, I would say they were the best all inclusive entertainers that I have seen. The only let down for the hotel was the fact you had to hire a kettle and t v .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Modern, clean room.
Staff pleasant.
Food was good, plenty of choice for all.
Entertainment by Liam and Kim was very good.
Pool was clean, but a bit chilly.
Close enough to shops and beach.
We had a great relaxing holiday and would consider returning to Ficus.
Gill & Richard

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed here for a fortnight 10th April till 24th,rooms nicely laid out but more for families not a couple. Yes had to join in with the towel saga else no good sun lounger,but we did this at 7.am. Food survived for breakfast and lunch but evening meal out every night,as rubbish at hotel. But to top it was had three cockroaches in the room,not nice would we return NO!!!!!! Woken most nights 1.30 and 4 by people coming in from night out.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Col291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Costa Teguise hotels

Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

This hotel was originally self catering,has been made into all inclusive, apartments are very spacious, with microwave,cooker,fridge( tv to be paid for), but who needs tv when you have the sun, approx distance from beach is 10 mins walk,its a nice walk along the front with lots of restaurants,beaches are man made and very shallow for children, hotel food average, if you like pork and chicken everyday,breakfast is quite good, with fresh pancakes being made, entertainment I would rate 4/10, mainly every night the entertainment staff with silly games and such, couple of brought in entertainers on 2 days,staff very helpful reception good.Get up early if you want a decent sun bed, by 8am every one was taken with someones towel,apartments cleaned a couple of times, and towels changed 3 times in a week.very quite hotel easy to sleep.Poolside toilets not very good ,only 2 ,one was for men the other disabled,again only 1 toilet for men and 1 for women next to the entertaintments bar.small play park for children with a climbing frame and small space for kicking a ball around.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool with large verandas
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks holiday at the ficus. There were 15 of us and we all had a great time.apartments were very clean and modern ,pool area nice and clean as was the restaurant .the food is a bit repetitive but there is always something to eat(even if it was chips on a crusty roll) the alcohol was free flowing as the nips are huge but if anyone going here takes coke or diet coke in their drink I would suggest you buy your own from the spar and take it with you to the entertainment hall as the coke they serve is disgusting. I would request a 3rd floor room as I sat on the sunny balcony all day and was very sheltered from the wind(prob about a difference of 20 degrees between sitting still the pool than on the balcony) ?there is a mama cat with her 3 gorjus kittens live at the hotel so please buy cat food and feed them as I did.one day another injured cat appeared at the hotel and a girl called the equivalent to our cats protection called 9lives and within half an hour she came and collected the said cat,and she is to return for mama cat to take her and neuter her then return her again.kimberly and Liam the entertainment staff were fab and very friendly and were better than the entertainment they brought in.in all we had a fabby week for very little money

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
1.6 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#15 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,247 reviews
1.0 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#6 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,055 reviews
0.2 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#11 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,202 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,745 reviews
0.5 mi away
HD Beach Resort
HD Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Ficus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Ficus

Property: smartline Ficus
Address: C. Hervideros 8-10, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
Hotel Class:3 star — smartline Ficus 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The smartline Ficus is located on the beautiful island Lanzarote and is the perfect decision for a good value holiday. The sandy beach is 500 m away from the smartline Ficus and the city center of Cosat Teguise is around 300 m away. On the island are all towns easy to reach. During all meals, the smartline Ficus prepare a buffet with national and international cuisine. The smartline ice box is daily for two hours available with fruits and ice cream. Moreover, you can enjoy local spirits and soft drinks. The smartline Ficus offers many different activities. You can choose between aerobic courses or table tennis and many other activities. Furthermore, you have the possibility to play volleyball. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your smartline Ficus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ficus Costa Teguise
Ficus Hotel Costa Teguise
Lanzarote Ficus
Ficus Hotel Lanzarote
Ficus Lanzarote
Smartline Ficus Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing