We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be bettr”
Review of smartline Ficus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
smartline Ficus
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Nottingham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Could be bettr”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Returned a couple of weeks ago after 2 weeks here. Overall holiday was value for money, We had room in block 3 top floor - room was clean and maid service 5 times a week, towels changed 3 of those. Food was plentiful and refilled regularly, a good selection although after 2 weeks got a bit repetitive. Generally hotel was Ok,

Couple of gripes..when it rains you cannot get into the show bar without getting wet due to no guttering and the toilets for the show bar are outside so if you go to the loo you get wet going out and coming back in again, plus there is no where under cover to have a smoke. Entertainment is very Hi De hi and not very well done!
Rum (and Coke) in showbar was awful we bought our own bottles to drink..

The day we arrived we went to the room and found there was no electricity so went to reception - Alex immediately accused me of having put a hair dryer or kettle on! We hadn't even started to unpack. This was actually fixed after about 30 minutes. later in the holiday after a morning out and about (lovely resort) we retruned to the room to find the safe open, everything was still there, so i closed it only to find 10 mins later it had opened itself again. Went to complain to reception who informed me we hadn't paid for a safe, so had to go back to room to get the receipt for the hire of the safe. the receptionist rang the safe company and they sent an engineer This all took around an hour to sort out with reception followed by another 45 mins wait for the engineer.
Staff were great (except reception),
Opinion overall - Good value for money, Good location, Good food. Nice Resort.
Would I go back to this hotel - No

Room Tip: Block 3 - top floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KenDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    744
    398
    157
    114
See reviews for
737
758
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had booked the apartment through a well known travel agent, who had told us we were lucky to get an apartment at the complex instead of a room,when we checked out the complex at home we found they were all apartments. The agent had not told us that we would need to hire a kettle, as well as the safe, the TV, remote, and hairdryer. Dont think by hiring the remote the TV works as they are both separate charges. The pictures on the website look lovely and it was had it not been that a bunch of smokers were all stood outside the entrance as we arrived!! The green 'fake grass' around the pool had been ruined by smokers in the past putting out their cigarettts. ( although smoking around the pool is not allowed now). The food was tasty and plentiful if you went in early, and free flowing wine and beer in the restaurant ( some drank far too much) one woman even came into dinner with her slippers on!! I felt quite ashamed to be British at times. The cleanilness in the restauant was outstanding, and all staff looked very clean, and worked very hard, unfortunetly all glasses in the complex were plastic, even in the dining room.
The entertainment was delivered by the tour company and they did their best with what resources that had, we had outside entertainers in three times in a week, again plenty of free alcohol, which relaxed some people too much. Children seemed to be well entertained from 11am. The apartments were clean and spacious, although cold at night ( Feb) even though we used the extra blankets given to us. It would have been nice to have sunbeds and not just chairs and table on the balconies as there was enough space. We felt the British had ruined a lovely complex.

Room Tip: Take your own kettle and hairdryer. Local shop a short walk on the level and car hire. Not good for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelmersdale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

First of can I just say that this is a great hotel, it's clean, staff are friendly & food is great. Admittedly the place could do with a bit of tlc but at the end of the day as long as its a decent place what else matters? Unless you go on holiday to admire the floors, walls & back of the loo....
I don't understand why people say its a awful hotel (obviously they are snobs) #rantover

Anyway, me & my boyfriend (aged 18&21) spent 2 weeks here last summer & had the best time! Room is cleaned everyday, the food was great. I'm a fussy eater & I kept getting up for another plate some nights. The breakfast was great, choice of full English things, pancakes, cereal & fruit. Snacks & ice cream out all day! Staff are really friendly, the reps were great & the room was clean & spacious. It's close to shops & a nice walk to the beach.
10000000% recommend this hotel!!!

& if you go here you must try the blackberry snapps! #nomnom

Room Tip: Top floor block 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AYYJAYPEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed at the Ficus between 7th - 14th February, 2013. On arrival we were disappointed with the accommodation - very tired and in need of refurbishment, which started whilst we were there.
We requested rooms on the third floor (no lift) so if you don't like climbing stairs, go for a lower room. The rooms were very spacious, with separate bedroom which was nice and large spacious balcony, which got the sun all day - lovely! Staff were excellent - reception, dining room and particularly the little man on the bar. Take a kettle if you want a drink in your room, otherwise will need to hire one from reception at one euro a day. The previous reviewer's comments re large family groups does make a difference. Our first 4/5 days there were fine - people dressed up for evening meals etc., it was fairly quiet but at the end some larger family groups came in and the noise levels went up. At the end of the day, it all depends what sort of guests are staying which can detract from your own enjoyment if you let it. Overall, we had a great holiday with friends but would not return to these apartments.

Room Tip: We had a third floor room (3309) which got the sun on the balancony from around 9am - 4pm (February...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just back from a week here. On the plus side, apartments spacious and clean, good choice of food, friendly and helpful staff. On the minus side, for us, decor very tired, building work currently going on, attracts large family groups who can be very noisy and boisterous around the pool side, and the efforts of the entertainment team can make it feel like you're at a holiday camp with 'compulsory' fun. We won't be going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leigh gt manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

just a family holida y at the ficus great time all week good enteraniments team charlotte laura and lee good show and games thoughout the day food and drink on tap very clean apts all over the places was clean would go back again keith and the crew from leigh 7th to 14th

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Travelled 9th-16th Feb as a family of five (children age 15, 13 and 8), we usually book four star hotels and so had prepared ourselves for a more budget break, but we were not disappointed.

Food: was very good plentiful and of good quality lots of pasta, salads and grilled meat and fish, plenty for the kids, including chips at every meal, but there were also options of rice and pasta too. Kids expecially loved the breakfasts with lots of pancakes. I personally would have like to have seen a bit more spicy food but then I understand that doesn't appeal to everyone, however you would have to be very fussy not to find something you like here.

Drinks: generally what I would expect for all inclusive, plastic cups everywhere but then in a family hotel I am happy to see this. I thought the pool bar drinks were watered down especially the cocktails, probably a good idea in the day anyway. Drinks tasted better in the evening especially the cocktails from the show bar. The cola wasn't great but found other things to drink. Local beers, spirits and sangria were ok, didn't sample the wine.

Rooms: probably my biggest complaint is that they were tired, however they were clean. We were told that all the rooms are being updated Blocks 1 and 2 were in progress and all rooms are expected to be finished by the end of May. The refubished rooms look lovely and have lovely walk in wet rooms.

Pool: beautiful pool area but take something to lay on as they do not supply cushions on the loungers. The pool is also very cold but it didn't seem to stop the kids from spending all day long in it.

Entertainment: well what can I say, if you like slightly cheesy family entertainment it is great, but be prepared to join in. The reps, Lee, Charlotte and Laura are brilliant and put a lot of effort into making sure everyone enjoys themselves. They organise activities all day long and we contribute a lot of the success of our holiday to this hard working team who particularly kept our teenagers involved in lots of sporting activities. Charlotte's talent as a singer shone through above the others but generally they were a fantastic entertainment team who had us crying with laughter. Of course, it is worth remembering that the holidaymakers are the ones that make entertainment work so well as so many activities are audience participation, and the fellow guests were lovely.

Staff: no problems and all seemed friendly and helpful enough.

Location: didn't go very far but enough shops, bars and restaurants within walking distance. Was fairly quiet when we were there so I suspect more would be open in the summer months.

Weather: we had a lovely week but Lanzarote has a tendancy to be windy so take warm clothes for the evening.

Conclusion: fantastic, happy, lazy week in the sun, with good food, drink, lovely people and lots of laughs. Would we go back, you bet we would!!!!!

Room Tip: Blocks 3 and 4 overlook the pool and will be fab when they have been refurbished (expcted by end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KimSSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
1.6 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#16 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4,918 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.2 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#12 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,067 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beatriz Costa & Spa
Hotel Beatriz Costa & Spa
#22 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,087 reviews
1.6 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Ficus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Ficus

Property: smartline Ficus
Address: C. Hervideros 8-10, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — smartline Ficus 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The smartline Ficus is located on the beautiful island Lanzarote and is the perfect decision for a good value holiday. The sandy beach is 500 m away from the smartline Ficus and the city center of Cosat Teguise is around 300 m away. On the island are all towns easy to reach. During all meals, the smartline Ficus prepare a buffet with national and international cuisine. The smartline ice box is daily for two hours available with fruits and ice cream. Moreover, you can enjoy local spirits and soft drinks. The smartline Ficus offers many different activities. You can choose between aerobic courses or table tennis and many other activities. Furthermore, you have the possibility to play volleyball. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your smartline Ficus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ficus Costa Teguise
Ficus Hotel Costa Teguise
Lanzarote Ficus
Ficus Hotel Lanzarote
Ficus Lanzarote
Smartline Ficus Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing