We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very homely bar”
Review of Motowns Bar

Motowns Bar
Ranked #7 of 195 Restaurants in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sutton Weaver, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very homely bar”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Motown is a must visit. We will definately go again the food service atmosphere was great we thouroughly enjoyed it. We even had a laugh with people we have never met before but what fun even Rob an Julie teh owners had a laugh with us just fab loved it. We wish them good luck for the future I AM SURE THEY WILL CONTINUE TO THRIVE.

Veronica and Keith Gayter

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Veronica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    100
    14
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“excellent”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

motown was the place for us , good food all day and night , the breakfast was excellent and a lovely place to have tea and relax with a drink after a busy day with the family , one member of our family is a fussy eater and nothing was too much trouble :) thanks to rob & julie my kids felt very welcome and cried when we had to leave on our last day

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 25stephy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not good,would not recommend.Steaks well overcooked!!!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Not sure why this place gets so many good reviews,our experience was one of disappointment.We ordered the ribeye medium and have got to say what we received was a cremated slab of meat..not good!! The owners seem to busy looking after certain individuals rather than the masses.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank luton57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motowns, Owner at Motowns Bar, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your post dated 26th October, we value all the feedback customers can give us. We have been trying to source your complaint about about the steak but there seems to be no complaint made to any of the staff, whilst we understand that sometimes it is a little embarassing to complain, we would expect if the steak was as bad as you have written, some response to a member of staff especially as we take the time to ask if "your meal is ok" and we wouldn't expect you to pay for it.

You have raised concerns that the owners, Rob & Julie do not engage with the "Masses", there must be some mistake about who served you on this night as we both rarely work together on a night because we have a son of 11 and our previous rotas for the month dont put us together until after the 20th october when you were home, we do however like to make sure anyone who visits the bar gets the same experience but of course recognise that in busy periods it is difficult to speak to everyone at the same time, our apologise if whoever was working didnt spend enough time with you.

We have noticed from another 5 star post you gave The Highlander Bar on the 20th october that you had arrived home by then but didnt feel the need to post on Motowns until 6 days later the 26th october?? Are you sure it was Motowns you visited because if i had been to two different bars very close to each other and had one good meal and one very bad i would of reviewed them both at the same time?especially as you rate us terrible.

Im sure you understand we do get competitors writing on here trying to damage our reputation, so we try our best to make sure we have all the facts so we can improve our service, please feel free to contact us further so we can investigate.

we do take your comments on board and will feedback to the staff so we can continue to improve our service.

Many thanks for your feedback BRIAN

Rob & Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We were Rob's first customers, and he made us welcome from the start. We had a brilliant time there,and looking forward to going in January, and meeting Julie.good food, good company and value for money.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j0separr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Two holidays 2013”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Been to this resort twice this year and made this bar our "local. Great food and a big thank you to Rob and Julie for making us so welcome.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Motowns Bar also viewed

Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
 
Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
 

Been to Motowns Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing