We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotetur Puerto Tahiche
Reviewed September 24, 2008

We booked this holiday back in April, and did some research into the hotel. We were quite nervous given all the bad feedback on creepies and poor standards, but we needn't have worried.

Yes, there was one block that had a problem with cockroaches, but it had been closed down completely until it was clear, and we only saw one cockroach the whole time we were there, late at night by the pool. As the complex is closing at the end of September for a refurbishment until June 09, I doubt it would have been on their priority list, as long as no guests were suffering.

Check in was quick and efficient, and we found ourselves with an apartment on the top floor with a fantastic sea view (we only booked a studio, so it was a nice upgrade). The apartment was clean but it was clear it could do with a lick of paint, but that didn't bother us - we weren't there to sit in the apartment. The kitchen was basic - we had fridge, hob, toaster, kettle and microwave. Great for doing your own breakfast, and keeping drinks cold, but we didn't eat in any other meals. But that was never part of the plan - who wants to cook on holiday??

We were directly above the waterfront pub - part of a strip including 4 or 5 English and Irish bars - which bothered me a bit in case of noise, but we didn't hear a thing.

We had a fantastic time, the resort was just what I expected. I've travelled a lot on the Spanish mainland, but this was the first time to the Canaries, and I will definitely go back.

We spent a small fortune on excursions, but they were all worth it, the guides were great, and I thoroughly recommend the Catlanza excursion from Puerto Calero (they have a coach which picks you up free from Costa Teguise) we had an absolute ball on the boat, and the snorkelling and jetski were great fun, and a great adrenaline rush.

I don't know what their plans are for the refurb of the complex, but I would certainly recommend it - the location is perfect, with a back door down onto the promenade at the end of Cucharas beach. Everything is close by.

For a good laugh, I would say go to the Bulldog pub - the entertainment there in the evening is great, and if you like vodka, ask for a double - it comes in a pint glass - half of the glass being filled with vodka and the rest being mixer. Not one for the faint hearted!! We will go back at some point, but since we have covered most of the main excursions, we probably wouldn't go for as long next time.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wanton_noodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Hotetur Puerto Tahiche
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 224 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2008

This hotel is a haven for cockroaches and got worse the longer we stopped there! The hotel was very dirty and lacked atmoshere. We were promised a buffet restaurant and a gym but both had been closed for a long time. The sunbed reservations really drove me up the wall as i have to get up at 6.00 every day for work did not expect to have to do this during my holiday just to get a sunbed. What really drove me mad was some people put towels on and would not use the beds all day.
On the plus side we had no problems with the maids, they tried to keep everything clean.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank amandaCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2008

We had a good relaxing holiday at puerto Tahiche! Had to get up really early in the morning to get your towel down to get a sunbed. The rooms a bit basic. We had a fantastic sea view from our room. A lot of people were complaining about cockroaches, we had some ants in our room, but not too bad. But hey! you only get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank shennyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

we arrived at the puerto tahiche on the 17th of aug,a family of 4 2 adults 2 small children in which 1 was in a pushchair,we had requested a ground floor.they gave us the the keys to what was a top floor,i went to reception to change rooms they said they had none but within in 2 mins they gave us a groundfloor room.We got to our room which a lamanite floor which i have never seen in an aparment b4,it looked very dusty.It came to the the next day kids wanted cereal "self catering rooms" no bowls went to reception the woman was very rude and arrogant,she said they would send someone with some.Still didnt turn up went back an hour later said they wouls still send some never did.We finally got some bowls next day after complaing.The reception staff are really ignorant and unhelpful.Got back to our room one day had a leak,had to wait for engineers to come and chang a water tank! One day the maids came left clean towels didnt change the beds,when i rang reception they said they would send someone yet again,no one turned up what a surprise!The hotel definatly needs a refurb and some new staff,other than that it was situated in a great place couldnt br better,lovely english resturants close by,beach was right in front of our hotel and the weather was lovely.As for cockroaches is wasnt as bad as i thought we had none in our room which was good,we only seen them at night.So wheb u go out be sure to leave all the lights on and you will find you wont get any.The holiday was really good it was just the hotel i wouldnt rate.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nicolaaug2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2008

Hi after reading some reviews on this hotel i was a little worried but i can honestly say we had a great holiday. The rooms were basic but it never said it was a 5 star they were cleaned everyday apart from one, they are a little bit dated but they are closing this hotel to redecorate in novemeber. The pool area was fantastic for the kids they loved it and the dizzy and shades clubes with Anna Banana and Crazy Clare were great my kids loved them! The resort centre is on your doorstep and has everything you would want. The weather was brill breezy but you needed. We would definitely go back to Lanzarote in the future and would stay here again. Your holiday is what you make it!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank juliemcd30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2008

This Hotel wasnt that bad really...........It is as most of the reviews state in need of updating, which I know is happening in october (its being turned into an all inclusive only resort) operated by Blue Bay reservations I believe who are most visable within the complex selling their holidays.
Anyway on arrival we were given probably the smallest apartment on the complex right in the corner bottom floor with a sea view (Think it was in block 4) you honestly couldnt swing a cat in there and there was NO sun all day at all on the room. A complaint swiftly made its way to reception to be told there were no apartments available but persistence paid off and another apartment was allocated ...top floor pool view which was spot on. It was clean and tidy but as stated earlier was in need of a refurb (damp in bathroom and bedroom wall probably through poor use of the shower curtain) utilities were basic but what more do you want on a S/C holiday. The balcony area would be my only serious complaint......There were pigeon/dove droppings all over the front wall and close to the patio table etc...not good for peoples health im sure.... Pool area was cleaned every day as was the pool..rooms were cleaned everyday bar one. The sunbeds ....Ive never laughed so much as to that of mainly British holiday makers out at all hours reserving sunbeds with towels ....the hotel needs to enforce its no reserving rule to give people a chance to get a sunbed (or do as someone did while we were there. take the towels off thru the night and drop them in the pool.. was quite funny to hear the comments of the people who owned the towels). The resort itself is ok but theres not much variety in the shops. Places to eat ...we did quite a few Breakfast would be either Splash or the Lighthouse....best value and a decent size for your money.....evening meals 3 stand out El Patio in the main square at the back of the complex ( near the lighthouse) was really nice, a little expensive if theres a few of you and was always busy so you do feel a little rushed when your in there to get finished . Then there was El Pescador also in the square opposite El patio.... was a nice fish restaurant, food was good though and so were the prices only thing is there are only 2 waiters so service was a little slow but they more than make up for it with their friendliness and the HUGE wooden carvings on their walls, then probably our favorite The Dona Lola which is near the little cove (just down from the Occidental hotel) Had a sea view , staff were friendly , food was good (especially the fish) and had a nice atmosphere, food portions were quite big too for 3 of us to eat there 3 courses each plus drinks we struggled to spend more than 60€ a time and came away feeling more than satisfied ..... If you like a tipple ...there was the Brandy Well pub in the hotel well worth going to the happy hour for the 2 for 1 on san miguel........OR a little bar called Bar Chispas which is in the square right next door to El patio. Sangria was made " in house" and the happy hour went on until 10 pm . The owners were also friendly (british) and knew how to pour a drink ha ha ..

Dont be put off by a lot of the negative points in this review or many of the others, its a good hotel which will be better when its refurbed.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jellybean030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2008

Ok where do i start with this one waited in reception for over 40 mins at 2300hrs and a 5 and 3 Y/O, When we finally got a key for the room we walked across the lovely pool area but had to avoid the massive black cock roaches that seemed to be patrolling the pool area, We were located on the second floor with no lift facility. This was a nightmare getting up with the 2 young ones and the trolly inflatables etc.
Once in the room i turned the light on to hear my mrs scream as the cock roaches were scurrying across the kitchen worktops and under every little space they could get there bodies into.
The Ants were crawling all over the worktops it was absulutely disgusting. I opened the balcony door my little 3 Y/O boy went out and leant on the Wooden balcony and it moved so much it nearly snapped 2.5 stone in weight that was a Big Health & Safety scare.
We went and complained and was told we can move rooms but in the Morning at 1000hrs.
After the reps meeting we went there and asked and the room was not ready, 1700 hrs we finally got a key so first day was wasted messing around there.
The second room was better but only just, Still had Cockroaches and Ants but i managed to get in before the Mrs so she wouldnt freak out, This room was ground floor sea view so nice there however the blocks sewer pipe run through our toilet area so everytime somebody in the block went toilet you could hear it so loud it woke you up all night,
Sheets changed 4 times in the whole 2 weeks sometimes the kids sheets were not replaced we had to go reception and ask.
No Brush or any cleaning equipment in the room so got very messy if you had a day on the beach.
Then after all that im not against the Scottish but i think they seemed to forget it was a Family hotel, The shouting all night banging screaming until 0400-0600 was really really annoying and trust me there was loads of them i felt like saying Puerto Del Carmen was up the road stay there, All in All a Bad experience but we did make it good, The hotel was ideally located next ot beach, shops ,and restaurants, The shops were repetitive after you had been in one you have seen them all. One thing i will warn about this Hotel, Its very very windy (Not Breezy) WINDY its nice with the heat dont get me wrong but if you have Kids watch them near doors when you have the Balcony windows open as the doors will slam really really hard and could not just take fingers off but maybe even a hand. The Hotel rooms are very very basic with some plugs having live wires hanging out so watch the liitle kiddies around them.
On the Plus side the Reception staff are nice and Helpful the Bar is good with Happy hour 2 for 1 from 1900-2000hrs everyday and 2300-0001.
I was told by the staff that the hotel is closed from October 2008 until February 2009 to have a total refurbishment costing 2-Million pounds.
I hope i have not worried you more of a warning what to expect really.
One last thing if you want a bed around the pool you need to be getting up at around 0530 to place a towel on the sunbeds, the hotel says dont do it but everybody does, If you want a bed reserve one.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank para4892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.0 mi away
Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach
0.4 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
#11 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,774 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oceano Apartments
Oceano Apartments
#24 of 38 in Costa Teguise
540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotetur Puerto Tahiche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotetur Puerto Tahiche

Address: Hotetur Puerto Tahiche Calle El Janubio 2, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Costa Teguise
Price Range: $130 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apartments are located just on "Las Cucharas" beach in Costa Teguise. Their spacious gardens and leisure areas are perfect for a family holiday full of sun and beach fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotetur Puerto Tahiche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotetur Puerto Tahiche Hotel Costa Teguise
Puerto Tahiche Lanzarote
Hotetur Puerto Tahiche Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing