We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoilt by lack of attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vitalclass Lanzarote Sport & Wellness Resort
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a week’s stay at the Vitalclass.
As a senior contributor, I am struggling to write this report, but here goes.
It’s like the curate’s egg, good (nay excellent) in parts and poor in others.
The good parts.
Quiet (if that’s what you want), excellent pools, great choice of breakfast and spacious apartments. As others have said it’s out of the town, but the 20 minute walk was not a problem to us. We just loved Costa Teguise.
The bad parts:
No lifts, so you have to drag your cases up two flights of stairs. Our patio doors didn’t lock. (Not a major problem as you would need to have been spiderman to get onto the balcony).
The bathroom was totally enclosed in the apartment and there was no ventilation. There was a slight ‘drain’ smell all week in the bathroom.
The lighting in the bathroom was poor, simple remedy is a light above the mirror.
Both the kitchen and bedroom windows opened onto the passageway outside; hence you could not open your bedroom curtains.
It’s advertised as self catering, but the crockery and cutlery is very basic, only 3 sets.
There is no oven, no microwave and only two electric rings. This did not bother us as we ate out for the week but it would be a problem if you were there for any length of time and wanted to self cater.
There is only one plug point in the kitchen and the bedroom. There are two in the living room but one has a lamp in it and the other has the massage chair plugged in.
There are no tea/ coffee/milk in the kitchen; you need to bring/buy your own. There is no teapot.
The curtain rail in the kitchen fell off every time we tried to open the curtains.
They charge 2.5 Euros a day to use the safe in your apartment, just not on.
I booked wi fif for the week at 12 .5 Euros. It does not work at the back of the resort, beware, it only worked on the balcony.
When we got back to our apartment on the Sunday afternoon, out key card would not open the door. The duty manager came up and also could not open the door. He got the maintenance man and he could also not open the door. We sat outside for nearly 3 hours before they managed to replace the door lock unit. We were offered an extra day in the health suite which we refused and were given our wi fi free for the week. Not even a free drink whilst we sat waiting - again not on.
We didn’t find the staff at all friendly despite what others have said on TA. The head receptionist was bossy and aggressive. Don’t even try to take your breakfast out onto the tables by the pool. They are paranoid about people stocking up at breakfast for the day. You have to leave bags at reception.
We didn’t find that many cyclists staying whilst we were there and indeed it was quite refreshing to see a few well toned people.
Would we go back, definately yes. Vitalclass is just spoilt by the lack of attention to detail.

Room Tip: South facing room on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ceclowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

728 - 734 of 1,167 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed for a precious short week in November 2012. I was somewhat surprised at the classiness of the place, having booked a relatively cheap package trip.

Breakfast and dinner buffets are noble spreads indeed. With chefs standing by to accommodate your wishes. The staff is excellent and professional.

My room was so-so. A westish pointing ground-level affair with a somewhat depressing kitchen. It did, though, allow me to make a few friends among the local feline inhabitants (tip: if you don't like cats - go somewhere else.)

The "city" and area (at least this time of year) is relaxed and not heavily touristed. But what really rocks my boat is the options for running and cycling. Most roads are not awfully busy and there are some real gems with excellent tarmac in peculiar hilly landscape.

All in all, a great place to relax and work out.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Th0maz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel caters for an international clientelle, and specifically for sports enthusiasts (we saw a lot of cyclists both at the hotel and throughout Lanzarote). That said, there is no reason why anyone shouldn't enjoy the superb restaurant and accomodation complex - there is no expectation that you will make use of the sporting facilities/classes, which are provided at an additional cost. There didn't appear to be anything specifically for children and very few families were there during our stay, so due to this and the hotel's location probably not the best choice for a family holiday but great for adults. We stayed on a half board basis for 10 days and had a really big suite (2nd floor - room 2205) with a very generous south facing balcony that provided the perfect sun bathing spot (weather permitting). The drinks were very reasonably priced, and the food choices were exceptional (and many choices freshly cooked for you individually). One exception was the coffee which was truly awful, so my tip would be take your own if you are a coffee drinker! If you like typically British "holiday" food of pizza, burgers, chips etc then this is definitely not for you. The whole complex was very clean and looked like it had recently been decorated, and all of the staff we dealt with (reception and restaurant) were very helpful and friendly. We hired a car which was easily parked next to the hotel, which is on a corner, so parking was an option along both the front and side. The hotel is about a 20-30 minute walk from the main centre of Costa Teguise which is fine on a sunny day, as you walk through public gardens down to the promenade which takes you through to the more tourist-concentrated far side of the resort. This is not so good if you are not so keen on walking, and as there is absolutely no "entertainment" (other than keep-fit type classes) provided at the hotel, so in the evenings this can be a draw-back. The wi-fi was free in the reception area or in your room for a daily or weekly charge. The bedroom deserves a special mention - the beds were really comfortable with memory-foam topped mattresses and feather pillows I think - together with the quiet location it all made for a very good night's sleep :)

Room Tip: If you need lift access to the 2nd floor make sure you state this, as the 2nd floor can only be reac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Siouxie_and_hubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a week at this hotel. After reading reviews I emailed the hotel direct requesting a specific room or something similar and were given room 3201 and weren't disappointed. The balcony was huge and when the sun was out it was on our balcony. We asked for sun loungers for the balcony and within minutes 2 staff arrived with them. There was no kettle in the kitchen but we just heated water in a pot. The bathroom towels were very thin and water not always hot enough but these were the only faults we found. All staff very friendly. We went for a quiet relaxing break and that is what we got. Used Resort Hoppa for transfers and cost just over €14 return for 2.

Room Tip: Contact hotel direct with your requirements. Rooms ending in 1 seemed to have largest balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just returned from a week half board at this excellent apartment hotel. we stayed in room 5202 which only had the sun on the balcony in the morning. The apartment itself was all you needed for self catering, so had we not been on half board we wouldn't have needed for anything. the lighting in the bathroom could be brighter but thats nit picking.
The outside ares were clean and the pools looked inviting but were as advertised cold so didn't use them, there was never any shortage of poolside beds. We didn't make use of the spa facilities even thought we had a free pass maybe next time.
The Restaurant was very good we were allocated a table for our use throughout our stay, the food was excellent, salads to die for with freshly cooked to order fish meats and pasta, I know some reports mentioned cold plates and over cooked vegetables but they did not put us off the otherwise very good food, The only downside to the restaurant was the staff shortage, the staff who served us were some of the best I have come across but there were just not enough at times, Please General Manager take note they need help!!
The reception was friendly and efficient we were greeted with a cool drink on arrival which was a nice touch, (some 5 star hotels could learn from this) we were quickly checked into our apartment and they were always ready to help book tours and taxis for us.
The hotel was spotlessly clean throughout with our room being cleaned daily with towels changed unless left folded on the towel rails . Pool towels were free from reception just sign and return.
Lots of the TA reports mention the walk into the main area as being about twenty minutes it is however a very nice stroll along the waterfront and you will need the walk to exercise after your meals !
We are a recently retired couple who just wanted a relaxing break from the uk weather found a cracking holiday in Vitalclass Costa Teguise
May we take this opportunity to thank all the staff who made our stay so pleasant.
Yours Sincerely
John and Chris
room 5202 21st - 28th Feb

Room Tip: any number which ends in 1 ie 5201 or 5\6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjgbseadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent a week her in February and were impressed with the hotel. The furnishings in the apartment are simple but the unexpected space, both inside and on the balcony was a real bonus.
The staff were all fantastic, and we did make a lot of requests at reception, these were dealt with efficiently by a number of different staff. The food was mostly very good, the only diappointment were the vegetables - these were invariably overcooked - after a couple of evenings, I just avoided them and opted for the salad side dishes instead. The hotel was VERY quiet in the evenings, so I would suggest taking a taxi to the main resort after dinner, or maybe taking some DVDs with you! Would not go back to Costa Teguise, but this is no reflection on the hotel itself.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the bedroom window does not open onto a walkway/landing, if like me you like to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AliD9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

12th - 19th Feb. Allocated a large first floor suite over looking pool with distant sea view, 3 outdoor pools with large sun terraces. Food and restaurant excellent plenty of variety for breakfast and evening meal,stayed on half board basis which was more than enough. Due to excellent weather visited but never used indoor pool, spa and gym which were both superbly equipped, if you're into fitness and workouts look no further than this hotel. Overall best value for money hotel we've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philg05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.5 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#11 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,905 reviews
0.5 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,286 reviews
1.2 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#4 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#6 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Sea Costa Bastian
Blue Sea Costa Bastian
#29 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,765 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Beatriz Costa & Spa
Hotel Beatriz Costa & Spa
#19 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vitalclass Lanzarote Sport & Wellness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vitalclass Lanzarote Sport & Wellness Resort

Address: Avenida Palmeras no 15, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Teguise
#6 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#12 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: $86 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vitalclass Lanzarote Sport & Wellness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vitalclass Lanzarote is a newly remodeled and retrofitted Resort with the latest technology, is fully oriented Sport, Health, Beauty and Wellness. It is unique in the island, offers the possibility to prepare for competitions both high performance and subsequent recovery or simply to enjoy a different vacation. The location is unbeatable, as good weather prevails throughout the year.In addition, Vitalclass Lanzarote has aspring climate all year round, that becomes a big advantage against other destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Vitalclass Lanzarote Sport & Wellness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitalclass Lanzarote Sport And Wellnes Resort
Vitalclass Lanzarote Sport & Wellnes Hotel Costa Teguise
Las Marinas Hotel
Las Marinas Club Resort Lanzarote
Marinas Club Lanzarote
Vitalclass Lanzarote Sport & Wellness Resort Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing