We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Sea Costa Teguise Beach
Ranked #37 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
south wales
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“better than expected”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

recently returned from 5 days at the blue sea beach costa teguise and had a great time,
We were dropped off a short walk from the hotel and I was already anxious after reading the previous reviews but we soon realised there was nothing to worry about - the rooms were basic but clean, initially they had arranged for us to be on a ground floor but I requested a room on first floor as I was anxious about being on a ground floor as it was only my daughter and myself and they changed this straight away without question. easy check in, we were all inclusive so didn't require any appliances for the kitchen but people were complaining they didn't have any and had to pay extra but they were self catering and could upgrade to all inclusive for about 15 euros a day and you could spend that on a few drinks.
It was in an ideal location- short walk to the beach few pools no problem with sunbeds - there was a separate area a German company had bought but these were nearly all empty when we were there- we spent our day by the main pool near the beach which had a bar - the bar man did double up as a waiter in the restaurant but we didn't wait more than a few minutes - the cups were very small so we bought a packet of large plastic cups for 1.25 and used these as they were double the size so less trips to the bar. Drinks were same as everywhere we've been all inclusive-- local spirits etc
The Food was fine - always warm and could make a meal - lovely salads and desert were a little strange but ice cream and fruit available.
the only thing that was disappointing was there was no entertainment in the evenings - the pool bar closed at 9pm and the manhatten bar opened at 9 and all inclusive finished at 10pm. There was a bird show one night which started at 10.30 and lasted 20 minutes but nothing else not even a mini disco - it was in term time and there was not many kids there but it didn't appear to be geared for this even if there was more kids there but we met lovely people and had a few drinks before bed early.
we booked a boat trip which I would recommend = there's a small booking place just a few minutes walk they advise you which ones a best suited to what u want - we wanted one geared for kids and that's what we had- it was all inclusive catamaran which the staff dressed as pirates- made a fuss of the kids and gave them bandana's and some colouring - a treasure map, there was a free jet ski ride and snorkelling with a slide to get into the sea or steps if u prefer- take plenty of sun cream tho as it was particularly hot and the colouring was given when we stopped and the kids spent short time under the cover - great idea.
a few people we met went to the market and said it was worth a visit, and there were other trips available .There are a few shops around with the usual tat all within walking distance.
we had a great time and if I was looking for a few days in the future and the fights suited I would return as apart from no entertainment we couldn't fault it.
A few people complained of the odd cockroach - we didn't see any but your in the canaries so this is expected

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clareandsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    456
    408
    264
    359
See reviews for
379
803
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I just returned from this hotel, staying there nearly two weeks. Was surely a mistake to stay at this hotel! We had half board.
-To start with the rooms, we moved three times btw. First room we were given was the ground floor room not even facing the pool nor the beach. The room needed a good deal of renovation, the bath tub was disgusting. All yellow and nearly falling apart. Waking up in the middle of the night to see two huge cockroaches by our bathroom.
After that bad night we went next morning to ask for a room change. The staff were very unpleasant, and barely wanted to listen what we had to say. They really didn't care much, but we insisted so we got anther room, higher floor.
The second room was better, but still very old and in need of renovation. Next day the reception called us up saying that we need to move since they want to make some fixes in the room. So..or the third time we were changing rooms.
-Our third room was ok like the second one, but dont know why all of their toilets are horrible.I tried to avoid touching around too much. Who knows how clean they really were since its hard to see behind all of those yellow stains. Oh and btw, for the first day, we had only yellow water going out from our shower, When we complained they told us that the room wasn't used for over half a year so the water needs to run for over half a day to be clean. And it did take more the few hours to rinse it thru.

-Food, as I said we had half board. Its was more then enough. The food was over cooked and very greasy. Most of the time I just had bread and butter, and some cheese. it was the tastiest thing there.

-Staff, absolutely not friendly and dont care about you being comfortable there. They barely want to speak with you and help you.

-Swimming pool, never went in, since it looked like it was never cleaned thru. At the edges it looked so dirty that I was scared I would get a disease if I went in. I used the beach only.

Usually I expect less and get more out of the hotels I stay at, but this one hit the bottom. Basically it a dump!

I wont be returning there that for sure.

Hope this can help.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank goodtimes675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Sea Costa Teguise Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear guests,

We are surprised at the nightmare you have related in your review. Regarding the room you were told it had not been used for over half a year, it seems hard to understand that you were given that information, as the complex always has high occupancy.

We regret that you found your experience unpleasant, and we thank you for your review.

Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Costa Teguise hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013

As someone said the biggest part of relaxing beach holidays its allways a hotel you stay in!! And its so true!! From the moment we arrived till we departed was horrible!! Reception is complitelly not a guest friendly, complitelly rude ( well not if you are spanish) They just giving you a key no smile no intrest in you dont care if u requested deferen room type! Lie in your face that they r fully booked as you could clearly see many rooms were free! We have changed the room 3 times during our stay! first one we got was ground floor facing main entry! Stinks like h... where in the middle of the night my partner woke me up as there was 3 hugh cuckroches in the bathroom!!! So folowwing morning we requested new room on a higher floor! way smaller than appartment we had and paid for! bathroom looks like someone vomit all around, the cant afford the paint or what? then folowing morning we been ask if we could move as there suppose to be some work donne in our room so we did to a simillar room! where suprise suprise black water running from the warm taps! after going to reception and showing her vidio ive made no sorry nothing u can move to a previous room! yea at 12am!!!??? so she send a maitanance man in the morning we went for all day trip so been expected to have that fixed when we come back! but supprise water still was black! so recpetion again! same girl playing stupid, and sending maitenance again who checked the water and said the boilers where cleaned so the water will be like that for the next 3-5 days! what?? so why you checking ppl to the rooms like that?? complitelly pissed off asked to speak to the manager and the girl told me that there is no duty manager on a site till monday (it was wednesday) excuse me how come there is no manager on a site for a whole week??? after longer argument I just gave up and will wait till monday then witch i havent been able to do so anyway as apperantly manager left before i was able to speak to him! but the girl in the desk gave us a gift 3 day before depareture a free wii fi!! really???? witch dosent work when i loged in! thats just just no words...!!!those ppl only care to take the money from you and nothing else! if you want to watch tv you have to pay 40E if you need safe key you have to pay 30E, room r beeing cleaned every second third day( if you can call it cleaning) restaurant was ok breakfast food gladly im not a cooked breakfast eater looks just horrible so sticked to bread and cheese, dinner you can clearly see they reusing everything what have been left after breakfast! salads or rice with chooped breakfast sasuages, bread reused for garlic bread, all veg complitelly overcooked so we decided to mostly eat outside even tho it was paid off but sorry dont need a food poising in the end! So if you planning to visit Costa Tequise never ever stay in this hotel!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mirror20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Sea Costa Teguise Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear guests,

Thanks for your review. We would like to say that we respect all opinions, both good and bad, that is why we wish to receive the same respect that we give.

Having said that, we believe that, instead of depicting the situation as horrendous, it would have been wise that you asked for a hotel change, as obviously you did not like it.

If you read the other reviews, not everybody thinks the same, as a holiday experience is subjective.

Best regards,

Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stotfold
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Having just returned from the Blue Sea Costa Teguise Beach Apartments on an all inclusive holiday with my partner and step-daughter, I thought I'd share my honest opinion!

Don't be put off by the bad reviews. We had a very pleasant week and if you keep an open mind and realise that you get what you pay for then you can't go wrong.

The rooms, although basic and in need of a refurb, were comfortable enough for us. After all, it was about a relaxing holiday in the sun so we used the room as a base which was more than adequate for our needs.

The pools were lovely, No fighting over sunbeds. And as for the location of the hotel, it was spot on for us. Lovely walks along the seafront to the many shops, bars and restaurants and stunning views.

It would appear that many reviews had been written about how disappointing the food was and the bar service. Well all I can say is we found no fault whatsoever with the food. Yes, sometimes the combinations you get are different, but in a good way, not a bad way. And we are abroad afterall (if I wanted egg and chips then I would have stayed at home). Breakfasts in particular were lovely ... so much choice, and there was always plenty of salads to choose from every single day.

The staff, in my opinion, work very hard and yes, sometimes you did have to wait at the bar to be served, whilst the bar man doubled up as a waiter, but only for a few minutes.

All in all we had a great time and yes we would go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Sea Costa Teguise Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear client,

We thank you very much for your fantastic review focusing on the positive aspects, and with an aim to enjoy yourselves. We believe this is how a holiday should be spent!

Looking forward to receiving you again, best wishes.

Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We went to this hotel in September 2012 and had a fab holiday so we decided to return again as the staff were very friendly and the hotel was very clean We booked all inclusive which was a waste of time as there were so few staff we could not get served at the bar very often and when we did get any service we were only allowed 2 very small plastic cups at a time. The food was quite bland so we ended up eating out on several occasions. There were freak weather conditions when we went in June, it was very hot in the day but very cold at night but due to lack of staff they couldn't open the bar inside until 9pm so we had to freeze outside in the beach bar .Even when the inside bar was opened the staff hadn't had the time too restock so spent the majority of the last hour of all inclusive disappearing to get more stock .This meant you were lucky to get one drink after 9pm as all inclusive finishers at 10pm.The cleanliness of the hotel was also very sparse we had to ask for clean towels after 4 days and there was also food left on the floor of the beach bar for several days The tables were also not cleaned and were covered in caked on ice cream ,.We did complain several times but it fell on deaf years We have since been advised that the hotel has been partially taken over by a German company. This company has obviously spent a lot of money on refurbishing some of the rooms and outside areas and these have been done to a very high standard however you only have access to these areas if you booked with that specific company . We paid for an all-inclusive holiday but ended up spending a lot of money eating and drinking out. AVOID THIS HOTEL IF YOU EXPECT GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE AND CLEANLINESS.

Room Tip: Book with the German company
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sharon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Sea Costa Teguise Beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear guest,

We are grateful for your return to our hotel in Costa Teguise, and we are sorry to hear that you have not been so happy this time as before. Regarding the towel change, it is up to you to leave them in the bathtub, for us to change them.

Best regards,

Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at these apartments, kitchen is non existent 1 frying pan and a large stew pot, if you need a kettle you have to hire this for the week along with TV, Sun bed matteres and iron just glad that I was half board and had no need to cook.

The food is OK nothing special but I found something to eat each night, microwave was a godsend as the food is only warm unless it is fresh out of the kitchen. The staff on the front desk did not come across very friendly but the staff that serve in the restaurant and bar work very hard but could do with more help as they cannot be in 2 places at once.

The bathroom is very poor, linen is almost see through, the room is tired and in need of a makeover with plug sockets hanging off, our room smelt very musky until we opened up the doors.

If you are looking for a chaep basic stay in a good location then this place will feel your needs. a word of warning if going to the Teguise market on Sunday take something warm as it is very cold up there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laineygirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Sea Costa Teguise Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear guests,

We thank you for having chosen this tourist establishment of Costa Teguise, and we wish to add that the apartments are equipped with all the necessary kitchenware and household; if you need extra utensils, they have a charge (you are informed of this at check-in), you are free to hire them.

Many thanks, and best regards.

Customer Relations Manager for Lanzarote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed here with a friend for 5 nights at the end of April, into May 2013
Very basic accommodation.
Swimming pools looked clean enough, were not heated, very cold water
Apartments were 1 bedroomed with twin beds, bathroom very basic kitchen and lounge.
As with lots of these apartments the decor and furnishings were very worn out.
Apartment appeared clean ish, lots of dust built up behind wardrobe louvers.
No Bugs inside that we could see, we were not bitten.
Kitchen has a working under counter fridge, two solid hotplate rings and a handful of utensils. We took our own kettle
You probably would not be able to manage a week self catering if you planned on cooking.
TV was at a charge,
Paint on balcony was peeling which is fairly normal for this sort of property.
Enough hot water for 1 person to shower. Bath had been painted rather than replaced
Staff were expected to run several areas at once which would mean that you could be waiting 15 minutes for the guy to return from the kitchen to sort out your drinks. Some people helped themselves
drinks were served in plastic cups, hot chocolate was my drink for the holiday as the weather was so cold.
My friend had sangria and beer and said it was drinkable.
FOOD - COLD- AWFUL Buffet style food system - for those of you that are thinking about going All Inclusive here - Don’t do it _ Food cold -familiarise yourself with the microwave at the end of the buffet as you will need it for every single meal. Without this I think we would have to have eaten out for every meal.We survived but luckily for us we were travelling as friends without our children. My children are not fussy at all but I don’t think they would have eaten much here at all.
There are plenty of restaurants and spa shops in the area and prices varied but typically were the same as in the Uk
Hotel is positioned on the beach path. There is a access to the beach from the hotel grounds. However on the day we walked along the hotel decided to lock the beach access and we had to try to find our way back to the main entrance.
Dutch animation girl trying to learn her English - bless her - she did get us to have a go at shooting

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusyMum404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
0.7 mi away
Blue Sea Costa Teguise Gardens
Blue Sea Costa Teguise Gardens
#36 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,836 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oasis Lanz  Beach Mate
Oasis Lanz Beach Mate
#32 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,026 reviews
12.2 mi away
Blue Sea Los Fiscos
Blue Sea Los Fiscos
#79 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,723 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue Sea Costa Bastian
Blue Sea Costa Bastian
#29 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oceano Apartments
Oceano Apartments
#24 of 38 in Costa Teguise
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sea Costa Teguise Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Costa Teguise Beach

Property: Blue Sea Costa Teguise Beach
Address: Avenida Jablillo 5, Blue Sea Costa Teguise Beach S/N, 35509 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Punta Jablillo)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Sea Costa Teguise Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea Costa Teguise Beach is located in a privileged area of ​​Costa Teguise, on the seafront, just off the beach surrounded by gardens, parks and close to the best shopping and facilities area. Costa Teguise is one of the main tourist areas of the island. It is a beautiful city that offers numerous sporting activities with golf course located between the volcanoes and the sea. The destination is also well known for its great beaches and water park. All the apartments are equipped with bathroom, balcony / terrace, equipped kitchen, safe, satellite TV. To make your stay as pleasant as possible, Blue Sea Costa Teguise Beach has an outdoor pool , sun terrace and pool bar. We also provide customers with the All Inclusive system , free bus service to the beaches and shopping centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Sea Costa Teguise Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Blue Sea Costa Teguise Beach Hotel Costa Teguise
Punta Jablillo Costa Teguise
Punta Jablillo Hotel Costa Teguise
Blue Sea Costa Teguise Beach Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing