We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,025)
Filter reviews
2,025 results
Traveler rating
601
891
346
109
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
601
891
346
109
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering atlantic bar these apartments sea view bars and restaurants junior suites block room pool bar reception staff great apartments great holiday no lift can't comment on the food half board cooking facilities kids club main pool
Filter
Updating list...
746 - 751 of 2,025 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2016

I am disabled and all though there aren't many lifts the staff went out of their way to help me. The food was superb and the cleanliness of the rooms was brilliant. From the manager, receptionists,chef(Pablo),waiting staff and cleaners, the respect and help from these people were second to none.

Room Tip: Higher floor opposite the bar
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 44patricia2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2016

As we are both retired now we decided to try a longer than normal stay taking all of January at the galleon playa and we're glad we did.

the hotel is situated at the bottom end of the village close to the beach. it is surrounded by shops and cafes and restaurants.

we had read previous reviews which suggested trying for an apartment in blocks 9/10 which has a lift to the upper floors so we e-mailed early and were given room 359 in block 9. the balcony is quite small but is big enough for the table and two chairs and clothes drier, it benefits from being in the sun from morning all through the afternoon. we did try sunbathing on the balcony using the sponge base from the rooms' settee but much preferred being by the pool.

the furniture and fixtures are basic but acceptable although the bed has a quite thin mattress and is a tad uncomfortable. the kitchen is fitted with two electric hob plates, fridge, microwave and has all the basic cutlery and crockery you need. we asked for an extra frying pan which was not a problem and we brought cereal bowls from the restaurant to supplement. we always take a range of seasonings (salt, pepper, chillis, mixed herbs etc) as the cupboards are always cleared at the end of your stay

there is a television in the room for which you pay twenty euros for the remote control, having read previous reviews we were aware of the poor selection of tv channels so we brought a laptop with loads of films etc which we played through the tv using an hdmi lead.

you have a safety deposit box in the bedroom wardrobe which cost us fifty two euros for four weeks use plus a deposit of twenty euros refunded when we returned the key.

you can hire wifi per day (6 euros) and per week (15 euros). while we had an excellent signal there were a couple of people who weren't so happy. there is a free ten minute logon onto the 'Packed' system to test your signal strength before buying. we were able to stream british channels (radio and tv) with no problems. we only found out in the last week that if you book four weeks wifi you only pay for three.

the rooms are cleaned four times per week on alternate days excluding sundays. the sheets are changed at least once and the towels are changed every two days or if you leave them on the bathroom floor.

when we settled into the room we found that the shower head was faulty (spraying sideways), the lamp on the balcony had a faulty bulb and we had to ask for an extra pillow. all of these problems were resolved immediately.

we chose the bed and breakfast option at Β£6 per person per day from jet2 and were happy with the range and quality of food on offer. you can choose from a range of cereals with additional nuts and fruits as supplement, fresh fruits, continental meats and cheeses, yoghurts, breads and a toast machine that actually worked with one cycle through. the 'full english' range included hash browns, spanish potato omelette, scrambled eggs, grilled tomatoes, mushrooms, streaky and back bacon,nice baked beans, sausages (as close to Richmond as I've had abroad) and fried eggs which invariably had soft yokes (the chef would flip the fried eggs for you if you prefer a white top). in addition there were small pancakes with jams and syrups to finish off. as ever you are discouraged from taking food from the restaurant but you could always sneak out a couple of the small cakes on offer to have with your mid morning coffee.

there are two main sunbathing areas, one for the kids and another for adults although not exclusive. there are loads of sunbeds which have been newly replaced this season. we were generally the first at the pool at around ten o clock and always got a good space. as you can imagine, given the time of year, the pool water was quite cold despite one of them being heated. in a previous review someone complained about the loud music being played at the pool which must have been taken on board by the entertainment staff 'cause you could barely hear it when we were there.

there are four grocery outlets in the village, a hyper dino express and a small spar with larger versions of each supermarket at the top of the main street. you should get most of what you want but if you want more there is a eurospar (a very big version of the village spar) just a short taxi ride away.

there are many many restaurants. I can personnaly recommend the 'slow boat' Chinese buffet (4.95 euros per head), the masala lounge indian which does an 8.95 euro set meal and 'shutters on the beach' which does an excellent fish and chips deal and an equally excellent rib eye steak deal.

Room Tip: blocks 9 and 10 have a lift to upper floors and have sunny balconies.
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank bigneilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2016

We visited as a late January break to escape the post Christmas weather. The aparthotel is situated next to the beach right in the heart of costa teguise. As with the majority of similar places it's a bit tired and tatty in places but for the budget price paid it can't be unfairly faulted. It's a pleasant place to stay.

The rooms

Some of the rooms have sea view, some pool view, and some land view. We had chosen land view as we were looking for a budget getaway. Our land view was of the slow boat budget Chinese buffet. Not the prettiest of views but they close before midnight and don't make much noise except when putting the rubbish out. In hindsight we would have chosen a pool view as some of the sea view rooms are above shops and restaurants. The room itself was spacious and well equipped including kettle, toaster, hob, microwave, and a range of clean crockery and cutlery. Cleaning and towel change is offered Monday, Wednesday, and Friday which we found quite adequate. The shower worked well and apart from a swiftly fixed boiler breakdown we had no problems. The fixtures and fittings are definitely on the budget side but this is what we expected. As with most Spanish hotels the bed mattresses were made of something hard and uncomfortable but we discovered the foam sofa beds in the lounge which were 100% more comfortable to sleep on.

The facilities

There are 2 pool areas, one designed for adults and one for children. The majority of sunbathers sit in the adult area where it is more sheltered from the wind and the pool is heated. Even though this area is enclosed there is a good amount of sun from around 10:00 am until 5.00 pm weather permitting. The sun loungers are new but no more comfortable than the average lounger! There is also a kids club available for those with children. There were 38 steps to our room which kept us fit. (we did request a high floor so we couldn't moan). Wi-Fi is available for 15 euros for the week but do bear in mind there are no Virgin media like data speeds on Lanzarote.

Food
We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and found the spread to be very satisfactory on the whole. There was a good selection of hot and cold foods to cover all tastes including British style bacon and sausages. Also a good selection of fruits, cold meats, cereals, and breads. We did not eat any other meals in the hotel as there is a very good selection locally of reasonably priced restaurants and cafes.

On the whole
This was a cheeky extra cheapy holiday that we booked late. We expected to thaw out a bit from the British weather, eat well, and feel safe in a relatively quiet environment. On all these counts we were not disappointed. The Galeon Playa is a clean and safe budget hotel ideally suited to people aged 30 to 100+

Room Tip: Choose pool view
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ZacFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2016

Room Tip: Don't bother with the television
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 2, 2016

Arrived on 17th January to a very warm welcome from the nice lady on reception we were given a map to find our room no230 in block 6. big apartment,south facing balcony (great in January but could be a bit hot in summer) the apartment was quite large but with basic cooking facilities.State of the apartment was reasonable but very clean.We stayed self catering so cannot comment on the food but I can't understand why anyone would want full or half board as there are so many good restaurants in the area, you can get a great meal for two for around 25 to 30 euros. overall a great holiday

Room Tip: block six has no lift so if mobility is a problem ask for a ground floor apartment
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank happytripper789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews