We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget appartments in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Budget appartments in a great location”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Appartments are basic no frills at a good price; clean, spacious and in a great location. Staff are excellent, friendly and helpful. We had booked for a sea view room but that block does not have a lift so be warned if you cant manage stairs, changed rooms with no problem and a refund, Only realyl negative comment we have is that the mattresses in our room were very uncomfortable though other guests said theirs were ok; perhaps we should have reqested they be replaced as some refurbishment was being made. We will book again at this complex.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have no lift access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anth695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALEONPLAYA, Director General at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Anth,
Thank you very much for your opinion. We are changing all the mattresses from the apartments. In your next stay you will have a new mattress.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    749
    300
    95
    70
See reviews for
624
753
46
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

I stayed a week in this hotel during the February half term. The location is perfect, las cucharas beach is few minutes away but the one opposite the hotel was also great. The staff is very helpful, the entertainer will go the extra mile with all the kids and during meals the restaurant waiter and waitress couldn't have been more attentive. We absolutely loved every minute of our holiday. Only negative comment is that if you were a vegetarian you wouldn't find much choice at the restaurant.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Gema G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALEONPLAYA, Director de Recepción at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hello dear Gema G

Thank you for your comments about our complex and the staff!

We are going to tell the cheff you suggestions about the vegetarian food .

Big hug from all the Galeon Playa Staff!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Hotel is in a great location, nice pool area, always easy to get sunbed, but apt is so dated and old ... Fridge half broke, wardrobes ancient ! You really have to be easy going to put up with room, luckily I am, staff very good, and some nice bars and restaurants few minutes walk away, but something about the hotel .. Would I go back ? Yes... I liked it

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALEONPLAYA, Director de Recepción at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hello dear Robert B

Thank you for your feedback.

We are refurbishing apartments step by step , we rae changing the fridges and other items as the tv for example, so we are sure that by the time you come back you will notice the difference for good!!

All the Galeon Playa staff hope to have you back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

I've been to the galeon playa three times now as a single lady traveller. I booked a one bedroom pool facing apartment and this year was given room 218 in block E. The apartment has a spacious lounge and balcony with a kitchen diner area, bathroom and twin bed single bedroom. Everything I wanted was in the apartment including kettle, toaster, fridge and microwave. Cutlery provided was adequate but I only used for making tea, coffee and salads for lunch. I arrived at 8pm using last minute travel who were fabulous and just me in the pick up vehicle do from airport to hotel 30 mins tops.

The apartments are basic but they are clean with plenty of hot water and electricity. I would recommend a safe for your stay cost 13 euro per week plus 20 euro returnable deposit. This is not cos of any safety issues, more peace of mind really.

Staff very cheery considering they are up before 6am cleaning and often you see the same faces at 6pm but they always smile and say hello.

The galeon playa is situated at the end of a 250m strip of shops, bars and restaurants. I only ate out at dinner time due to budget and have reviewed a few restaurants nearby,but splashed out on a breakfast on my final day it was lovely at 3.60 euros for full English with coffee.

Give this place a try I'm back next year again ad I find it relaxing once the weather settles in late March..... Enjoy.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
7 Thank ChickenKebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALEONPLAYA, Director de Recepción at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hello dear ChikenKebab,

Thank you for yiour nice comments about us!!!! It means that you really enjoyed your stay with us and that s the best reward we can have!

We hope to have you back soon again with us!!!!

Big hug from all our staff!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My Partner & I have just returned from 10 nights at The Galeon Playa. I was a little concerned before we went when I read the negative reviews this hotel had received in the past but I should not have worried. The apartment was spacious and spotlessly clean. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The pools and poolside looked lovely though we did not use them ourselves. This apartment complex is in an excellent location close to the beach and there are lots of bars and restaurants close by. I would definitely recommend you give this a go.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carnation22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALEONPLAYA, Director de Recepción at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hello dear Carnation22,

We appreciate you nice coments about us and our complex and we thank you for it.
It incourage us to work harder everyday to make the stay of our guests as nice as possible.

Greetings from all the Galeon Playa staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel is in the great place of Costa Teguise, in the quiet part of center, nearby the see and quiet small sandy beach. The rooms are simple but clean and fully equipped. The walls are thin, you´ll hear every noise from neighboring or upper room. The staff is helpfull and nice. The pools are very cold, however one of them is "heated." What is really poor is the food - we had a half pension. The breakfast is every day the same, something like the english breakfast but prepared by very cheap and poor quality foodstuffs. The really shamy is the dinner where most of dishes are really inedible. Fortunately there are many good restaurants in the surroundings so we forgot our half-pension, mourned money for it and enjoy the dinner outside. In conclusion: Galeon Playa is the hotel with the good rate for good services, but forget the eating there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kma70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALEONPLAYA, Director de Recepción at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hello dear Kma70

Thank you for your feeback.

Concerning the food at the restaurant we changed all the staff at the buffet a few days agio so by the time you come back we are sure that you will change you mind about the food that know has a lot more variety and quality

Best regards from all our staff! amnd we hope to see you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just returned last night after a lovely week. The Galeon is in a good location and the apartment was clean and had everything we needed. We had Room 151 in Block 8, this was on the ground floor and it was great to have our own terrace so we could have our sunbeds either on our own private section, or sit outside our little wall if it got too hot in our "garden", with the convenience of being able to nip in for a drink or bathroom. Weather was ok while we were there, a chilly wind but lots of sunshine, and our terrace was just out of the wind, which was great for the morning and early afternoon until the sun moved around and we were in the shade from about 3 o'clock.
No grumbles whatsoever with location; HiperDino supermarket right outside and a cheaper Spar just up the road. Lots of bars on the "strip" along the main road near the apartments and just 5 minutes walk to "the square". The bars closer to The Galeon were great for a nice afternoon drink in the sun, just out of the wind, people-watching, and watching the sun go down.
We had a car for a couple of days pre-booked before we arrived from Cabrera Medina who have an office just near The Galeon, but there are so many car hire places within a few minutes walk, we'd probably shop around a bit more next time.
The Galeon has wi-fi which you can pay for in your room but we just used it free in reception and in various bars around the area. We didn't pay for the TV remote because you can work the TV "manually" anyway, and the only British channels are Sky News, CNN, BBC World and Nickelodeon. There is a small lounge in reception which has magazines/books to swap if you get bored.
On the whole, we were very pleased with The Galeon and would definitely stay again BUT our big grumble was on our last day; we wanted to keep our room for an extra few hours and would have been happy to pay the 30euros for this but they insisted they had no rooms available, even though it seemed obvious to us they were not busy at all, the complex was most definitely NOT full! So, grudgingly, we decided to make the best of our last afternoon, go for a meal and drink, and then return for a quick shower in the changing rooms before our flight. The showers were FREEZING! Okay, so there are towels and toiletries there (which I assume people have left behind) but surely it wouldn't be too much to ask for a hot shower before you go home?!
I would have given this place 5 stars for everything but the disappointment of our last day shaved the "service" rating down to a 4, although this is no reflection on the staff themselves, everyone was friendly and helpful for the whole week.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cyberspacekadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALEONPLAYA, Director de Recepción at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hello dear CyberspaceKadette

We appreciatte a lot your great comments about our complex!

It is very rewarding to know that you enjoyed your holidays in our complex!!!

We regret that you couldn´t have a late check out the last day of your stay but we were full and it was impossible for us. Many customers tell that the complex doesn´t seem to be full but it is!

Big hug from all the Galeon Playa staff!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
1.5 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#16 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4,916 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#12 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#6 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,999 reviews
1.4 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,428 reviews
0.6 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Galeon Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Galeon Playa

Property: Apartamentos Galeon Playa
Address: Avenida Del Jablillo S/N | Costa Teguise - Lanzarote, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Galeon Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on seafront, next to the beach Jablillo and a few steps from the beach of Las Cucharas. We are an ideal family resort with 139 apartments and 35 wonderful new Junior Suites. At Galeón Playa, you will enjoy our pool, restaurant, children´s club and other attractions for adults and children. Visit us and enjoy your holidays in Lanzarote with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Galeon Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Galeon Playa Hotel Costa Teguise
Apartamentos Galeon Playa Costa Teguise
Galeon Playa Lanzarote
Apartamentos Galeon Playa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing