We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The location of the Galeon Playa was very good – close to all amenities, and over the road from a lovely bay, with flat walks in both directions along coastal paths. Reception area very clean and well kept with Internet access, a pool table to the side and a ‘library’ area, with about 5 books! Below ground near the squash court you will find lots more books, why these are not upstairs I have no idea and I didn't find them until the end of my holiday. We went in February 2013 and it was cold, very cold some days and I hired a heater from reception for 15 euros a week. The outside areas were very good with two good size pools and nice sunbathing areas, all set out lovely. The accommodation was basic, as people have said before and in need of refurbishment, but it was clean, not spotless but clean and spacious. The cleaners came every second day with towel changes. There was everything you could want for self-catering, no oven though and only 2 cooking rings. Silly things, like making sure kettles and toasters are in the apartment before you arrive, more than one plug for three sinks, light bulbs checked etc would make a big difference and take very little time. I must add that as soon as you ask for anything you get it immediately, thanks to the excellent reception staff who are very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. We went half board and the breakfast I would describe as 4 star – it was lovely, everything you could want all set out from a central island. Evening meal not to everyone's taste but always something to eat and the chef would cook you anything that you asked for if they hadn't got it on the menu – the service was excellent. The restaurant overlooked the sea and was spacious, you never felt crowded. The restaurant staff I can only describe as 5 star, wonderful friendly people who did everything to make sure you had a great holiday. Well done Olivia, Santi and José.
If you go with the idea that it will be basic, and look past the small silly things that are wrong, then you will have a nice holiday – the positives outweigh the negatives by far.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room as for one near the quiet pool - they are near the children's play area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vickd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALEONPLAYA, Public Relations Manager at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear vickd,

About your comments, We gonna ask to change our library and bring all the books to reception. Thanks for your feedback and regards from all the staff, specially from buffet. See you next year? We hope!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,255 - 1,261 of 1,799 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

Initial thought about Galeon Playa is that the reception looked a bit tired, how ever the staff are friendly and helpful, there is a good sized pool and the apartments themselves are very spacious with a good sized balcony.

We were initially on a street side room which unfortunately suffered from a lot of noise from the bars as the dragged their bins to the near buy communal bin area between 1 and 4 am but we were moved to a much quieter part of the complex when i mentioned this with no hassle at all.

The apartments are literally a 30 second walk from one of the many beaches in the area, next door to a supermarket and very close to loads of places to ear and car hire.

Great bathrooms with a bath and shower

The mattresses on the bed were a little thin however.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALEONPLAYA, Public Relations Manager at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Hello Scott B,

So sorry about the noise from the street. We hope to see you soon at Galeon Playa. Thanks for your comments.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just returned from the gallon playa. We booked full board but the evening meal was horrendous , the breakfast was ok but you got the same food every day. If you have to go to the gallon just stay self catering cos the resorts boast plenty of restaurants begging you to eat there. The apartments were in a bad state of repair my husbands mattress was that bad he had to sleep in the lounge on the sofa I put up with mine but my back was in pieces. The drain smell from the bathroom was a strong egg smell which was not good. These apartments have great staff receptionists are excellent but they need money spending on them asap. They are in such an amazing location we had sun on our balcony all day it's such a shame they have been neglected

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liz d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Arrived back home on the 19th January after spending one week at the Galeon. Room was basic, but everything worked as expected. Stayed in block 4 on the second floor and the noise of glass bottles smashing in the recycling center across the road was quite irritating, but we could have moved to a different room if we'd wanted to, but the room was cleaned 3 times during the week (bed's were not changed once I might add). Plenty of restaurants and bars close by, very close to the beach. Overall I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Avoid block 4 unless you like the sound of smashing bottles!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neizt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALEONPLAYA, Public Relations Manager at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Neizt,

Thanks for your feedback. We care and write your comments about clean. We hope to see you again.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We booked here last minute on the same day we were due to arrive, availability and price was excellent.
We got 2 cots no problem and was told we could ask at the restaurant for high chairs, but we didn't bother as the location is so good you can have all your main meals out at some lovely restaurants everyday. Room was basic, but clean with a separate bedroom and a living room with a small kitchen, 2 hobs, a microwave and a fridge.
The staff are friendly and helpful. We would recommend this place as there is lots to do on site and in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank IDG80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALEONPLAYA, Public Relations Manager at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback. We hope to see you again.

King Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

just returned from a week staying here. Apartment was clean and comfortable.

We were selfcatering. Supermarkets close by selling plentiful supplies to cook breakfast. We ate out in the evenings.

WiFi was excellent at 15 Euro for the week.

Reception staff very helpful and organised hire of a wheelchair.

Very close to the seafront, less than 100 yards.

all in all we thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to Lanzarote, I'm sure we will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank krisskross1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALEONPLAYA, Director General at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear customer,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We hope to see you again at Galeón Playa and still have their confidence.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Arrived home 11th feb after 1 week. Weather was a bit chilly, but for February it was great and definatley got a bit of a tan. The apartment was clean and spacious. Managed to confirm with the hotel before hand to get a sea view! The view from our room 260 was magnificent, looking right across the harbour and beach. Locality to shops and beach was excellent. Literally 1 min away. Lots of good bars and restuarants. Will be back hopefully!

Room Tip: Room 260 has great sea and beach views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leyanpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALEONPLAYA, Director General at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear customer,
We like you had a good stay at Galleon Beach.
Thank you for your fidelity, and we hope to return.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
1.5 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#12 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,577 reviews
1.4 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,956 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#14 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,293 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Galeon Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Galeon Playa

Address: Avenida Del Jablillo S/N | Costa Teguise - Lanzarote, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: $59 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Galeon Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on seafront, next to the beach Jablillo and a few steps from the beach of Las Cucharas. We are an ideal family resort with 139 apartments and 35 wonderful new Junior Suites. At Galeón Playa, you will enjoy our pool, restaurant, children´s club and other attractions for adults and children. Visit us and enjoy your holidays in Lanzarote with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Apartamentos Galeon Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Galeon Playa Hotel Costa Teguise
Apartamentos Galeon Playa Costa Teguise
Galeon Playa Lanzarote
Apartamentos Galeon Playa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing