We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suited us for what we paid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Guarapo Apartments
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The apartment was clean and comfortable enough equipment for basic self catering which suited us as we only ate breakfast in the apartment. No air conditioning though. It was in need of an update but the grounds were very well maintained and very clean and tidy. The pool was cold but clean and large enough for the apartments. We had a ground floor apartment which didn't really have a view, the higher floor apartments appeared to have nicer views. As stated in other reviews there is a beach at the bottom of the road but we used the promenade for a lovely walk to the nicer beaches or the walkway at the side of the apartments into the town and shops and bars and beaches. We found some lovely restaurants and can recommend La Hacienda and El Maestro and the bars in the square are nice to sit in of an evening we used La Magma quite a bit. We used the free wi fi in the bars we used in the evening. There are markets twice a week in the evening in the square. We food the price of the food and drink to be reasonable and had a lovely time in the resort.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms had a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debster005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGuarapoApartments, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Guarapo Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2014

Thank you for taking time to review El Guarapo !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 493 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

having stayed at el guarapo, for the past 4 years ,have been a bit disappointed this time ,just got home last week ,
there are too many cats about , as people keep feeding them , ,and they tend to have a lot of flys about.
also we have allways liked these apartments , for the quietness , and allways older people , ,
but they are starting to have children there now, and they can be very loud, they were running round the dinning room , while we were trying to eat, and also could not relax at pool , as they were too loud shouting and screaming all the time.
its a shame as the apartments are nice , but I noticed there was a lot of people saying they would not come back again , if there were going to be children there

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank howard3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just back from a week at El Guarapo. Apartments where modern and bright. They where in a great location and central to all shops, bars and restaurants. Now for the negative, we had ants in the bedroom and spent all night killing them There is no air conditioning and as we where on the ground floor we could not leave a window open of a night, also there where no shutters or bars on the windows.This is needed as an apartment above us got broken into. It is very uncomfortable to sleep at night, Also I wanted to connect to wifi and was informed there would be a charge for the password,, All the bars and restaurants quite happily give you the password for free. Also there was no courtesy shower room to get changed before flight home and if you have an evening flight this is not good,

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slimming2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just returned from El Guarapo apartments on Friday 20 September. We would certainly recommend these apartments; they are clean, comfortable and a stone's throw away from the centre of Costa Teguise. We had an upstairs apartment, number 41, which was at the other end of the complex from the pool and the on-site restaurant, and was quiet and peaceful. The staff are very helpful and friendly, especially the gardener/maintenance man and Antonio, the restaurant/bar owner, who is a real gentleman. His food is fantastic, plentiful and very, very reasonably priced - some of the meals we ate there would have cost three times as much in the restaurants in the resort centre. When we were leaving for the airport he even phoned a taxi for us which was waiting at the complex by the time we got outside! We were also adopted by three cats, which we didn't mind so much as we love cats.

As for Costa Teguise itself, it is a nice relaxing resort that is couples and family orientated. The Pueblo Marinero, facing the main Spar and the Taxi rank, is where we spent most of our time socialising. There is often live entertainment but it can be quite difficult to get a seat early on in the evening. There are some really nice restaurants there, including 'El Patio' and 'La Hacienda', and the pub we visited most often was 'Ireland's Eye', which did a tasty pint of Tropical.

Overall, we were delighted with our stay at El Guarapo and we will be back. ¡Volveremos pronto!

Room Tip: Have a meal at Antonio's pool restaurant - you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DeclanEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGuarapoApartments, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Guarapo Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2014

Thank you very much for posting your review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here for a week as a base for a scuba diving holiday with Calipso diving down the road. The apartment had all we needed - nice patio and lounge area to chill out in while we went through our day's photos and log books, basic kitchen which we mainly used for storing breakfast and lunch items and a decent sized bedroom and bathroom area with bath and shower. The bath and outside drying area on our private patio were particularly useful for rinsing and drying our swim stuff and dive gear!

There are plenty of supermarkets within 5-10 mins walk of the apartment that stock plenty of fresh fruit, fresh bread etc and bottled water is very cheap. If you like diving, Calipso diving are also only 10 mins walk from the apartments and can pick you up on your first day so you can transfer your dive gear to the centre and will also run you back with it when you have finished your diving.

We decided not to use the holiday package coach transfer as we were already delayed by 3 hours due to Monarch plane problems and didn't fancy waiting around and stopping at several other hotels en route. A taxi to / from the airport from el Guarapo is about €22 each way and was worth every penny! the taxi dropped us off right outside.

As we were so late arriving, the reception was closed (as per other posts, they keep quite sporadic opening hours!). However, Antonio was expecting us and directed us to the apartment which was open with the keys there ready for us. We only had a quick drink on arrival at the bar and a bit of lunch on our last day at the on site restaurant as we were mainly self catering and eating out around town in the evenings, but saw Antonio every day and he was very friendly and helpful.

The pool is not heated, so a little 'fresh' but nice enough and plenty of sun loungers. It would be nice to have more of the adjustable sun loungers and also cushions for them. We only spent a bit of time by the pool as we were out diving most of the time, but I can imagine if you were sunbathing every day, they wouldn't have been all that comfortable - we saw a few people had bought lilos to put on their loungers! Also even though you pay for use of the Wi-Fi, it can be quite slow and sometimes difficult to connect. However, if you speak to reception, they reset the server and it then runs and connects much better.

There are plenty of restaurants nearby and we enjoyed a variety of Tapas. The Friday night market is also worth a look for reasonably priced arts and crafts. Costa Teguise has a nice relaxed feel and the area has plenty to offer for a week, had a great time here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FayeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGuarapoApartments, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Guarapo Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Before i start with the negatives i have to say the one redeeming feacture of this place is Antonio the restaurant manager he is a star and really is a first class gent,so now to the neagtives well firstly we got dumped at the bottom of the road byt he coach because apparently the roads to narrow to get up,upon arrival the reception was deserted and if it hadnt been for two guests who kindly told us to climb over the desk because our keys might be there which by the way they were that was whent he alarm bells started to ring ,we then had to wait 2hrs for Antonio to arrive to tell us which room we were in as there were two sets of keys,be aware the reception closes at 3pm on friday and does'nt open till sunday at 9am disgusting customer service if you aske me,then when we got to bed the room was so noisy from the guests above we couldnt sleep ,i can truthfully tell you their toilet habbits and their sex life habbits thats how bad it was,we went to complain as we had requested a top floor room as we paid for superior room which we later found out comprises of a cheap bottle of wine a bottle of water and two threadbare beach towels,when we asked to be moved we were told the hotel was full so we couldnt be moved until 2days before we left then the only room available was right nest to the noisy people above us what a waste of time that would be ,we had been there 4days when we asked for clean towels and were told they only changed the towels every 4days cleaned every 2 days and worst of all changed the bed every EIGHT DAYS!!, which explains the disgusting stains on the undersheet on both beds,also upon checking out which is a joke because once again there was no-one manning the reception we just had to dump the keys in a box outside the reception and thankfully once again the wonderfully helpful Antonio gave us the deposit for our safe out of his own pocket,as far as i can gather if its your first visit there you get treated like crap but the more you go the better room you get which i can honestly say i would not stay there again if it was free !!take my advice from someone who's stayed in Lanzarote before avoid El Crappo a.k.a Faulty Towers unless you want to a part of a "Carry on" film

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ukshuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

we have been going to this complex for over 20 years and we love it, so do are children and are grandchildren.the staff are lovely,friendly and helpful. we try to visit a couple of times a year and always receive a warm welcome from the staff who have now become are friends.the apartments and the whole complex are kept in tip top condition and the food in the pool bar is second to none.we are due to visit again in a couple of weeks can't wait and here's to the next 20 years.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGuarapoApartments, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Guarapo Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
#10 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,827 reviews
1.2 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#12 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,731 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#6 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
1.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,113 reviews
0.6 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Guarapo Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Guarapo Apartments

Address: Calle Tabaibas 10, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#10 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#11 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: $67 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Guarapo Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"El Guarapo" apartments is a beautiful complex of 50 units renovated, in Costa Teguise and a few meter from Playa Bastian, where you can relax to the maximum on your holiday. We are located in Costa Teguise, one extends Lanzarote tourist area well connected with each of the important points of the island. Enjoy our spacious 1 bedroom or our 2 and 3 bedroom apartment overlooking the sea. All fully equipped with safe, hairdryer, telephone and free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your El Guarapo Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Guarapo Apartments Hotel Costa Teguise
El Guarapo Apartments Costa Teguise
El Guarapo Apartments Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing