We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Coronas Playa
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Flintshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Best holiday we have had. Couldn't fault any part of hotel. We are definitely going back there again. Anybody who complains about this hotel and the staff need to go and try some of the places we've stayed in. The staff are so pleasant and helpful. The hotel is spotless. The entertainment team work hard but can't please everyone. Only criticism would be they could do with comfier sun loungers.

Room Tip: we stayed in a sea view suite. fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank donna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,276
    718
    268
    60
    31
See reviews for
155
1,856
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (980)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Myself and my partner (a couple in our 30s) booked this all-inclusive week-long holiday on the Tuesday and flew out on the Thursday. We were met by a Thomson rep at Arrecife airport and directed to the correct coach. The transfer only took approximately 15 mins but at no point during the holiday did we notice any planes flying over the hotel. On arrival we were greeted with a drink while a porter took our bags to our room. The reception staff were English, helpful and friendly. In fact, at no point during the holiday did we experience any language barrier.

Our room was huge and spotless, and situated towards the rear of the hotel, near the sea. This meant we got a great night's sleep every night and were not disturbed at all during our stay. The air conditioning was also quiet and made the room a pleasant temperature. The resort of Costa Teguise was only about 15 mins walk away; there were a number of restaurants, bars, shops etc here but we only ventured here on one occasion during the day.

The quality of the food was excellent. We both enjoyed a cooked breakfast every morning although there was loads of cereal / fruit / pastries / cooked meats etc as well. Breakfast and dinner were both completely buffet-style, however lunch offered about 8 mains and 2 different specials with table service, and a limited amount of buffet-style salad. There could have been a little more variety at lunch, however the two poolside snack bars also serve sandwiches, toasties, hot dogs, burgers etc as a good alternative. The food is also quiet 'safe' and English on the whole, with specials such as roast beef dinner with mash, however there were Caribbean and Canarian theme nights while we were there. The 'safe' food seemed to be popular with everyone, as most guests were 50+, and all English, although there were a handful of younger people. Despite it being 28 degrees outside, the two soup options seemed to be very popular every day! Put it this way though, we did not go hungry at any point! It was all very tasty.

We went down to the pool at around 10.15 every morning and always managed to find a couple of sunbeds next to each other, with a straw umbrella to provide some shade. There seemed to be enough sunbeds for everyone. The bottom pool had music and activities throughout the day (quizzes, darts, water volleyball etc), and the top pool was quiet so you could take your pick.

The evening entertainment was provided in the Pavilion, a sort of circus tent with rows of seats facing the stage. Music from resident band The Midas Touch was excellent, as was the entertainment and hosting provided by the reps. While we were there, we saw a good soul tribute band, a decent country singer/guitarist and an awful comedian called Steve Salter whose material was 40 years out of date, sexist, xenophobic and full of jokes you've heard before. He unashamedly ripped off Tommy Cooper and The Two Ronnies and badly sang a couple of songs. Truly terrible. However the hour that he was on was the only hour of the entire holiday were the entertainment was not up to scratch, and most other guests seemed to enjoy it, so I guess it's all down to personal taste.

In the pavilion and monkey bar, it's all table service for drinks, which could be a little slow at times. But if you order your next pint when you've still got a quarter of your current one left, it was ok. My other half liked the fact that they had branded spirits and a wide range of cocktails. The Carpa pool bar was also busy around lunchtime as there was one lady working there on her own. She took it all in her stride but could've done with some help.

A special mention must go to the staff who were always friendly, helpful and made you feel welcome. If I had to try to pick faults, some of the sunbeds were a little dilapidated and certain areas could benefit from a lick of paint but all in all we had a really good time and would definitely consider returning to the Coronas Playa.

Room Tip: Our room (237) was at the rear of the hotel, near the sea, so at no point were we disturbed by late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank moochoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

This was our 5th visit to this hotel because we love the location, Costa Tequise and have had some good holiday's here but will probably try somewhere new until some issues are addressed.

The food although a good variety was only warm in the dining room and a meal from the pool bar had to be sent back due to it being stone cold.

The lunch option in the dining room needs looking at. On more than 2 occasions the main course turned up while you were eating your first course which then got even colder. To solve this we stopped ordering our main course until we finished our first course.

The pool's were so cold that you could not use them but was told by reception that they were acclimatised (partially heated) but no one used them.

Wi-Fi was only available free in the reception and very slow at best although they were going to improve this later this year.

The staff as always are lovely and a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JES6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Booked this hotel just to try out adult only option for a change as we were fed up of children's mini discos in previous holidays ,also are children are grown up now.
We found the hotel very welcoming ,staff were all polite and friendly and the rooms were fabulous and very very spacious. Loved the food couldn't fault it. Drinks were all branded which was very good. You could always find a sunbed , only gripe I would say was the reps entertainment wasn't the best but I know you can't please everybody ,that's just my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

My husband and I have been to this hotel four times and can't wait to go back, the rooms are lovely, plenty of space, very clean! The staff are brilliant can't do enough for you! Entertainment fantastic! Food fantastic! We just loved everything about this hotel!

Room Tip: We usually have rooms facing the sea, and have the sun most of the day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sueandandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

I can't believe that last reviewers comment about the towels being blue!! Having no porter!! This lady should stay at the ritz!!! This hotel is amazing great location! the best staff! food is fantastic! Adult only hotel!! And zero tolerance to sunbed hogs!! Ignore previous review talking out there Harris!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Gailmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Just returned from coronas playa hotel. We booked a late deal half board which suited us as we wanted to go out and about. The rooms are really big although perhaps some more furniture would help them look a bit more cosy. The bathroom very clean with a low bath for getting in and out of the shower. We took our travel kettle but you can hire them.The hotel is geared for the older guest which did not bother us. We also found we were treated different to the all inclusive guests short measure drinks for instance.Staff very friendly and the food really good with a good selection of dishes. We will go back but so many more hotels to try first.

Room Tip: bottom pool side sea view sun all afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
1.0 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
0.9 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,974 reviews
0.6 mi away
Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach
0.8 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#17 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coronas Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coronas Playa

Property: Hotel Coronas Playa
Address: Avda. del Mar, 26, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#3 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Coronas Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Package deals include flights from UK and accomodations for three nights minimum ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Coronas Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronas Playa Costa Teguise
Hotel Coronas Playa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing